South Iceland house rental - Bjalli, volcano Hekla and our herd of horses.
Bjalli, volcano Hekla and our herd of horses.
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

South Iceland House Rental Photos and Description
Cozy and peaceful cottage with beautiful views! NORTHERN LIGHTS in winter!

(If your dates are already booked please check out our new and third cottage Sel: listing nr. 2052798, http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p2052798 or http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p2052798)

We offer 2 separate cottages for rent: they each stand peacefully by themselves and afford great views onto volcano Hekla, the mountains and the surrounding pastures. Cottages 'Nordurnes' (for 2-4 persons) and 'Bjalli' (for up to 4 persons) are well equipped, cosy and in a scenic location on our 130 Hectare. On our land we also have horses, an outbuilding and our home, all generously spaced out for privacy and views.

Ideal location for daytrips to all the sights in the South of Iceland! Detailed information and descriptions are in the cottages for you. We gladly assist you with any queries you have!

Some of the day trips: Golden Circle, Geysir, Gullfoss and Thingvellir; Skogar waterfall and museum, bird cliffs near Vik (black beach) and Dyrholaey. Or take the ferry to the Westman Islands! Blue Lagoon and scenic drive along coast road; Reykjavik in 80km. In summer you can take the highland bus or Hekla taxi to Landmannalaugar and its hot springs in the highlands, or drive to the bottom of Hekla and hike to the top!

The nearest pool is 7km away. Insider tip: a very rustic old geothermal pool in the middle of nowhere: Seljavallalaug gamla, info in the cottages!

A very good riding stable is nearby (7 km), catering for beginners and experienced riders alike, see here for more information: www.herridarholl.is

Bird watching: From May until the end of July you can watch up to 20 bird species around the house and on our 130 hectares. Feel free to roam around! There are paths on our 130 hectare and you are welcome to explore and greet the horses.

In winter you can see NORTHERN LIGHTS!

Details for Bjalli 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4, 1 Bathroom

You enter 'Bjalli' through a little entrance room and turn right towards the kitchen and the open dining and sitting area with great views onto volcano Hekla and the surrounding horse and sheep pastures. The separate bed room for 2 also affords views onto Hekla. The bathroom is entered from the entrance room (shower and WC). Up the so called 'Samba' stairs you reach the open sleeping loft with 2 low but very comfortable beds. The house seems spacious and bright with its many windows and glass doors. Bjalli is about 700m from Nordurnes and stands near a drop off, where elves have been known to live. Through the double glass door towards the south you can step out onto the deck and enjoy the views into the landscape all around. In winter - with a little luck - you can see the NORTHERN LIGHTS! Experience your very own piece of Iceland!
More Details
Hide Details

Originally german, I have lived here in Iceland since 2000 with my icelandic husband, icelandic dog, chickens and horses! We love our home and we enjoy sharing our knowledge and experiences of Iceland and our area with you. Originally I came here because of horse riding and today I feel at least as icelandic as anything else! I am looking forward to welcoming you in the country I chose to be my home!

Maja Siska purchased this house in 2005

Nordurnes and Bjalli are each situated on their own in spectacular landscape: a cosy retreat with views onto horse pastures and mountains, volcanos and glaciers. And all that in an ideal location for trip to the sights of south Iceland, into the highlands and out for riding tours in summer… and the hour drive to Reykjavik ( 80km) over the pass Hellisheidi is always a scenic experience.

The atmosphere in Nordurnes and Bjalli is very peaceful and you are in touch with nature and the surrounding landscape. The idyllic setting with its views onto volcano Hekla and the mountains keeps surprising you! The next pool and the next riding stable is only 7km away.

