Santa Ynez chateau / country house rental - MAIN ENTRANCE
MAIN ENTRANCE
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay nights
 

Santa Ynez Chateau / Country House Rental Photos and Description
Chateau / Country House, 4 Bedrooms, 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

A luxurious country getaway for the traveler who needs to spread out and relax! (Sorry, we do not accept weddings or events.) Sit in the pergola with a glass of wine, enjoy the view and stroll the rose garden. Designer kitchen with AGA stove,teak countertops and stone floors; wood-burning fireplace in the living room, and a cigar room for the discriminating gentleman...or lady! After a hard day touring the local award-winning wineries, take it easy in the spa. You can't help but enjoy yourself. Plenty of room to roam and breathe the country air. See the stars at night. Tour the Danish village of Solvang, do a little antiquing, or go for a walk down a country lane. Wonderful spot for Spot, as well. Half-acre fenced grassy yard with plenty of shade trees guarantees a sweet time for your dog while you are off having fun. Safe and secure, entire property is fenced, with separately fenced half acre around house accessible by doggie door. Santa Ynez Valley at its best!

Keywords: Phenomenal Country Estate Five Acres Romantic Getaway for Two or More with Privacy and Ultimate Relaxation for Sipping Wine and Enjoying the High Life

More Details
Hide Details

We live in Mammoth Lakes year round and come down to Santa Ynez to enjoy the warmth and the wine. We love the property as it is private, secure, and a beautiful place to stroll around and enjoy.

The Owner purchased this chateau / country house in 2004

Santa Ynez Valley has much more reliable weather than the coast, but Santa Barbara is very close by. Being in the middle of the wine country and horse country means being surrounded by beauty and always having a fun place to go and explore.

With real casino gaming just a couple of miles away, you don't have to give up big-name entertainment to be in the country. In the other direction, a short ride up a big hill takes you to Figeroa Mtn. and the national forest. Plenty of hiking and biking and exercise for those who love the out of doors. Local area has spas galore, ask for reccomendation.

28 Reviews of Property 372964 in Santa Ynez, California

Wine Country Paradise Private Retreat
average rating of 4.964286 based on 28 reviews
business
Wine Country Paradise Private Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p372964vb
Santa Ynez Santa Barbara County
Los Angeles, CA
5

Perfect place for a family Thanksgiving reunion

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We had thanksgiving dinner outside in a beautiful gazebo. The house is great for togetherness but provides space and privacy too. Kitchen is sort of high-tech (convection oven, etc.) but that was mostly a fun exploration. Location is great - Ballard is tiny and sleepy but in less than 10 minutes you can drive to Los Olivos or Solvang. The property is big enough that you can actually take walks without leaving home, as long as you don't mind doing a few laps. Gardening is not just pretty but also interesting with different herbs, fruit trees, etc. Good space for up to three couples and perhaps throw in a few kids as well. On sit assistant Nora is helpful and friendly but also unobtrusive. We hope to stay here again in the future. Be sure to eat at the Ballard Inn down the road.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Wine Country Paradise Private Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p372964vb
Santa Ynez Santa Barbara County
5

Serene luxury accommodation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We found the home was presented as advertised, high quality, well maintained and spotless. The house-keeper was extremely helpful in getting us oriented to the home, and the local area attractions. The property is situated close to the village centers of Solvang, Santa Ynez and Los Olivos. Each village is quite different from the other with an abundance of good dining options. We would gladly recommend this property to anyone who visits the area, but wants some privacy in a quality environment.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Wine Country Paradise Private Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p372964vb
Santa Ynez Santa Barbara County
Arizona
5

perfect week away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
I rented this house as a surprise for my boyfriend's 30th birthday and it did not disappoint. It was much larger than our needs required, but I could not pass up the yard. Traveling with a dog who has known only desert, the fenced back yard with lush grass made the stay. We enjoyed having the entire property fenced as we could let him run and treat it as his own dog park. As for the house itself, it had everything we needed and then some. We cooked breakfast and dinner almost daily and had no trouble finding the tools for the job. As a past review mentioned the lack of a coffee grinder, we ground our own and brought it with us. This wasn't necessary as the kitchen is equipped with a very nice high end grinder. Nora, who lives behind the property, was excellent to deal with. She greeted us to make sure we had everything we needed, left her cell number just in case, and then left us to our vacation. Had she not shown up when we first arrived, we would never have known she was there. Thanks to Paul for being great with correspondence and sharing such a lovely home! We hope to return in the future.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Wine Country Paradise Private Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p372964vb
Santa Ynez Santa Barbara County
Long beach, CA
5

