Transylvania villa rental - Casa Heidi from the west
Casa Heidi from the west
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps12
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Transylvania Villa Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedrooms, sleeps 10, Jaccuzi in the roof attic, 4 Bathrooms

The Guardian selected our cozy self-catering villa as one of Europe's most fantastic vacation homes. Locating it steps away from a mountain creek, in the pristine mountain village of Bran, within walking distance from some of Transylvania's most popular sites, we fulfilled our dream. Take the fabulous surrounding views, the combination of rustic designs & modern features, the abundant presence of warm colours, the double Jacuzzi in the roof attic, the soft pure cotton bedding, the down duvets and pillows, the thermostatic taps in all showers, the super-recently installed WIFI, the radio / CD / MP player next to EACH bed, the very large wooden, cushioned garden swing or the fully equipped kitchen. These and many other features speak for what the main goal of this villa has been: to offer pleasure, relaxation & peace of mind. After seeing many other places in the world & picking ideas from them all, we have chosen this village in the heart of Romania to host our only vacation nest. From it you can walk to Dracula's Castle, to a ski slope or to a Nat. Park, start stunning round walks and more.

I left Romania as a teenager. I could not forget Bran, in which I spent my childhood's most wonderful vacations, but thought that it will eventually become part of my past, as so many other people and places did. A few years ago, after traveling the world (also through my work as a travel photographer, working for the National Geographic magazine among others), an overwhelming nostalgia, forced me to admit that I would never forgive myself for not somewhat recreating my childhood’s nest in this fairy place. It also became clear to me that with all the respect to Europe’s super-well-established travel destinations, there is nothing as intensively beautiful as this place. So I built this house. One hundred steps away from the house my parents built theirs, which we lost, once we left Communist Romania. Today I am so happy to spend not only my vacations, but those of my son (born outside of Romania), as well as that of my parents, so many years after they offered me…the same treat.

Dinu purchased this villa in 2004

1) We think that (also) the house and for sure the area, are Heaven.

2) So did 'The Guardian'.

3) So did most of those well-travelled Western travelers who greatly enjoyed our house and its surroundings, people who in most cases have never experienced this part of the world before. It made us quite glad and proud to find out that some of them only decided to 'check out Romania' once they saw our offer.

We did not purchase this house.

We built it from scratch.

Building it along the same mountain stream, below the same mountain peaks as the house I spent my childhood's best part in, was essential.

I did not create it as a quickly improvised business, but as my and my family's 'sole recharging station'. And it does just that and so well!

Each and every choice (idea / object) in this house was the result of a long process, sometimes brought from far away, with great efforts.

For my family, the house and the breathtaking views in its surroundings are THE reason to return again and again, a few times a year, but beyond the old / eternal attractions, there are more and more new sites and activities in the area making (y)our vacations into an unique and ideal combination of nature and history + 21st century treats.

17 Reviews of Property 606348 in Transylvania, Romania

The Guardian:'ONE OF EUROPE'S TWENTY MOST FANTASTIC VACATION VILLAS'. SEE WHY!
average rating of 4.9411764 based on 17 reviews
business
The Guardian:'ONE OF EUROPE'S TWENTY MOST FANTASTIC VACATION VILLAS'. SEE WHY!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p606348
+972 502880044
Transylvania Romania
Donna
5

We loved this vacation spot !

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
We (2 couples + 1 child) have traveled a lot and I have to say that this place is pampering you. Not only compared to local alternatives (we did check quite a few), but by any standard! It felt like a home right from the beginning, warm and welcoming. The house is new, its architecture is modern, original, at times spectacular, yet the inside gives you a cozy, homey feeling. We got there late yet found everything we needed. The house was warm. In the kitchen (beyond the fact that it’s well stocked), everything we asked the house keeper to shop for us in advance was there. After dinner we all took a long hot shower. Towels were there, waiting for us.
We woke up in the morning to the breathtaking views of the mountains on both sides of the house and the gurgling little spring running along it.
The degree of privacy is exceptional for a vacation house which is so easily accessible. Not feeling that you are one out of X other groups in the house (and garden), but that it’s all yours is great!
The landscape all along the hikes in the area is stunning and the owner was very helpful in giving us tips on where to go, what to do, where to eat, where to rent a car from, etc.
One thing we enjoyed a lot was the Jacuzzi. The view from up there (in the attic!) is fabulous. Both us and our friends took our time on two separate days in the generous double tub, for more than an hour. We did have to let Mircha know in advance when we would use it, so he would add extra wood in the stove for heating, as we were asked to do from the beginning. Everything worked perfectly fine. The room with the heating system has its own entrance and there was no problem privacy-wise…
Too bad (or lucky us!) that the world is still unaware of all this (not just the fabulous house, but the whole area is stunning and offers so much to do!).

We loved this vacation spot!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
The Guardian:'ONE OF EUROPE'S TWENTY MOST FANTASTIC VACATION VILLAS'. SEE WHY!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p606348
+972 502880044
Transylvania Romania
UK
5

Loved excellent accomm. & situation of the house!

