Centro - Plaza Catalunya apartment rental - Terrace
Terrace
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights
 

Centro - Plaza Catalunya Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Apartment, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

Studio apartment only two minutes from Plaza Catalunya in the heart of Barcelona. The apartment is located in the famous Rambla de Catalunya, one of the most famous streets in Barcelona where you will find the beautiful 'Casa Batlló' and the 'Pedrera' of the famous architect Antonio Gaudí, lined with shops, restaurants and café´s. This quiet and cosy apartment is located on the penthouse floor of a 19th century classic building with a concierge. The studio apartment has a small fully equipped kitchen with a two ring hob, fridge, washing machine and cutlery, pots and pans. The bedroom/living room has a double bed, cable t-v and free internet via WIFI. The studio opens to a very large sun terrace with table, deck chairs and umbrella.

Barcelona’s extensive Eixample district brings together a large number of modernista buildings of great architectural value. However, it is the central part which showcases most of the buildings designed in this style. Known as the Quadrat d’Or (Golden Square), it is the place where Barcelona’s moneyed classes came to live in the flats designed by the leading architects of the day, such as Gaudí. You will find something to suit every taste in this area, design and fashion shops, relaxing parks and a range of bars and cafes to have your morning coffee in. There are also a good number of restaurants, bars and discos for those looking for some nightlife Barcelona is so famous for. The majority of these are around the streets, Londres, Paris and Muntaner. It can be difficult to resist the temptation to stop and try out some the local pastries & coffees, drinks & tapas or have dinner in some of the most fashionable restaurants in Barcelona. Towards the bottom of L´Eixample it meets with Plaza Catalunya and the beginning of the Gothic Quarter.

I have also another condo at the same address: www.vrbo.com/404805

More Details
Hide Details

Hello, I am born in 1954, I speak english, spanish and french. I was before in the movie business and studied production at NYU in 1980-1983, and since 2005 I dedicate myself to tourism. It is much quieter!

This property and www.vrbo.com/404805 are both the best location Barcelona can offer: the best place in the world. Sea, mountains and countryside in few minutes drive.

This penthouse is right in the center heart of the city and has a huge deck and it is very calm and quiet.

It is officially registered at Generalitat Turisme under: HUTB 003300

95 Reviews of Property 157504 in Centro - Plaza Catalunya, Spain

Penthouse with Terrasse in Central Exclusive Rambla Catalunya
average rating of 4.883721 based on 95 reviews
business
Penthouse with Terrasse in Central Exclusive Rambla Catalunya
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p157504vb
+34 627513550
Centro - Plaza Catalunya Barcelona City
New York City
5

Marinella andJoe

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
my wife and I were greeted by Philippe upon arrival .The apartment was very clean and cozy.Philippe gave us a very detailed explanation of everything we had to know about the place and the surrounding areas.Philippe is the perfect gentleman in every sense of the word.He gave us great tips as to where to eat.If you like tapas,Philippe will give you the names of great places.The apartment is in a great location and close to everything.My wife and I walked everywhere.We had a fantastic time and would gladly recommend it to anyone who is looking for a romantic time.Thank you,Philippe
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much Joe for your kind review.
All the best
Philippe
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Penthouse with Terrasse in Central Exclusive Rambla Catalunya
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p157504vb
+34 627513550
Centro - Plaza Catalunya Barcelona City
Oregon
5

Over the top

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
What a delightful visit to Barcelona. We have been to Barcelona last three years but now we have the apartment to stay in we rank best! Perfect location, deck was amazing, Phillippe was wonderful! We look forward to many visits to this incredible city!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much Vallie and Lynne for your nice review.
All the best
Philippe
business
Penthouse with Terrasse in Central Exclusive Rambla Catalunya
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p157504vb
+34 627513550
Centro - Plaza Catalunya Barcelona City
United States
5

Super Location Super Owner!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
My wife and I just completed a 4 night stay in Barcelona. Philippe is a particularly gracious host. He promptly replies to inquiry's. The apartment is small but very clean. While on a main street the apartment faces the back so it is very quiet. This is a must for the Rambla area for it is very noisy late into the night. There are about 25 steps to climb, might be an issue for some.
The terrace is a great spot for a glass of wine and a moment away from all the hustle and bustle below.
The Aero bus takes you to and from the airport and is a short walk and quiet reasonable. The Metro is inexpensive, clean and safe. We did a ten trip pass and it lowers the price to under a euro per trip.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hello Mark,
Thank very much for your encouraging review.
All the best,
Philippe
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Penthouse with Terrasse in Central Exclusive Rambla Catalunya
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p157504vb
+34 627513550
Centro - Plaza Catalunya Barcelona City
Clearwater, Florida, USA
4

Location, Location, Location

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
Barcelona was made even better by Philippe and his studio apartment. It truly felt like home the 10 days I was there. I had plenty of space to move about and loved having a good selection of English speaking TV (not just CNN and BBC news.) Everything I needed in kitchen area to make a meal. And the outside roof terrace - I long for it even today. I took the airport bus both to and from Plaza Catalunya. Very convenient to everything, if you make use of the public transportation system. Sure wish Philippe would send me some of that coconut cake I got from the bakery down the street.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Lois,

I have just seen your very kind comment in the VRBO review and I would like to thank you for your kind and encourageing response.
Again thank you very much and I hope to see you again and so you can taste these yummy coconut cakes again.

