Brevard house rental - Living Room - Partial View
Living Room - Partial View
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Brevard House Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Den, Sleeps 8

Round Mountain Lodge, a charming mountain home perched above Lake Jocassee on the edge of Gorges State Park, provides an amazing retreat from life's hectic pace. It is only 2 miles from 'The Wilds Camp and Conference Center' and Georges State Park, Frozen Creek access.

Set on the south side of Round Mountain between the quaint mountain towns of Brevard (17 miles) and Lake Toxaway, Round Mountain Lodge is not simply a house in the mountains, but a ''mountain home.''

The main living area boasts a cathedral ceiling and mountain views from a bank of south-facing windows. The fireplace, dressed in floral tapestry, dominates the living area. Warm wood graces interior walls. The downstairs bedroom holds a king sized bed; another large upstairs room boasts a comfy queen. All bedrooms have down comforters. The Bunk Room holds two sets of bunk beds, making Round Mountain Lodge the ideal lodging choice for two families who wish to vacation together.

The den, home to twin trundle beds, contains family games, puzzles and media equipment. Children can watch a DVD or satellite TV while adults share conversation in the quiet of the living area. Peruse the books in the ''Loft Library'' or venture onto the rock outcropping below the porch to pick blackberries.

Watch the fog roll up the mountains from the porch swing. Discover one of six waterfalls within walking distance to the Lodge. All ingredients for the perfect mountain retreat are found amidst the tranquility and mountain splendor of the Blue Ridge Escarpment.

One of only 40 homes on the 1200 acres on Round Mountain, the Lodge boasts spacious rooms, comfortable and ample furnishings, and amenities that define it as a home rather than a ''rental unit''. This beautifully decorated home is amply supplied with accoutrements for the perfect mountain get-away. In any season, Round Mountain Lodge will call you back again and again.

More Details
Hide Details

31 Reviews of Property 380944 in Brevard, North Carolina

Spectacular Views: Charming Mountain Home, Perfect for Families; Wi-Fi
average rating of 4.9473686 based on 31 reviews
business
Spectacular Views: Charming Mountain Home, Perfect for Families; Wi-Fi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380944
803 749-0534
Brevard Asheville Area
Columbia, SC
5

Beautiful retreat with all the comforts of home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
I can't say enough nice things about this property. Everything was perfect. We had 4 adults and 3 children (ages 7, 5) at the house. The house was very child-friendly. The view from the living area/upstairs porch was fabulous. The furniture was clean and comfortable. The yard (with tire swing) was a big hit with our kids. We took a hike to Rainbow Falls, which was appropriate for our kids, with a little help (though it wouldn't be good for younger ones) and definitely worth the effort! Directions to the property and check in/check out instructions were very clear. You can not go wrong by choosing this property.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your review. You have highlighted many of the things that our guests love about Round Mountain Lodge (and we do too). It's also good to know that our directions were clear.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Spectacular Views: Charming Mountain Home, Perfect for Families; Wi-Fi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380944
803 749-0534
Brevard Asheville Area
Florence SC
5

Wonderful Time

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
The lodge was clean, well appointed and the home is awesome ! Can't believe the view !
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Spectacular Views: Charming Mountain Home, Perfect for Families; Wi-Fi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380944
803 749-0534
Brevard Asheville Area
Matthews, NC
5

You won,t be disappointed!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
What a great week we had at Round Mtn Lodge. It is everything the listing says and then some. Just read the other reviews and you will see that this is a great vacation rental. The only potential drawback is the distance / time it takes to get back to Brevard for groceries so plan on picking them up while you are in the Brevard area. The leaf color was peaking during our stay and the photo ops in the area are endless. I did not make it up to the top of the mountain until the last day. The view was amazing. Try and do it early am so that the light is more favorable. Plenty to keep everyone happy here from the kids to the adults. We normally rent in a different mountain location every fall, but this is one high on the list for a return, especially since my sister's family was able to join us for the first part . Rock Creek Falls is a very pretty falls that you can hike to on the propery. I was able to view the falls after some heavy rains and it was spectacluar.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: It's great to hear that our guest enjoy Round Mountain Lodge and the views as much as we do. Great point about stocking up on food in Brevard on the way to our mountain home. We highly recommend the Ingles store (has everything, even a Starbucks). If you are looking for a gourmet shop then Poppy's is it and is just a few blocks from Ingles. There is also a Food Lion and a "SaveMore" on the way.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Spectacular Views: Charming Mountain Home, Perfect for Families; Wi-Fi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380944
803 749-0534
Brevard Asheville Area
Atlanta, GA
5

Perfect Mountain House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We enjoyed our stay at Round Mountain Lodge very much! With two older children, ages 17 & 20, we found plenty to do to make our weekend extra special. The kids enjoyed the foosball and air hockey games downstairs, while my husband and I enjoyed the view from the porch. Everyone had a relaxing time reading on the porch, sitting on the lovely swing. Evenings were spent playing cards at the neat pull-down table on the porch and later enjoying s'mores by the firepit. We also ventured out for several hikes and saw some amazing waterfalls. Our golden retriever had a ball swimming in the pond down the road.

