Fresnes cottage rental - Parking and Outside Sitting Area
Parking and Outside Sitting Area
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Fresnes Cottage Rental Photos and Description
1 Large bedroom with TV/Sitting area, 1 bathroom, sleeps 2

The property is stone built and attached to the owner's barn, so there are no directly attached neighbours. It has a small private garden which catches the afternoon sun, as does the balcony. It dates from the mid 1800's, and is situated within the quiet rural village of Fresnes, close to Montbard and its TGV station. The house contains typical period features (e.g. stone fireplace, and beautiful oak beamed bedroom) and has been tastefully renovated and modernised to include gas-fired central heating. The bedroom covers the entire upper floor and contains a sitting area for reading or watching the TV (DVD player attached). The downstairs comprises of the Kitchen/Diner (Kitchen refurbished with built-in units March '09); with its original flagstone floor and a wood burning stove, leading to a separate sitting room, and the bathroom with shower and toilet.

Visiting Tradesmen: The village benefits from the visit of two boulangerie vans each day, and also a butcher twice per week

Wine Tasting & Purchasing: The owner can provide personal recommendations for wine tasting visits and 'best value' local wine purchases.

More Details
Hide Details

26 Reviews of Property 71105 in Fresnes, France

a character stone-built cottage in a peaceful village setting
average rating of 4.923077 based on 26 reviews
business
a character stone-built cottage in a peaceful village setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p71105
+33 0980735631
Fresnes Montbard area
Clovelly, Sydney NSW Australia
4

Summer Holiday

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
The apartment was much more than a holiday apartment - it was spacious, clean and very well equipped with a new, modern kitchen. We felt we could move in!
A car is essential and there are numerous day trips available within a 30 minute drive - rivers, chateaux, Gallo Roman ruins, other towns etc.
Montbard [ a few minutes away] has a good Friday morning market and you can then walk the canal to St. Remy [and back].
Highly recommended and we certainly consider returning.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
a character stone-built cottage in a peaceful village setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p71105
+33 0980735631
Fresnes Montbard area
Germany
5

What a lovely place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
We had a wonderful time during our two week stay in Fresnes.
The small village looks like you would imagine a French village. There are a lot of stone houses, animals and silence. The small house is even more beautiful than it looks like on the photos. There is everything to feel very comfortable. The equipment is high standard (for example the induction stove). At the same time you have the feeling of living in an old small farmhouse, built of old stones and breams. Annie and Shaun made the house perfect with lots of lovely tiny things and furnishings. The two of them are very friendly and kind. They are open to every question and very helpful when you need something.

Fresnes is very well located. It takes to 10 minutes by car to reach the next shop to buy food. The “Abbaye de Fontenay” is situated just some minutes away from Fresnes. You can also visit old castles and lovely villages like Flavigny-sur-Ozerain. Also Dijon is not far away.

We enjoyed the time in Fresnes very much and we took a lot of expressions and lovely memories with us. We can strongly recommend the little stone house in Fresnes to everyone.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
a character stone-built cottage in a peaceful village setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p71105
+33 0980735631
Fresnes Montbard area
Sudbury, Suffolk, UK
5

Tranquil Escape

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
This was our very 1st experience of renting a Gite, hard to imagine how this could ever be improved upon!! Seems we have struck gold with this wonderful property, if like us you're after a peaceful escape then this ideal. Immaculate throughout, tastefully decorated with some fabulous finishing touches. Annie & Shaun were the perfect hosts, very discreet, always on hand with the right advise when needed.

Couldn't recommend this highly enough, does wonders for the heart rate !! Definately want to book again - real soon !!

"TRANQUIL" - the best way we can sum it up !!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
a character stone-built cottage in a peaceful village setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p71105
+33 0980735631
Fresnes Montbard area
Yakima, WA, USA
5

'A Gem of a gite!!!'

