Old Town (Grassmarket) apartment rental - Storytelling bedroom
Storytelling bedroom
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights
 

Old Town (Grassmarket) Apartment Rental Photos and Description
A distinctly Scottish, luxury four star 1 bedroom self catering apartment.

Our self catering Storytelling Apartment (Visit Scotland 4 star), distinctly Scottish in nature is situated right in the centre of things on Edinburgh's Royal Mile - the heart of the historic Old Town. A great base to explore Scotland's capital city. The main attractions – The Castle is a 10 minute walk up the Mile and Holyrood is 10 minutes down. You do not need a car when based here.

The flat comprises a comfortable lounge (with sofa bed) overlooking the Royal Mile, a luxurious double bedroom, brand new shower room and separate fully equipped kitchen. Ideally suited to 2 people the apartment is an excellent base for a romantic weekend however with sofa bed it can accommodate up to 4. Please note the apartment is on the 2nd floor (US 3rd) in a traditional tenement and there is not a lift.

Included in the price are all taxes, electricity and gas, bed linen, towels, internet broadband access and a welcome basket with wine, tea, coffee, milk, sugar, croissant.

The Storytelling Apartment is the ideal Edinburgh festival flat. Like the city itself it is compact but full of memorable features. Set in a traditional stone-built tenement on the Royal Mile, it retains a distinctly Scottish flavour with modern additions designed to help you relax. So you can visit Edinburgh attractions Holyrood Palace and Edinburgh Castle on foot then drink in the atmosphere of the Royal Mile from your window seat.

Where is Edinburgh’s Storytelling Apartment? You’ll find our luxury flat in the centre of Edinburgh’s historic Old Town. It’s the perfect location for a Scottish holiday or base to explore Edinburgh. Many of the best attractions in Edinburgh are less than 20 minutes’ walk from the Storytelling Apartment which sits halfway between Edinburgh Castle and Holyrood Palace.

More Details
Hide Details

49 Reviews of Property 400424 in Old Town (Grassmarket), United Kingdom

Storytelling Apartment perfectly located on Edinburgh's Royal Mile, the Old Town
average rating of 5.0 based on 49 reviews
business
Storytelling Apartment perfectly located on Edinburgh's Royal Mile, the Old Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p400424
+44 (0)787 9225 051
Old Town (Grassmarket) Edinburgh
Manchester
5

Great Value, great location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
This accomodation is outstanding value, the appartment is well situated for all attractions in the city itself, and is packed full of interesting books and Dvds to keep you amused during quieter moments. The owners took time to find out about us beforehand to give us ideas of what to do and the welcome was warm and the appartments was spotless throughout with snacks, milk and wine provided on arrival. Highly recommended and would use again on susequent visits to Edinburgh.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Storytelling Apartment perfectly located on Edinburgh's Royal Mile, the Old Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p400424
+44 (0)787 9225 051
Old Town (Grassmarket) Edinburgh
Houston, Texas
5

Royal Scottish Getaway in the Heart of Edinburgh

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
This is the perfect location in the midst of Old Town Edinburgh along the Royal Mile to take in the atmosphere and history of the old city. Leave the hotels behind and experience the feel of being a local living in the colorful Old Town neighborhood. Beth and Fiona were impeccable hosts. Excellent directions made it easy to find and just a short walk from the train station where we were met and welcomed by Beth for a stress-free arrival. Scottish music playing, fresh cut flowers on the table, a basket of delicious scones and bottle of wine greeted us upon our arrival. There was an ample supply of aScottish books and movies along with a generous stack of maps and brochures on all the sites and "Fiona's Favorites," a terrific list of their recommendations for restaurants, not-to-miss sites, current events and more. Beth and Fiona were ready with advice and answers for any questions. The one bedroom flat with fully stocked kitchen, bath and living room with fireplace was lovely, impeccably clean, well-furnished and comfortable with a fully stocked kitchen and all the amenities of home. There could be no more comfortable or welcome respite upon your return from the day's explorations and adventures. We spent three days in April enjoying the city and wish we'd had more time to enjoy the flat and all the area had to offer. We would definitely recommend Fiona's and Beth's place to friends and famiy and hope to return soon.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Storytelling Apartment perfectly located on Edinburgh's Royal Mile, the Old Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p400424
+44 (0)787 9225 051
Old Town (Grassmarket) Edinburgh
Nova Scotia Canada
5

A Great Find

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
The Storytelling Apartment not only met our expectations, it exceded them. Convenient location, very clean, and an aparmtnet that provides all of your needs for a comfortable stay with the abilibty to cook your own meals if you prefer. The most comfortable bed in our 17 day stay in Scotland. Seeing the Royal Mile and all that it holds is so easy to do from this apartment. Can't wait to go back to Scotland - and we will not look for anything else if this place if available.
Job well done ladies!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Storytelling Apartment perfectly located on Edinburgh's Royal Mile, the Old Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p400424
+44 (0)787 9225 051
Old Town (Grassmarket) Edinburgh
Pebble Beach, California USA
5