Perfect getaway house for wine tasting.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
The house was everything we were hoping for and more. Large bedrooms, fantastic kitchen and the first floor's open floor plan was great for spending time together as a group. We enjoyed coffee on the patio in the mornings and happy hour out on the grounds on a second patio. I do not think we could have found a more perfect house for 3 couples for a wine tasting trip and so close to Los Olivos. Can't wait to come back next year.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Wine Country Paradise Private Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p372964vb
Santa Ynez Santa Barbara County
Phoenix, Arizona
5

Amazing home and property!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
I stayed here over the labor day weekend with a group of good friends and we had a fabulous time! The property was beautiful and spacious, as was the home. We loved the kitchen as there were plenty of cooking utensils and supplies, and we made dinner at home 2 of the 3 nights we stayed there. It was really nice to sit out on different parts of the property and enjoy the cool evenings. The home was extremely centrally located, close to all major nearby towns. The owner was easy to deal with and very nice. I would definitely stay here again, and would recommend it to anyone traveling to Santa Barbara wine country.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Wine Country Paradise Private Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p372964vb
Santa Ynez Santa Barbara County
Reno, NV
5

Amazing and spacious home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
My husband and I rented out this property for our wedding! It was perfect. The house sits on a large expanse of land. There is a gated yard, perfect for pets and the front yard has gravel pathways that meander through the grass. A nice pergola with ample seating and tranquil water features is very relaxing. The house has 3 master bedrooms and each master has its own awesome shower! The showers are very cool in this house. The kitchen has plenty of cookware, bakeware, cups and utensils. The only aspects I found to be a little lacking are that there was no coffee grinder (we brought whole beans w/ us), there was no radio/stereo from which to listen to music, and there are tv's in the house but to me they seem to be in odd spots. There is a small flat screen in the kitchen and one in the hallway upstairs.

All in all, we had a wonderful experience and definitely plan to rent out this property in the future. If you are a wine drinker (let's get serious, who isn't??) there are myriad options. There are a ton of tasting rooms in solvang and Los olivos which are each only minutes from the house. Also, there is Foxen canyon road with a TON of vineyards with tasting rooms! If you are looking to stay in Santa ynez you should really consider this property. Great for vacation with other couples and friends, or for large families, or for anyone who is traveling with a dog :)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Wine Country Paradise Private Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p372964vb
Santa Ynez Santa Barbara County
Dover, De
4

Fabulous Family Getaway

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
What a great home with unblievable outdoor space for all ages! Top to bottom, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this Santa Ynez gem.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Wine Country Paradise Private Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p372964vb
Santa Ynez Santa Barbara County
Los Angeles
5

Beautifully decorated, high end appliances, close to wineries/restaurants/shops, absolutely perfect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
This house is so beautifully decorated and we would definitely stay here again. I wish we could’ve stayed longer!!! The kitchen/dining/family room/piano area has an open floor plan, so it’s the perfect layout for everyone to hang together, no matter what you choose to do. As you cook, people can hang at the counter at the island and drink wine or play board games at the kitchen table or in the family room. The gorgeous bathrooms in all of the rooms are a treat with views of the expansive lawn and well manicured landscaping which includes rose bushes everywhere. The outside seating area is the perfect place to have happy hour with your friends. The sun setting in the horizon as you’re surrounded by flowers and nature was so relaxing.

The homeowner left us champagne and chocolates which I thought was a sweet gesture. The hot tub was one of the highlights of the night and so was The Little Book of Answers they had at the house. Oh, the fun we had. Los Olivos is a 3 minute drive and the house is centrally located to shops, restaurants and a few wineries. Thanks for having us and we’d love to stay here again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Wine Country Paradise Private Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p372964vb
Santa Ynez Santa Barbara County
Long Beach, CA USA
5

A fantastic getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 27, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
We had an amazing time at your fabulous home. My family swears that this was the best home ever and definitely needs to be planned for again next year. Of course the dogs thoroughly enjoyed it and had fun waiting for a few gophers to pop up on the lawns....

The wineries are all nearby, and if you drive 5 miles in any direction, you would have a wonderful selection of tasting rooms to choose from, by night we headed to the Chumash casino.... We also enjoyed local produce and beef/chicken on the grill at night. Everything we needed, we had...! Thank you for a fabulous weekend in a gorgeous home. We will definitely be back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: What can we say?? That's why we call it the Wine Paradise! Our guests having a fabulous time is what the Wine Paradise is all about. That's what we are here for. We love having guests at the Wine Paradise, we hope you'll come and have a fabulous time, too!
business
Wine Country Paradise Private Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p372964vb
Santa Ynez Santa Barbara County
Orange, CA
5

Great Owner's

Great Owner's
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 21, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
The owner of this property was amazingly helpful when there was a mix-up in our reservation. They went out of their way to take care of our group and ensured that we had a fantasic weekend! I look forward to staying at this property in the future!