Glen Park cottage rental - The entrance to the cottage.
The entrance to the cottage.
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Glen Park Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Bedroom 1, bathroom 1 Sleeps 2

Cottage Details

Free standing extremely private cottage. Gracefully serene, hidden by trees and flowering vines. colorful gardens with eating and sitting areas tucked here and there.

Open floor plan; the only interior walls are around the bathroom. High ceilings, floor-to-ceiling and clerestory windows allow you to enjoy an abundance of natural light. Ceiling fans, unique architectural details, and accent lighting throughout. Garden views from every window; partial 'city-lights' view from the front-facing Veranda.

The Veranda is Bordered by trellises and built-in planter boxes which are planted with a diverse display of colorful and unique plants and flowers.

Gorgeous wood floors with cherry-inlay throughout living and kitchen areas; fully tiled bathroom. Stainless steel and granite kitchen with high quality fixtures.

-A Serene Garden Retreat in an Old SF Neighborhood: - Surrounded by naturalistic, unique gardens.

-Large garden area located alongside the cottage contains a variety of beautiful, mature trees, shrubs and flowers most of which is on drip-watering system.

-Many sitting and dining areas tucked into beautiful old world gardens give you both privacy and serenity

The Neighborhood:

Nestled among the hills resembling its old European roots, the Glen Park neighborhood in San Francisco is one of the oldest in the city. There are numerous coffee shops and restaurants within walking distance. Just a block down the hill is a bakery for fresh baked pastries and breads, grocery, restaurants, hardware

Kitchen and Utilities: Kitchen is outfitted with new, high-end stainless steel appliances (refrigerator, dishwasher, range/oven with hood), disposal, and granite countertops.

-Fully tiled (black and white) separate utility room with washer/dryer hook-ups, and utility sink - even the utility room has a skylight!

-New on-demand water-heater.

The Location : Conveniently located to freeways (both 280 and 101) and public transportation (Muni, BART). It is a short walk to the Glen Park BART station and many bus lines. Simply hop on the Bay Area Rapid Transit (BART) train and be downtown in 10 minutes, across the Bay to Berkeley/Oakland in a half and hour or Pleasanton in about 40 Minutes. Glen Park is convenient to downtown San Francisco, the North Bay, the East Bay and Silicon Valley.

More Details
Hide Details

I am an painter and sculptor. My first love is of the mountains and open spaces and gardens and deserts and beaches and wild animals and wild lands. So I don't really know how I would define myself for you.

Veronica Stork purchased this cottage in 1974

In late 1973 I came back to San Francisco. I loved the city but my problem had always been that I wanted to live in the country as well. I drove and walked all through the Glen Park neighborhood in San Francisco looking for a 'place' that would fit me. I didn't know if I wanted to rent or buy. Then I came across this dilapidated house on the hill. It was falling down the hill. The house sat in the middle of three barren empty lots. I fell in love. Behind the house was a cottage.

The house and the cottage are surrounded by light and air. Everything in San Francisco and the surrounding communities is easily accessible from here. Most of all it has a feeling of privacy and seclusion; while still being so close to everything.

32 Reviews of Property 935304 in Glen Park, California

Secluded Garden Cottage Just Minutes from Downtown
average rating of 4.8076925 based on 32 reviews
business
Secluded Garden Cottage Just Minutes from Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p935304
+1 408 4088403480
Glen Park San Francisco
San Jose, CA
5

Beauty, and then more

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
I stayed at this cottage before the holidays. My initial conversations with Veronica and Johannes were warm, welcoming and professional. The photographs, which seduced me to this site, do not do justice to the exceptional beauty and privacy of this little secret place in San Francisco. I am so grateful for this experience. Thank you Veronica and Johannes. I hope to visit again.
A short walk down the hill and you're in a little nook of a SanFrancisco neighborhood where everyone seems to be very friendly.
An extraordinary experience.
Warmly,
Sheila
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank-you Sheila. Johannes and I try very hard to make sure that everything is in place to make your stay in San Francisco exceptional. It is very gratifying to know that we are successful.
Veronica
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Secluded Garden Cottage Just Minutes from Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p935304
+1 408 4088403480
Glen Park San Francisco
Boston, MA
5

