Montecito house rental - Elegant furnishings in an open floor plan.
Elegant furnishings in an open floor plan.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps12
  • 4 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights
 

Montecito House Rental Photos and Description
House, 5 Bedrooms, 4 Baths (Sleeps 8-12)

Step through the gates of Spring House and you will be welcomed by a serene fountain and Zen statuary. Enjoy secluded privacy in a lush tropical setting. Step outside the gates and you are a mere 5 minute walk from Butterfly Beach - the most beautiful beach in Santa Barbara, the historic Four Seasons Biltmore Hotel and Spa, and Coast Village Road - the exclusive heart of Montecito with a wide variety of dining options, boutiques and gift shops, and business and banking services. Enjoy that vacation cocktail without the worry of driving home!

The layout of Spring House with allows maximum flexibility for multiple families or families traveling with a nanny. Your host is committed to ensuring you have the vacation of your dreams, and will make whatever arrangements you require, including grocery shopping, booking recreational activities (including contacts with extraordinary and exclusive local outfitters), providing catering services, vetted babysitting services, and arranging spa and beauty services with only the most talented professionals in the community. We will introduce you to the Santa Barbara only locals know. If you prefer total privacy, Spring House will be ready and waiting for you with no management contact.

Spring House exceeds customary expectations, and is a luxury experience from original art to thread count to Viking appliances. The living room contains two separate conversation areas which lead to an enclosed terrace through two sets of French doors, where a second fountain provides background music for your dining or lounging pleasure. The formal dining room seats six with room for additional tables and an adjacent bar with six bar stools. The main kitchen is adjacent to the dining room in an open floor plan style sharing the warmth of a gas fueled automatic fireplace and a flat screen tv. The kitchen is appointed with Viking appliances, granite counter tops and a soaring ceiling with skylights. A glass door and pass through windows over a farmhouse sink give way to a gracious brick patio decorated with potted plants and dense landscaping where the third of four fountains gurgles while you dine or relax. The BBQ is located here. The media room also serves as a fourth bedroom with complete privacy; it houses a 47' flat screen, a second fireplace, a queen sleeper sofa with additional memory foam feather bed, and a massage chair. The fifth bedroom contains an abbreviated kitchen with sink, mini-fridge and microwave, and a full bathroom. The wall of windows in this bedroom folds open to a lanai with treadmill, fountain, jacuzzi and sauna.

The master bedroom is furnished with an exotic teak king bed, a fireplace, a conversation area, and flat screen. It includes a huge walk-in closet with built-in dresser, an en suite bathroom with travertine counters and floors and a dressing table. The second bedroom also has an en suite bathroom, a queen four-poster, and a private balcony. The third bedroom is charmingly decorated with a seating area and game table, and contains a king size bed and a daybed with trundle to sleep four people comfortably. The house is well stocked with a wi-fi connected computer, iPod docking stations, movies, books, games, and puzzles.

The multiple cooking and dining options make Spring House a perfect location for major holidays or large scale entertaining. The extensive landscaping is well-lit for leisurely al fresco evenings in Santa Barbara's year-round temperate climate. The outdoor experience at this compound is a fantasy of light, sound, water and tropical foliage. Expect the very best...You will get it here!

PLEASE TAKE A LOOK AT OUR OTHER TWO BEACH PROPERTIES IN SANTA BARBARA: HOMEAWAY #275391 (SEASHORE COTTAGE AT EAST BEACH) AND VRBO #510209 (SHORELINE VACATION WITH SWIMMING POOL.)

More Details
Hide Details

I am a retired attorney. I own and manage two beach properties and I am currently renovating a third. I have extensive experience hosting vacation rentals in other areas of Southern California. I am assisted by a highly competent management team that has lived and worked in the Santa Barbara community for 30 years, so you can be assured that you will be well cared for should any concerns arise. We respect your privacy and leave you alone unless you call.

