County Clare house rental - Inchiquin House
Inchiquin House
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps10
  • 4 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

County Clare House Rental Photos and Description
5 bedrooms, sleeps 10, 4 bathrooms, wheelchair accessible, rural tranquitlity

Inchiquin House is an elegant period home in County Clare, romantically tucked away in the west of Ireland not far from the Atlantic. It is the perfect base from which to explore the unique Burren landscape, historic sites and the county’s many leisure activities. Over 200 years old, the house stands in its own peaceful wooded private estate of over one hundred acres, reached by its own half-mile long avenue. This well-appointed self-catering home comfortably accommodates 10 guests in 5 bedrooms, and is an ideal vacation setting for family and friends. We are delighted to provide for the young and old, having a special outside playhouse for children and a wheelchair-accessible bathroom and guest room within. Inchiquin House is conveniently positioned only 30 minutes drive from Shannon Airport, with Limerick and Galway being only a little farther. Both inside and outside, the house exudes atmosphere and an old country charm - an experience you will want to relive again and again.

House Interior: The House is entered through a bright porch added in the early twentieth century and leads into the main hallway with stairs to the upstairs rooms.

To the right of the hallway is a twin-windowed drawing room with relaxing period armchairs and plush sofas, dominated in the background by a Steinweg pianola and a writing table. Two paintings of The Four Seasons adorn the walls. The black marble fireplace, decorated with period blue tiles, burns on coal, wood and pleasantly-scented local turf.

The well-proportioned red-painted dining room with polished marble fireplace welcomes you with a warm glow of old-world opulence. The large mahogany table seats 10 and is serviced by two sideboards.

At the rear of the house is the refurbished kitchen and dining area providing a view towards the old garden at the back. The kitchen has oak units and granite worktops. The catering facilities are cooking-school grade. The dining table seats 10 comfortably, and has an adjacent sideboard.

The Surrounding Estate: The estate borders the country road from Corofin to Kilnaboy, and the house is reached by a kilometre-long avenue which provides splendid views over Lake Inchiquin. Coming up to the house you pass through a double-gate under two old copper beech trees that change colour with the seasons.

The front ground-floor drawing room and dining room look out on to lawn and mature trees. The house is on a working farm, and cattle occasionally graze in the fields adjoining the avenue, being sometimes herded into the extensive woodland at the back.

Surrounding the house there is ‘The Granary’, a storage building and a series of farm outbuildings. There is also a small storage building in the garden that has been converted into a children’s playhouse.

In the woodland behind the House, the Burren’s karst limestone reveals itself, formed by millennia of erosion. A large stone ring-fort over 1000 years old can also be visited on foot, through the moss-covered forest landscape.

Attractions & 6 Day Planner: Sunday

The Burren Centre in Kilfenora

Aillwee Caves

Poulnabrone megalithic tomb

Monday

Castle and abbey of Dysert O’Dea

Kilmacduagh

Corofin’s own Genealogical centre in the old Church.

There is also a charming pottery shop adjacent.

Tuesday

Cliffs of Moher.

Doolin Caves

Ferries to the Aran Islands

Burren Smoke house

Wednesday

Craggaunowen Pre-historic Park

Bunratty Castle & Folk Park

Thursday

Burren Perfumery & tea rooms

Surfing in Lahinch!

Friday

Walks in the Burren

More Details
Hide Details

22 Reviews of Property 455496 in County Clare, Ireland

Award Winning Historic Country House Estate south of Galway Bay
average rating of 4.9545455 based on 22 reviews
business
Award Winning Historic Country House Estate south of Galway Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p455496
+00353 86 8231675
County Clare Ireland
5

Inchiquin House Experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
This is a fantastic set-up,Elegance,charm,service and a beautiful setting.The proprieter has attended to every detail in a meticulous manner.Thoroughly recommended.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Award Winning Historic Country House Estate south of Galway Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p455496
+00353 86 8231675
County Clare Ireland
5

A blissful week in Corofin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
I'd had an incredibly busy, stressful year, so I was looking forward to peace, quiet and relaxation at Corofin. The moment I arrived, I started to unwind. The house is luxurious but what the photographs can't convey is just how comfortable it is. I'm not a fan of hotels because of the impersonal feel the often have. I've stayed in other holiday rentals but none have felt so much like home. The owners have incorporated the history of the house and their family into the Cofofin experience which gives a special dimension to the stay. The house has real charm.

