La Jolla house rental - Backyard pool, deck w/views, BBQ, 2 water slides & seating for 20.
Backyard pool, deck w/views, BBQ, 2 water slides & seating for 20.
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

La Jolla House Rental Photos and Description
House, 4 Bedrooms, 2.5+ Baths, (Sleeps 10)

PRIVATE RESORT LIVING WITH VIEWS!! Large two-story home with panoramic views of ocean, Mission Bay, City of San Diego and all the way to Mexico on a clear day. This home has all of the fine details to make your stay in San Diego unforgettable and is close to all of San Diego's attractions. When not out seeing the sights enjoy the pool, jacuzzi, waterfalls, water slides, fireworks (summer and New Years Eve) and BBQ in your private backyard oasis. This house is perfect for a couples, large families or multiple families. It provides something for everyone whether you want to kick back and relax or explore everything San Diego has to offer.

BEDROOMS:

Enjoy spectacular views from the large master bedroom that takes up the entire the second story & includes a full bath + extra vanity sink area. You will never want to leave the comfort of your bed. At night enjoy Sea World's fireworks & in the morning wake up to Ocean and Bay views. Two bedrooms downstairs have queen size beds. For those who need to keep in touch while on vacation there is an office with Wi-Fi, a fax, copier & other office accessories in one of the rooms. The third downstairs bedroom has a large window looking out to the pool and waterfalls. It contains two twin beds and has plenty of room for play. This room has a closet that contain games for children & adults. It is perfect for those traveling with kids. We provide a queen size air bed and bedding for additional sleeping arrangements.

AMENITIES:

House includes plenty of comfortable bedding, towels and dishes. Each bedroom has a TV available and the family room has a 50'' flat screen. We include all of the comforts of home, hair dryer, coffee maker, spices, etc. Fully stocked kitchen with everything a chief would need to create a delicious meal. The family room has two large sectionals that seat a total of 16 people and has a fireplace, views and a 50' flat screen TV. Large capacity, energy efficient washer and dryer. Outside we have a large gas BBQ, plenty of seating and an out door hot water shower for showering off before and after your swim.

The house is centrally located and accessible, yet is nestled in a very exclusive, quiet, and private neighborhood. All major attractions including airport are within 15 minutes away. Watch the Sea World fireworks every night during the Summer. New Years Eve is absolutely incredible with multiple firework displays going off all over the city. Great vacation home!

**New jacuzzi and queen size bedroom sets (2) added 2/2013

Keywords: Ocean, View, San Diego, La Jolla, Pacific Beach, family, Sea World, Legoland, Zoo, Beach, Coastal, house, large, pool, resort, private, luxury, pet, slide, water falls, San Diego

More Details
Hide Details

I am a native San Diegan who dreamed of living at the beach. In 2000 my husband and I fulfilled that dream when we purchased our first home. We have raised our family and a dog named Kona in our house over the past 11 years. Living the San Diego lifestyle at the beach with beautiful weather and unlimited outdoor activities at our doorstep has truly been a dream fulfilled.

Michael and April purchased this house in 2000

We fell in love with this house the moment we saw the spectacular 180 degree view of the city of San Diego, bays, ocean, Coronado island all the way to Mexico. It is a very quiet peaceful location on Soledad Mountain, but is close to everything San Diego has to offer. There is something to do for children of all ages. You are minutes from the famous San Diego Zoo, historic Balboa Park, Belmont Park (roller coaster), Legoland and looking outside the front window you can Sea World. At night you can enjoy the fireworks from Sea Word. You can ride bikes to the beach and enjoy every water sport imaginable. If you are looking for night life its minutes away as well in Downtown's Gaslamp District, Garnet Ave in Pacific Beach or on Prospect in La Jolla.

We wanted our home to be a private oasis to enjoy as much as the local attractions. Enjoy waking up and stepping into your own private resort including water slides, waterfalls and a deck with gorgeous ocean views. At night BBQ and enjoy the breathtaking tranquility of watching the San Diego sunset and taking a dip in a warm water pool.

