Asheville house rental - Beautiful and fun porch.
Beautiful and fun porch.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Asheville House Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms + Loft, 2 Baths (Sleeps 6)

Farmhouse on the Cane is a special place for both families and couples to visit.

Amazing property central to many top activities including; The Blue Ridge Parkway, Mount Mitchell, Linville Falls and the City of Asheville

Sleeps up to 6 comfortably.

Beautiful cook's kitchen stocked with all you need to make your stay special.

Over 1/2 mile waterfront on property and fun hiking trails right on our property.

80-year old restored farmhouse, nestled in the mountains on the outskirts of the town of Burnsville, North Carolina.

This artistic home is situated on 18 acres and over a mile of River frontage on the famous Cane River that is stocked with trout.

Experience the 'SPA' feel throughout this home with river rock showers, full chef's kitchen and warm colors and lighting throughout. Area is rich in history and local culture. Make sure you make some time to visit local museums and walk along the town square in downtown Burnsville.

An incredible farmer’s market is held on Saturday spring-to-fall and is rich with local produce and organic products.

Pass through the town, you will continue to drive along country roads and pass picturesque cows and old barns. We guarantee a smile will cross your face and your shoulders will begin to relax.

The worries of life somehow will be forgotten. Often parked along the sides of the road are trucks where local fly fisherman and their sons are fishing for trout. Make sure you wave and say hello.

Some mornings as you drive, you will see a herd of deer cross the misty road as they come to the Cane River to drink or look for berries. Often, you will cross paths with roosters and chickens as they search for food. Watch too for small bears along the river, but please just observe!

As you turn onto the driveway, cross over the Cane River and enter the property, make a mental note of the local swimming hole on the left. It is a favorite watering hole in the summer and locals call it the “rope hole”. Good for cooling off in the summer.

Pass the entry gate, and you will see an old cattle barn. In summer months, grapes grow on the vines up and along the top of the roof of the barn. When they ripen, make sure you pick a few.

After you settle in, take some time to sit on the rocking chair porch with a glass of wine or sweet tea. The rockers are hand-made by locals. You can listen to the water as it flows over the natural rocks and giant boulders and the water passes along the shores of the pristine Cane River.

Mornings are great for walking along the path of the river located just outside your back door. Around the corner, from the house in the summer months, we grow a kitchen garden with fresh strawberries, corn, tomatoes and herbs.

Wading in the river is a must for the summer afternoons. We suggest wearing old tennis shoes or such for traction. Unlike swimming pools, cut-offs and old t-shirts are preferred!

Dinner out with “people watching” is fun in downtown Burnsville. But most like to cook in our state of the art “country” kitchen using local produce and fish. The kitchen is a favorite of most and is equipped with a double oven and nice cookware. There are plenty of plates and utensils for families. The chilly water from the tap is from a hand-dug water-well, so please use what you need conservatively.

There will be plenty of room to serve your meals from our antique 12-foot long table from an old-local country-store. Everyone will enjoy dinner as they pull up a bench round the dinner table. Entertainment optional….talk and get to know each other again.

More Details
Hide Details

After looking for over 2-years we found it with 'Farmhouse on the Cane!' We completed a renovation of a 1940's home which took over a year's time.

This is not your typical rental home and would love for you to enjoy it as well.

We also own the historic Nu Wray Inn Bed & Breakfast (Built in 1833) on the Town Square about 10-minutes away.

Read the previous comments as you have to experience to truly believe it.

We fell in love with the amazing 'Andy Griffith/ Old Town' feel of Burnsville (Only 10-mins away) with the friendliest people you'll ever meet. The natural beauty of the the Blue Ridge Mountains with local farms will shave years off your stress level.

We very convenient to Asheville, only 35-minutes away and 2.5 hours to Charlotte, so we're very easy to get to.

