Lunenburg house rental - View from Cove (with Lower Deck/Bench, Dock for 18-ft Boat, and Screened Gazebo.
View from Cove (with Lower Deck/Bench, Dock for 18-ft Boat, and Screened Gazebo.
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps7
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Lunenburg House Rental Photos and Description
4 Bedrooms (Master has a suite), 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7

*** POSSIBLY THE MOST SPECTACULAR RENTAL LOCATION ON THE SOUTH SHORE ***

Please view our new video (the last picture thumbnail), or by copying this link into your internet browser: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_4XjqVPxzbg&feature=em-upload_owner&noredirect=1

Experience Nova Scotia island-living at its finest at the Fennel Old House. Our renovated, turn-of-the-century home is accessible by car with no need for a ferry or boat. We sit on a spectacular, multi-acre, oceanfront site, just 30-feet from the water. Bordered by woods on three sides, we overlook a picturesque, rocky cove and wide bay beyond. The front deck facing the water is huge and breathtaking… The only house you can see from our front deck is a mile across the bay! Guests have called the 180-degree view of the ocean and islands beyond one of the most amazing they’ve ever seen. Included is a brand new dock where you can tie up a boat, swim off of, lounge on, and view sea life.

The LaHave Islands: a Unique Destination

From the minute you approach Crescent Beach, a popular 1.2-mile long beach which leads from the mainland out to the LaHave Islands, you know you’ve come to a special place. After driving down the wide beach (or taking the road behind it), you follow a winding road and cross two bridges. You encounter postcard views along every turn -- colorful houses, old fishing wharves, and fishing and pleasure boats passing by. At the end of the road, you’ll find the Fennel Old House.

Convenient Location

We are a seven-minute drive from the Lighthouse Route, which runs the mainland between Halifax and Yarmouth. We’re a half-hour’s drive from Bridgewater, which is the area’s main shopping/restaurant area. We’re a 40-minute drive from the historic seaport of Lunenburg and tourist destination of Mahone Bay, and an hour-and a half's drive southwest of Halifax and the airport (YHZ).

Our property offers charm and privacy, yet is located in a vibrant island community, on the most populated of the two dozen islands which make up the LaHave Islands. We’re also and in an area of the South Shore which has much to offer tourists.

The Outside

Enjoy the outdoors from our sprawling, nicely landscaped yard with flower gardens, 4 sundecks (including a roof deck and deck by the water), floating dock, screen house and screened gazebo perched right on the shore. You can swim off the dock, catch crabs, pick wild blueberries and raspberries, play croquet and badminton, and swing on our tree swing. Or just relax, listening to the seagulls, watching fishing boats in the bay, and viewing deer, seals, otter and blue heron. In the evening, barbecue in the back yard, enjoy spectacular sunsets over the cove, and light a fire in our outdoor fire pit to roast marshmallows.

The Inside

The Fennel Old House can comfortably sleep seven adults in four bedrooms. The master bedroom has a large, attached changing room, which can also accommodate a crib. The other two upstairs bedrooms have three twin beds. A downstairs bedroom has a double bed and adjoins the bathroom.

Our home features large-window views, wood floors, period-moldings, wainscoting, and tongue-in-groove walls throughout the upstairs. Come home from a day at the beach or touring to warm in front of one of two wood stoves. The first floor also has baseboard electric heating with thermostats in each room, and portable, safe, high-powered heaters on the second floor.

Eat your meals at the dining room table while enjoying a wide open view of the cove and bay through a large picture window.

The kitchen is fully equipped with an electric stove, microwave, toaster oven, coffee maker, food processor, quality china and flatware, and much more (we love to cook!). The living room has a 27' TV with limited satellite service, DVD & VCR players, a stereo/CD/tape deck, and mini pool table, and a large book collection of Nova Scotian culture. We provide bedding and towels, other supplies such as toilet paper, and a washer/dryer. Yes, we have WIRELESS internet, and the cell service is good. We do not allow smoking of any kind inside our home.