Best regards,
Philippe
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Penthouse with Terrasse in Central Exclusive Rambla Catalunya
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p157504vb
+34 627513550
Centro - Plaza Catalunya Barcelona City
Oakland Park, FL
3

Good location

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
You won't find a better location. The apartment is fine for two people, and the terrace is as big as everyone says. The pictures fairly represent the apartment. Our main issue with our stay was the loud noise caused by construction in the apartment below. It made our stay in the apartment uncomfortable, especially when we tried to sleep in after a night out in Barcelona. I think the construction is done, so it shouldn't be a problem for others. Our timing was unlucky.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Thank you Anthony for your nice review.
Best regards,
Philippe
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Penthouse with Terrasse in Central Exclusive Rambla Catalunya
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p157504vb
+34 627513550
Centro - Plaza Catalunya Barcelona City
Italy
5

Weekend Barcelona

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Lovely, charming, comfortable, perfect location. For 2 people highly recommended. Philippe is very friendly and professional. What you see is what you get. Even a bit more...
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much Silvia for your kind review. I hope to see you again.
Kind regards,
Philippe
business
Penthouse with Terrasse in Central Exclusive Rambla Catalunya
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p157504vb
+34 627513550
Centro - Plaza Catalunya Barcelona City
Myrtle Beach SC
5

VRBO 157504

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Philippe, I wanted to thank you very much for the wonderful time we had staying in your penthouse studio apartment and for your assistance in making our vaction hassle-free! Barcelona is fabulous and it was all enhanced by the fact that we felt as though we had our own home-away-from-home. We enjoyed meals on the patio eating all the fresh bread, cheese, olives and vegetables from the open market -- just fabulous! And thanks for the recommendation of the local liquor store -- we found many delicious wines at great value prices.
We also explored the city quite a bit and left a few postcards in the penthouse for one in particular we absolutely loved -- Mannings Lobby Bar. Perhaps you've already discovered it but if not I highly recommend it -- really good food (try the potato omelette!) and mojitos -- the guys who run it are very friendly and the setting is quite nice. Unbelievable value as well.
Well Philippe, I am back at work now and am left with just memories of our wonderful vacation in Barcelona! Thank you again and if you are ever in the US and make your way to Myrtle Beach, SC be sure to let us know -- we are hoping to close on a condo this week and we will then be VRBO owners too. Unfortunately our calendar is not nearly as full as the penthouse but we'll work on it! Maybe the Mannings will open a branch in Myrtle Beach!
Take care.
Pam
Owner's Response: Dear Pam,

I would like to thank you for your nice and comforting review.
I hope all is well with you.
I swear to pay you a visit if I make it one day to Myrtle!

Sincerely,
Philippe
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Penthouse with Terrasse in Central Exclusive Rambla Catalunya
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p157504vb
+34 627513550
Centro - Plaza Catalunya Barcelona City
Lexington, KY, USA
5

Great Stay in Barcelona

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
We had a great stay at the apartment. The location is ideal, very close to transportation, shops, and restaurants. La Rambla is very close as is La Padrera. Many of the best sites are in walking distance. The description and pictures in VRBO represented the apartment accurately. When we moved in the apartment was very clean and Phillipe took the time to explain how everything worked. He also spent time showing us where everything was on a map and gave us great recommendations for groceries and restaurants. There are many cafes, bakeries and shops right out the front door of the property and it is hard to pick a favorite. It is a perfect size for two people and the tiled patio overlooking the street is a huge bonus. We never had any problems but would have felt very comfortable calling on Phillipe if we needed anything at all. We would definitely recommend this property to others and can't wait to return to Barcelona and stay in the apartment again. Barcelona is a wonderful city to visit.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Hello Thomas,
I have just seen your comment in the VRBO review and I would like to thank you for your kind and encouraging response.
Again thank you very much and I hope to see you again.

Best regards,
Philippe
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Penthouse with Terrasse in Central Exclusive Rambla Catalunya
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p157504vb
+34 627513550
Centro - Plaza Catalunya Barcelona City
Yuba City, CA.
5

All around perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
The building is not luxurious, but it is the perfect home for a vacation location that puts you right in the middle of everything. Ramble de Catalunya is a smaller version of Las Ramblas the bleeds into the larger through the Placa de Catalunya (a hub of transportation to anywhere in Barcelona. One block to Passiege de Gracias and just around the the corner (you can see it from the roof of the apartment) of Casa Miro one of Gaudi's masterpieces. The roof makes your living space expand by 4000 square feet and sitting in the afternoon with a cup of expresso while look out at the city is amazing. The apartment itself is comfortable, feels like home and has a very large bathroom. It was unfortunate that we did not meet Philippe until our last day in Barcelona but he was extremely charming and very accomodating. This apartment is an amazing deal considering it's location and amenities. We loved our little apartment on Ramble de Catalunya and will return! P.S. If you turn right when you exit the building and walk to the corner there is a very good bakery that is inexpesive and the pastries are a great way to start the day. Don't miss out on the fresh food in the market on Las Ramblas and for Authentic Catalan cuisine turn right at the bakery and head down to the plaza outside the small (relative) church. The restuarant is call Origins and very well prices.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Steve and Donald,

I would like to thank you for your nice and comforting review.
I hope all is well with you.
Sincerely,
Philippe
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Penthouse with Terrasse in Central Exclusive Rambla Catalunya
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p157504vb
+34 627513550
Centro - Plaza Catalunya Barcelona City
Kansas City, MO
5

Perfect Location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Of all the apartments that I have rented around the globe, this apartment had the best location. Philipe was really helpful and the doorman pleasant. The apartment was the perfect size for a single traveler. It was great to brew some coffee in the morning and go out on the terrace and enjoy the beautiful BCN weather. Also, a glass of wine on the terrace with friends was equally delightful. Thanks, Phillippe!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hello Mattew

Thank you again for your nice review.
All the best!

Sincerely,
Philippe
Helpful votes: 2/2