Somers house rental - Looking down on beautiful Somers Bay with the Swan Mountains in the background
Looking down on beautiful Somers Bay with the Swan Mountains in the background
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps11
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Somers House Rental Photos and Description
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11

Only a stone’s throw from the shores of Beautiful Flathead Lake, sits “Bella Vista.” Designed and completed in 2010, our Exceptional Home offers some of the loveliest views in the valley. This top quality home sits on 2.8 acres and is nicely landscaped with shrubs, trees, and manicured lawns. It is Very Private but you will appreciate how easy and fast it is to get to town.

Wake up in the master suite to a beautiful sunrise spilling over the Swan Mountain Range, with the sun shimmering off the lake surface. Our Spacious Master Bedroom and walk-in-closet is on the main floor, with a “Pottery Barn” wicker sleigh bed. You will feel like a King and Queen in the massive elegant travertine tiled bathroom with a custom shower and a large soaking tub for two.

You will enjoy the main floor of our home as it is very open and cheerful with lots of large windows. The striking Kitchen is well outfitted with cooking at home in mind even though we have quite a few great restaurants in the valley.

Our central vacuum system makes it is a breeze to keep the beautiful hand scraped Hickory Floors clean which are in the kitchen, living room, dining room and master bedroom. Our home is tastefully decorated and is a great place for family gatherings. Next to the master suite is a guest bedroom and full bath that is perfect for children. It is appointed with two hand-carved single beds. Curl up in our cozy living room and watch a movie from our 42 HD Flat Screen T.V. or just gaze at the stupendous alpine-glow sunsets.

Downstairs you will find a very spacious family room with its own full kitchen complete with granite countertops and alder cabinets. Your guests will enjoy the two wonderfully roomy bedroom suites. Last, but not least, is the Forth-of-July room, an ideal retreat room for the person who likes to be out of the way or just sleep in. You can play ping pong, watch a movie or just sit in front of the Hearthstone gas heater enjoying the views. Our home has central heating and cooling and has a very good air filter for the allergy sensitive folks. With two hot water tanks and a circulating pump you will have lots of hot water quickly.

“Bella Vista” was built by us, Robin and Patti Graham, home builders (Rivendell Builders) and authors of the books “Dove” and “Home is the Sailor”. We designed the home to take advantage of the wonderful views of the lake and mountains as they are Truly Magnificent!

We hope to see you soon and we are looking forward to making your vacation the very best.

More Details
Hide Details

After a 5 year epic voyage of sailing a small boat around the world and writing the books “Dove” and “The Boy Who Sailed Around The World Alone”, Patti and I left the west coast of California forty two years ago to ride the wave of the “Back to the Land Movement” in Montana. We bought a quarter section of mountain top for $95 dollars an acre, built our log home, grew our own food and raised the gamut of farm critters. We also wrote about our struggles of growing in the Christian faith and our experiences of trying to live simply in “Home is the Sailor”. After 32 years we were missing the water so in 2003 we bought an older cabin on Flathead Lake. After spending our first night there we never spent another at the ranch and have never once looked back. We had come home. Two years later we built and moved into our dream home next door to our lovely historic cabin. After we had a couple of wonderful family “VRBO” vacations in Mexico we decided to list our lake cabin as a VRBO rental. It was a great experience. But as time goes on the wanderlust was creeping back and we wanted to do some more traveling. We sold our lake cabin, built nearby a wonderful 3750 sq. ft. “VRBO” yearly rental, 'Bella Vista', on the hillside overlooking Somers Bay and now are offering our personal home, 'A Delightful Sailor's Home', as a VRBO summer rental as we come and go. We hope you will enjoy the Flathead Valley as much as we do.

Robin or Patti Graham purchased this house in 2009

Our home in Somers is nestled on the northwest side of beautiful Flathead Lake. Flathead Lake is 28 miles long and up to 15 miles wide. The lake’s sparkling waters and miles of tree-lined shore offer unlimited recreational opportunities and wildlife habitat. Overlooking it all are the magnificent Swan and Mission Mountain ranges.

A mile away along the paved walking and bike path is Somers Bay Café, serving great breakfasts and lunches. A 5 minute drive south to Lakeside is the Tamarack Brewing Company, a fun spot to relax and have a great meal and handcrafted ales.

Located 8 miles south of Kalispell, our community is the destination spot for locals as well as tourists. All four seasons, Somers offers something for everyone. Ski the slopes of Blacktail Mountain (only 30 minutes away) to sailing and boating majestic Flathead Lake. We are 30 minutes from Glacier Park International Airport and only 45 minutes from the magnificent Glacier National Park and Whitefish Mountain Resort (Big Mountain).

Whether you are looking to relax or to play we have it all. Stay inside and catch a movie in our comfy home or just observe the spectacular lake views. In the winter and spring go ski, snowboard, snowshoe, cross country ski or snowmobile. In the summer enjoy water skiing, jet skiing, sailing, kayaking, swimming or fishing. Just a quick 10 minute drive away you will also find Eagle Bend Golf Club, one of the best courses in the Northwest. Other areas of interest include the Bigfork Playhouse, Glacier Symphony and Chorale, Hockaday Museum of Art, the Conrad Mansion, and the Central School Museum.