21 Reviews of Property 395504 in Asheville, North Carolina

Riverfront Refurbished Farmhouse - Fishing Steps Away
average rating of 5.0 based on 21 reviews
business
Riverfront Refurbished Farmhouse - Fishing Steps Away
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p395504
+1 828 682-2329
Asheville Asheville Area
Wilson, NC
5

Farmhouse

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
My wife and I have stayed at the Farmhouse 4 times so far. Every season is well represented. I have never been to a location that exhibits the beauty of nature so well. The Farmhouse has the ability to leave lasting memories from the sights and sounds of the beautiful scenery around you. From the fireflies glowing in the distance to the fire burning near the riverbank. The river is very relaxing whether you choose to innertube or fish for trout. The hiking trails offer a great source of exercise and visual enjoyment. This is a great escape for couples or families that want to get away from it all and enjoy what life has to offer.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Riverfront Refurbished Farmhouse - Fishing Steps Away
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p395504
+1 828 682-2329
Asheville Asheville Area
Atlanta
5

Retreat to the mountains

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
We had a wonderful quiet and comfortable time at the Farmhouse on the Cane. Our hosts were very solicitous without being intrusive and gave us directions to beautiful hiking trails. There is a first rate grocery store ten minutes away with all the ingredients we needed for ambitious cooking.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
business
Riverfront Refurbished Farmhouse - Fishing Steps Away
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p395504
+1 828 682-2329
Asheville Asheville Area
5

Wonderful, beautiful, charming, relaxing...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
I could go on! The farmhouse was all these things and more. We loved how it was restored and modern amenities were added. It has all the character of an old farmhouse, with a kitchen that any chef would appreciate. Also loved the rain shower heads and the ridiculously comfortable bed upstairs. I'm missing that bed already! Sitting in rockers on the front porch bundled up and drinking coffee was a highlight with the sound and view of the river out front. We enjoyed exploring the property with the fall leaves displaying beautiful color. The Ingles Market recommended to us by Bob was nice with a great wine and gourmet food selection, surprising in such a remote area. In our four days here, we managed to squeeze in a tour at the Biltmore, sunset cocktails at the Grove Park Inn, dinner in downtown Asheville, a brief visit to a star gazing event in Burnsville, a day long drive/hiking/picnic adventure on the Blue Ridge Parkway, a little shopping and sightseeing in the very funky town Blowing Rock. All that combined with a much needed rest from our normally hectic lives made this trip outstanding. What a great time in the mountains. We will be back!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Riverfront Refurbished Farmhouse - Fishing Steps Away
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p395504
+1 828 682-2329
Asheville Asheville Area
Jasper, al
5

Great Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
Hi Bob,
We thoroughly enjoyed our time at the house. It was so peaceful and relaxing. We would highly recommend the farmhouse for a get away. And as far as the Biltmore the construction was amazing that went into the house even in today's time much less the late 1800s.

Thanks,
Amy & Erik
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
business
Riverfront Refurbished Farmhouse - Fishing Steps Away
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p395504
+1 828 682-2329
Asheville Asheville Area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Incredible Time - Loved the Cool Weather & Fishing

Incredible Time - Loved the Cool Weather & Fishing
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Thanks, Bob. We will definitely be back! We really did have an incredible time. We're still talking about it. Honestly, the week was perfect, and the best time to be away. Here in Raleigh, the temps reached up into the high nineties all week, and one day, it was apparently between 105-110 (with the humidity index), so being up in cool Burnsville was the smart place to be! :)

Oh-- and about our fly-fishing techniques-- We both fish all the time at the beach, but that's the first time I'd ever been fly-fishing, which I now think I much prefer to regular rod fishing. There's something very satisfying about using something so primitive (even the 'fly') -- and fishing in such clear waters-- to catch trout. I loved it.

Walk out on the stones into the water just a little ways; throw the line out as far as you can, preferably upstream and toward the big rocks out there (under which we suspect the trout hide); watch the line go downstream; and once the line is above water again, throw it again. Oh-- and, most importantly, your wrist/throwing technique has to be somewhat perfect-- as mine was-- but that's about it. :) Of course, I think it helps to have a river that's stocked, too.

We hope to be back up there again soon-- definitely next summer, but hopefully before then, too.

