Manasota Key house rental - Our Cuddlefish Beach Cottage
Our Cuddlefish Beach Cottage
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 7 - 28 nights
 

Manasota Key House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

Are you looking for the perfect beach house hide-a-way on a tropical island with your own deserted beach; a beach house and beach so private and secluded that you are likely to see more dolphins than people? Do you dream of a beach that is littered with shells and fossilized sharks teeth, where you can watch one magnificent sunset after another? Then we have your dream come true.

Our beach house is on a secluded beach that makes up the barrier island of Manasota Key. Our beach is a very quiet beach. The entire island is a conservation area. You can often sit for hours and not see even another person. The sand is covered with gorgeous shells and numerous sharks’ teeth. About 20 feet off shore is one of the few Florida West Coast Reefs in just a few feet of water; perfect for snorkeling and fishing. There are abundant tropical and game fish. Yet you are just a 10 minute drive back to the main land for restaurants and stores.

We have two screened porches; one right on the beach, perfect for watching enchanting sunsets while dolphins play in the waves. The other screened porch is attached to our house, about 100 feet back from the beach, for barbecue and relaxing. Between the sand and our beach house is our private backyard filled with numerous tall palm trees. The house has new appliances including a Sub-Zero refrigerator, three TVs, and cable TV and high speed cable internet, with Wi-Fi and laser printer for you to access with your own computer. Each bedroom and the living room have stereos that accept ipods and MP3 players. Golf, tennis, restaurants, and shopping are only minutes away on the mainland.

Board games, puzzles and X-Box and games provided for the kids to play.

Keywords: Beach Home, Beach House

More Details
Hide Details

My family and I are water and beach lovers. We enjoy SCUBA diving, boating, wake boarding and jet skiing. When we get tired we just sit back and enjoy the sunset.

Mark & Michele Lipman purchased this house in 2002

We bought this cottage because of its quiet and secluded location away from all of the hustle and bustle. We were looking for a beach that we could just sit back and read a book and feel like the whole world is ours. No body to disturb us.

We enjoy our cute cottage. It has everything we need to enjoy our selves and relax. When we arrive at our cottage we can take off our watches and set our internal clocks to island time. We collect shark's teeth. We go out on the boat. We bar-b-que with friends. It is a total paradise.

46 Reviews of Property 49633 in Manasota Key, Florida

True Beachfront Beach House on Private Beach
average rating of 5.0 based on 46 reviews
business
True Beachfront Beach House on Private Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p49633vb
(941) 232-9133 (Florida, USA)
Manasota Key Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

Beachy Week @ Cuddlefish

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 13, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Location, location, location! What a wonderful spot to just lay back and enjoy the serenity of the beach. Relaxation at its best. We had a perfect week with the weather, activities, and no crowds. LOL! Just pelicans bobbing in the water waiting patiently for their meal, and the occasional shell seekers. The house is charming, and adequate for all including our two furry friends. Many walks on the beach along with many beautiful sunsets is just what the doctor ordered to D-E-S-T-R-E-S-S. The week was spent parasailing, along with visits to Sharkey's, Sarasota and St. Armands for lunch and le Macaron, outlet shopping in Ellenton, and even a visit to the public beach for a refreshing swim. Music and good food at Mangos the first night ending the week with a wonderful lunch at Cassariano in Venice on the last day. We felt right at home in the cottage and settled in immediately. Leaving was difficult, but have wonderful memories to take with us. Looking forward to a return visit. Thank you for sharing this special place.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
True Beachfront Beach House on Private Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p49633vb
(941) 232-9133 (Florida, USA)
Manasota Key Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Lindstrom, MN
5

Highly recommend!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
This property was better than we anticipated! The cottage is beautifully decorated, immaculately clean, and the location is quiet, on a lovely, shell-filled beach. We couldn't have found a nicer spot. The owner was very helpful, and we highly recommend this idyllic spot!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
True Beachfront Beach House on Private Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p49633vb
(941) 232-9133 (Florida, USA)
Manasota Key Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Germany
5

Peace and Serenity

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
What a wonderful spot on earth ! Cuddlefish Cottage held all its promises: A getaway paradise to spot dolphins, turtles, rays, hunt for shark teeth and trade in concrete for shells ! Wake up in the morning, smell coffee and watch the empty beach from bed - what more can a vacation morning promise ? We'd go again in a flash. Also very comfortably furnished.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
True Beachfront Beach House on Private Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p49633vb
(941) 232-9133 (Florida, USA)
Manasota Key Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

Cuddlefish Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Great time staying at the beach! Very much enjoyed having our dog along. The screened shelter by the water was great for enjoying the beach while in the shade. We had the beach mostly to ourselves at this time of year, but the water was still nice and days warm. Our only problem was the no-seeums. They LOVED me and my daughter, but had no interest in my husband and sister. Have been to FL many times and this was the first time dealing with the persistent itch. Not sure if it was the time of year or what... Found a lot of shark teeth. Hurricane Sandy came during this time but we escaped with only rough water and a lot of wind. Hope to return some day!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
True Beachfront Beach House on Private Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p49633vb
(941) 232-9133 (Florida, USA)
Manasota Key Florida South Central Gulf Coast
UK
5

