Mission Beach house rental - OceanCatcher - One House from Ocean. Large Deck with Sun and Ocean View
OceanCatcher - One House from Ocean. Large Deck with Sun and Ocean View
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps10
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Mission Beach House Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths (Sleeps 10) with Optional Back Unit (sleeps 6); Total 16

Location, location and location! This property is located on one of the best courts in Mission Beach. It is one house from the water and boardwalk, and steps to dining and activities. In addition to a front patio with full ocean views, this property has a huge private second floor deck that has unobstructed white water views that is just 30 feet away. Both upstairs bedrooms have sliding glass doors that lead to the large deck and allow you to enjoy the ocean. You can relax, listen to the sound of ocean waves, watch the people on the boardwalk, enjoy beautiful sunsets, and observe fireworks from Seaworld. In addition, it comes with two large parking spaces.

This property has 1 bedroom with a queen bed and 1 bath on the ground level, and 2 bedrooms and 1 bath upstairs. One of the upstairs bedrooms has a queen bed, the other has a bunk bed(top twin, bottom full), plus a twin sleeper. The living room has a queen size sleeper. It sleeps 10.

The unit has tile/wood flooring throughout with equipped kitchen, remodeled bathrooms, washer and dryer, and BBQ grill. There’s a large LCD TV with cable and DVD player in living room. You can log-on to the secure WiFi to be connected to internet. You also have two large parking spaces. One is exterior parking spot adequate for largest SUV, and one is garage spot.

Keyless Entry System: No keys to pick up or return! All access controlled by access codes which expire after each rental. Our guests love this system. Prior to your visit, we will provide codes for your visit.

The unit is within walking distance to restaurants, bars, grocery stores, and beach shops. Belmont Park is 5 blocks away. SeaWorld(3 miles), Gaslamp District(8 miles), Old Town San Diego(5 miles), Zoo(10 miles), Balboa Park(8 miles) and La Jolla(5 miles) are only a short drive away. Just bring your beach towels, this is the perfect place for your vacation!

If you have a large group, we also have a back unit (2bed/1bath,sleeps 6, Homeaway #983890). Togther they sleep upto 16 people.

We do not rent to vacationing students. Sorry.

Please note that we do not advertize on craiglist.

More Details
Hide Details

Our family has been vacationing in Mission Beach for quite a few years. After seeing this property with its location, we made our purchase. We also remodeled this property with new roof, new deck, and new bathroom to make it new and clean for our guests.

The Owner purchased this house in 2011

28 Reviews of Property 397543 in Mission Beach, California

10% off Aprill-May! Location! 1 House From Ocean,View,Sleeps 10-16.Walks to All
average rating of 4.888889 based on 28 reviews
business
10% off Aprill-May! Location! 1 House From Ocean,View,Sleeps 10-16.Walks to All
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p397543
+1 (619)701-7722
Mission Beach San Diego County
Gilbert
4

sunny days

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
The proximity to the beach was great! It was easy to walk back & forth from the house as needed. Great view from the upstairs deck of the beach. The family room had seating for most of us. Parking was a bonus with a garage spot and an outside space. We enjoyed using the bbq most nights but hard to enjoy the table & chairs by the bbq as it is secured by a cable lock and difficult to move chairs out. Down stairs shower worked well with hot water. Upstairs shower had poor water flow (almost dripping out) and cool water. Owner said they fixed it after we left but when we asked when we were there we were told that was the way it was. Owner was available to be contacted during our stay. Plenty of bath towels were provided but only a minimum amount of toilet paper. Didn't know we had to buy our own. The master bedroom was bright and cheer off the big deck, but the mattress could be replaced. The location was AWESOME to be able to walk or ride bikes up & down the boardwalk. It was a hot week at the beach. No ceiling fans so during the day it was hot in the house but at night enjoyed the cool ocean breezes. Hope to come back again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
10% off Aprill-May! Location! 1 House From Ocean,View,Sleeps 10-16.Walks to All
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p397543
+1 (619)701-7722
Mission Beach San Diego County
Northridge
4

Great vacation

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
This was my first experience with vacationrentals.com and I would do it again. Great location, close to beach, bay, and restaurants. We walked to dinner some nights but mostly cooked. There was a small market nearby for quick shopping needs. House was clean and well maintained. Living room is good size for 10 people without feeling cramped, however, the room was a little dark. Parking was a little challenging for 3 cars. The upstairs deck is fabulous. You get the ocean view without the crowd noise. Owner was great at returning calls/emails and answering questions.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
10% off Aprill-May! Location! 1 House From Ocean,View,Sleeps 10-16.Walks to All
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p397543
+1 (619)701-7722
Mission Beach San Diego County
Pocatello, Idaho
5

