Boston condo rental
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 6 nights
 

Boston Condo Rental Photos and Description
Fully furnished luxury Penthouse centrally located in Boston. City views, outdoor covered porch and windows all around!

THE PENTHOUSE AT UPHAM'S CORNER

_South End - Umass Boston - Castle Beach_

The Penthouse is a fourth floor, fully furnished 1200sf luxury apartment centrally located in Boston near the historic South End. Part of a meticulous building restoration, the Penthouse combines characteristic turn-of-the-century Boston area architecture with modern day amenities, comfort and breathtaking views of the city. Original golden fir wood floors are complimented by thick, plush area rugs; designer furnishings create an elegant coziness throughout; and many luxuries of life are at your disposal. With the convenience of this location and comforts of this apartment, your short or long-term stay in Boston will be comfortable and memorable! Fully furnished, completely outfitted, thoroughly accessorized and much, much more!

Transportation to and from a Swank Properties unit is very convenient and easy. Whether using public transportation or a car, all of our units are selected based on their ease of access to public transportation and interstate highways. This unit is located within 12 minutes walking distance to the JFK/Umass Boston T (subway) stop.

Parking: This unit provides free on-street parking near the residence. No meters to feed and no parking garage to pay!

Our properties are fully furnished, providing our guests with all the conveniences of home during their visit to Boston. Our kitchens are fully equipped with a full set of appliances including a full size refrigerator, dishwasher, range with oven, microwave, toaster, and coffee maker. Swank Properties also provides cooking utensils, silverware, cookware, glasses and more. All units include bed linens, bath towels, face towels, washcloths, pillows, toilet paper, paper towels and dishwasher soap. Each unit features premium satellite or cable television and free wireless broadband Internet access.

Swank Properties invites you to download our free Swank Properties App for laptops and smartphones by searching “Swank Properties” in the Apple Store or Android Marketplace. From the App you have access to a wealth of information about the area, our properties, and much more.

Swank Properties answers your booking inquires around the clock. Should you have questions about our properties, reservation and booking process or general inquiries about the Boston area, feel free to contact a member of our talented team. We take pride in our efforts to provide our guests with the best value accommodations in Boston, while maintaining a price that is affordable and delivering a level of service that is above the rest.

"Like Us" on Facebook for more information on local and upcoming events, as well as points of interest.

Once you are ready to book a unit, simply enter your dates of interest and click “Continue Booking” above to be guided through the our secure and easy booking process! We look forward to having you as our guest!

More Details
Hide Details

41 Reviews of Property 387490 in Boston, Massachusetts

Lovely penthouse in Central Boston close to all attractions and transport!
average rating of 4.0 based on 41 reviews
business
Lovely penthouse in Central Boston close to all attractions and transport!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p387490
Boston Greater Boston
3

Great View, Bad Location

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
The condo itself is beautiful, spacious and has all the amenities one needs to spend a week in Boston (*One small shower stall). The listing is accurate and it has an incredible view of the city on it's porch. All communication with the property manager was emails and through an iPhone app, very convenient.

The noise level at the property was loud-- construction, next to a charter school, and high street flow. The walls were not thick enough protect our ears!
Also-- this is NOT a location to stay if you like exploring restaurants. This may not the best location for 1st time Boston visitors--you WILL have to use taxis, bus, subway, and/or rental car in order to get to the downtown & north end where MOST of the tourist attractions are.
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Lovely penthouse in Central Boston close to all attractions and transport!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p387490
Boston Greater Boston
noiseau, france
5

Upham penthouse

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
very nice flat, convenient,clean,perfect for a family spending a few days in Boston
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Lovely penthouse in Central Boston close to all attractions and transport!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p387490
Boston Greater Boston
Dublin, Dublin
5

Clean comfortable accommodation, convenient to ...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Clean comfortable accommodation, convenient to city