24 Reviews of Property 535515 in South Iceland, Iceland

Bjalli
average rating of 5.0 based on 24 reviews
business
Bjalli
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p535515?uni_id=2072979
+354 487 1187
South Iceland Iceland
Denmark
5

Beautiful house in the green hills

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Iceland is breathtaking; the nature was so varying and beautiful – from hotspots to dark glaciers, falling or jumping water. Bjalli is a beautiful little brand new house perfect for a family, well furnished with everything that we needed. It is placed fantastic in the nature without any neighbors, with the most beautiful view to Hekla and the green fields with sheep and horses grazing. Bjalli is well placed for all tours in the south of Iceland. I hope we will be back in Iceland soon, then we will without any doubt choose Bjalli again, we will also recommend this house to anyone who likes to be in the middle of the nature watching Hekla looking different every day. The owner was very kind and helpful, and our children just loved there little adorable Icelandic sheepdog, which came by for a short visit every day to be sure we was alright. Bjalli must be one of the best places in Iceland.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/2
business
Bjalli
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p535515?uni_id=2072979
+354 487 1187
South Iceland Iceland
5

Alles super!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Das Ferienhaus ist super ausgestattet, man hat alles da was man braucht. Die Lage ist einfach genial, absolute Ruhe und traumhafte Sicht und doch ist man schnell auf der Ringstraße.
Wir haben uns in Island verliebt und wollen wieder kommen, werden dann wieder Haus Bjalli nehmen, da hier alles passt.

Liebe Maja, vielen Dank für deine Gastlichkeit und das du für uns das Wetter im Auge behalten hast. Wir haben uns sehr wohl gefühlt und sind erholt aus dem Urlaub zurückgekehrt.
Owner's Response: Herzlichen Dank fuer euren Besuch und die netten Gespraeche! Gut dass auch die Nordlichter mitgemacht haben! Bis zum naechsten Mal!
business
Bjalli
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p535515?uni_id=2072979
+354 487 1187
South Iceland Iceland
5

Einfach super!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Bereits 2011 haben wir (4 Köpfe - 7, 12, 40+, 40+) uns endgültig in Island verliebt und 4 Nächte im Nachbarhäuschen Nordurnes verbracht. Bjalli hat uns genauso begeistert! Unglaublicher Charme, tolle Ausstattung, kuschelige Betten, gepflegt und sauber und nicht zuletzt ein Kasten voll mit Islandliteratur - einfach herrlich.
Liebe Maja, vielen Dank für die netten Gespräche und deine Unterstützung von aktuellen Wetterberichten bis hin zur Abfrage von Fährzeiten.
Nach den alltäglichen Ausflügen waren für unsere Kinder die abendlichen Treffen mit deinem sympathischen Hund Skinna das Größte.
Wir können Bjalli bedingungslos weiterempfehlen und freuen uns auf ein Wiedersehen!
Owner's Response: Herzlichen Dank fuer Euren Besuch! Wir freuen uns auf ein nächstes Mal:)
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Bjalli
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p535515?uni_id=2072979
+354 487 1187
South Iceland Iceland
Germany
5

Home away from home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Zum Ausklang unserer Island-Reise haben wir wunderschöne Tage im wunderbaren Häusschen "Bjalli" verbracht.

- toller Rundumblick mit Blick auf Hekla und Eyjafjallajökull inbegriffen

- das Haus hat eine gute Ausstattung

- die Ausgangslage für Tagesreisen im Süden (Godafoss, Geysir, Pingvellir etc.) ist perfekt.

- auf Grund der Lage wohnt man in absoluter Ruhe mit einem unglaublich schönen Panorama :-)

- die sehr nette Eigentümerin war stets erreichbar und sehr hilfebereit (Danke für den leckeren FISCH und den Tipp bzgl. Reiten)

Fazit:
Rundum perfekt!!! Kommen gerne wieder!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Bjalli
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p535515?uni_id=2072979
+354 487 1187
South Iceland Iceland
5