The Area

Locally, there are many attractions. Half a dozen beaches are within a 10-minute drive, including Risser's Beach Provincial Park, with a fine-sand beach with lifeguards, winding boardwalk along a back marsh, visitor’s center, a snack bar and shower facility. On our island are many quaint paths and roads to walk or bike, a marine museum, community hall, fish plant/government wharf, two churches, and a cemetery. On nearby Crescent Beach, people love to park their cars on the beach, walk their dogs, surf, kite-board, stroll the beach at sunrise and sunset, and of course, swim!

Several fishermen and their families still live on the islands, some who will take visitors out fishing or on island tours (ask us). Locals also love to share their community's history through casual encounters along the road and at events like the Monday morning coffee hour, serving the best home-made scones and sticky buns you’ve ever tasted – really. The community hall also hosts guest lectures and other events.

Along the Lighthouse Route on the mainland are lots of craft and antique shops, artist studios, restaurants, museums, and historical sites (like Fort Point Museum in LaHave, where the French first landed in Canada in 1604). You can take in musical events, county fairs, farmers’ markets, art shows, ox pulls, movies, theater and more. For sporting activities, you can rent kayaks, golf at several courses, go horseback riding, rock climb, wind surf, para-sail, and enjoy the resort at White Point Beach, where you can get a day pass to use the pools, yard games, and boats.

Don't miss the most famous bakery in Nova Scotia, the LaHave Bakery (15 minutes away), where you can sit down in its quaint dining area and enjoy an amazing breakfast or lunch. Another guest favorite is 'The Ovens,' which is a series of ocean caves accessible by wooded walkways, where the waves pound in and out. At Ross Farm, children will love to see a “working” farm where they still raise animals and grow crops. And bake sales and lobster suppers in community halls all over the area are delicious!

Payment

We accept US and Canadian-based checks,wire transfers, e-Checks through HomeAway and VRBO, and online payments from Canadian banks through Interac.

Contact Us

We hope you have the chance to experience our little piece of heaven. Please respond via this website, or call Mont at 617-909-7279. He will call you back to save you any charges.

Availability

If The Fennel Old House is booked during the week you are travelling, note that we also own 'SKYVIEW ON LAHAVE ISLAND,' a 15-year old home perched on the highest point of our island -- above the tree tops -- with an amazing 360-degree view of the LaHave Islands and the ocean. Gorgeous views from every window! It can sleep up to 8 for $795 to $1750 per week. Please see HomeAway listing #3320214.

More Details
Hide Details

The Fennel Old House is owned by Mont and Mitzi Fennel, who have been coming to the islands every summer of their lives.

Mont Fennel purchased this house in 1956

In 1956, our father stumbled upon the Fennel Old House on a boat tour of the islands, while visiting a friend. He bought it from a fishing family. Back then, it came with a large wharf, smokehouse, outhouse, one electric outlet and no running water! Over the years Dad fixed it up to become a wonderful second home for us. 10 years ago, my sister and I took over the property and fully renovated it. We have furnished it nicely, and have beautifully landscaped the large yard. The house, community, and area have become a fundamental part of our lives.

1) Beauty -- Unparalleled views of the ocean… Awesome picture-taking, both on our property and of the surrounding islands. Photograph or paint vistas, fishing boats, wharves, and colorful houses.

2) Romance -- Total privacy and relaxation. Enjoy the ambiance of 2 wood stoves, lounging on multiple decks, dinners in the gazebo or screen porch, walks on island paths, and more.

3) Children – We are a kid's paradise, with a large yard to play badminton, croquet, football, frisbee, wiffle ball, darts, and use our outdoor swing. Youngsters love to play and swim off our dock, climb around our waterfront, and explore the adjacent woods. We have books, board games, and some toys for tots. Also a mini-pool table and TV/VCR with a video library.

4) Adventure – Dozens of things to do on the popular South Shore mainland area (within 5 to 40 minutes), and quick access to beaches (5 to10 minutes). We provide guests with a guide with directions.

5) Community -- An unusually close group of families, both fishermen and summer residents, who live nearby and welcome visitors.