We were a party of ten, but the house is spacious so it was possible to find a quiet corner to make the most of the fantastic range of books on local and Irish history. Little things like this show the thought put into the house. There is an outdoor playhouse full of toys for children (big and small), toys and equipment for babies. I love cooking, so the kitchen was a dream. It's well-stocked, spacious, has superb appliances and was immaculately clean. The herb garden just outside would earn a sixth star from me if it were possible. I understand there are plans for an allotment within the gardens too which will be a fantastic addition.

The information provided in the welcome pack was invaluable. I didn't have time to research the area in advance, but didn't need to as the pack was so comprehensive. The suggested itineries made sure we were able to to see the key sites, though there is so much we didn't have time to squeeze in, we are already planning our return trip. We opted for the local history tour offered as an extra, which I can't recommend highly enough. The Burren is a bizarre landscape, overflowing with history. Our enjoyment of the scenery was far richer for the insider information.

I'd recommend the Tea and Garden Rooms in Ballyvaughan. I missed out on sampling their delicacies when I opted for a walk in the countryside nearby. The walk was stunning, but so was the cheesecake my family enjoyed. So good that Speilberg made a detour to have another slice on his way to Monaco earlier in the summer. That is a seriously good cheesecake. On your way back to Corofin, take the coastal road and see the spectacular views of the Aran Islands on the way to Doolin, which has a well deserved reputation for music.

I have already recommended Corofin and Co. Clare to friends. If you want a taste of Irish charm, steeped in history with all the mod cons, this is the perfect spot.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Award Winning Historic Country House Estate south of Galway Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p455496
+00353 86 8231675
County Clare Ireland
5

Old world country charm, with modern luxury.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
We spent a marvelous week in Inchiquin house at the end of the summer. The house is beautifully appointed and decorated to a very high standard, totally in keeping with it's history. It is like stepping into another era. It's a true home away from home, with a large collection of books and old family photos providing old-world charm.
The owners have clearly made an effort to provide for every possible requirement and thoughtful touches abound. Facilities are also suitable for children or wheelchair users. The house-manager was very welcoming and able to provide whatever assistance we needed.
The location is very secluded, accessed via a winding, narrow lane through farmland. It's ideal for those seeking some peace and quiet - the only outside sounds are from birds and grazing cattle.
The nearby village of Corofin can provide for basic requirements and the larger town of Ennis is just 15 minutes drive away. The house is in the heart of the Burren region with ample opportunities for sightseeing, hiking, fishing etc.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to return in the future. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Inchiquin House to other groups.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Award Winning Historic Country House Estate south of Galway Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p455496
+00353 86 8231675
County Clare Ireland
5

A haven of tranquility and good taste

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
This house has been exquisitely renovated and is a wonderful base for exploring the Burren (one of the most spectacular and unique areas of Ireland). Beautifully and respectfully decorated, it has a real homelike feel to it, as it is full of antiques and art work, which give it a personal touch.
The owners and manager were welcoming and attended to all our needs, and the house chef cooked us a delicious and abundant meal one of the evenings during our stay.
The surrounding area is unique and breathtakingly beautiful, with many places to visit and a certain magic in the air.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Award Winning Historic Country House Estate south of Galway Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p455496
+00353 86 8231675
County Clare Ireland
Belleville, WI
5