«Bjalli» wie heim kommen...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Wir durften Anfang April 10 wunderbare Tage im einzigartigen, stilvollen und gemütlichen «Bjalli» verbringen. Das Wetter war perfekt... so wurden wir an 9 von 10 Tagen immer wieder von den Sonnenstrahlen geweckt. Die warmen Farbtöne im Haus, zusammen mit dem Goldbraun der Felder und den schönen Sonnenstrahlen ergab eine einzigartige Stimmung. Wir haben viele schöne Tagesausflüge gemacht und so die pure Natur von Island genossen. Bjalli ist an perfekter Lage um den Süden des Landes zu erkunden. Dir liebe Maja noch einmal ein riesiges «Merci» für die tolle Zeit und die vielen Einblicke in dein spannendes, interessantes und kreatives Leben.
business
Bjalli
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p535515?uni_id=2072979
+354 487 1187
South Iceland Iceland
5

Wundervolle Tage in Bjalli

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Es war ein fantastischer Aufenthalt in diesem tollen Haus! Für alles war gesorgt und der Ausflug auf diese tolle Insel wurde uns nur noch mehr versüßt! Alles war bestens vorbereitet und dem Inselgenuss stand ncihts mehr im Weg. Danke für die tollen Tipps, was man noch alles tun kann und allgemein für die Möglichkeit an diesem wundervollen Ort sein zu können!

Immer wieder gerne!
business
Bjalli
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p535515?uni_id=2072979
+354 487 1187
South Iceland Iceland
5

Ferien auf Bjalli

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Nach unserer Rundreise auf Island durften wir 10 Tage auf Bjalli verbringen,die uns unvergesslich bleiben werden. Angefangen mit den glücklichen Eiern im Kühlschrank und die Blumen auf dem Tisch wurden wir herzlich empfangen und fühlten uns sogleich wohl. Wir haben viele Ausflüge gemacht, sogar nach Landmanalaugar den uns Maja die Besitzerin mit einem Taxi vom Nachbar kurzfristig organisiert hat. Das war große Klasse. Bjalli hat einfach alles was man für einen gelungenen Urlaub braucht. Werden gerne wieder kommen.
Owner's Response: Das freut mich! Danke! Ja, die Landschaft um und nach Landmannalaugar ist einfach einmalig. Bis zum naechsten Mal! :)
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Bjalli
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p535515?uni_id=2072979
+354 487 1187
South Iceland Iceland
5

Für uns das perfekte Haus

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Nun sind wir leider wieder in den Alltag zurückgekehrt. Haben aber wieder tolle Eindrücke von unserer dritten und bisher besten Islandreise mitgebracht. Und das es die beste Islandreise geworden ist, liegt zum großteil auch an dem super Haus, dass wir zwei Wochen lang bewohnen durften. Die Lage und Ausstattung waren für uns einfach perfekt. Das Haus ist ideal für eine Reise mit Kindern.
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Bjalli
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p535515?uni_id=2072979
+354 487 1187
South Iceland Iceland
Pfaffing Germany
5

Traumhafte Alleinlage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
zu viert angereist, fühlten wir uns 1 Woche superwohl in diesem wunderbaren Häusschen "Bjalli":
- Alleinlage mit Rundumblick (Blick auf Hekla inbegriffen)
- gute Ausstattung, auch für eine Familie, die ab und zu selbst kochen will
- perfekte Ausgangslage für Tagesreisen im Süden (Godafoss, Geysir, Pingvellir etc.). Wer längere Autofahrten nicht scheut, kann auch Jökulsárlón und Skaftafell an einem Tag bewältigen
- himmlische Ruhe
- eine sehr sympathische Eigentümerin, die - wenn man sie benötigt - immer sehr hilfsbereit ist.
Rundum alles perfekt!!!
Owner's Response: Herzlichen Dank! Ich freue mich dass es allen gefallen hat! Island und Bjalli grüßen!
business
Bjalli
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p535515?uni_id=2072979
+354 487 1187
South Iceland Iceland
5

Super gemütlich und kuschelig

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
Das Haus strahlt absolute Ruhe und Gemütlichkeit aus und ist sehr sauber und gepflegt. Die Vermieterin ist sehr nett und gibt prima Tips. Wir haben uns sehr wohl gefühlt und können das Haus nur weiterempfehlen.
Owner's Response: Vielen Dank und bis zum nächsten Mal! :)