6) Boating – Our floating dock, attached to land-based ramp, is large enough for a low-drafting, 18-foot boat, or a couple of kayaks. Explore our cove and other island inlets or venture further around all of the LaHave Islands. Kayaks can be rented 10 minutes away.

7) Pets – We gladly accept them and have a huge yard for dogs to play in.

27 Reviews of Property 393316 in Lunenburg, Nova Scotia

Stunning Oceanfront Island Home! On Secluded Cove Near Lunenburg. Car-Accessible
average rating of 4.7894735 based on 27 reviews
business
Stunning Oceanfront Island Home! On Secluded Cove Near Lunenburg. Car-Accessible
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p393316
+1 617 909-7279
Lunenburg Nova Scotia
Belmont, Massachusetts, USA
5

A Picturesque and Serene Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 26, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
Our family (2 adults, 2 teens) traveled to Belle Isle and the "old house" as part of our exploration coastal Nova Scotia. We were immediately struck by the location and feeling of seclusion, despite its proximity to the mainland and numerous natural and cultural destinations. The house is perched on the native bedrock, nestled in a landscape of picturesque islands, spruce trees, wildlife and amazing views. We explored the area by boat and by car and came away feeling calm and refreshed. We have traveled extensively in Maine and other similar coastal environments, so we appreciated the way the Old House integrates "green technology" in a historic house. It is a comfortable cottage in a spectacular setting, perfect for a family getaway.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Stunning Oceanfront Island Home! On Secluded Cove Near Lunenburg. Car-Accessible
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p393316
+1 617 909-7279
Lunenburg Nova Scotia
Wellesley MA
5

Time to Reconnect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 18, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
Our stay at the Fennel Old House was a stimulating and refreshing time to re-connect. The stunning views from the porch and gazebo gave way to comfy accommodations within. Our group had a spacious facility to connect in two's and three's down on the dock, sunning ourselves on the porch, or gathering as a whole group in the spacious living room within.

This is a beautiful part of Nova Scotia mid-way along the southern coast, and the house looks out on a small harbor which was at times still as glass and you could see crabs and other sea-life swimming around under the water from the dock. Plenty of local attractions and good seafood restaurants within a half hour drive, but an "end of the world" feeling of seclusion when you most wanted it.

We had a wonderful time, returning to civilization refreshed and recharged. Rent this place, but don't try for our week!

(Dear VRBO -- this is the third time trying to post this review -- please send confirmation to the usi.biz address, not the aol address given earlier)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Stunning Oceanfront Island Home! On Secluded Cove Near Lunenburg. Car-Accessible
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p393316
+1 617 909-7279
Lunenburg Nova Scotia
east chatham, ny 12060
5

The Best Vacation We Ever Had!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
This was our first time in Nova Scotia and will definately not be our last! The house is beautiful and we loved having our meals in the kitchen overlooking the ocean in the backyard. After a day of sightseeing we looked forward to coming home and sitting in the living room which was one of my favorite rooms in the house and just relaxing and talking about our day. The property was spectacular we sat in the screened porch many of nights to watch the sun set. We have created so many wonderful memories on that vacation we still talk about it to this day and cannot wait to go back! We have some amazing pictures as a slide show on our computer screens of this wonderful trip that play all day. If you are thinking of visiting do no hesitate the house is wonderful the property beautiful the people we met were so friendly. The house is close to so many beaches and sites but you might just find the best time to be had is to sit in the yard overlooking the ocean and enjoying time with your family and making your own vacation memories that will last a lifetime!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Stunning Oceanfront Island Home! On Secluded Cove Near Lunenburg. Car-Accessible
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p393316
+1 617 909-7279
Lunenburg Nova Scotia
Hamilton MA
5

Best vacation ever in my kids' memories!