Perfect Beach Vacation in Mission Beach!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We had a truly outstanding experience at the Suncatcher in Mission Beach, CA. Being so close to the beach was wonderful. We could sit on the upper deck in the colorful chairs and watch our kids play on the beach. They spent most of their time there. There is an alley and then another house and then the beach. There is a nice assortment of beach toys and some boogie boards available for the kids to play with on the beach. Bring your own beach towels though. We enjoyed using the grill and had what we needed in the kitchen for the meals we cooked there. Tile and wood floors throughout make it very easy to sweep up any sand that gets tracked inside. Every space is efficient and well utilized. Nicest and fasted washer and dryer I have ever used...even better than mine at home! We drive a suburban and we were able to park very nicely. All the buildings in the area are compactly spaced and parking for a lot of the places is very tight, but it just fine at the Suncatcher. Tracy, the property manager, was very easy to contact and prompt to answer questions. Minnie, the owner was very responsive and helpful prior to the trip, in the planning phase. Great people to work with.This property accomodated my group of 10 very comfortably. We have stayed in quite a few vacation rentals and we definitely recommend this one!
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
10% off Aprill-May! Location! 1 House From Ocean,View,Sleeps 10-16.Walks to All
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p397543
+1 (619)701-7722
Mission Beach San Diego County
5

A M A Z I N G house just steps from the beach!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
This weekend was absolutely amazing, and this house was the main reason!! We had a group of 10 traveling in for the Rock & Roll marathon and everyone had phenomenal things to say about the house. Minnie was so responsive and easy to work with from the beginning when we booked it all the way through the trip to the time we left.

The location is the best part about this house. We all rented bikes for the 5 days and had one mini-van. The mini-van was only used going into downtown for the race on Saturday and Sunday, other than that, it stayed parked in the driveway. The house is about a 10 minute relaxing beach cruise on the bikes down the boardwalk to all the action in Pacific Beach. We took the bikes everywhere, north to PB and south to the end of the peninsula by the volley ball courts. We surfed 1-2 times/day right out in front of the house -- great waves every morning and evening. The picture is a little deceiving because the beach is literally a few steps away. Did I mention the outdoor shower? Half of us never took a shower inside the house the whole weekend because the outside shower was so much better!! This location is incredible and I strongly suggest booking with Minnie!! The garage was so clutch and housed all 10 of our bikes, our surfboards and wetsuits -- great addition.

The inside of the house was everything you'd expect and more from the pictures. Slept 10 large adults comfortably and was a great home base. The light wood floors are beautiful and make you really feel like you're on the beach. This place has everything you need and more. Long story short, you're missing out if you don't stay with Minnie here on Jersey Ct. If I'm ever heading back to Mission/Pacific Beach with a group this large, she's the first person I'm going to call.

Thank you for all your help Minnie, it was a pleasure staying at your humble abode and hopefully we'll be able to stay with you again in the future!!

All the best,

Brett
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
10% off Aprill-May! Location! 1 House From Ocean,View,Sleeps 10-16.Walks to All
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p397543
+1 (619)701-7722
Mission Beach San Diego County
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Thanks for making it a great vacation!

  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
We really enjoyed our stay. The house was perfect for us and our friends. We loved being so close to the beach and our kids had a blast. It was clean, convenient, relaxing, and had everything we needed. We highly recommend it. Thanks for making it a great vacation!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
10% off Aprill-May! Location! 1 House From Ocean,View,Sleeps 10-16.Walks to All
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p397543
+1 (619)701-7722
Mission Beach San Diego County
Boston
5

