Lake Algonquin - Wells house rental - The Lazy Bear Cabin
The Lazy Bear Cabin
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights
 

Lake Algonquin - Wells House Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms (1 Queen Bed, 1 Full Bed), 1 Full Bathroom, Sleeps 4 Maximum

Come spend some time to relax and unwind or participate in all the outdoor activities that the Adirondack Mountains have to offer throughout the year. Whether your passion is skiing, snowshoeing, hiking, fishing, kayaking, snowmobiling, motorcycle riding or just R&R - this is a great place to do it!

** We have 2 kayaks and personal flotation devices (PFDs) and 2 pairs of snowshoes for our guests enjoyment.

The cabin is a completely renovated, year round vacation rental in the Adirondacks at Lake Algonquin. The living room is airy and bright and contains a flat screen TV, and a variety of DVDs to choose from for your viewing pleasure. The kitchen contains all the amenities expected for a vacation stay. The front porch is a great place to sit back on the rocking chairs and take in the ambience of your surroundings. Included is all bedding, towels, cable, local phone service and WI-FI. There is also a washer and dryer for our guests use. Access to the lake is a very short walk away. There are many local hiking trails, skiing both downhill and cross-country are nearby and the snowmobile trails can be accessed right from the property. As a lifelong Adirondack resident, we will provide information on all activities, restaurants, where the 'locals' go and any points of interest.

Tom has lived in the southern Adirondack area his whole life and Loretta has always lived on Long Island. Despite the difference in miles, we both share a love of the outdoors and nature.

This property has been in Tom's family for many, many years. It has been completely renovated. Our goal is to provide a memorable getaway for all of our guests. We are very attentive to special requests and provide a 'Welcome Book' that is full of information on 'things to do' in the area. We are meticulous when it comes to the cleanliness of the cabin and we believe there is everything there that our guests would expect for a stay.

The property gets plenty of sunshine throughout the day. The property has lake rights and access is very close.

23 Reviews of Property 943193 in Lake Algonquin - Wells, New York

ARE YOU READY FOR SUMMER? Hike-Kayak-Bike, Wi-Fi and More....BOOK EARLY!
average rating of 4.9130435 based on 23 reviews
business
ARE YOU READY FOR SUMMER? Hike-Kayak-Bike, Wi-Fi and More....BOOK EARLY!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p943193
+1 5188636859
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
5

Lazy Bear Cabin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
My wife and I stayed at the Lazy Bear Cabin during the Xmas holiday and had a great time! The cabin was neat, clean, warm and cozy. We came to the Lazy Bear cabin seeking solitude and we found it. We really enjoyed the quiet peace of the Wells township; and had a great time traveling around the area enjoying the view of beautiful snow covered mountains! The information provided by the owner was quite helpful in finding our way around the area, and we really appreicated the complimentary wine and cheese. I hope to rent this property in the future.
Thanks You.
Dr Les Ford & Dwyana Quick-Ford
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
ARE YOU READY FOR SUMMER? Hike-Kayak-Bike, Wi-Fi and More....BOOK EARLY!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p943193
+1 5188636859
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
5

A beautiful cabin in Wells, NY

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
This cabin was great and Tom and Loretta were as helpful with activities in the area as we could have hoped. The house had been recently renovated before we rented it. It was clean and clearly has been well cared for. It was a nice bonus to have free wifi and a phone in the house with unlimited long distance as cell phone coverage was not dependable. The refrigerator and stove looked new and all the appliances worked. There were two very nice kayaks in the garage for our use and it was a nice place to bike.

In all, as long as it meets the needs of my family, I would not hesitate to stay here again.
Thanks for a great week!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
ARE YOU READY FOR SUMMER? Hike-Kayak-Bike, Wi-Fi and More....BOOK EARLY!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p943193
+1 5188636859
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
4

Beautiful Cabin

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
This gem is centrally located to a lot of great hiking trails with awesome vies of the mountains and waterfalls. My wife and I spent 3 days hiking and exploring the region. There is plenty of yard for kids to play outside safely and the area is quiet.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
ARE YOU READY FOR SUMMER? Hike-Kayak-Bike, Wi-Fi and More....BOOK EARLY!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p943193
+1 5188636859
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
5

Just a short drive from Montreal

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Nice Cabin. It's fully renovated, looks brand new, with all the amenities you need. Very clean. Grocery store is not too far.

The local restaurants are great too. The beach was very close and very nice (clean) and the water was actually quite warm for this time of year. The falls were very nice. The Sacandaga campground was really cool. There usually is a parking fee, but they let us in for free.

From Montreal, it took us about 4 hours to get there. Not far considering that most ''nice'' cabins in Quebec require about that much time to get to.