Best vacation ever in my kids' memories!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2006
We loved our time on the LaHave Islands and so enjoyed the beautiful house. The kids had a blast -- in fact, just the other week, my son, now in college, said he wanted to go back! The house and property are fabulous -- it’s a magical spot. We’ve never had such a relaxing vacation. We enjoyed talking to the owners' father next door, who originally bought the property in 1956. He told us all about the history of the islands. We also got to eat fresh vegetables from the Fennel Old House garden! I hope we can go back again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Stunning Oceanfront Island Home! On Secluded Cove Near Lunenburg. Car-Accessible
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p393316
+1 617 909-7279
Lunenburg Nova Scotia
Marlborough MA
5

The house was fabulous!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
We had a great week at the Fennel Old House. The children so enjoyed playing whiffle ball in the large yard, swinging on the tree swing, and swimming off the dock and catching crabs. You can see a picture of them posted on this site! The adults enjoyed frequent barbeques on the large sun deck with its expansive view of the ocean. One morning I woke up and looked out from the downstairs bedroom to see what looked like 4 otters right under the window, just before they darted off into the woods. You don't see that every day!
business
Stunning Oceanfront Island Home! On Secluded Cove Near Lunenburg. Car-Accessible
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p393316
+1 617 909-7279
Lunenburg Nova Scotia
Black Mountain, NC
5

The Ellers

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
What a treat. The house is just wonderful and is clean as a whistle. The fire in the stove was so nice and we enjoyed our coffee every morning there and our wine in the afternoons in the gazebo. We appreciated having your dad next door – he shared vegetables from his garden and we enjoyed the rhubarb from your garden. We were able to connect with your fisherman friend, Randall Tumblin, and he took us around the islands in his boat and loaned me a kayak to paddle around the coves. We also enjoyed the boardwalk at Risser’s Beach.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
business
Stunning Oceanfront Island Home! On Secluded Cove Near Lunenburg. Car-Accessible
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p393316
+1 617 909-7279
Lunenburg Nova Scotia
Nashua, NH, USA
5

Excellent relaxing stay, could not have been better!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
My wife an I had been contemplating going to Aruba for our wedding anniversary, but as we had traveled quite extensively in the year we decided to include our two sons in the vacation idea too and having wanted to vacation in Nova Scotia for some time searched the web to see what was available and came across a small ad for "Old Fennel House" and called up to see what was available. The owner could not have been more helpful, the house is a typical ocean side family vacation home (don't expect the luxury of hotel accommodation) the house was clean and had the basic needs of a very quiet self catering vacation. Secluded cove is absolutely breathtaking. There is plenty to see in the area if you want to get away for a day, but if you are looking to get away from everything, this is the place. Take your bikes and Kayak's (you can rent locally if you want) you will not regret the extra carriage. A great fun time was had by all. It was a long way to travel, but worth every single mile we drove. Our thanks go to the Fennel family.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Stunning Oceanfront Island Home! On Secluded Cove Near Lunenburg. Car-Accessible
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p393316
+1 617 909-7279
Lunenburg Nova Scotia
Stouffville, Ontario, Canada
1