35 Reviews of Property 361072 in La Jolla, California

Views, Pool, Jacuzzi, Waterslides, a Dream Vacation!
average rating of 4.83871 based on 35 reviews
business
Views, Pool, Jacuzzi, Waterslides, a Dream Vacation!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p361072vb
+1 8586529633
La Jolla San Diego County
Colorado
5

Wonderful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
This is a wonderful home for a family vacation. The pictures do not do it justice. The back yard was much more than we expected, great to keep the kids busy. Everything was very clean, all our needs were met and everything well stocked. The house is very roomy so we never felt crowded, even when we had friends over. It is also in a very quiet neighborhood, but located within just a few minutes drive of the beach, Seaword and the Zoo. We really enjoyed our stay here and will rent this property again if we get the opportunity.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Views, Pool, Jacuzzi, Waterslides, a Dream Vacation!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p361072vb
+1 8586529633
La Jolla San Diego County
Tucson, Arizona, USA
5

It Was Almost Like Fantasy Island!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Pool was amazing!!! April & Michael went to great expense to create this MIRAGE! We had so much fun!!! The waterfall & slides are amazing!!! The whole family (11 of us), from 6-71, had a fantastic time! Because of favorable scheduling, April was able to go out of her way to open the house to us a couple of hours early, to accommodate our early arrival in San Diego. The pool, as promised, was heated to 85! In March - 60-70 degree temps, it was great! With their latest technology, you control waterfalls, slides, pool and plant & rock formation lighting, etc. Even Dad & Great Uncle spent 5 hrs. in the pool with little ones, while the ladies went to the wine country in Temecula (Fabulous!). Their newly added & covered super grill/burner/frig/counter area with bar seating for 8 people, was the best! Barbecue's were great! Frig held food & drinks for 11 people. Quite convenient, when it was time to put out all of the food! The beds were EXTREMELY comfortable, washer & dryer worked great, big living room/family room (Great Room Area). With a couple of chairs from the patio, we easily sat 11 people in the dining room & had some great family gatherings. Did find a couple of things that we needed, and on contacting April, she was over in no time at all, providing what we needed. She obviously took our expectations & needs as her #1 priority. She truly cared about our experience! If you can pull yourself away from the house, there's Disney, Universal, Sea World, San Diego Zoo, The Beach (you are about 15 minutes from Pacific Beach & probably 30 minutes from Coronado & Silver Strand Beaches - THE BEST!), Kayaking, Whale Watches, Dolphins, Snorkeling, The Wine Country, Trolley Tours, Great Shopping (La Jolla is very close), Great Restaurants, and on, and on, and on. YOU ARE THERE!!! They even thought of those little extra things for the kids, like sidewalk chalks, bubbles, videos, games, toys, etc! LOTS to do! A week is surely not even close, to enough time, to do all! The past year, has been a very personally trying time for our family; and we want to thank April & Michael for being on top of things, to make it a fabulous & memorable vacation for us! We definitely would recommend this home for your next very special vacation & we definitely plan on coming back here on our next trip to San Diego!

Susan, Mike, Kim, Ryan, Gail, Carol, Amanda, Anthony, Ambrielle, Alexa, & Braedon
Owner's Response: It was pleasure meeting your family. I'm glad you mentioned all of those attractions. Not everyone knows that we have wine country so close by or whale watching, etc. I just updated our brochures in the house this week and put some of those attractions you mentioned. We hope to see you on your next vacation to San Diego. April and Michael
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Views, Pool, Jacuzzi, Waterslides, a Dream Vacation!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p361072vb
+1 8586529633
La Jolla San Diego County
Tucson, Arizona, USA
5

It's Almost Like Your Own Private Fantasy Island!