The apartment was ideal for a family (2 adults and 2 children) visit to Boston. It was furnished to a high standard and spotlessly clean. The apartment was exactly as depicted on the website. The arrangements to collect the keys worked well - using the instructions sent to the iPhone/iPod app. Without an iPhone/iPod it may not have been so simple. Access to Boston is really convenient. The "T" (subway) Red line at JFK/UMASS is just a 10 minute walk away, with a trip time of about 10 minutes to the centre of Boston. Supermarkets are just a 10 minute walk from the apartment. There was ample free car parking on the street outside the apartment - but take care to read the notices regarding restricted times for road cleaning etc. We nearly fell foul of a roadworks crew who put temporary restrictions in place, which nearly resulted in our rented car being towed. Overall, the apartment worked out really well and we would have no hesitation in recommending it to others.
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Lovely penthouse in Central Boston close to all attractions and transport!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p387490
Boston Greater Boston
montreal, quebec
3

NiCE bUt noiSY

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was adequately helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
OVeRAll it was nice but noisy noisy noisy! Construction or no construction the noise level was pretty high. There's also the staircases to consider if you have children.
The initial booking was easy but when i paid i also asked if there was a highchair and a crib available. I was supposed to get an answer within 2 days but nothing after 5 days...i tried to reach someone via the phone number but the only they do is take messages and they don't know how long it takes for a callback. I finally decided to email and got a response in 48hrs. With the same email I also asked if we could check in earlier and specifically wrote that if we did not get a response by the next evening that we would assume that the early checkin was not possible and to no charge our credit card. I wrote this because i read a review from someone that asked to checkout late and they did not get a response but they charged the credit card... Unfortunately that's exactly what happened to us, they charged our credit card without answering our email prior. Not cool. By charging our credit card we assumed we could check in early so we showed up early and Lance showed up to greet us. He said that his software did not send the response for some reason...

Nice place, clean and good location but noisy and communication needs to be improved.
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Lovely penthouse in Central Boston close to all attractions and transport!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p387490
Boston Greater Boston
Sunderland, England
2

Long distance travellers

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Rating Details:
I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was somewhat unhelpful.
Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Initially after a journey of 23 hours, we were unable to access the property. This was due to a WIFI fault our server was incompatable to your company's. It was late evening, pouring with rain, luggage to cover a 3 week trip, standing by the roadside with no means of entering. Our mobile phones would not work either. Your good natured neighbour from the restaurant next door was our saviour. Perhaps you would like to know some feedback on a further couple of negatives. Firstly too many stairs.We were aware there was no lift, but the spiral staircase over three floors with maximum luggage is too much for anyone
1. A welcome pack would have been very acceptble no tea, coffee, milk
2. Toilet seat needs adjusting, moveable
3. 2nd bedroom windowless and a small double bed.
4. 1 mirror in the bathroom is insufficient.
And due to bad timeing we had heavy construction work outside the buildindfrom 6am till late afternoon.
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Lovely penthouse in Central Boston close to all attractions and transport!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p387490
Boston Greater Boston
belfast, antrim
3

Penthouse

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Rating Details:
I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was somewhat unhappy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was adequately helpful.
Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
I would not call this apartment luxurious the second bedroom was awful I could not sleep with the noise of the air condition the room had no window and the bed was small It was very clausaphobic I would not stay at this apartment again
business
Lovely penthouse in Central Boston close to all attractions and transport!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p387490
Boston Greater Boston
Huntingdon Valley, PA
3

Shoddy amenities and lacking service ...