The cabin has everything you need to enjoy your stay-from the well-stocked kitchen, to plenty of great books, to puzzles and games galore! The beds were comfortable and the cool evening breezes were delightful for sleeping! Our only regret was that we could stay only for a weekend!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Spectacular Views: Charming Mountain Home, Perfect for Families; Wi-Fi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380944
803 749-0534
Brevard Asheville Area
NC & FL
5

A fabulous holiday for two families!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
What a wonderful house! We could not have asked for a better place to stay for our week long vacation. The three kids loved the bunk room, the tire swing and the games in the basement. The kitchen is stocked with any piece of cooking equipment you could ask for. There is nothing better than sitting on the deck in the morning drinking your coffee and looking at the mountains. Great location, too. A short drive to both Brevard and Cashiers. Wonderful memories!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We are always very happy to hear about how much our guests enjoy their stay at Round Mountain Lodge. This really is a "home away from home" and has the thoughtful touches to make your stay memorable in many great ways. Drinking coffee in the morning with the mountain view from the screened porch is an experience not to be missed!
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Spectacular Views: Charming Mountain Home, Perfect for Families; Wi-Fi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380944
803 749-0534
Brevard Asheville Area
Charleston, SC
5

Beat the heat and enjoy the warmth of this home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
This wonderful home offers so many options for guests to slip quietly away to read a book/catch a nap plus several gathering places with a lovely view. Our hands down favorite spot was the lower porch.
You have an option to stay put and explore the falls or jump in the car for a short drive to nearby Brevard for arts and dining. Speaking of which, the kitchen is fully stocked with every conceivable gadget and a huge selection of cookbooks. We prepared most of our own meals and again, the kitchen is not lacking!
The owners are considerate, responsive, and it shows that they love Round Mountain Lodge. We do too!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Spectacular Views: Charming Mountain Home, Perfect for Families; Wi-Fi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380944
803 749-0534
Brevard Asheville Area
Tennessee
5

perfect!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
We have children at summer camp in Brevard and this was a perfect retreat for us while we were up to visit them. In fact, we are renting it again next weekend!! The cabin was absolutely spotless, spacious, private, and more than fully equipped for all of our needs. We played games on the screened in porch while taking in the beautiful view. What a great find!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We love our mountain home and are very happy that others appreciate it and get to enjoy it as well.

Thanks for your review and your second stay this month!
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Spectacular Views: Charming Mountain Home, Perfect for Families; Wi-Fi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380944
803 749-0534
Brevard Asheville Area
Charlotte, NC
5

Great cabin, great friends, great time!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
When we go to the mountains we really like it to be secluded and this cabin was just the ticket. After all, isn't that why you go to the mountains? You see nothing but trees and mountain ridges in every direction from the rear porches. This cabin has everything that you will need, and often times, two of them! There was nothing that we wished it would have had. Our party was only four adults and some canine companionship so we spent a lot of time just on the screened porch enjoying the incredible views on the rockers and porch swing. This was a perfect setting for both your morning coffee and your evening cocktail. We only used two of the bedrooms and both were very comfortable. The photos represent the cabin very well and hosts D & J were extremely friendly and accommodating. It's a great location for nearby hiking as we hiked to waterfalls within Round Mountain and also went to Gorges State Park for more waterfall hiking and wrapped up the Holiday weekend with a mountain bike ride at DuPont State Park. We would definitely recommend this cabin if you enjoy solitude and outdoor activities. Brevard is a nice little town not too far away if you need some civilization, but we didn't spend any time there this trip.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: All of our guests have enjoyed our mountain home, the beautiful scenery, and the amenities we provide to make your stay just right.

Thanks for the review and we're glad you enjoyed your stay!
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Spectacular Views: Charming Mountain Home, Perfect for Families; Wi-Fi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380944
803 749-0534
Brevard Asheville Area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
Quoted comments from our recent guest:

"We loved Round Mountain Lodge and had a great time!! We really appreciate you letting us stay there. It was perfect!! We are hoping to go back this spring. I just wish I had found your place earlier so we could have been meeting there before!! "
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Spectacular Views: Charming Mountain Home, Perfect for Families; Wi-Fi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p380944
803 749-0534
Brevard Asheville Area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
From our guestbook - - - “Thank you for opening up your home to our family! We had a great time. It is so welcoming here – for family friendly. We loved your gameroom, charming outdoor dining area, swing. The hike down to the waterfuall was great and what a spot once once you get there! What a gem you have here. We would love to return again soon”. W family.
Helpful votes: 4/4