Elizabeth Winthrop purchased this house in 2011

The Butterfly Beach area of Montecito affords our guests a unique and rare opportunity to enjoy many aspects of town on foot. Given how much time most of us spend in our cars, we felt that this was a special gift we wanted to share with visitors to Santa Barbara.

Walking virtually next door and being on the gorgeous grounds of the Four Seasons Biltmore is certainly special, whether lingering over Sunday brunch or having a facial and massage at the spa. Afterwards, a walk on the beach feels just right. Sometimes after sleeping in, it's fun to walk over to Jeannine's All-American Bakery and sit outside for a delicious breakfast or lunch. And of course, when we want to see and be seen, we hit the night time scene at Lucky's, the hip Montecito steakhouse owned by Gene Montesano of Lucky Jean's fame.

25 Reviews of Property 963746 in Montecito, California

Walk to Ocean and Shops from this Beautifully Maintained Beach Location!
average rating of 5.0 based on 25 reviews
business
Walk to Ocean and Shops from this Beautifully Maintained Beach Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p963746
+1 805 689-9182
Montecito Santa Barbara County
Sunnyvale CA
5

Family gathering for a important birthday and to scatter ashes of family members off the coast

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Spring house is as beautiful as the listing photos show. The garden is a wonderful tropical setting. I found the owner to be very helpful and easy to work with. The staff that maintains the property does an excellent job. We enjoyed the hot tub and the closeness to downtown Montecito. The owners hints as to good restaurants, shopping and points of interest were a great help. We were 7 adults and 4 children and we had a wonderful time.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Walk to Ocean and Shops from this Beautifully Maintained Beach Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p963746
+1 805 689-9182
Montecito Santa Barbara County
Coronado, Ca., USA
5

Walking buddies getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We all can't stop talking about our wonderful Monticito stay. Spring house was all and more than I expected. The house was perfect for our group. Plenty of room to all gather or find a quiet corner to read. And the yard!-- it was so lovely and well cared for. My two dachshunds loved exploring. All in all a perfect vacation and we all want to come again. Thank you Betsy for this lovely home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Walk to Ocean and Shops from this Beautifully Maintained Beach Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p963746
+1 805 689-9182
Montecito Santa Barbara County
Valencia, CA
5

Relaxing vacation at Spring House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
What a great week! This is a beautifully decorated and immaculate house with all the latest appliances, fully stocked cupboards of dinnerware and staples for cooking. It's better than the pictures. Every member of our family had their own room and bathroom along with plenty of space to relax (inside and outside), read or play games in the game room. Plenty of flat screen TV's, too. We were within walking distance to the beach, great restaurants (Lucky's was awesome) and shopping. Betsy's recommendations were helpful and she was wonderful to work with. Can't say enough!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you so much, Debbie and Charlie. My goal is to give our guests privacy while being available to help out with whatever comes up while they are here on vacation. Glad it all worked out!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Walk to Ocean and Shops from this Beautifully Maintained Beach Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p963746
+1 805 689-9182
Montecito Santa Barbara County
5

Santa Barbara Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We spent a week at this property while in the Santa Barbara area for our son's wedding and could not have asked for a nicer place. We had both older adults and young adults staying here and the layout of the house worked perfect for that. The game room and studio area were perfect for the young people to hang out in and by shutting the connecting door to the rest of the house the rest of us were not disturbed. The sauna and jacuzzi were great to relax in. We held the after wedding dinner on the back patio using tables, chair, and china rented from Discount Rentals for 30. The setting with the greenery, lighting and fountains made for an absolutely beautiful setting. The owners of this property were very easy to work with and helped to make our stay and dinner perfect.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Susan. This wedding reception was our first catered event and it went so well we are ready to encourage more of the same. As long as the guest list hovers around thirty people, Spring House is the perfect place for a special celebration.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Walk to Ocean and Shops from this Beautifully Maintained Beach Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p963746
+1 805 689-9182
Montecito Santa Barbara County
Northridge, CA
5

Great Family Vacation House!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This was a very relaxing, well maintained home that is perfect for a family vacation! There was plenty of room in this well furnished, comfortable, beautiful house. The location was perfect as we were able to walk both to the beach and to the village. The patios and gardens are also so beautiful and relaxing.