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Rating Details:
I was somewhat dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was clean.
The property manager was somewhat unhelpful.
Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Shoddy amenities and lacking service complicated our trip

This form does not allow enough space for me to fully explain my concerns. Thermostat was locked, we could not control. Second bed was full sized, not queen and bedroom had no windows. Window shades were missing or broken so people could see in at night. Pots and pans unusable because severely banged up and scratched nonstick lining. Street parking was not actually available because of construction and owner did not contact me to inform me and offer alternatives to getting my car towed. Toilet seat wobbly, clogged often. Every dish was chipped. Screen door torn, second door to patio didn’t close properly, making patio unusuable. I already emailed owner about my concerns two weeks ago and never heard anything from him.
business
Lovely penthouse in Central Boston close to all attractions and transport!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p387490
Boston Greater Boston
Sacramento, CA
4

A Great Getaway... in Dorchester!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was more than helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Overall, we really enjoyed our stay at the Penthouse at Upham's corner. The unit was clean and the directions for entrance were easy to follow. One issue that I think would be helpful for future guests to know is that even though the property is listed as "Boston", it is technically Dorchester. This made a difference in transportation shuttle costs to and from the airport. I'm sure the property owners want to market the rental as a Boston property, but I wish they had been honest about the location.
We didn't rent a car during our stay, but the walk to and from the T was pretty manageable. Anyone wanting to rely on public transportation will like this place, as long as they're willing to walk about 10-15 minutes to the T station.
Another bonus that I'm not sure is mentioned on the site is the access to the roof. From the penthouse, you can climb up a short flight of stairs to the roof, which offers really great views of downtown. We spent our 4th of July up there and had unbelievable views of the fireworks show. Definitely a huge plus to this property!
I contacted the property manager via email about a couple of questions while we were in Boston, and he was very prompt. Unfortunately, when I asked about a possible extended check-out time due to our delayed flight, he went ahead and charged me the $10/hour fee without getting my okay. It worked out fine, but I do wish he had waited for my authorization before charging my credit card. Just seems like proper customer service in my mind.
Overall, we really enjoyed our stay in Boston, and the property worked well for us. We'd definitely consider staying there again for future visits to Boston!
business
Lovely penthouse in Central Boston close to all attractions and transport!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p387490
Boston Greater Boston
2

poor

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Hi
I was a bit disappointment with the accommodation I would not stay it was a luxury apartment There was no bedside lamps no telephone My husband and i had to sleep in the living room as the small bedroom was very noisy due to the air conditioner and the bed was small and not very com fully and no window it felt very claustrophobia

Malchay
business
Lovely penthouse in Central Boston close to all attractions and transport!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p387490
Boston Greater Boston
Philadelphia, PA
2

Did not meet my expectations

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This is the first time I have not been happy with a VRBO rental. The second bedroom had a full sized bed, not a queen sized, as advertised and there were no windows in that bedroom, which is a fire hazard. The thermostat was locked so we could not adjust the temperature. I've never had any rental or hotel room that didn't allow me to adjust the temperature of the lodging. Some window shades were missing or broken, so we had to keep the lights off at night to prevent people from seeing into the apartment. The contents of the kitchen prevented us from cooking as we had hoped. The pots and pans looked as if they had been picked from the trash. The nonstick lining was scratched, which makes them unhealthy to use. Every dish was chipped.There wasn't even a dish towel or paper towel in the kitchen to dry our hands or the dishes. The toilet seat wasn't properly fastened and it was wobbly. The toilet clogged often, but a plunger is provided. We didn't use the deck because the screen door was torn and the second door did not fit properly in the doorframe and we had trouble closing and locking it once it was open. Construction on the street prevented us from parking on the street. While this is not the owner's fault, he could have informed us and suggested parking alternatives since we did not have a resident's permit necessary for parking on the side streets. We could not leave our car on the street during the day because cars were towed. It is a city neighborhood, so the street is noisy, but that is to be expected. The neighborhood was okay during the day, but we did not feel comfortable going out at night (and we are city people).

This is a pretty apartment with potential. I think it could be improved if the owner would be hospitable about letting the tenants use the heat/air conditioner, would buy necessary items for the kitchen and attend to maintenance of the property. I'm not sure anything can be done about the lack of windows in the bedroom, but honesty about the size of the bed would be preferable. The location of the South Bay Shopping Center with a Target and supermarket is very handy.