Northwest Iceland cottage rental - The Glacier Snæfellsjökull right above the cottage
The Glacier Snæfellsjökull right above the cottage
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights
 

Northwest Iceland Cottage Rental Photos and Description
2 bedroom - Sleep up to 4 cozy, only 2 hours from Reykjavik.FREE INTERNET

We are most happy to introduce to you our new 90m2 in two stories cozy cottage in the most beautiful place in Iceland. The cottage is one of few cottages all designed as Icelandic houses from 1920, MOST QUIET AREA, , Hellnar 205km/2 hours drive from the capital Reykjavík. Surroundings of the National Park of the Snæfellsnes. MUST visit our homepage http://hellnar.wetpaint.com/

The cottage is with all comfortableness needed to relax out in the country in total luxury. The house is comfortable for up to 4 people to stay and sleep. This is a New released private property and has never been rented out before. Suits perfectly for a great vacation in Iceland. The cottage is with up to date security system. The inside is with among traditional Icelandic artwork from the famous painter ERRO and his father Guðmundur from Miðdal. Some of the interior is Danish antique from 1895, all to give the warm welcome of the old Iceland.

Orca whales are often spotted of the coast of Hellnar.

We are a family of 6 - we have so close connections to Hellnar as Berglind used to stay there as a child with her grandparents.

We are just in love with the place :)

Hellnar ehf. purchased this cottage in 2010

It´s the best one you can have in Iceland.

Please read the reviews, they tell it all.

National Park and the power of the glacier Snæfellsjökull just above our cottage.

43 Reviews of Property 443052 in Northwest Iceland, Iceland

NEW NORTHERN LIGHTS COTTAGE.
average rating of 4.860465 based on 43 reviews
business
NEW NORTHERN LIGHTS COTTAGE.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p443052
+354 08560704
Northwest Iceland Iceland
Bideford, Devon
5

Amazing place to stay, whatever the weather!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
We have just returned to the UK after a wonderful week at the Jules Verne cottage. The cottage was even more beautiful and stylish than the photos suggest. It was very clean and well-maintained. Recently the upstairs master bedroom has been properly enclosed with a wall and a door, and the downstairs sofa area where our 8 and 10-year old boys slept very well on a very comfy sofa bed has had a sliding door added, so this can also be closed off and made dark and cosy.
The heating (underfloor and radiators) is excellent and keeps the whole place warm even at the extremes of temperature and weather we experienced during our stay!
The steep stairs take a little getting used to but were not a problem. There is a baby safety gate at the top.
The shower room is also well heated and contains a large washing machine and tumble drier.
We were over the moon to see the Northern Lights, a lifetime ambition for my husband and I. They really are breathtaking. Other highlights were the amazing road over the mountain to Olafsvik and the road from Olafsvik to Stykkisholmur (where there is an excellent hot dog stand selling the best hot dogs we have ever tasted!) Also we loved the hot chocolate and cake at the lovely Hellnar beach cafe.
We recommend you stock up on groceries and petrol in Reykjavik or Borganes on your way to the cottage because after that shopping and refuelling opportunities are limited. There are small supermarkets in Rif, Olafsvik and Stykkisholmur which are fine for the basics but there is not a lot of choice. The bakery in Olafsvik is excellent. There is also a bank and petrol station.
The weather prevented us from doing as much walking as we would have liked but it encouraged us to relax at the cottage and enjoy the PS3 and snuggle up and watch movies, of which there is a wide selection. And the weather changes so quickly in Iceland we never had to stay inside for long.
Gestur and Berglind were very helpful and gave excellent customer service. No query was too much trouble. We were lucky enough to meet the lovely Gestur twice during our stay!
We wholeheartedly recommend this cottage for couples or families of any age. We already miss the stunning sea and mountain views and wonderful clean fresh air! We took hundreds of photos and will get much pleasure from reliving our Iceland adventure!
We can also recommend the Blue Lagoon which we visited on our way back to the airport, and Reyjavik itself for shopping, eating and more excellent hot dogs!
Owner's Response: It was so nice meeting you all,you were so nice guest, we consider you now as friends after meeting you, Dover is now in our plans :)
Did you know the following:
This Snæfellsjökull volcano and peninsula have acted as a beacon for settlers and pilgrims to Iceland for a thousand years: Erik the Red, father of Lief Erikson, homesteaded on Snaefellsnes.
Jules Verne’s Journey to the Center of the Earth began at the crater of the volcano, and the new age travelers of the 1980s would go on pilgrimage here, feeling that this glacier was one of the energy springs of the planet. Today, tourists come each summer to climb to its summit and Arctic terns come to breed at its base. There is still a yearly celebration in which hundreds of people come to meditate in the lava fields near the glacier. Snaefellsjokull is sometimes called the holiest place in Iceland.
Helpful votes: 11/11
business
NEW NORTHERN LIGHTS COTTAGE.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p443052
+354 08560704
Northwest Iceland Iceland
5

“HIGHLY recommended!”