Thanks again for everything!
business
Riverfront Refurbished Farmhouse - Fishing Steps Away
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p395504
+1 828 682-2329
Asheville Asheville Area
Los Angeles
5

Style & Comfort & Fun in Idyllic Setting

Style & Comfort & Fun in Idyllic Setting
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
We stayed at the farmhouse over the 4th of July and loved it. We were two families with three kids and it was the perfect place to please everyone. The photos don't do it justice. The house was beautifully decorated yet comfortable and homey. It had a wonderful "farmhouse chic" style. The kitchen & bathrooms were new and beautifully done with high end materials, appliances and accessories. It was clearly decorated with love and personality unlike so many of the rental homes which are sterile and uninspired. We did lots from cooking from bbq to baking cakes and everything we needed was there (except, strangely, a good bbq grill, but we had brought our own smokey joe). The house was immaculately clean and there was a large pleasant laundry room. The owner, Bob, was super friendly and helpful.

We all enjoyed the outdoors too. We picked fresh blueberries from the bushes in the garden, we roasted marshmallows around a roaring bonfire in the fire pit, the kids caught tadpoles and fireflies and we spent hours swimming and floating down the river in the inner tubes. The three sets of "rapids" on the property were only a foot or so deep so even the three year old enjoyed tubing over them and 10 minute float down river brought us to a wonderful swimming hole with rope swing to play with.

We didn't venture out much except to the local market and ice cream shop, but the town center of Burnsville was very small and charming, about 10 minutes away, and on the outskirts of the town were grocery stores and pharmacies and anything else you might need. We went to a wonderfully quirky and homegrown 4th of July celebration at the nearby Penland School of Crafts and on the way out of town, we stopped at one of the local "gem mines" where the kids had fun sifting through buckets of dirt and stones to pick out "gems". Apparently there are actual real mine tours available for those looking for something more than kitsch, but our young kids were happy with the fake mining.

All in all it was wonderful summer vacation for everyone. We would highly recommend it and we can't wait to come back!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Riverfront Refurbished Farmhouse - Fishing Steps Away
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p395504
+1 828 682-2329
Asheville Asheville Area
5

perfect get away & love nest!

perfect get away & love nest!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
We rented the farm house a month before our marriage just to get away and relax & it was beyond our wildest dreams!We loved exploring the land & the river.The bath tub was divine.Beds were very comfortable!Fresh tomatoes from the garden & beautiful weather!We will definitely be visiting our home away from home again some day soon!
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Riverfront Refurbished Farmhouse - Fishing Steps Away
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p395504
+1 828 682-2329
Asheville Asheville Area
Wake Forest, NC
5

A perfect getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
The Cohens were so terrific. They quickly on a last minute prepared the house for our arrival. We arrived at night so we could not see how wonderful the river and the garden are. When we woke in the morning it was just as expected a gorgeous lawn for the kids and dogs to play on overlooking the river. Our whole family had so much fun playing in the river, attempting to float down it and fishing. My 2 year old and I even caught a large trout!:) We tried out the rope swing just at the end of the driveway and had a blast! I would highly recommend this home to anyone looking for a mountain river rental.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Riverfront Refurbished Farmhouse - Fishing Steps Away
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p395504
+1 828 682-2329
Asheville Asheville Area
Asheville
5

Fantastic getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 13, 2010
  • Stayed: Apr 2010
When it comes to this cabin, you get what you pay for. Expect luxury from top to bottom and do plan to make full use of the amazing kitchen if you can. It has everything you could want. An amazing place all around.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
business
Riverfront Refurbished Farmhouse - Fishing Steps Away
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p395504
+1 828 682-2329
Asheville Asheville Area
Trinity, N. C.
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2010
  • Stayed: Jan 2010
My husband and I spent four days and three nights at this beautiful place. It is the most peaceful and relaxing time we have had in a long time. We walked the beautiful country side, fished, played in the stream running in front of the house and toured the area. We slept with our feet in the water, in the rocking chairs, on the couches, everywhere. It was a well deserved rest. Great place and close to a lot of interesting places.