Indian Shores condo rental - Caution: Dolphins and manatee playing - wake up to this view every morning.
Caution: Dolphins and manatee playing - wake up to this view every morning.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Indian Shores Condo Rental Photos and Description
2 BR, 2 BA, sleeps 4

Please scroll down to see the link to comments from our previous guests. They all loved it and you will, too!

Wake up on Indian Shores' intercoastal waterway... view playful dolphins from the comfort of your king-size bed... watch the boats head out to the Gulf... Walk the powdery-white sands... Relax on the private balcony overlooking nesting sea-birds...

• Waterviews, waterviews, waterviews!

• Just steps to beach (approx. 150 yards)

• Washer/Dryer in unit

• Computer with high-speed cable internet and WiFi

• Unlimited long-distance calls (USA and Canada)

• Upgraded digital cable TV package

• Private 1 car garage with 2 remote openers

• much more!

Keywords: Waterfront Condominium

Isabel is from Spain and we met while I lived and worked there for ten years. During our years there we enjoyed traveling throughout Europe and especially staying in the quaint Bed and Breakfasts that are so typical there. We made notes of all of the things we liked and disliked about everywhere we stayed and planned to one day have somewhere unique and cozy of our own to offer to vacationers.

In 2000 work brought us to St. Petersburg, Florida. In 2004 we purchased a condo in Indian Shores, just a few miles from our home. We decorated it with nothing but the best (Isabel is an Interior Decorator and has her own business). As guests began to know us and word began to get around we soon had a steady flow of visitors and a full calendar. Just repeat visitors were nearly keeping the unit booked. In 2008 we decided to buy a second unit, with the exact same floor plan and the same extraordinary views, just a few steps away. We call them our Gulf Retreat 1 and Gulf Retreat 2.

Darryl Glenn purchased this condo in 2004

We love Indian Shores because it is the quietest, most relaxed part of Sand Key, the barrier island that runs along the Gulf shore from St. Pete Beach to Clearwater. It is the narrowest part of the Sand Key, only 150-200 yards across where we are located. That means you can enjoy both the Intracoastal Waterway and the Gulf of Mexico only a few steps apart.

Indian Shores is the last part of the coastline in Pinellas County that preserves a small-town feel. Gulf Blvd. is still just a two-lane road and the speed limit is 35 m.p.h. There's is only one traffic light in Indian Shores. There isn't as much asphalt as you see to the south or north of us, a lot fewer high-rise buildings and none of the tourist traps. While you will find all the restaurants and conveniences you need near-by Indian Shores is still primarily a residential, family-oriented community.

Our view is of the Intracoastal Waterway, the body of water that separates Sand Key from the mainland. We love it because of all the boat traffic - it's fun to watch. The dolphins are always a joy to see, too. They are most active early in the morning or at sunset. Manatee are a little harder to spot, but are always around, too.

When the tide is low there is a sandbar that emerges from the water just off our balcony. The seabirds all come to feed there and it's wonderful entertainment.

And the Intracoastal Waterway is beautiful to behold at night, when the lights from the boats and other properties reflect off the surface. You must see it to appreciate it!

And of course the beach is just across the street. It takes just a couple of minutes to get there walking. It's never crowded and always relaxing. We have beach toys, inflatables, beach chairs, an umbrella, a cooler... everything you need except a good book and suntan lotion! And we even have a handy cart to put everything in and wheel it across the street!

121 Reviews of Property 43893 in Indian Shores, Florida

100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
average rating of 4.9690723 based on 121 reviews
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
Sturgeon Bay, WI
5

Paradise...you won't want to leave!

Paradise...you won't want to leave!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We don't know where to start. We had a wonderful time. The condo was gorgeous, and Darryl made everything easy in terms of planning, payment, etc. We only had one hiccup when it came to getting intot the condo and Darryl answered my call and solved the problem within minutes. He even stopped by ten minutes later to make sure everything was all right. The condo was spaceous, clean, and had all the amenities a vacationer could ask for--right down to the spices in the kitchen. We saw dolphins in the waterway the very first morning, while having coffee on the balcony. It was such fun to watch that, as well as the kayaks, canoes, and boats go by. The pool was refreshing, and for those of us who are shy, actually empty most of the time. The beach, which was an easy two-minute walk across the street, was spectacular and was not crowded. We were very thankful that Darryl had provided a wagon, chairs, and a beach umbrella in the condo's garage unit so we didn't have to worry about packing that stuff. This place and it's owners/renters have earned the numerous excellent reviews they've recieved. If you book your vacation here, you won't regret it! In fact, you'll never want to leave. Thanks Darryl and Isabel! We are already planning to return in the future.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
5

Great Condo

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Stayed a week at Gulf Retreat. The condo was very spacious and it was as advertised - fully stocked with everything including dishwasher and laundry detergent! The weather wasn't great during our stay so that meant we spent a little more time indoors than planned.

The computer and internet came in handy and the kids loved playing with the toys. There was even a nice welcome package when we arrived!

We would definitely stay here again if we come back! Darryl was very easy to deal with!
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
Tennessee
4

Room with a View

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
This is a large, clean, well equipped condo with an outstanding view of the channel. The small mangrove cluster is home to lots of wildlife which makes for good photos! Also there is a private dock, a nice place to sit on sunny, quiet mornings.

The condo is well equipped and Darryl is very helpful and lives nearby. There is a quick shop next door and a CVS about a mile away, also "The Pub" restaurant is down the street. The beach is very close and easy to get to.
We enjoyed our two weeks there very much.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
4

Large apartment - satisfaction guaranteed

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Everything was better than expected. Large well-maintained apartment with all the utilities one could need.
Darryl was always eager to help and answer any questions we had.

If you want a quiet vacation close to the beach and several restaurants nearby, this is definitely the place for you!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
Moline, IL
5

Great Florida Experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
What a fantastic week of fun with your condo as "home" to come back to each night! This is our first time renting a condo even though we have been to Florida before. This is much better than any hotel could be! Everything was comfy and casual here...if anything it was bigger than expected! We saw dolphins from the fishing pier and caught dozens of fish. Most went back in except for the few we fed to the pelican who befriended us right on the pier! Thank you for giving us all of the amenities of home and being available when we had questions. Your area is beautiful and we enjoyed the local restaurants and wildlife. Experiencing Florida this way was priceless! Thank you for your hospitality!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
Center Moriches, New York
5

Perfect Location Comfortable Condo

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We were extremely happy with everything from the initial booking until our last day at this condo, which is perfectly located in Indian Shores. Darryl, the owner, was accessible at all times and we were very comfortable with that. The condo had every amenity, was clean and ready when we arrived, and we were very pleasantly surprised that the location of this large two-bedroom condo offered such beautiful views and easy access to the beach. We will definitely consider returning!
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
Missouri
5

Perfect :-)

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We stayed here for a week in September and had the best time! The condo is amazing and is exactly as pictured and stated (in fact, it is even better)! The layout, design, amenities, and view couldn't be better! The beach wagon was a blessing for taking everything on the short walk to the Gulf. The beach was better than we imagined, not crowded, very clean, and the sunsets were amazing. The location is wonderful, not too far from several places to eat and not that long of a drive if you wish to spend a day in Orlando. The owners responded promptly to all emails and requests (thanks for the gift basket and having the high chair there on such short notice!)! This was our first vacation with our 2 year old little girl and after driving for two days to get there it was a relief to open the front door and feel like we were at home... It will be hard to top for future vacations :-) We would recommend Gulf Retreat to everyone (and we have!) and hope to be back in the future!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
5

What a wonderful view in the morning for coffee and wine in the evening!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
My husband and I and our four year old son stayed at the Gulf Retreat October 21-26. What a great find! The unit was quite spacious and very clean. I was ready to move in for good! We loved the fact there were toys there for our son to play with both inside and for the beach. The beach wagon was perfect for getting all we needed across the street to the gulf. The view from the master bedroom and the balcony was fantastic! We saw dolphins swimming by on a couple of occasions.
The pool on the property was very clean as well. It was a bit chilly for my husband and I, but our son had no problem having a great time.
The only improvement I can suggest is a new cooler for the beach. The styrofoam cooler has seen better days. :)
We have stayed at Indian Shores and Indian Rocks beach in the past and this is by far our favorite. If it is available the next time we can get away, we will definitely stay at the Gulf Retreat again.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for letting us know about the cooler, I didn't realize it needed replacing. Next time you come back there will be a new one there for you!
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
Louisville, KY
5

Cozy, clean, and great location!!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We loved our stay at Gulf Retreat. The condo was amazing. All these reviews are true - the owners thought of everything! And the welcome basket and note was very appreciated! I've never stayed in a better condo - fully equipped, clean, and up-to-date. The layout was great for our one-year-old and the teenagers loved having their own room with tv and bath across the hall. We can't wait to return!

Indian Shores is the perfect beach location. The white sandy beaches are clean and not crowded at all. Very quite area with little traffic. You are also a very short drive from Clearwater, St. Petersburg, and Tampa. This is definitely our favorite beach town!
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
Redford, Michigan
4

Escape from Michigan to the seashore.

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
I spent a week at Gulf Retreat last month with my 15 year old son and his friend. The condo was perfect for us. It is very spacious and the master bedroom is huge. Lots of room for us all to spread out.
The location of the condo is very nice and very quiet. We saw dolphins the first morning and the last morning from the balcony.
We didn't have a car and that was a challenge. But once we got used to the Suncoast Trolley schedule it worked out ok. Although as the week progressed so did the wait time for the Trolley. There are a couple restaurants within walking distance and a food mart right next door. The next time we make the trip I will probably have a car.
The beach is across the street and you have to a few to get to the access. They are nice beaches and not to crowded.
Overall we enjoyed our stay and I would consider coming here again.
R. Pawloski
Helpful votes: 2/2