Paradise Found

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
From the moment we pulled into the drive, we were smitten by the secluded setting, the fun facade of the cottage, the shabby chic interior, the endless beach, the dolphins, the bird life, the resident tortoise, the sound of the sea. We travel a great deal, and apart from one particular private island in the Caribbean we have found nothing to compete with this setting. There was no red tide during our visit, so walking for miles on the deserted beach was a complete joy. Only downside is you must have a car to reach the restaurants and shops. If you want a 5 star luxury resort, forget it, Cuddlefish Cottage is a home from home. Think laid back and relaxed. The owners are very helpful and made very prompt repayment of our deposit.
Facilities: The kitchen has a microwave, fridge, coffe maker and cooker, all spotlessly clean. The shower is modern. The beds are comfortable. Easy to use washing machine and dryer. We are English so we would have liked a kettle but we made do with boiling water for tea in a pan.
This cottage is in paradise, and we will return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your wonderful review. We pride ourselves in trying to think of everything a vacationer could wish for while staying in our Cuddlefish Cottage. We hope to have you stay with us again and a tea kettle will be ready and waiting for you when you return.
Mark and Michele
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
True Beachfront Beach House on Private Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p49633vb
(941) 232-9133 (Florida, USA)
Manasota Key Florida South Central Gulf Coast
-
5

Private get away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
My wife and I loved the Cuddlefish Cottage, we are already planning on coming back. Mark is a great responsive owner and wants you to enjoy his piece of heven.
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
True Beachfront Beach House on Private Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p49633vb
(941) 232-9133 (Florida, USA)
Manasota Key Florida South Central Gulf Coast
-
5

Great time

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
My wife and I loved the Cuddlefish Cottage, the owner Mark was very accomidating. We are already planning on coming back.

Highly recommened for a quiet get away
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
True Beachfront Beach House on Private Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p49633vb
(941) 232-9133 (Florida, USA)
Manasota Key Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Rutland, MA
5

Wonderful Peaceful Restful and Beautiful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We were looking for a quiet, peaceful, relaxing getaway, and Cuddlefish Cottage is perfect for people with that goal. If you leave the windows open at night, which we did, you can hear the surf, and there's nothing like going to sleep listening to the ocean. We saw birds and there appears to be a resident tortoise, who is very cool. Walking on the beach we were pretty much by ourselves for quite awhile in both directions. The star attractions of the house are the screened in eating nook and the gazebo by the water--we spent a lot of time just reading in the gazebo. Swimming was good, although right in front of the house you have to watch out for the rocks a little--I wore diving shoes and I was fine. The house itself is incredibly clean and the bed linens are Ralph Lauren. The owner, Mark, is one of the nicest people from whom we have rented--very helpful and prompt. My only suggestion is that the kitchen needs to have a few things like measuring cups and measuring spoons.
Stump Pass State Park beach is spectacular, and quite close. I can't figure out why so many more people seemed to be at Blind Pass (which is closer). If you go down the beach away from the parking lot you have the beach to yourself very quickly. One day when it rained we went to Sarasota. Try eating at Michael's on East--excellent food--and went to the Ringling Art Museum--lovely grounds.

We rent villas all over the world through VRBO and Cuddlefish is clearly one of the best values we have ever found. I would absolutely recommend it to anyone who wants a quiet lovely time at the beach.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
True Beachfront Beach House on Private Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p49633vb
(941) 232-9133 (Florida, USA)
Manasota Key Florida South Central Gulf Coast
port charlotte fl
5

girls week

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
Dear Mr. and Mrs. Lipman,

My Grand daughter, Nikki , arranged for her Mother, her Aunt and me, her Grand Mother, to stay in your adorable cottage recently (Sep 10 - 17 2011). We enjoyed it so very much. It was the perfect vacation - your thoughtfulness in the furnishings and anticipation of our every need all contributed to this. We loved being there so much we never went out to eat, not once.

Also, I must tell you how happy I was when I walked the property and the Beach. My people are all old Florida natives (I am fifth generation). When I was young and before the development of this area, we often fished near "The Rocks" and cooked over an open fire in the cabbage hammock(Sabal palms) on the shore line. So, you see, I was absolutely amazed that Nikki found your precious cottage in the very area I remember so well from my much younger days and, had not visited in ever so long.

Thank you for everything and especially, for the chance to revisit a very special place in my memories which I hold close to my heart.

With much appreciation and in all Sincerity,

Grayce
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
True Beachfront Beach House on Private Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p49633vb
(941) 232-9133 (Florida, USA)
Manasota Key Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Orlando, FL
5

A little piece of heaven!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
Perfect setting to get away for some relaxing down time. This was our third stay at Cuddlefish Cottage and it just keeps getting better. Mark continues to upgrade and improve this little piece of heaven. Our dogs love it because they get to go on vacation here too! Our stays here have been the most relaxing vacations we have ever had and we look forward to returning...again and again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly
Helpful votes: 1/1