Kailua cottage rental - Three miles of the soft, white sand of Kailua Beach
Three miles of the soft, white sand of Kailua Beach
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps3
Minimum Stay nights
 

Kailua Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-3)

E komo mai to The Cottage at Hale Makai - our piece of island paradise in Kailua. Lying alongside a fabulous three-mile stretch of protected beach, Kailua is a small town on the windward side of Oahu. With no hotels in town, only local residents and visitors who rent vacation homes get to enjoy our island lifestyle. Kailua Beach was one of TripAdvisor's emerging "hot spots" for 2007 and is routinely voted one of the best beaches in the world by Dr. Beach. Your family will love this kama'aina (local) way to enjoy Hawaii.

You couldn't ask for a more perfect location! Set up for couples or small families, our one-bedroom, one-bath detached cottage is just 250 steps from Kailua Beach. Pick up your cappuccino at the Kalapawai Market on your walk to the beach every morning and your shave ice (snow cone) at Island Snow every afternoon on your walk home. Your family will love this Kama'aina (local) way to enjoy Hawaii.

Kailua town, with its restaurants, shopping, and entertainment is just a mile away. And, in just a short car ride, you can swim with the dolphins at Sea Life Park, snorkel in Hanauma Bay, hike the stunning Ko'olau mountains, swim/surf the North Shore, browse the "Swap Meet" at the Aloha Stadium, sample Honolulu's nightlife, walk Waikiki Beach, or get to the airport.

Kick back. Our cottage has been furnished in island style to make your stay relaxing and enjoyable. You will feel right at home while you barbecue dinner on the lanai, wander to and from the beach, watch movies or cable TV, play games with the family or drift off to sleep in the comfortable new bed. We also have wireless internet access if you have to stay connected!

The detached one-bedroom, one-bath cottage has a queen-size bed in a separate bedroom and queen-size sofa bed in the living room (sleeps two to three comfortably, sleeps 4 if the children are small), kitchen/eating area, and covered patio with a Weber gas grill and outdoor furniture. Includes access to all the beach toys - boogie boards, sand toys, beach chairs/mats/towels and cooler.

Located on a large lot with a separate, three-bedroom, two-bath detached house, the cottage is available to rent separately or together with the house for larger groups.

NOTE ABOUT AVAILABILITY: You can check availability of the cottage alone by clicking on the calendar on this listing. For availability for the house, see the calendar link on vrbo listing #55006. For availability for both, see vrbo listing #101378.

Keywords: Cottage

More Details
Hide Details

28 Reviews of Property 55009 in Kailua, Hawaii

Kailua Cottage - 250 Steps to Paradise
average rating of 4.869565 based on 28 reviews
business
Kailua Cottage - 250 Steps to Paradise
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p55009vbi
Kailua Oahu
South Lake Tahoe, CA
5

Perfect location & great property.

Perfect location & great property.
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
We stayed here for one week in October 2011. Everything is just as stated in the property discription. I don't think we could have picked a more perfect property. A short walk each morning to watch the sunrise, stop for coffee at the market on our way back to the property...a great way to start the day. Having access to the beach chairs and ice chests were a big plus. We will definitely check the availabilty of this property before scheduling our next trip to Oahu.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Kailua Cottage - 250 Steps to Paradise
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p55009vbi
Kailua Oahu
WA
5

Perfect for couple or small family!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
My husband, 15 month old daughter and I had a wonderful time in this cottage. It has everything you need and the location is fantastic. We enjoyed our days at the beach (such a short walk!) and our evenings grilling on the patio. In fact, we loved the property so much that we're taking our whole family back. We'll be in the house and cottage this time!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Kailua Cottage - 250 Steps to Paradise
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p55009vbi
Kailua Oahu
San Francisco, CA
5

Perfect location, wonderful cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
We really lucked out with this place -- it was our first time using VRBO, and we could not have asked for a better experience! The cottage's location is unbeatable -- less than a 5 minute walk to the beach, the amazing market (I miss Dot, the cat, already!), Buzz's, Island Snow, etc. And the cottage itself has every amenity we could want -- washer/dryer, tv/dvds, peaceful lanai, and fun beach toys! The bed was very comfortable, and it was really nice having the overhead fan. We also greatly appreciated the very thorough binder of information -- it was extremely helpful. Overall, an amazing experience. We will return!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Kailua Cottage - 250 Steps to Paradise
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p55009vbi
Kailua Oahu
Newport News, VA
5

Cute, Cozy Cottage in Kailua

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
My husband and I stayed in the cottage for a week (after spending a week in Waikiki). We were pleased to find the cottage very clean, nicely furnished, and a brief walk to the beach - exactly as advertised. We really enjoyed the well-equipped full kitchen and grilling out on the patio. We also appreciated having a ready selection of movies as we stayed in one night after a busy day. Being able to do laundry on-site was a big convenience. Also - and very important for me, I slept very comfortably during my stay, using the air conditioner to keep the place cool and quiet at night (as we kept the place open during the day).