Thank you Tom for welcoming us.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
ARE YOU READY FOR SUMMER? Hike-Kayak-Bike, Wi-Fi and More....BOOK EARLY!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p943193
+1 5188636859
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
5

Fantastic little cabin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Everything is new and very clean. Nice size living room and kitchen for 4 people. the large lawn perfect for outdoor activities like volleyball. Also, out back is a nice picnic area with grill and fire pit.

There are several hiking trails of various lengths in the area. We went on several shorter ones. A small lake is practically across the street with a small beach easily within walking distance. We also played mini golf at a great place on the shore of the Great Sacandaga Lake, and toured the Adirondack Museum. We had a great relaxing vacation. It is not a touristy place, but if you want to hike, kayak and just lay back, you can't beat this place.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
ARE YOU READY FOR SUMMER? Hike-Kayak-Bike, Wi-Fi and More....BOOK EARLY!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p943193
+1 5188636859
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
5

A well equipped cosy hideaway in the Adirondaks

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
The description of the cabin is accurate, but doesn't give you a sense of how incredibly well-stocked it is! We found games (Jenga, backgammon) and a selection of kitchen equipment just as good our stuff at home. The wi-fi was a godsend as neither of us could get cellphone reception. The area is quiet and peaceful - great opportunities to sunbathe on the small local beach and any number of hikes and walks a drive away.

The cabin itself is clean and well-maintained and we couldn't ask for better customer service from Tom and Loretta. We enjoyed our stay enormously and recommend it highly.
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay Dave. We know that cell phone reception can be challenging at times, so it was important to us that our guests be provided options to communicate, especially in emergency situations. The wi-fi is very popular among our guests and we have a "land line" phone to make and receive local and long distance calls at the cabin.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
ARE YOU READY FOR SUMMER? Hike-Kayak-Bike, Wi-Fi and More....BOOK EARLY!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p943193
+1 5188636859
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
New York, New York
5

Great place for a getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
The lazy bear cabin is a cozy, cute 2 bedroom cabin. The owners were very pleasant to deal with, and provided detailed hiking recommendations upon our request. The cabin is newly renovated and well-maintained. Close to many hikes, and located near a beautiful lake. There is a bbq and firepit in the backyard if you'd like to roast marshmallows! It has WI-FI and some videos if you'd like to have a relaxing evening in.
I would definitely recommend this property for anyone looking for a relaxing weekend getaway!
Owner's Response: We have hiked all the trails we recommend and they range from easy walking trails, to scenic hikes with waterfalls, to "high peak" experiences. We are really glad you liked our hiking recommendations as we want all our guests to have a memorable Adirondack getaway. We hope to see you again!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
ARE YOU READY FOR SUMMER? Hike-Kayak-Bike, Wi-Fi and More....BOOK EARLY!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p943193
+1 5188636859
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
5

Beautiful, fully-equipped cabin!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We stayed here a week and couldn't be happier with the cabin. It was very recently renovated and everything seemed brand new, though still had that rustic charm you want in a lake cabin. We loved the porch, the grill, the fire pit, and the beds were very comfy! The biggest perk were the 2 kayaks: they were very nice and the lake was just across the street. So peaceful, and we almost always had the entire lake to ourselves all week. There's so much to do around here, hiking, fishing, boating, you'll never be bored!
business
ARE YOU READY FOR SUMMER? Hike-Kayak-Bike, Wi-Fi and More....BOOK EARLY!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p943193
+1 5188636859
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
5

Comfortable, Clean and Quiet

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
My wife, Maria, and I stayed at the lazy bear for an amazing week. The cabin was spotless and filled with all the amenities we could possibly need for our stay. The cabin is centrally located to enjoy the Southern Adirondacks and Tom and Loretta were very generous with information about local attractions and activities. We couldn't have been more pleased with the cabin and the area. Get to Auger Falls and the Adirondack Museum if you can.
Thanks Tom and Loretta and we'll be back in the fall.
Walter and Maria Durkin
Middletown, NY
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again!!!
business
ARE YOU READY FOR SUMMER? Hike-Kayak-Bike, Wi-Fi and More....BOOK EARLY!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p943193
+1 5188636859
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
5

Quiet, Clean and Comfortable

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
My wife, Maria and I stayed at the Lazy Bear for a week. We could not have been more pleased. From the moment we went inside, the cabin was spotless and stocked with all the amenities we could possibly need for our stay. In Wells, you're centrally located to explore the Southern Adirondacks and owner Tom will help you generously with local sites and activities. A reasonably priced, quiet and comfortable, perfect stay in the woods near Lake Algonquin. And Tom, we're coming back in the fall.
Thanks,
Walter and Maria Durkin
Middletown, NY