Wonderful Time at Inchiquin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
My wife, mother-in-law and four children (ages 8, 6, 4 and 1) spent about a week at Inchiquin House. From the first moment, we had a wonderful time. The kids were captivated by the sheep, horses and cows in the fields. Kathleen greeted us at the house and had fires in the two fireplaces going. Every detail was anticipated from the bedrooms to the kitchen to the kid's playhouse outside. Our time was a wonderful combination of relaxing, playing outside and relaxing to music in front of the fire at night. It was an ideal combination of a family-friendly environment and period-appropriate elegance.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Award Winning Historic Country House Estate south of Galway Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p455496
+00353 86 8231675
County Clare Ireland
Dublin
4

Super find for us...!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
Our stay at Inchiquin House – a relaxing getaway yet within short drive to so many Irish historic & scenic icons. My wife and I braved a few days away from the comfort of our home with our 12 month old twins – our uncertainties were quickly at ease once we arrived – house was super equipped. I forgot the baby sterilizer electric lead and yes to our astonishment there was a sterilizer to hand in the kitchen – for this reason alone, I wanted to write this review…..

Although the location is not suitable for a ramble with a buggy (after 2 or 3 circuits of the extensive avenue..!), a short trip in the car will take you to all of the many highlights in Clare.
Our nights in with the kids tucked away were my highlight – an old country house with crackling fires & gin and tonic in the drawing room then Sky news & a bottle of wine in the kitchen.

If you seek relax, country home, history, scenic trips, typical local Irish hospitality then look no further…..enjoy.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Award Winning Historic Country House Estate south of Galway Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p455496
+00353 86 8231675
County Clare Ireland
Dublin
5

best hol of the year

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 31, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
This is the place we have all been looking for! What an enchanting idyll. For the ultimate in relaxation head for Corofin House - if Ronans impeccable hospitality doesnt woo you, then the enchanting countryside certainly will. Fom its perfect aspect, surrounded by beech and oak, lying between the rolling hills above its magical lake, Corofin House holds all the cards for anyone looking for a rural break away from it all. We couldn't have had more fun, lost in time boating, hiking, cooking and enjoying Ronans Trad down town. Well placed for Burren exploration and within driving distance of the beaches. With its recent renovation, comfort and accomodation exceeded expectations for a family country house - in particular being both very spacious and warm, while keeping its traditonal country style. Def will be back (I hope!). Ronan - thank you - the best break
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Award Winning Historic Country House Estate south of Galway Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p455496
+00353 86 8231675
County Clare Ireland
Dublin
5

My stay at Inchiquin House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 17, 2010
  • Stayed: Apr 2010
My stay at Inchiquin House was an unforgettable experience. The location of the house is perfect for a quiet get-away, yet close enough to town if you feel like getting out and about. There are plenty of tourist attractions very nearby, and endless walks on the Burren with breath-taking views and scenery.
The house itself is luxurious with every possible amenity and detail to make you feel at home, from the open-plan kitchen/dining area with it's terrace for eating out, to the sitting room with its splendid view and roaring fire.
A perfect get-away for any time of the year, I highly recommend Inchiquin House.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Award Winning Historic Country House Estate south of Galway Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p455496
+00353 86 8231675
County Clare Ireland
Ireland
5

Attention to detail

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
Such a lovely place to escape to. I had feared that a large country pile might have a felt austere, cold. Its the opposite - a warm, welcoming country house with a personality of its own. I came here with friends, we wandered, ate and snoozed our way through a beautiful few days in the burren.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Award Winning Historic Country House Estate south of Galway Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p455496
+00353 86 8231675
County Clare Ireland
Dublin 6
5

Lovely house, great part of the country

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2009
Stayed here with four friends for a long weekend last year. I was in the Burren bedroom (gorgeous - have since copied the duck-egg blue walls at home!!!). We went into Corrofin (about 15 mins walk as far as I remember) each night for pints and pool, spent days wandering around the grounds - including a fairy fort!! - and just chilling out really. House itself is well preserved in the old style, and feels totally private. Very "get away from it all". Up-to-scratch facilities too, esp kitchen - we ate all our meals at home in the dining room or by the fire. Didn't end up exploring nearby towns that time, but I'd go back again - it's an amazing part of the country. Thanks to Ronan who met us there - very easy transaction, and he was good for tips on pubs/restaurants in the area.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3