The GOOD, the BAD and the UGLY

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
The good. The location is superb, quiet, serene and with beautiful views of the coves surrounding the other islands. The island has quiet and safe walks, all the neighbors are friendly, deer pass by at dawn and dusk and at night the stars shone like jewels. The beach joining the mainland is long, safe and a dogs delight. The local bakery has wonderful artisans bread, superb made to order sandwiches and pastries to die for. A local ferry provides access to wonderful Lunenburg and Peggy’s Cove and historic Halifax are just a few hours drive away.
The bad. The cottage is in need of some tender loving care and is run down, needs a new paint job and replacement of rotting windows. The mesh on one screen door was broken allowing mosquito access (I repaired). The chairs and sofa are obvious ‘hand me downs’ and uncomfortable. The outside chairs were plastic, dirty and cheap. All the electric kitchen accessories were old and none worked properly.
The ugly. The chemical toilet broke down on the 2nd day. Why? Because the air vent pump had overheated and blown the fuse. Why? Because the tray in the drum that catches human excrement had not been emptied for a long time. The whole area around the tray, which is meant to be empty to allow airflow, was full of excrement that I had no choice but to clear by hand. I filled the tray to the brim 6 times with other peoples excrement and took it to the outside dump area.
That outside dump area was too close to the house and excrement was overflowing the chicken wire cage meant to contain it, a health hazard for any young toddlers running around. Mosquitoes plagued us throughout our stay at the cottage even though there were no problems everywhere else on the island. Why? The wet basement was full of stagnant water.
Why was I in the wet basement? Because we had a power cut (no big deal) and I had to purge the air out of the well pump as I was getting eaten alive by mosquitoes
The owner has an unmarked electric fence outside, presumably to stop the deer feeding. I found about it when my dog got caught and electrocuted. Not good for small and inquisitive kids.
The bathtub was filthy and the shower curtain encrusted in dirt and scale. (I scrubbed the tub and bought a new curtain) You may ask is any of the above exaggerated? No, I recorded it all on video The owner apologized, but didn't offer to compensate, not that I asked. We just used the cottage as a base, spent as little time as possible there and still had a great vacation.
Owner's Response: We’re sorry this renter had this experience. It’s the first negative review in 15 years renting. We take great pride in our home, which we’ve owned 50 years (hence Fennel “Old” House). We’ve decorated, furnished and maintained it for others’ enjoyment and our own. Please read other reviews stating that the house is extremely clean, functional, attractive, and a pleasure to be at. Unfortunately, this renter fixed a couple problems he encountered on his own, without informing us beforehand. He also embellished his story, and did things we did not approve of. Several items he lists we’re only finding out about now, 5 months later. We have a handyman on call 24/7 who could have quickly taken care of the unexpected electrical short in the bathroom, which is now fixed, and the door screen. He did not have to empty the compost himself. The outside compost is properly contained, 75 ft from the house, and not near where young children would go. We plan to paint the house this spring. The one window with water damage has been replaced. Our furnishings are family pieces and carefully chosen antiques: wicker couch & chair, mission-period oak coffee table, turn-of the century hutch, and Morris chair. They’re attractive and comfortable or we wouldn’t have chosen them. The outdoor Adirondack chairs are sturdy, nice to sit in, and kept clean. See photos: www.fenneloldhouse.com. The kitchen appliances all work perfectly, and we’ve many quality utensils, pots & pans, spices & staples. Mosquitoes are part of the Nova Scotia environment. Bugs may come out (not always) after rain, with little wind, at dawn or dusk. Our basement is unfinished, and can accumulate some water after heavy rain. But a drainage system allows water to flow through, and it doesn’t attract bugs. Mosquitoes are less prevalent at our property than elsewhere as we mow our landscaped lawn often and have thinned the surrounding woods. Our deer fence is well-marked, its shock mild to people and animals, and can be turned off. This reviewer’s dog was not “electrocuted.” Our house is professionally cleaned between every renter (beds made, fresh towels). It is usually spotless. The residue on the tub and shower curtain wasn’t scum but iron stain. We’d just put in an expensive water purifier but hadn’t yet removed the stains. The renter shouldn’t have replaced the curtain on his own without telling us. Despite all this, he says he still had a “great” vacation. You certainly will too, just as others before him.
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Stunning Oceanfront Island Home! On Secluded Cove Near Lunenburg. Car-Accessible
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p393316
+1 617 909-7279
Lunenburg Nova Scotia
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
Amazing place. Beautiful and cozy cottage. We loved enjoying the sunset on the balcony with a glass of wine. The kitchen had everything we needed to cook a good meal. The island is very beautiful and quiet.
business
Stunning Oceanfront Island Home! On Secluded Cove Near Lunenburg. Car-Accessible
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p393316
+1 617 909-7279
Lunenburg Nova Scotia
Acton, MA, USA
5

Great alternative to Lunenburg Nova Scotia Hotels

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
The location of the Fennel Old House, on a beautifully-landscaped yard bordering a secluded cove (with the only visible house a half mile away!) -- put us into a deep state of relaxation the minute we sat on the dock. Being on the LaHave Islands, still holding on to its fishing heritage with beautiful boats and down-to-earth, friendly people -- transported us back in time. Having easy access by car to a world of things to do on the mainland -- fulfilled our need of wanderlust. But it was hard to leave the front deck to ever venture out – the scenery and house itself were so inspiring…
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway