La Jolla house rental - Outside view of main house and garage
Outside view of main house and garage
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps11
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 4 nights
 

La Jolla House Rental Photos and Description
House, 4 Bedrooms, 3.5 Baths (Sleeps 8-11)

Newly completely renovated (2010) California colonial built in 1934 in exclusive Lower Hermosa section of La Jolla. Directly across street from ocean with access to ocean 3 homes away. Ocean view from most rooms with white water view from balconies in master bedroom and guest suite.

Relax on the garden patio with fountain or by the private/pool jacuzzi. Drink margaritas on guest balcony while watching the sunset over the ocean. Bicycle to downtown La Jolla Village or walk to local sushi bar and coffee houses.

The living room has an ocean view and french doors to garden patio with fountain. Original wood burning fireplace and bookcases with baby grand piano. Home has wood floors throughout with marble tiles in all bathrooms. Dining room seats 8-10 with antique Stickley dining chairs.

The kitchen is fully supplied with cooking equipment including slow cooker, blender, juicer, food processor, coffee maker. All appliances are brand new including Cornu Fe gas stove, Miele refrigerator and dishwasher. White granite countertops in kitchen. Kitchen opens to family room with stereo system, large flat screen TV, internet streaming, IPod/iPad dock for stereo with four speaker systems throughout home including outdoor speakers to garden patio and pool area.

Private second floor master suite with balconies in bedroom and master bath with white water ocean views. Flat screen TV in master bedroom. Marble shower, sink counters, marble tile floors in master suite with separate bathtub. Walk in closet.

Two additional bedrooms in main house, one with queen bed and french doors that opens onto pool area, second with twin beds. Full bath with shower/tub for these two bedrooms.

Laundry room with washer/dryer on first floor.

Private lap pool with attached jacuzzi.

Separate new construction garage and second floor guest suite with outdoor stairs. Guest bedroom with queen bed, daybed and attached shower/bath. Flat screen television. Walk-in closet. Guest suite has refrigerator/freezer drawers and coffee maker. Two balconies - one with table and chairs to sit for drinks or dinner and have white water ocean view.

Home with 2 surfboards and 4 bicycles. Short 0.1 mile walk to beach access and 1 mile from outstanding surfing beach Wind n Sea.

attached shower/bath. Flat screen television. Walk-in closet. Guest suite has refrigerator/freezer drawers and coffee maker. Two balconies - one with table and chairs to sit for drinks or dinner and have white water ocean view.

Home with 2 surfboards, 4 bicycles and 3 kayaks (2 single and 1 double). Short 0.1 mile walk to beach access and 1 mile from outstanding surfing beach Wind n Sea.

More Details
Hide Details

23 Reviews of Property 961026 in La Jolla, California

Renovated California Colonial with Ocean Views and Pool
average rating of 5.0 based on 23 reviews
business
Renovated California Colonial with Ocean Views and Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p961026
La Jolla San Diego County
New Jersey
5

Great week in La Jolla

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We recently spent a wonderful week relaxing in this lovely house in La Jolla. The house itself is beautifully furnished, equipped and maintained and is perfect for families. The pool in the back yard was private and great for my kids, who absolutely loved it. The owner makes available a whole range of beach equipment, ranging from buckets and spades to kayaks. There are also bikes, although we didn't use them. There is garage parking for one car.

The house is located conveniently in the southern part of La Jolla within a couple of minutes walking distance of access to the sea and some smaller beaches, and a 5 minute drive to bigger beaches like the lovely Windansea. A 5 minute walk in the other direction takes you to a couple of nice restaurants and coffee bars etc in Bird Rock. And it is probably a 5-7 minute drive into the center of La Jolla for supermarkets, lots of shopping and plenty of other restaurants.

It was very easy and straightforward to deal with the owner who provided lots of information about the house and helpful hints on the local area. And when we had a question while we were staying in the house, the owner responded very quickly to our text message.

This house provides a great location to explore the San Diego area. It is maybe a 25 minute drive from the airport and an easy drive downtown and to visit places like Seaworld and the San Diego Zoo.

All in all my family had a lovely holiday and would happily recommend staying at this property to anyone.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Renovated California Colonial with Ocean Views and Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p961026
La Jolla San Diego County
Dallas, TX
5

June vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Two couples with small children stayed at this home and had a wonderful vacation. The owner immediately responds to any question and is extremely helpful. The home is in a beautiful neighborhood within walking distance of a small, almost private beach. The house and guest room over the garage were recently remodeled, and both are beautiful, with high end fixtures and appliances. We have rented several homes in the area, and this home was by far the best stocked with everything you might need to cook or clean clothes, etc. The home has ocean views from several rooms. The pool was heated and our kids swam every day, and the adults also loved the spa. If you are considering this home, don't hesitate.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Renovated California Colonial with Ocean Views and Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p961026
La Jolla San Diego County
Portland, Oregon
5

Portland Family

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
We had a glorious family vacation at this lovely home. The property exceeded our expectations with a clean, modern decor and beautifully maintained property. Spa-like pool was a plus, but several walkable beaches could also be enjoyed. We will definitely add this vacation home to our regular rotation of preferred locales. Owner's professional, thoughtful approach made booking easy. Their addtional information regarding nearby restaurants, shops, attractions were very helpful. You won't be disappointed.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Renovated California Colonial with Ocean Views and Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p961026
La Jolla San Diego County
San Francisco
5

Stunning home, perfect for our family vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We were pleasantly surprised upon entering this home by its level of quality, detail and decor. It is absolutely gorgeous! All of the furnishings, appliances, and linens were of the highest quality, and really made our stay feel like we were at home vs in a vacation rental. The home was clean, and extremely well-maintained.

The absolute best part of the stay was the hours of fun we all enjoyed in the pool and hot tub. The kids could not have been more excited to jump in the pool everyday. We were there during a fairly overcast week, but we didn't miss the beach much because we were able to enjoy the perfectly heated pool at home.

When we weren't outdoors, everyone settled into the home by enjoying the wireless internet, full entertainment system, and many, many books. The home is in a very quiet neighborhood just a few short blocks from the ocean, as well as the main street for restaurants & markets. We took the bikes out and went for bike rides along the gorgeous beaches, and through the neighborhoods admiring the luxury homes. We also enjoyed using the beach umbrellas, beach chairs and toys for the days that we visited the nearby beaches.

The house was perfect for our large group - 8 adults, 2 children and 2 babies - with plenty of room to relax and enjoy some home-cooked meals. The dining table was not suited for a larger group, but there was plenty of space throughout the house to sit down and enjoy a meal. There are two very large master suites (one upstairs in the house, and one in a separate guest house, above the garage). The other two rooms are much smaller, but comfortable with walk-in closets to store bags.

We highly recommend renting this home for your vacation. You will not be disappointed! The owner is extremely responsive and committed to making your stay as enjoyable as possible.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Renovated California Colonial with Ocean Views and Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p961026
La Jolla San Diego County
Danville, Ca
5

Incredible Property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
We had such a wonderful vacation in La Jolla! This property is exactly as promised in the descriptions and the pictures are very accurate as to the accommodations! We have stayed in other VRBO properties and felt that the pictures overstated the age/condition of the property. Not this one! Pristine appointements and very comfortable! Would definitely return. This one is a gem!
business
Renovated California Colonial with Ocean Views and Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p961026
La Jolla San Diego County
Evanston, IL
5

Ocean retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Beautiful, comfortable and well-appointed home with ocean view in spectacular La Jolla. We will definitely stay here again should circumstances allow.

Two families with two kids each shared this home for a spring break vacation. The kids spent 20hrs in the pool over the 5 days we were there. Adults enjoyed the hot tub in the evening. A full master's suite and huge guest house suite gave the adults some space. Easy accommodations for the four kids. Fully equipped kitchen made breakfasts and stay-at-home dinners easy. Great location five minutes drive from downtown La Jolla and ten minute walk from Windansea Beach or Bird Rock town center. Very convenient to San Diego attractions (20-30 minutes to Torrey Pines, SeaWorld, Coronado, etc).

Communication with owner was thorough and clear from initial contact through checkout. Questions while there were answered promptly.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children
business
Renovated California Colonial with Ocean Views and Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p961026
La Jolla San Diego County
Fishers, IN
5

Farm house on the beach

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
This home is the best kept secret in La Jolla! It is a farm house located just across the street from beautiful rocky views of the ocean. The property has recently been refurbished. It is tastefully done, immaculate and very charming. Owners were extremely helpful and so kind to share their personal amendities. I highly recommend this property to anyone. Remember, this area is temperate.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Renovated California Colonial with Ocean Views and Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p961026
La Jolla San Diego County
5

Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
This was the perfect spot for a weekend getaway! This home is an ideal blend of traditional California charm and sparkling new renovations. Very tastefully done. There is tons of space (can sleep 11!), but it still feels cozy. The private guest house with its own amenities is a great feature.

The location is great - 2 blocks from the beach and walking distance to great restaurants and shops. We had a hard time leaving, though, because the house, pool, and patio were so inviting.

Would love to come back and stay as long as we can!
business
Renovated California Colonial with Ocean Views and Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p961026
La Jolla San Diego County
Saint Louis, MO
5

Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
We recently stayed in this beautiful home for our family vacation. Let me start by saying the pictures do not do this house justice. The house is beautifully updated and the location is perfect! You can see the ocean from almost every room. The description is accurate, the house is fully stocked with everything you could possibly need. The owners were very accomodating and a pleasure to work with. There was more than enough room for our group of seven. There was one bedroom we didn't even use. we spent most of our time enjoying the house. It is so inviting, you won't want to leave! We definitely want to return!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Renovated California Colonial with Ocean Views and Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p961026
La Jolla San Diego County
Menlo Park, Ca
5

Family reunion in La Jolla

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
A family reunion of 10 Europeans found this place perfect.
Description was correct, contact with owner friendly and accurate. Beautiful house, the pool was great!
The house could have been better cleaned, but we were ok with it.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway