Cambridge apartment rental - Invite friends or colleagues over for dinner
Invite friends or colleagues over for dinner
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps3
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Cambridge Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Apartment, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2+child)

Newly renovated upscale one bedroom private apartment on first floor in an owner occupied Central Square Cambridge 2 family house - vibrant urban neighborhood steps away from the T, cafes, shops, live theater and music, and Zagat-rated restaurants. Walk 10 minutes to MIT or 20 minutes to Harvard.

Perfect location for the car-free traveller!

Designed by a LEED-certified architect with an eye for natural light and an award-winning lighting designer. PaperStone countertops, custom-built cabinets, wood floors throughout, a Liebherr fridge, and a gorgeous granite vanity are just some of the touches that welcome you home.

Fully equipped kitchen, new queen-sized bed, washer/dryer & free high caliber Wifi. Cot available upon request.

Another Boston area designer landscaped a magical green garden in spring 2013, completing the creation of what visitors have called 'a little piece of heaven' in the middle of the city.

Parking options include metered parking, local garages, or, with a deposit, a 3-day temporary guest parking permit for on-street resident parking. Truly, a car is really unnecessary.

The owners, Bill and Carolyn, paid a lot of attention to detail as they created a modern oasis in the middle of bustling Central Square, Cambridge. The apartment is located on the first floor of their newly renovated home.

Just a block away from top-rated restaurants, including Rendezvous, Craigie on Main, Salts, Chi Chi's and Central Kitchen. Also, a block away is the Central Square Theater, home to The Underground Railway Theater and The Nora Theatre Company. The Middle East is renowned for their live music entertainment.

3 grocery stores within a couple of blocks. And, of course, there are the two world-class universities - MIT and Harvard - both within walking distance or one short subway stop away.

Check out our reviews. 90% of our tenants have given us a review and many of them capture what we love most about the apartment, our tenants and Cambridge.

Keywords: apartment

More Details
Hide Details

My name is Carolyn and my husband, Bill, and I will be here to greet you and give you the keys to the apartment when you arrive. Starting in 2010, we spent 3 years working with an architect, lighting designer, contractor and landscape designer to re-envision our home and to create an apartment on our first floor. Our home, our apartment and the garden have turned out to be delightful retreats in the middle of a bustling city environment. One of the many joys of this location is that we can walk to M.I.T. where we both work in the IT department.

The Owner purchased this apartment in 1984

Bill has lived in this home since he was a student at MIT. Several years later, I joined him and together we purchased it in 1984, the year our son was born. We love Central Square for it's rich weave of diversity and culture, restaurants and nightlife, education and the creative and whimsical local merchants!

21 Reviews of Property 406583 in Cambridge, Massachusetts

Cambridge Urban Oasis near M.I.T. & Harvard
average rating of 4.928571 based on 21 reviews
business
Cambridge Urban Oasis near M.I.T. & Harvard
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p406583vb
+617 5761620
Cambridge Greater Boston
Yarmouth, Nova Scotia
5

Douglas Ave. Apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Wonderful appartment just walking distance to Mass Ave and MIT. The owners were very helpful and made sure our stay went well
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
business
Cambridge Urban Oasis near M.I.T. & Harvard
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p406583vb
+617 5761620
Cambridge Greater Boston
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Fantastic Place

  • Submitted: May 31, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Fantastic place. Warn welcoming hosts. Thanks so much!
business
Cambridge Urban Oasis near M.I.T. & Harvard
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p406583vb
+617 5761620
Cambridge Greater Boston
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Great neighborhood

  • Submitted: May 31, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Lovely home and great neighborhood.
business
Cambridge Urban Oasis near M.I.T. & Harvard
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p406583vb
+617 5761620
Cambridge Greater Boston
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Excellent!

  • Submitted: May 31, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Excellent people! Excellent room! Excellent location! Thank you!
business
Cambridge Urban Oasis near M.I.T. & Harvard
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p406583vb
+617 5761620
Cambridge Greater Boston
5

Great location, very comfortable stay :)

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
From the time I arrived, late on a Tuesday night, until I left the following Tuesday afternoon, I experienced the generous hospitality of Carolyn and Bill.
Eventhough it was late, Carolyn gave me a brief tour of the apartment and all the things I would need to know to function independantly.
My son arrived the following night and we both had a great time in Cambridge and Boston.
The beautiful flowers were a very nice touch :)
business
Cambridge Urban Oasis near M.I.T. & Harvard
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p406583vb
+617 5761620
Cambridge Greater Boston
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Great location!

  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
We couldn't be happier with our stay here at Bill & Carolyn's. The apartment is beautiful & was just what we were looking for. It was in a great location, close to everything! I personally appreciated the wonderful welcome we received upon arrival and the books and information about the area. I really enjoyed Central Square, Boston and everything about our trip! Thanks for making it so comfortable!
business
Cambridge Urban Oasis near M.I.T. & Harvard
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p406583vb
+617 5761620
Cambridge Greater Boston
4

Lovely place

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
I picked this place to be near the T, near food stores and restaurants. This apartment was perfect for that. It was clean, comfy, pleasant. Owner was upstairs and very helpful. Because it is on the first block off of Mass ave, and it backs to a public parking lot it was a bit loud at night, but the trade-off of being so close to everything was worth it.
business
Cambridge Urban Oasis near M.I.T. & Harvard
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p406583vb
+617 5761620
Cambridge Greater Boston
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Artfully Designed and Furnished

  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
It has been a joy staying in such an artfully designed and furnished space. Highlights include the fountain sink, the futuristic fridge and magnetized spice jars! Also appreciate your art work - and even the New Yorker! Have already adopted this area as our "neighborhood away from home." Thank you!
business
Cambridge Urban Oasis near M.I.T. & Harvard
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p406583vb
+617 5761620
Cambridge Greater Boston
5

wonderful Oasis for MIT and Harvard visitor

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
Firstly, i get to say thanks very much to the landlord couple of Oasis. They equipped almost everything in Oasis for my three months living, and took consideration carefully for my family vacation.
What attracted me are well design, modern style decoration and brand new facilities more than ever before i stayed. It is not only a place for sleeping but a place to enjoy the normal life as much as your family with music and red wine in quiet living room.
It is so convenient for me to keep working in my lab everyday even into midnight. you can take a walk to Kendall Square less than 12 minutes and also walk along the Mass Ave to Harvard Square easily. you can enjoy the Sapporo beer in The Field Bar, or in the Miracle for Beef Sandwich. I can also try to identify the minerals and crystal gels in The Star store in central Square.
I strongly recommend this place of Oasis for visitors in MIT or Harvard, even for couple. you can occupy the private door gate, fully equipped kitchen and bathroom, and especially a quiet, clean and bright place for everyday.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Cambridge Urban Oasis near M.I.T. & Harvard
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p406583vb
+617 5761620
Cambridge Greater Boston
5

a wonderful place for visitor in MIT or Harvard

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
Firstly, I get to say thanks very much to the couple of landlord Oasis. They offered almost everything for my three months living, and took consideration carefully for my family arrival.
It is wonderful place for visitor or even for a family with nice design and mordent decorations everywhere. What attracted me when i have first look is very clean and bright. I like it because i can take a release after tired day to enjoy music and red wine in the quiet living room.
It is the best place i have stayed at in the last five time of my visiting periods in MIT. It is so convenient for me to keep working in my lab everyday even into midnight. you can take a walk to Kendall Square less than 12 minutes and also walk along the Mass Ave to Harvard Square easily. you can enjoy the Sapporo beer in The Field Bar, or in the Miracle for Beef Sandwich. I can also try to identify the minerals and crystal gels in The Star store in central Square.
I strongly recommend this place of Oasis for visitors in MIT or Harvard, even for couple. you can occupy the private door gate, kitchen and bathroom, and especially a quiet, clean and bright place for everyday.
Helpful votes: 2/2