Might not want to leave

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Perfectly secluded yet extremely convenient to city center, etc Also rented a car for a few days for road trips and parking was no issue. Very pretty and unusual garden. Very clean and visually / architecturally well designed studio layout. Dangerously good bakery at the bottom of the hill on Castro St. Good city view from the small park / playground at top of the hill. Only concerns: 1) it is a steep walk to the property from the BART - not an issue if you are fit but others might require a car just for that 2) no full length mirror; only mirror is in bathroom and my 5'6" wife could only see her face - something easily addressed so maybe a non-issue by the time you arrive.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Paul and Cheryl,
Thank-you very much for your wonderful review and thank-you for letting people know about the hill. The hill is something I frequently forget to tell potential guests about. I appreciate your mentioning it. I usually ask that people read the reviews before they book, as that will help bring up questions that they don't think of asking and I forget to address.
Our aim is not to get as many bookings as possible but to make sure this is the place that will make your San Francisco experience the most comfortable and fun.
The mirror is something I keep forgetting about. I keep thinking I put mirror doors on the closet and as you realized I haven't yet. So I will. For the next time you visit, even if you are only staying 2 nights, let us know if there is something we have overlooked and we will do whatever we can to remedy that.
Once again, thanks for the great review and for being the fun and conscientious guests that you are.
Sincerely,
Veronica Stork
Helpful votes: 8/9
business
Secluded Garden Cottage Just Minutes from Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p935304
+1 408 4088403480
Glen Park San Francisco
5

Fairy tale cottage - loved it!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
What can I say? This cottage was just an unbelievable find and my husband and I really loved it. The reviewer who commented on the profuse plants and flowers was spot on - coming from the East Coast, it was such a treat to have so many fragrant plantings and blooms (so close to winter) surrounding the walkway and house. It really is like a little fairy tale hideaway tucked into a very pleasant neighborhood. The house was spotless and very nicely furnished - lots of windows as others have commented, but the plantings do offer somewhat of a privacy screen. The bed was warm and really, really comfy. We loved the neighborhood - we had our own car, and parking wasn't a problem (although having a small car helped!). The BART was obviously very closeby, although we didn't use it during our stay. We highly recommend the Canyon Market for groceries and food to heat up at the cottage - a great treat at the end of a tiring day (the one thing that did seem to be lacking was a microwave, but we made do with the range and toaster oven). Loved having a British-style hot water pot, too. We met Johannes briefly the night we checked in, and he was very gracious in offering any help we needed. The washer and dryer are situated in a room right next to the cottage, so are very convenient. All in all, just a terrific place to stay - wish we could go back again soon!
Owner's Response: It was a pleasure to have you as a guest,Melinda. Our goal is to make your San Francisco stay memorable. I am very glad we achieved that goal.
If you have the time to email me your thoughts on the microwave I would appreciate it. Neither Johannes nor I ever use a microwave and we both have trouble buying one. I would like to know more about how it impacted your stay. Since our goal is your comfort should we revisit the microwave option? Would a small one suffice? Let me know what you think.
Thank-you for the opportunity to reveal a side of San Francisco to you that is not generally experienced by visitors.
Johannes and I thank-you for being a most exceptional and appreciative guest.
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Secluded Garden Cottage Just Minutes from Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p935304
+1 408 4088403480
Glen Park San Francisco
5

Great Time

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2204
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We stayed at owner Veronica Stork’s lovely cottage in Glen Park.
Our stay was complemented, with the help we received from Johannes, the caretaker at the cottage and San Francisco itself was fantastic.
Glen Park and the cottage have all you will need to stay in great surroundings. To fully enjoy your experience allow Johannes to give you his advice on where to go and how to get there.
The property was all that was claimed and made for a great base for San Fransisco sight seeing.
The bus on the corner is a great benefit to those on foot and the area coffee shops are better than average, for early morning breakfast. We enjoyed the great time we had there.
Owner's Response: Hi Denis,
Thank-you very much for your lovely review. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay in San Francisco. We aim to make your San Francisco trip memorable and comfortable and look forward to seeing you again.
Veronica
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Secluded Garden Cottage Just Minutes from Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p935304
+1 408 4088403480
Glen Park San Francisco
5

San Francisco Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
The Garden Cottage lived up to the description. A wonderful little retreat in a quiet neighborhood. Johannes was very attentive and helpful. I recommend staying here if you want to feel like a real San Franciscan, more importantly I won't hesitate to return for another stay.
business
Secluded Garden Cottage Just Minutes from Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p935304
+1 408 4088403480
Glen Park San Francisco
5

Beautiful SF cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted:
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
This cottage is beautifully decorated, clean, and comfortable. We loved its unique Asian style and lush garden setting. It's located in a nice, safe neighborhood with many coffee shops and dining options, and it's a short (though steep!) walk from convenient public transportation. Johannes is a very friendly and helpful host. It's a great little idyll in the city.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Secluded Garden Cottage Just Minutes from Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p935304
+1 408 4088403480
Glen Park San Francisco
Austin, Texas
5

perfect oasis!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This cottage was lovely! Nestled in a superbly maintained garden, this was a great place to relax after running around the crowded city. The interior showed just as much attention to detail and the surrounding Glen Park neighborhood offered convenient access to food and groceries.
business
Secluded Garden Cottage Just Minutes from Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p935304
+1 408 4088403480
Glen Park San Francisco
5

A little bit of Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
The first thing that strikes you as you walk up the stairs to this delightful cottage, is the profusion of exotic flowers blooming in every nook and cranny. As you enter through the glass doors, there is a feeling of peace and tranquility. The cottage is beautifully furnished, well appointed, and immaculate. Luxurious sheets and towels are provided. There is a couch and a chaise lounge, in addition to a very comfortable queen bed. The kitchen is fully equipped, and extra touches like fruit, chocolate, tea and specialty coffee are provided. Wifi and TV are included. Probably the best part of our stay was getting to know Johannes, who provided bus schedules, itineraries, restaurant tips, and great conversation. Because of his help and suggestions, our stay was all the more special.
The cottage is a two minute walk to the bus, and about a 10 minute bus ride to the Castro. You can walk to the BART, and wonderful restaurants. Check out Tygers for breakfast, Osha Thai, Gialina Piazzaria (best thin crust ever!), and the market. All within a five minute walk.
Please note that the walk up to the cottage is very steep, so if you have lots of luggage, you'd be better to take a cab or shuttle. There are no curtains on any of the windows, which can be a little disconcerting. Other than that, the palce is heavenly!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Secluded Garden Cottage Just Minutes from Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p935304
+1 408 4088403480
Glen Park San Francisco
5

Simply delightful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We just came back from an 8-day stay at this wonderful cottage. I am serious: we were really sad to be leaving. We had a great time in San Francisco, but our week at the cottage was equally great. It is, simply put, a beautiful haven: the interior so comfortable, so clean, so nice. The exterior: magnificent flowers everywhere! And Johannes, the caretaker: I would have brought him home with me! Such a nice gentleman, so knowledgeable, and helpful with everything! Bear in mind that the streets in the neighborhood are hills, and some are steep. However, the 35 (on Bemis -- next corner) takes you to Castro, and from there, hop on the F streetcar. We did it again and again, and it was really easy to get wherever we needed to go. Thank you, Veronica, for allowing tourists to take advantage of such a wonderful place.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Secluded Garden Cottage Just Minutes from Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p935304
+1 408 4088403480
Glen Park San Francisco
Frisco, Texas
4

Great Stay!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
The cottage was a beautiful place to stay with wonderful accomodations! Johannes was very helpful ensuring we were comfortable, knew where the "hometown" grocery and eateries were located in proximity to the cottage (very close). We were also provided all the latest and greatest information on where to go in the city, BART information, and various other tourist materials. The bowl of fruit was very nice to see upon arrival. The windows do not have coverings and the cottage is in close quarters with he main house which does not have window coverings either (in the back). The fresh air is wonderful, but for couples looking for privacy, lights out first! Also, there is a dog on the property and for those with allergies to animals, you might have a reaction to the dog hair.
Helpful votes: 2/2