It's Almost Like Your Own Private Fantasy Island!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Pool was amazing!!! April & Michael went to great expense to create this MIRAGE! We had so much fun!!! The waterfall & slides are amazing!!! The whole family (11 of us), from 6-71, had a fantastic time! Because of favorable scheduling, April was able to go out of her way to open the house to us a couple of hours early, to accommodate our early arrival in San Diego. The pool, as promised, was heated to 85! In March - 60-70 degree temps, it was great! With their latest technology, you control waterfalls, slides, pool and plant & rock formation lighting, etc. Even Dad & Great Uncle spent 5 hrs. in the pool with little ones, while the ladies went to the wine country in Temecula (Fabulous!). Their newly added & covered super grill/burner/frig/counter area with bar seating for 8 people, was the best! Barbecue's were great! Frig held food & drinks for 11 people. Quite convenient, when it was time to put out all of the food! The beds were EXTREMELY comfortable, washer & dryer worked great, big living room/family room (Great Room Area). With a couple of chairs from the patio, we easily sat 11 people in the dining room & had some great family gatherings. Did find a couple of things that we needed, and on contacting April, she was over in no time at all, providing what we needed. She obviously took our expectations & needs as her #1 priority. She truly cared about our experience! If you can pull yourself away from the house, there's Disney, Universal, Sea World, San Diego Zoo, The Beach (you are about 15 minutes from Pacific Beach & probably 30 minutes from Coronado & Silver Strand Beaches - THE BEST!), Kayaking, Whale Watches, Dolphins, Snorkeling, The Wine Country, Trolley Tours, Great Shopping (La Jolla is very close), Great Restaurants, and on, and on, and on. YOU ARE THERE!!! They even thought of those little extra things for the kids, like sidewalk chalks, bubbles, videos, games, toys, etc! LOTS to do! A week is surely not even close, to enough time, to do all! The past year, has been a very personally trying time for our family; and we want to thank April & Michael for being on top of things, to make it a fabulous & memorable vacation for us! We definitely would recommend this home for your next very special vacation & we definitely plan on coming back here on our next trip to San Diego!

Susan, Mike, Kim, Ryan, Gail, Carol, Amanda, Anthony, Ambrielle, Alexa, & Braedon
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Views, Pool, Jacuzzi, Waterslides, a Dream Vacation!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p361072vb
+1 8586529633
La Jolla San Diego County
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

The house was terrific!

  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We have had a great time here in San Diego. All the way from Ontario, Canada. It was great to leave behind the snow and cold, and enjoy your sunshine. The house was terrific! The pool & hot tub were a BIG HIT! The kids were always ready to leave the zoo, Legoland, or whatever to head back to THE POOL! Thank you!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Views, Pool, Jacuzzi, Waterslides, a Dream Vacation!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p361072vb
+1 8586529633
La Jolla San Diego County
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Enjoyed our stay-cation!

  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Thank you for allowing us to rent your Beautiful & Fun house! We live in San Diego but felt miles away and truly enjoyed our stay-cation. :-)

Also thank you so much Solis Family for being flexible with our schedule, we truly appreciate it. Your little La Jolla escape was exactly what we needed after going through a 9 month deployment! Also we have decided when we buy our next house your husband HAS to design our pool. Thank you again!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Views, Pool, Jacuzzi, Waterslides, a Dream Vacation!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p361072vb
+1 8586529633
La Jolla San Diego County
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Can't get enough of the beautiful view!

Can't get enough of the beautiful view!
  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2012
We 3 families came together to attend a wedding. One from Jacksonville, Florida, one from Fargo, ND and one from Vergas, MN. We were fortunate enough to find this beautiful house w/view and fabulous water park. What a find. We were able to spend time together, come and go as we liked and a washer & dryer. What more could we ask. We'll certainly tell others about our stay here. Hopefully we can do this again. Can't get enough of the beautiful view!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Views, Pool, Jacuzzi, Waterslides, a Dream Vacation!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p361072vb
+1 8586529633
La Jolla San Diego County
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

We'll Be Back!

We'll Be Back!
  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Our family visited from Williston, N.D.. We absolutely loved our stay in your home. We were so excited that we did not have to be in a hotel room! We enjoyed the pool & water slides (of course). But we also enjoyed having all of the luxuries of home- a kitchen, BBQ grill, blankets, washer/dryer, cable, off street parking, etc.

We were very busy each day until late afternoon/early evening & it was so cool to "go home" for the evening & get a good night's sleep each night.

we can't wait to visit your city again. "We'll be back!" Bless you and Thank you!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Views, Pool, Jacuzzi, Waterslides, a Dream Vacation!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p361072vb
+1 8586529633
La Jolla San Diego County
1