The two full kitchens and the barbeque gave us many options for meals and food storage.

There was plenty of parking. The four flat screen TVs allowed for everyone to watch something.

The master suite was better than a room at the nearby Biltmore Four Seasons (where I have stayed many times)!

I highly recommend this rental!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Walk to Ocean and Shops from this Beautifully Maintained Beach Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p963746
+1 805 689-9182
Montecito Santa Barbara County
CA
5

Wonderful Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
My family and I recently stayed at the Spring House and couldn't have been happier. Besty was so easy to work with and always available to answer questions or concerns. We had 7 adults and 4 children (9 months - 5yrs) in our group and the house accommodated us very comfortably. The house was fully stocked with everything we needed, even essential baby equipment! The location was perfect, an easy walk to Coast Village road or the beach. The house was clean and the landscape was beautiful. I would love to stay here again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Walk to Ocean and Shops from this Beautifully Maintained Beach Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p963746
+1 805 689-9182
Montecito Santa Barbara County
Pebble Beach, CA
5

Incredible experience for UCSB graduation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We are so grateful that we found this lovely home for our daughter's UCSB graduation. We decided to make it a family reunion as well as graduation celebration and were so pleasantly surprised with the home. The photos do not do the home justice - and the photos are lovely!! This home is in a perfect location, convenient to Santa Barbara and UCSB. Behind privacy walls we entered what resembled a tropical forest. Fountains, and lush green plants all contributed to the serene beauty. The home itself is huge and well furnished. We loved the kitchen, outdoor patio and barbeque! Bedrooms were roomy, and beds very comfortable. We had a full house, and yet everyone had their own space. It was perfect for our big family. One nice touch were the many games in the closets. We had a great time playing some games and laughing together. What a wonderful vacation. Betsy is a delightful host. She helped us with recommendations from wine tasting to restaurants. We hope to return sometime soon!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Walk to Ocean and Shops from this Beautifully Maintained Beach Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p963746
+1 805 689-9182
Montecito Santa Barbara County
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Great First Impression of Santa Barbara

  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
My family came here for my graduation from UCSB. The house gave them a great first impression of Santa Barbara and they loved staying here.
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Walk to Ocean and Shops from this Beautifully Maintained Beach Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p963746
+1 805 689-9182
Montecito Santa Barbara County
Healdsburg, CA
5

A Month In Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
The sign at the front door "Welcome to Paradise" says it all. We enjoyed a month in this spectacular home. The gardens are a peaceful spot to relax, contemplate the souroundings and enjoy paradise. We did some entertaining and had several guests during our stay. The spacious house and yard provided us with plenty of space to entertain without ever feeling crowded. Betsy has thought of everything for her guests. The kitchen was well stocked with pots and utensils and we cooked most of the time we were here. We had a fabulous tme walking in the village and taking our dog for walks on the beach and surrounding areas. This house has something for everyone. We are looking forward to returning next year.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Walk to Ocean and Shops from this Beautifully Maintained Beach Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p963746
+1 805 689-9182
Montecito Santa Barbara County
Dallas, Texas
5

Absolute Perfection

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
My son-in-law rented this wonderful home for our family while we attended a graduation at UCSB. There was nothing left to chance with what this home provided......kitchen wonderful.....porches and outside areas were so enjoyable . Furnishings were upscale and ease of location could not have been better.

Proximity to Coastal Village was right around the corner ......restaurants were varied and all wonderful.

Betsy answered all questions before we arrived...provided us with info on house, nearby restaurants, location of hospital and her phone number should we need any assistance.

I would recommend this property to anyone visiting the Santa Barbara area....it is PERFECT for families.....we had a wonderful time.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1