Captain Cook house rental - Enjoy the sunset while relaxing in the spa!
Enjoy the sunset while relaxing in the spa!
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Captain Cook House Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedrooms, 3.5 Bathrooms, Sunroom, Sleeps 8

Ocean view, 2300 square feet of beautiful living space, located in Kona Paradise, just far enough away from the hustle and bustle of the city and a great location for exploring the entire island.

Three beautiful bedrooms, each with a queen bed and a full en suite bathroom attached. Two of the bedrooms have their own private lanais each with a bistro table and chairs, overlooking the brilliant blue Pacific Ocean.

There is also a huge lanai off the main living area where you can relax and enjoy the sunsets, sitting in your personal hot tub.

Tax ID# W73070325-01

37 Reviews of Property 377085 in Captain Cook, Hawaii

Feel the Breeze and Watch the Ocean - Hale Kumu Kai
average rating of 4.783784 based on 37 reviews
business
Feel the Breeze and Watch the Ocean - Hale Kumu Kai
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377085
+1 209 470-0169
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Omaha, Nebraska
5

Too Perfect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
This house is exactly as pictured. It is so well equipped and extremely clean. The local contact person was very eager to help in anyway and the home owner was always available for any questions. I cannot think of the slightest negative, only the very best of memories. Having several different house guests, we especially liked the room arrangement. Each bedroom had it's own private full bath--what a luxury! We lived in his house for six weeks and truly felt at home. You will not be disappointed choosing this property as your home base for your Hawaiian vacation. Don't forget the mai tais!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Feel the Breeze and Watch the Ocean - Hale Kumu Kai
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377085
+1 209 470-0169
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Toledo, Ohio
5

Truly a Aloha experience! with great communication with owners. Fabulous.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Daughter lives on the island, but her home too small for our Christmas family gathering. What a relaxing, and inviting experience we had at this true Paradise. Fully and tastefully furnished with additional amenities of a modern digital life. When we had questions, the owner's representatives answered quickly and promptly. A soon to be two year old, an 85 year old, and the two generations in between all experienced a wonderful time here. Watching sunsets, taking in sun, enjoying the hot tub, sharing good food and fellowship, and feeling the Aloha experience after a day of sightseeing...we were delighted and would return again and again.

Due to location, we prepared our menu for food we wanted to prepare ahead of time, buying most of it when we arrived. The owners provided a good list of local resources, while our daughter added her touch. We spent 8 days on a vacation that will be remembered by our family as the best ever.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Feel the Breeze and Watch the Ocean - Hale Kumu Kai
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377085
+1 209 470-0169
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Chico, CA
5

100% 5 Star

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
This was my family’s second time to stay in the Kona Paradise area and we love the location. The house was a wonderful place to call home for ten days for our family of four, with the youngest being under 2 yrs old. The house is very well equipped and was very clean. With all the kitchen appliances and tools you would ever need and great home furnishings throughout the entire house. The owners have thought of everything, to the beach towels, beach chairs, snorkel gear, sand toys, boogie boards, ice chests and even a high chair and portable crib for the little one. The washer & dryer were great assets when traveling with a toddler.

The deck is very nice, with lounge chairs in the sun and a nicely covered area with beautiful outdoor furniture. We enjoyed the hot tub, the large BBQ and eating on the patio table. When the mosquitos would come out, we would head indoors for down time on the large fluffy couch in front of the flat screen TV.

Ho’Okeena Beach is a short drive (10 minutes) and a local favorite of ours. Black Sand Beach is great for the turtles. Place of Refuge is good for snorkeling with a great place to stop for shave ice part way down the hill. Our all-time favorite is Hapuna Beach. It’s a bit of a drive (a little over an hour), but worth it. The sand is white, the surf is fun to boogie board and there is good snorkeling around the rocks mid beach. We went zip lining in Hawi with Big Island Eco Adventures, which I highly recommend. I also recommend the pastrami sandwich at Lighthouse Deli in Hawi...very good!

It was a great family vacation and the accommodations had a lot to do with that. We celebrated Thanksgiving and the kitchen accessories made it very easy to cook and enjoy Thanksgiving turkey dinner with our family. We were very thankful for a wonderful stay and that our family was able to have such a special place to spend time together. I highly recommend.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Feel the Breeze and Watch the Ocean - Hale Kumu Kai
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377085
+1 209 470-0169
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Saskatchewan, Canada
5

Excellent Home Base

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We recently spent the two weeks on Hawaii exploring almost every corner of the island. This amazing house was our home for a week of the exploration and was a fabulous base to explore the southeastern portion. From this location we were able to visit to and snorkel at Captain Cook’s monument, swim with the Manta Rays (unbelievable!!) and snorkel from many of the beaches in the area.
This house became our evening oasis where we could cook a relaxing meal and soak in the hot tub. We found the house was well stocked and had everything we needed for our explorations of that corner of the island.
This house also has the friendliest geckos we have every run across!!! They are very fun!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Feel the Breeze and Watch the Ocean - Hale Kumu Kai
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377085
+1 209 470-0169
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Broomfield, Colorado
5

Welcome Home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We recently enjoyed a week in this beautiful home with our two sons who are ages 17 and 20. There is so much to explore on the Big Island and we were busy every day. The best part of each day was coming "home" to this wonderful house. As others have said, the house is so well appointed - it seems to have everything we could ever need. We took advantage of the board games and the wide selection of DVDs. Of course, the hot tub was a must each day. We enjoyed exploring the volcano and found the helicopter tour well worth the price. We used Blue Hawaiian and would highly recommend them as well. This is the best vacation rental that we have ever stayed in. The owners have put a lot of thought into what will make their guests comfortable and have done a fantastic job. Thank you for helping make our vacation a memorable one!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Feel the Breeze and Watch the Ocean - Hale Kumu Kai
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377085
+1 209 470-0169
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Vancouver WA
5

A Great Vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We loved our stay at Hale Kumu Kai. The house was beautiful and had everything we needed to make our stay absolutely wonderful. This was our first time to the big island so we did lots of exploring. We loved White Sands Beach and Black Sand Beach. The snorkeling at Honauhau Bay (Two-Steps) was beautiful and we saw some incredible fish.