'A Gem of a gite!!!'
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 31, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
Having read the excellent reviews before booking la Petite Maison for a week, I knew that it would be very nice. It exceeded my expectations by far, however, for the following reasons:
1) it was immaculately clean;
2) it was extremely comfortable;
3) the decor couldn't have been more attractive;
4) the appliances were top-of-the-line (I loved the induction stovetop!);
5) Annie & Shaun were helpful & considerate hosts;
6) the location was perfect for sightseeing, not just in the immediate vicinity but also farther away because of the nearby (15 minutes in each direction) train stations. One can reach Paris from the Montbard train station in 2 hours, Dijon is only 30 minutes from the Venerey les Laumes train station and Lyon is a three-hour train ride. The gite's setting is very rural and peaceful yet the best of Burgundy's sites are easily accessible. The next time -- and I hope that there will be a next time very soon -- I will stay for two weeks. This gite is truly a gem -- I wholeheartedly and enthusiastically recommend it!'
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
a character stone-built cottage in a peaceful village setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p71105
+33 0980735631
Fresnes Montbard area
Yakima, Washington USA
5

A Gem of a Gite!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 31, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
Having read the excellent reviews before booking la Petite Maison, I knew that it would be very nice. It exceeded my expectations by far, however, for these reasons: 1) it was immaculately clean; 2) it was extremely comfortable; 3) the decor couldn't have been more attractive; 4) Annie & Shaun were helpful & considerate hosts; 5) the appliances were top-of-the-line (I loved the induction stovetop!); 6) the location is ideal, not just for sightseeing in the immediate area but also for going farther afield. There are two train stations which are only 15 minutes away in opposite directions. Paris is a 2-hour train ride from Montbard, Dijon is only 30 minutes and Lyon is a 3-hour train ride from the Vernerey les Laumes train station. The gite's setting is quite rural and very peaceful yet it is accessible to the best which the Cote d'Or has to offer. I really loved this gite and the next time -- which I hope will be very soon -- I will book it for at least 2 weeks. I cannot recommend la Petite Maison to you more wholeheartedly or enthusiastically. It truly is a little gem!! My thanks to Annie and Shaun for an exceptional experience!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing
business
a character stone-built cottage in a peaceful village setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p71105
+33 0980735631
Fresnes Montbard area
Suffolk, UK
5

Stunning Gite

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
La Petite Maison is a stunning gite which is comfortable, spacious and a fantastic retreat from all the hustle and bustle of modern life.
Anne and Shaun have done a wonderful job in making the property feel welcoming, warm and cosy with some lovely homely touches. Fresnes, itself is a charming, traditional french village and an excellent base for exploring the area.

I have stayed in La Petite Maison 3 times and I have always found it clean, very well equipped and presented. I would recommend it for a relaxing break at anytime of the year.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
a character stone-built cottage in a peaceful village setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p71105
+33 0980735631
Fresnes Montbard area
Hertfordshire, UK
5

La Petite Maison

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
We have just returned from a week away in 'La Petite Maison'. If you are looking for a quiet retreat in the Burgundy Countryside this is it. Very clean and tidy, the owners have obviously taken great care in making this a very comfortable home from home. The facilities in the property are as described on the website and all to a very high standard.
The court yard garden is great for catching the afternoon sun with room to park your car. I would recommend this property without reservation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
a character stone-built cottage in a peaceful village setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p71105
+33 0980735631
Fresnes Montbard area
Phillip Island
5

Delightful Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
La Petite Maison is a delightful cottage which is very comfortable and well equipped. The owners, Annie and Shaun are very welcoming and hospitable. The cottage is ideally located for visiting the Cote d'Or with its chateaux, vineyards, the beautiful Burgundy Canal and the many charming towns and villages close by. Highly recommended.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
a character stone-built cottage in a peaceful village setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p71105
+33 0980735631
Fresnes Montbard area
Essex, England
5

Beautiful Burgundy in July 2009

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
We have just spent a relaxing week at La Petite Maison and would thoroughly recommend a holiday there. It is very well equipped with a new kitchen and bathroom and a very comfortable bed. Everything was spotlessly clean. It is well positioned in Burgundy to visit Dijon, Beaune and smaller towns worth a visit are Samur en Auxois, Noyers sur Serein and Flavigny (where we had a superb lunch at Le Grange, very reasonably priced and fresh local farmers produce). We found the owners very helpful and there are plenty of books, brochures, and maps of the area provided in the gite.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
a character stone-built cottage in a peaceful village setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p71105
+33 0980735631
Fresnes Montbard area
germany
5

A wonderful place to be

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2009
  • Stayed: May 2009
Our time in la petite maison was just wonderful. The house is very well equipped and the interior makes you feel like home at once. Everything is very clean and decorated with lots of love. Shaun and Anne welcomed us very warmly and were ready to help at any time. The landscape is fantastic and many sights are nearby. For everybody who likes to ride the racing bike its the best place to be: empty streets. Also for normal bikes and mountainbikes there are appropriate tracks. We can strongly recommend this gite!
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3