While the Hilton at which we stayed in Waikiki was fancy and glamorous, this place had a familiar, comfortable, home-away-from home feel that made it more appealing to me. I would highly recommend this site for anyone looking for a relaxing, laid back, stress-free, peaceful and cozy environment

I would also like to note that the owner was extremely thorough in answering all of my questions. She even provided additional pictures of the cottage interior and contact information for a reference when I asked.

Overall, it was wonderful place to stay, and I would stay here again if I return to Kailua.

Note to other potential guests: Make sure to have a meal at Buzz's steakhouse - it is a short walk from the cottage and the food, mixed drinks, and service are excellent.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Kailua Cottage - 250 Steps to Paradise
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p55009vbi
Kailua Oahu
California
5

Perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
A wonderful place to stay for a relaxing visit. Everything was perfect, just as described and of high quality. We began many mornings with a walk on the beach and enjoying spectacular sunrises. Evening strolls were equally exciting with the bonus of watching the kite surfers at the end of the day. A totally relaxing stay where you feel like a local. We will be back soon!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Kailua Cottage - 250 Steps to Paradise
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p55009vbi
Kailua Oahu
Salt Lake City
4

GREAT LOCATION!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
We stayed at the cottage for 5 days in April and had a wonderful experience. The location is fantastic being just a few yards from one of the best swimming and windsurfing beaches in Ohau. We were very comfortable in the queen size bed and our teenager daughter liked the pull-out couch. The kitchen is very well stocked with a variety of appliances and utensils. The gas grill is a useful addition. Beach chairs, coolers, boogie boards, beach towels are on the premises for the guest's use. The lanai is very private and no noise from the street disturbed our sleep. It was nice to be able to wake up with a nice breeze from the tradewinds and with the birds chirping. It is very comfortable for a family with one or two children. What a relief to leave crowded and noisy Waikiki ( 1/2 hour away ) for this piece of paradise! Loved the cottage in Kailua.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Kailua Cottage - 250 Steps to Paradise
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p55009vbi
Kailua Oahu
Berwick, LA USA
5

Great Value

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
My wife and I went here for our 10th anniversary. If you want to relax in paradise, you won't be disappointed. We also stayed in Waikiki at a resort and it wasn't as peaceful and relaxing and the beaches were not as nice. The beaches in waikiki are like packed sardines. Kailua had more local people and some tourists.
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Kailua Cottage - 250 Steps to Paradise
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p55009vbi
Kailua Oahu
Dallas, TX
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2010
  • Stayed: Feb 2010
I grew up in Kailua and ALWAYS stay in a house/cottage when I come home. This cottage had everything my fiance and I needed for a fantastic 8 days. It was exceptionally clean and comfortable. Nice to have beach chairs, towels and mats at your disposal (and a cooler!). Used the gas grill a few times to cook up some fresh mahi and ahi! Onolicious!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Kailua Cottage - 250 Steps to Paradise
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p55009vbi
Kailua Oahu
Chula Vista, CA
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2009
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
Our family stayed here in early September and we
had a great time. Close beach access, quiet and
beautiful garden, loaned beach toys and supplies,
and good amenities inside the house were all
features that helped make our stay great. We
walked around the corner to the beach most days
and also tried out windsurfing, kayaking, etc.
Thank you!
business
Kailua Cottage - 250 Steps to Paradise
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p55009vbi
Kailua Oahu
New York City and Bearsville NY
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2009
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
We (three adults) stayed five nights in late August and thoroughly enjoyed the cottage. Being 50 steps to Kalapawai Market was an added treat. After a few days we felt like regulars - one morning we got to talking with neighbors who gave us invaluable tips on great hikes in the rainforest (and how to get there.) Very lovely lanai, totally private despite the traffic out front. Beautifully finished and well designed to beat the heat (jalousie windows, deep overhangs, ceiling fan in bedroom.) We heartily recommend it - a great alternative to hotels: get to know your neighbors and experience aloha for real!