Loved excellent accomm. & situation of the house!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
Last summer our family of 6 had the most wonderful week at Casa Heidi. We loved the excellent accommodation and situation of the house. It was not only a great base for travelling around the local countryside by car but was perfect for setting off on foot to explore the local hills and experience the most beautiful countryside of Romania. It was very handy for one of our highlights....exploring the neighboring Alpine villages of Magura and Pestura - you would struggle to see anywhere as beautiful in the whole of Europe! At night, after our daytime adventures, we would have a lovely meal together then sit around playing 'Scrabble' or watching a favourite family DVD or snuggle up in a corner with a book. We would heartily recommend Casa Heidi for anyone who would like to know they're going to have a relaxing holiday but in an unexplored, less touristy location.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
The Guardian:'ONE OF EUROPE'S TWENTY MOST FANTASTIC VACATION VILLAS'. SEE WHY!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p606348
+972 502880044
Transylvania Romania
South Africa
5

What a great change from the norm!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 12, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2010
I could not have asked for a better location to spend with friends on my birthday. Casa Heidi definitely made the occasion. Not only is it situated amongs the most beautiful mountains, but its also a perfect base to explore the surrounding villages and go on scenic drives from. I will forever have very fond memories of our stay. PS: The local plum brandy is something to try for anyone who is feeling brave.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Guardian:'ONE OF EUROPE'S TWENTY MOST FANTASTIC VACATION VILLAS'. SEE WHY!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p606348
+972 502880044
Transylvania Romania
Hod Hasharon
5

VERY ENJOYABLE!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
We have traveled for a family vacation to Casa Heidi – 9 people all together (one of us celebrated his 3rd birthday there). Everything was very enjoyable – the house was pleasant, spacious and well-equipped, the view seen from all windows was breath-taking and the village we lived in was both authentic and convenient. If we add to this the personal treatment we received from Dinu, that answered every question we had before leaving home, helped us even with the car rental and from Mircha – the house keeper, that took care of us while we were there, this altogether created a very special, pleasant vacation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
The Guardian:'ONE OF EUROPE'S TWENTY MOST FANTASTIC VACATION VILLAS'. SEE WHY!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p606348
+972 502880044
Transylvania Romania
Israel
5

Ideal place for a fun and relaxing family vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 4, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
Casa Heidi is an ideal place for a fun and relaxing family vacation. The villa is beautifully decorated with a feeling of the country. Rooms are well appointed and the home is well cared for. The caretaker, Mircea, is a nice man who is available to help out in planning and running the home, but we were most impressed by Dinu and Heidi's interest in assuring that we had a nice vacation. They not only provide a guidebook that we followed closely, but checked in with us to be sure that things were going well.
The location in Bran is well situated and we were able to do day trips of 1-2 hours away which were interesting for the entire family.
The natural beauty of the area and the country roads created the perfect "get away" feeling.
We were there in summer which was great weather and imagine that a winter holiday would be ideal as well.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: What we would like to emphasize is that since Deb and her lovely family enjoyed our vacation house, lots of things got even better: access all the way to the house no matter how bad the weather is thanks to a new bridge we built over the stream, improvements in the hot water system, access to the Internet we can offer those using their laptop, etc. This is our dream-vacation-house, too, so we will always do our best to make it into a source of more and more pleasure and comfort. For you and for us!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
The Guardian:'ONE OF EUROPE'S TWENTY MOST FANTASTIC VACATION VILLAS'. SEE WHY!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p606348
+972 502880044
Transylvania Romania
Paris
5

Can't wait to go back

Can't wait to go back
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 1, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
Our family (4 + 2 kids, from France) recently spent one week in Casa Heidi and had a wonderful time. It's not only what the house offers (everything you can wish in a house which is not yours), it's the informal, yet elegant, pleasant, warm feeling. Estetically and functionally, it was a real treat. The communication with the owners was VERY good not only until the reservation was made, but even during our stay when they shown their care for our well being, suggesting us fantastic driving routes, walks, restaurants, national parks... The house keeper was extremely friendly and helpful.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Guardian:'ONE OF EUROPE'S TWENTY MOST FANTASTIC VACATION VILLAS'. SEE WHY!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p606348
+972 502880044
Transylvania Romania
London, UK
5

Would love to go back!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 22, 2010
  • Stayed: Apr 2010
This house is amazing. So much thought has gone into the layout, fittings, decoration etc. It really feels like a home.
We went as a group of 3 couples, which this house is perfect for with 3 double bedrooms, each with ensuite.
The kitchen is fitted with everything you will need, the dining room table is huge, and the lounge is cozy with beanbags and lamps hanging down from the ceiling. There are books and games and a jacuzzi!
Unfortunately we didn't get to sit outside at all because it was too cold but there's a patio which must be lovely in the summer.
There were other houses nearby, including one that should be seen in the profile pic that obviously wasn't built when that photo was taken, but we still felt like we had privacy. There were also shepherds walking around and near the property but they weren't interested in us!
I highly recommend this place for a holiday in Transylvania. You could just stay at the house the whole time and not see any attractions and still feel like it was worthwhile.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 12/12