We were so happy that we found this incredible house. Our two teenage daughters loved that they each had their own bedroom and bath. We enjoyed sitting in the hot tub each evening after playing on the beach.

Thanks again for such great accommodations.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Feel the Breeze and Watch the Ocean - Hale Kumu Kai
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377085
+1 209 470-0169
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Waldo, FL
4

A really nice place, but quite a way south of Captain Cook

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 29, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
This is one of the best furnished homes we've ever rented. My wife and I were in Hawai'i for our 40th anniversary and were looking for a quiet place, not far away from activity centers, with a good view and a hot tub. With a Captain Cook address, this seemed to fit the bill perfectly. However, the home is 15 miles south of Captain Cook. The hot tub was unusable while we were there - intensely strong chemical smell and would not heat up. The home itself was superb. - Very nice furnishings - great deck, fabulous views. The kitchen was phenomenal - very good equipment - nearly anything you could possibly need, there were even stocks of food staples like rice, sugar, etc. The well regarded South Kona fruit stand is about 20 minutes north, and there is a very nice supermarket (Choicemart) in Captain Cook - about 15 miles north. So, if you are looking for a quiet get-away, with the understanding that all activities are several miles away, this could fit the bill.
Recommended for:  Age 55+
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Feel the Breeze and Watch the Ocean - Hale Kumu Kai
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377085
+1 209 470-0169
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Colorado
5

Awesome house, great location.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Our family of four had a great time staying at Hale Kumu Kai. Loved the quiet residential neighborhood, away from the Kona crowds. The house is beautiful and very nicely furnished, and equipped with all the snorkel & beach gear we needed. Loved having the hot tub to soak in after a day at the beach. Our favorite snorkeling spot on the island was Two-Step, next to Place of Refuge and just a few miles away. We also enjoyed the black pebble beach just at the bottom of the hill, though it was a little rough for snorkeling during out stay.

The location is perfect for touring around by car, less than an hour to South Point, another 30-40 minutes to Volcano Nat'l Park. The big white sand beaches around & north of Kona are an hour away, we did that once but generally were very happy with the variety of sand and coral beaches close by.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Feel the Breeze and Watch the Ocean - Hale Kumu Kai
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377085
+1 209 470-0169
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Portsmouth, VA
5

Lawrence

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
OK, we consider ourselves so lucky to have found a house this awesome! First, dealing with the owners in having questions answered and their providing the necessary information and documents in such a friendly and polite way was very nice. Then, arriving on the scene and seeing this house finally in person was priceless. What a beautiful house! It was/is so close to a smooth black rock beach that we had fun just grabbing their snorkeling gear, beach chairs and umbrella and riding two minutes down the road to the beach. Yes, we needed the car not just to carry the equipment but also because it is a steep road up and down to the beach. The location of the house made it easy to visit places along both the west coast and the east coast - snorkeling with the manta rays, visiting active volcanos, both black and white sand beaches, botanical gardens, waterfalls, observatories at 14,000 feet.... it is all accessible and the price is right for this kind of quality living.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Feel the Breeze and Watch the Ocean - Hale Kumu Kai
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377085
+1 209 470-0169
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Kamloops, BC, Canada
5

Wow!! What a wonderful stay!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Wow!!!
We LOVED our stay at Hale Kumu Kai! Absolutely wonderful place to start our vacation on the Big Island. This house truly was a show-stopper for us! We were two early 30's couples and mother and this house had so much room for us all and then some! It is so fantastic that the 3 main bedrooms had their own bathrooms.

All of the furnishings are of great quality, especially in the kitchen, wonderful huge grill was so handy.
Lots of stuff in the kitchen (non-perishables and even some stuff in the fridge and freezer) so check out what is at the house before buying all your groceries. Use some, leave some for future guests.

We used the hot tub a lot! Especially in the evening upon returning from a busy day.

This was a great location to use as a base. We aren't into big resorts and being close to other people, this house was perfect. There is lots to see and do very close. Place of Refuge is very close, excellent cultural site and snorkeling, Captain Cook Monument at Kealakekua Bay, Nearby beaches, coffee farms etc.

Sure, if you want to go to the touristy beaches it is a bit of a drive, but we did go all the way to the north west tip of the island and it still didn't seem like that much driving as the scenery is so nice.

The manta ray night snorkel is a MUST! We used Kamanu Charters, they were wonderful! great trip out on a catamaran, then an amazing guide for our snorkel, then great fruit and snacks and even beer and wine!

The couple of minor issues we had were instantly taken care of by the lovely caretakers.

Beach equipment was much appreciated as well.


We can not wait to return to Hale Kumu Kai!!
Helpful votes: 3/3