An Excellent Edinburgh Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
A lovely apartment in an excellent location! The managers - Beth and Fiona were very hospitable and made us feel welcome from the moment we trudged up the street with bags in tow. Beth was on the sidewalk to greet us. Supplies and fresh flowers in the apartment and many other fine touches. The apartment itself was "compact" yet comfortable. Nice to have a clothes washer - drying was a challenge but worked it out. All in all a great experience! Many thanks F&B!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Storytelling Apartment perfectly located on Edinburgh's Royal Mile, the Old Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p400424
+44 (0)787 9225 051
Old Town (Grassmarket) Edinburgh
Ayrshire, Scotland
5

Haven in the heart of things

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 10, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
Can't fault this place. Cosy, clean and one of the comfiest beds I've ever slept in. Window seat for people watching on the Mile is a great touch.
Lovely little extra touches, the flowers and wine etc and I know how much foreign visitors would love the Scottish bits and bobs throughout the flat.
I agree the shopkeeper downstairs is fab and even helped me when I was struggling with my keys and shopping bags one day!
I was a student in Edinburgh, consider the city as my adopted home town and now consider this apartment to be my home from home.
Only complaint, my visit was too short. I'll be back soon. Thanks Beth and Fiona.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Storytelling Apartment perfectly located on Edinburgh's Royal Mile, the Old Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p400424
+44 (0)787 9225 051
Old Town (Grassmarket) Edinburgh
Scotland
5

Ideal Holiday Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 4, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
What an amazing apartment!!! Couldn't have asked for anything better. The apartment was in a brilliant location, decorated beautifully and we really enjoyed the little extras that were added in such as the wine, croissants, dvds and music. We also loved the window seat! You can't beat people watching on the royal mile :)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Storytelling Apartment perfectly located on Edinburgh's Royal Mile, the Old Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p400424
+44 (0)787 9225 051
Old Town (Grassmarket) Edinburgh
Aberdeen
5

Already planning our next trip...!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
We are really pleased we found this apartment and would love to return for another stay. The renovation is spectacular with all decor fitting to its surroundings and homely at the same time. This really is a home from home with added luxury of the great location and little extras Fiona and Beth threw in. We took the car for convenience of getting home quickly and parked at the Waverley as recommended in Fiona's favourites. Also recommended was the Odine Restaurant- absolutely fabulous!!..worth booking ahead if you can!
The only problem we had was some trouble makers outside the block who decided to repeatedly press our buzzer at 5am on Sunday morning. This was very annoying but we realise that this is completely outwith anyones control. It hasnt put us off returning to the apartment as we had no bother on the previous nights... just a stroke of bad luck!!!

We would love to return and hope others seriously consider this wonderful little holiday home :)
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Storytelling Apartment perfectly located on Edinburgh's Royal Mile, the Old Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p400424
+44 (0)787 9225 051
Old Town (Grassmarket) Edinburgh
Perthshire, Scotland
5

Another top rating!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
Just returned from a great weekend break in your apartment. Fiona and Beth - you really have gone "the extra (Royal!) mile"!! A very high standard of cleaniness, all the epuipment you need and more. Also lovely extras such as flowers, greetings card, wine and croissants. All this and a great location! What more could one ask for? Thanks again for all your help both before we arrived and on our departure. We would certainly stay again and will be recommending you to our friends.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 9/9
business
Storytelling Apartment perfectly located on Edinburgh's Royal Mile, the Old Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p400424
+44 (0)787 9225 051
Old Town (Grassmarket) Edinburgh
Southampton
5

Perfect Break

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
We stayed in this apartment for three nights to celebrate my husband's birthday. From the moment we made contact, the professionalism and attention to detail was fantastic. We were warmly welcomed by Beth, who showed us around the apartment. The accommodation is excellent, being clean, warm and beautifully decorated, with high quality fittings. Everything has been thought of to make your stay comfortable. The apartment is perfectly situated to explore all Edinburgh has to offer. We had a fantastic weekend and would highly recommend to friends and family. We would definitely stay here again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 9/9
business
Storytelling Apartment perfectly located on Edinburgh's Royal Mile, the Old Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p400424
+44 (0)787 9225 051
Old Town (Grassmarket) Edinburgh
Hobart, Australia
5

Absolutely perfect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
It's impossible to fault this place. We stayed for 3 nights and felt at home the whole time. Fiona goes out of her way to make sure you have everything you need, even down to salt and pepper grinders and Tupperware containers for leftovers!!

The apartment is absolutely worth every pound, plus more! We'll definitely be back and will be telling all our friends about it!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 9/9