Extraordinary Beachfront Stay in Family Condo

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 28, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
I stayed at The Sun Catcher for my annual family reunion with my husband and two kids, my sister, my brother, and their families (10 people). We were looking for a cozy beach house to stay the weekend, and The Sun Catcher exceeded our expectations with its welcoming, clean accommodations. The living room was the perfect place to lounge on the comfortable sofas and watch TV on the huge plasma screen. The kitchen was well stocked with all the cooking essentials we needed and provided plenty of counter space and utilities for cooking. The dining area was able to accomodate everyone comfortably. The downstairs bathroom was clean and the hallway provided convenient access to the garage. Upstairs, the children's room was very roomy and the closet allowed for extra storage perfect for a group as large as ours. Outside, the deck was definitely the highlight of the house - the colorful chairs and beautiful beach view provided a great place for the family to relax. The other rooms, the downstairs room and the upstairs master bedroom were similarly clean and comfortable, as was the bathroom. Also, the decorations throughout the house were a nice touch. The Sun Catcher is not only a beautiful beach house with quality amenities in every sense, but also the perfect place for our family family reunion.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
10% off Aprill-May! Location! 1 House From Ocean,View,Sleeps 10-16.Walks to All
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p397543
+1 (619)701-7722
Mission Beach San Diego County
Phoenix, AZ
5

Fantastic getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
House is beautiful and clean. It is an awesome place for a family gathering.

The owner was extremely responsive and helpful, and provided lots of information to make our stay enjoyable. I particularly liked the Welcome Kit the owner provided, which contained all the information we need in Mission Beach. We walked to breakfast and dinner every day, using the owner's suggestion list extensively.

The location is perfect. Mission Beach is so great for walking. There are multiple places to eat and shop within walking distance. If you would like to cook, there are Ralphs and Trade Joe’s within 2 miles for grocery shopping. It is also easy on and off the freeways and to and from the airport. A central location to explore beyond Mission Beach - La Jolla, downtown, the Zoo, Sea World, and Coronado are all a short drive away.

We highly recommend this vacation home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
10% off Aprill-May! Location! 1 House From Ocean,View,Sleeps 10-16.Walks to All
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p397543
+1 (619)701-7722
Mission Beach San Diego County
San Francisco
5

Excellent vacation experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Mission beach is full of energy and lively, it is suitable for family vacation as there are so many different activities there. You can do surfing, people watch, shopping, sun bathing, swimming and running on the beach, etc. I love this vacation house because it sits one house behind the beach, we can enjoy the ocean view at the upstairs and downstairs balcony and yet be able to have more privacy than the houses on the beach. The condition of this house is very comfortable and soothing, there are plenty of rooms for 8 of us to hang out in the house. It sits in the central location of Mission beach that we can access the market and restaurants easily. It offers parking spaces which is a plus.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
10% off Aprill-May! Location! 1 House From Ocean,View,Sleeps 10-16.Walks to All
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p397543
+1 (619)701-7722
Mission Beach San Diego County
California
5

Location location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
We had a spring break stay in this property.
Mission beach area is a great choice for vacation. The beach seems to be a couple of miles long, and there is a nice ocean front walk for that whole stretch. Many people were walking and jogging on the walk and I did fair amount of jogging myself. The beach was also wide and clean, and not commercialized like many in Caribbean. This is definitely the premium beach in San Diego area and sothern California.
This house situated very well on this wonderful beach. It is like 20 yards from the ocean front (one house in between), and it actually has a nice ocean view from the deck and the patio. The second floor deck is large and very usable, and we think this is what makes this house a vacation house. The ground level patio is also very nice, and much of it can be used as the second parking space if you brought two cars as we did. We really appreciated this extra space.
The house is an easy walk to Mission Bay Drive, where restaurants and a large park are located.
The interior of the house seemed to be remodeled recently and was clean and well appointed. The beds were comfortable. Two advices: 1. Bring a good GPS if you drive as this area can be confusing to navigate through, 2: Bring your hair dryer. Of course, always bring a good spirit and have fun.
This place is highly recommended.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi, Brian. Thank you for the review! We started to provide hair dryers based on your suggestion.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
10% off Aprill-May! Location! 1 House From Ocean,View,Sleeps 10-16.Walks to All
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p397543
+1 (619)701-7722
Mission Beach San Diego County
Arizona
5

Love to come back

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
We loved our stay in Mission Beach Sun Catcher. It is clean and nice. We were delighted to realize that the property is so close to ocean. The price was fantastic, a lot more affordable than ocean front properties.

The location is great. Walk a few blocks, you will find food, shops, and Belmont Park with rides, water waving, etc. We also walked north to some famous local restaurants like The Mission, Konos. Ralphs is only 1 mile away. In the evening, we usually drive 5 miles north to La Jolla, there are many wonderful restaurants to pick. We loved the Lobster dinner at " Spot" . You can also find many nice places in pacific beach.

This is a really nice property to have a vacation. Plan to come in summer again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1