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
This is one of the coolest places I have ever stayed. The Jules Verne cottage is beautiful, the interioris is fantastic. What else needs to be said? I highly recommend this adventure location. Spectacular views and on top of all of this it's an excellent value for your money.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
NEW NORTHERN LIGHTS COTTAGE.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p443052
+354 08560704
Northwest Iceland Iceland
4

Jules-Verne Cottage in Hellnar, Snaefellsnes

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Julesverne Cottage is a beautiful house in the picturesque small village called Hellnar. The cottage is very convenient and cozy. I loved all the windows, a lot of light and beautiful views. At the front you can see the Sea and a typical (Icelandic)church. At the back you see the big mountains. We went to the cottage in the winter, the house was warm and comfortable. The house is equipped with the modern techniques, like an I pad, wifi, stereo, TV etc. In the kitchen you have everything you need, good oven, microwave and a lot of cooking stuff. The only thing I missed was a dishwasher. In the bathroom you have a good shower and big washing machine and dryer. The bedroom is big and I slept well on a good mattress. I really can recommend the cottage, we went during the winter time and we saw the magnificent Northern Lights. The hospitality of the owners you can experience in the house. By the way you can always mail or phone them with any question, they give you all the help you need.

Maaike Uitentuis
From Holland
Owner's Response: Thank you Maaike and all the best to France!
Hope to meet you in Iceland again!

All the best,
Gestur and Berglind.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
NEW NORTHERN LIGHTS COTTAGE.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p443052
+354 08560704
Northwest Iceland Iceland
5

Accomodazione fantastica in un luogo unico

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
Abbiamo passato una notte in questa splendida e lussuriosa accomodazione provvista di ogni comfort, e soprattutto inserita in una cornice paesaggistica unica fra mare e ghiacciaio. Da qui passano vari sentieri che permettono di venire a diretto contatto con la natura piú incontaminata che abbia mai visto...il nostro unico rimpianto é non esserci fermati piú a lungo!
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
NEW NORTHERN LIGHTS COTTAGE.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p443052
+354 08560704
Northwest Iceland Iceland
5

EIn ganz besonderer Ort

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
Wir waren Ende Oktober 2011 für eine knappe Woche in diesem wunderbaren Cottage in Hellnar.

Das Häuschen ist liebevoll und sehr geschmackvoll eingerichtet, so dass wir uns gleich wie zu Hause gefühlt haben. Es fehlt einem an nichts und auch die Küche war perfekt ausgestattet.

Die Aussicht direkt vor und hinter dem Cottage ist atemberaubend: Vorne die See und hinter der Blick auf die Berge, vor allem natürlich auf den Snaefellness mit Gletscher und man zweifelt keinen Moment daran, dass von diesem Vulkan aus Jules Verne wirklich die Reise zum Mittelpunkt der Erde begonnen hat.

Und dann hatten wir noch das Glück, gleich an drei Abenden das Nordlich zu sehen - ein Anblick wie aus einer anderen Welt, der uns sehr berührt hat.

Bei soviel Weite und Schönheit fällt es leicht, den Alltag zu vergessen und sich auf Island einzulassen.

Wir waren das ersten Mal in Island und haben uns sofort in dieses wilde Land voll herber Schönheit verliebt. Das Cottage von Berglind und Gestur war der perfekte Ort für unsere erste Reise und wir werden ganz bestimmt wieder kommen!

Ein dickes Dankeschön an Berglind und Gestur, die alles - und noch viel mehr - dafür getan haben, damit wir uns wohlfühlen und um uns einen unvergesslichen Urlaub zu bereiten.

Kurz um: Sehr empfehlenswertes Haus! Wir wünschen allen, die dort hinfahren, eine schöne Zeit und viel Freude.

Das war ein ganz besonderer Urlaub, an den wir noch oft mit Freude - und Sehnsucht im Herzen - denken.

Angelika, Bernd und Louisa aus Aachen
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you dear friends!
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
NEW NORTHERN LIGHTS COTTAGE.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p443052
+354 08560704
Northwest Iceland Iceland
5

“Northern Lights good weekend break”

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
I got to see the northern lights and it must have been the most beautiful thing I have ever seen in my life!!!! If you haven't seen them then start to save up for a trip to the Jules Verne cottage in Iceland!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Yes Fernando -This natural phenomenon beats any man-made light show :)
Glad you had front row seating.

Greetings from Iceland,
Gestur and Berglind.
Helpful votes: 10/10
business
NEW NORTHERN LIGHTS COTTAGE.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p443052
+354 08560704
Northwest Iceland Iceland
5

Luxus alternative to expensive hotels

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
Waking up to the outstanding views from the cottage makes an ideal romantic getaway spot. Its interior is simply and stylishly furnished, with a few special touches that make it utterly memorable. The sun shone all the time, so we ate out at the wooden table outside the cottage. We cycled to Arnarstapi and Budir and had a great time. In conclusion, this is an enchantingly beautiful spot.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 11/11
business
NEW NORTHERN LIGHTS COTTAGE.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p443052
+354 08560704
Northwest Iceland Iceland
5

Wonderful Experience, Plus NORTHERN LIGHTS!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
We absolutely loved this cottage. It is tastefully decorated and the bed is the most comfortable I've ever slept in!
The town of Hellnar is a great destination-very small but with lots to do. Make sure you eat fish soup at the Fjoruhusid Kaffihaus. It is at the beginning of the Hellnar-Arnarstapi hike, which is a must do even if your weather is crummy. The food there is incredible, great coffee, awesome home baked bread, and the freshest lightest seafood stew you will ever encounter. Plus great cakes and other desserts:)

BUT THE MOST IMPORTANT REASON TO GO TO HELLNAR is to see the Northern Lights!!!! We went in early September and saw them dancing above us every night that it was clear. It was incredible! we loved sitting on the rustic picnic table in front of the house at night with a warm cup of coffee and a camera, and we got lots of great shots.

This house is perfect for anyone looking to get away-we watched sheep grazing across the street from the house, picked wild blueberries to stir into our skyr, did wonderful hikes, skipped stones at the harbor, and enjoyed the peace and quiet. Takk fyrir to Berglind and Gestur, who were always quick to respond and offer help or suggestions when asked. They have a wonderful country home and you will feel most welcomed there. Enjoy Hellnar!



*Also we must recommend a stop at the Raudfelgsja slot canyon to hike up a shallow river to a hidden waterfall. it is just past the F road heading away from Arnarstapi on the south stretch of 54. Berglind or Gestur maybe you can correct the spelling of the place. Anyway there is a sign pointing to it, with a small parking area. If you hike up the trail from the parking lot, you will eventually get to the slot canyon, and just head into it and keep going! It will be a wonderful experience, we promise:)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Mzaggie,
you were so much fun to have over. We enjoyed every minute .
We also liked that you were learning Icelandic. Yes you are correct with Rauðfellsgjjá - A MUST SEE!
Keep safe,
Berglind and Gestur.
Helpful votes: 12/12
business
NEW NORTHERN LIGHTS COTTAGE.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p443052
+354 08560704
Northwest Iceland Iceland
Immingham
5

Amazing House! Perfect Honeymoon :)

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
Totally impressive in its every detail!
The property was everything that was included in the description + MORE. The setting and location are excellent, the photos don't really do it justice.
Very quiet and good for getting away from it all. Car essential though lots of walks and cycle rides in the vicinity. The quality of the equipment and the decor are in such a high standard.
Would like to return and stay one week at least.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Dora and Simon, we are so glad you came back to stay and spend your honeymoon in our cottage. :)
Hope to see you in the near future, you are such nice guests!
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
NEW NORTHERN LIGHTS COTTAGE.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p443052
+354 08560704
Northwest Iceland Iceland
5

FANTASTIC HOLIDAY!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
The villa was fantastic, clean, well equiped ans spotless, breathtaking views it felt like a home from home but set in a amazing location so peaceful and relaxing.
Wonderful holiday!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are here to serve our guest!
Helpful votes: 4/5