DO NOT RENT THIS HOUSE

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
In the past, I have rented 5 homes in 5 different states (Fla, Maine, NY, Hawaii and California) they have all been great experiences. This by FAR WAS THE WORST. This was definitely not a "luxury rental" that the owners advertised. The owners recently added on a jacuzzi to the pool area and had some other work done which has caused structural problems in the home. When we were there we faced:
1.Plumbing issues-the toilets clogged repeatedly-I was not expecting to have to plunge toilets while still paying for a "luxury rental". Our last day there, both first floor toilets overflowed. None of the showers provided adequate water pressure or heat.
2. Electrical issues-one night our children were in the pool and all the lights in the pool and the house went out. The owner asked us to go to the circuit box and flip the switch-the circuit box (located behind the garbage) was clearly over run and was hot to the touch. Michael (the owner's husband) did try to come out and address this issue-but these structural problems were beyond his control. Needless to say, we did not let the children use the pool after this!
3.All the kitchen appliances were faulty and outdated. The stove had only one functional burner for our stay. The toaster oven never worked. The kitchen was one of the main reasons we rented this home.
4.The linens were soiled and the beds/pillows were very uncomfortable.
5.The house was advertised as having elderly/disabled accommodations-of which it had none. This was also one of the reasons we rented this home as one member of our party is elderly and disabled.
Michael tried to understand our point of view and tried to solve some of our issues, but they were out of his control. April, on the other hand, was argumentative and defensive and her response really ruined our vacation. We did ask for a refund but she ignored our request completely. Do not believe what she says in her rebuttal, as you can see she has responded to everyone's comments with a defense-it is just her personality to be defensive. All in all a very disappointing experience-don't make the same mistake with your family!
Owner's Response: We welcome suggestions and depend on input from our guests for improvements, but we
don't feel this is valid feedback. We'll let the review from the guests who left just prior to this guest's arrival and previous reviews speak for us. Most of the appliances and linens are less than 4 months old. When we do find something isn't working we immediately fix or replace it. We are in a water conserving area so the homes and hotels have low flow toilets and showers, but we have never had complaints or had anyone overflow the toilet. The only valid
point is the fuse did trip on the 5th night of their 7 night stay.
They were very angry and wanted their money back. My wife emailed a friend who manages 40
vacation rentals in the area and found 2 other comparable rentals
nearby by 630am the next morning. We arranged with the property
manager to pay for it ourselves and help them
transfer their belongings. They wouldn't look at the links to the
houses or consider leaving. Instead they made treats of what
they would do if we didn't give them a refund in cash. We sent
an electrician who could not find anything wrong and assured them that the house & pool were safe. During the
conversation with the person making the threats my wife discovered it
wasn't Yumna, the person who rented the house, but one of the unauthorized people
above the 8 people on the agreement who had been staying at the home.
This person was the one we checked in and had been implying that she
was the renter during the stay. Yumna wasn't there when we met at the house at
the agreed time at checkout & that's why my wife stopped
conversation with them. We advertise as wheel chair accessible under the
guidelines by home away, but we do not advertise as having
accommodations such as a handicapped shower or hand rails. The only
request made by Yumna was a noon check in at no additional charge
because an elderly person in their group would need to rest after the
long flight from New York. We accommodated her request. We have met some wonderful people
through renting our home and never had any issues prior to this. Unfortunately due to this experience we will have to ask for ID and a credit card at check in. We hope our future guests understand.
business
Views, Pool, Jacuzzi, Waterslides, a Dream Vacation!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p361072vb
+1 8586529633
La Jolla San Diego County
5

An excellent spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We had a great family vacation in San Diego, largely due to the great accommodation. The location on Mt. Soledad was great for views and biking. The interior was clean and spacious allowing for our family (parents + 4 kids) and grandparents (2) to sleep and live comfortably for the week. The exterior was a highlight - great BBQ grill and pool. The kids enjoyed every minute in the water (heated to be used comfortably in March). April and Michael were accessible and helpful for any needed help. We look forward to returning.
Owner's Response: We enjoy renting out our home especially when we get to meet such nice families like yours. We look forward to your next visit!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Views, Pool, Jacuzzi, Waterslides, a Dream Vacation!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p361072vb
+1 8586529633
La Jolla San Diego County
5

Kisskeys Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
April and Michael -

Thank you so much for sharing your home with us. You have a beautiful state and an even more beautiful house. We are absolutely in love with your pool and the rocks, slide, mini-sitting area on top, waterfall, and shower are incredible! Just what a group of Minnesotans needed. :) We appreciate you providing the pack-n-play as well as having booster seats - so helpful when traveling with little kids. You really had everything we needed.

We made some great memories and hope to return in the future! Thank you again and cheers to a great 2013!

The Kisskeys
Helpful votes: 2/2