27 Reviews of Property 368330 in Somers, Montana

'Bella Vista' Overlooking Beautiful Flathead Lake
average rating of 5.0 based on 27 reviews
business
'Bella Vista' Overlooking Beautiful Flathead Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p368330
+1 4068572461
Somers Flathead Lake
Minnesota
5

Great Experience!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Our stay at Bella Vista could not have been any better. Amazing home, views, and customer service. Every detail was thought of by the owners to provide a comfortable stay. Pictures can not capture how great the views are and how perfectly maintained everything is. This is not a typical rental property, it is truly amazing!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
'Bella Vista' Overlooking Beautiful Flathead Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p368330
+1 4068572461
Somers Flathead Lake
College Station, Texas
5

TX 2 Step

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Bella Vista was the best rental property we have ever stayed in. It is better than the photos . Not only was it well maintained and clean but it was very attractive inside and out. The furnishings were very tasteful, the beds comfortable and the house was supplied with so many extras. For example, many different small appliances in the kitchen, a dining table large enough for all 9 of us, detergent for the washer, enough dishes for a party, toys and games for children, a central vacuum system, a fire pit with rods for roasting marshmallows, a large hot tub, well maintained landscaping with a beautiful view of the bay.
We drove to East Glacier and enjoyed playing in the snow (June). We drove to Whitefish and West Glacier which is quite a ways but worth it. We went to Big Mountain Lodge Resort and enjoyed some activities: riding a gondola and lifts to the top of the mountain and having lunch which was good. We also rode down hill on sleds on a concrete track and rode on a sort of zip line.
We rented poles at the Fish and Wildlife Bldg. and fished in two lakes. The owners have suggestions for restaurants which were adequate or good. I would recommend this property to relatives or friends.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
'Bella Vista' Overlooking Beautiful Flathead Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p368330
+1 4068572461
Somers Flathead Lake
Eastend, Sk. Canada
5

Bella Vista

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
A spacious beautiful new home with every amenity needed and more. We had our whole family together for New Years week and it was such a perfect home to all be together in. The view from the living room is unbelievable, and the outdoor hot tub shared the same beaufitul view of the lake. The kitchen had amazing appliances and kitchen wear, the bathrooms are beautiful and spacious, the laundry room is a must when skiing! The corner tub in the master bath is such a nice luxury as well. I would highly recommend this rental property to anyone.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
'Bella Vista' Overlooking Beautiful Flathead Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p368330
+1 4068572461
Somers Flathead Lake
Moose Country, ID
5

Perfect for us!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We were so happy to find Bella Vista for our relaxing stay. Thank you Robin and Patti for your prompt, attentive responses. We've stayed in many vrbo homes, and this one welcomed us like family! We've never had fresh, locally roasted coffee beans left on the counter, or chocolates ... or numerous toys and games in a fun kids closet ... or a decorated Christmas tree ... or food staples, pots n pans, dishes, utensils, appliances,etc. galore! We like to cook so it was wonderful to have so many necessities right there. Even cookbooks! The home was very beautiful and tastefully decorated, well laid out and efficient. More extras ... the ping-pong table, 2nd. kitchen, outdoor seating areas (one with a firepit), the hot tub. All at a very quiet, restful location with the lake and mountains in view. We just wished we could have stayed longer! Another kind Patti-gesture ... calling and offering to send our 'forgotten' sack of clothes! So sweet of her. We would definitely recommend this property.The compiled local info on the website was very helpful too,
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
'Bella Vista' Overlooking Beautiful Flathead Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p368330
+1 4068572461
Somers Flathead Lake
Calgary
5

Awesome House and Lake views!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Robin and Patti...thanks for opening up your home! Drop dead views, awesome house and well furnished...the ping pong table was a hit as well as the privacy of the location although it is 5 minutes to Tamarack Brewery, 10 minutes to Kalispell and Bigfork and a short bike ride to the lake...We all loved it! You will love it too....
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: What a great idea having your Christian men’s retreat at Bella Vista. It was enjoyable hearing what God is doing in your lives and in Canada. Thank you for your kind review and leaving our place so nice and clean. What a bunch of great guys!!!
Robin and Patti
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'Bella Vista' Overlooking Beautiful Flathead Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p368330
+1 4068572461
Somers Flathead Lake
Frisco, Tx
5

A Little Slice of Heaven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Bella Vista is truly a little slice of heaven on earth. The view from the deck of this home is amazing;. If we had done nothing more than relax on the deck taking in God's beautiful creation...we would have been perfectly satisfied. However, there is much to do and see close by, so we had time to do all the things available to us.

The home is stunning; open, warm, comfortable and decorated beautifully. We felt right at home with all of the comforts of our own homes. Patti and Robin are gracious, warm and very accomodating. They felt like family to us.

This is a great home for a family vacation. Children as well as adults. My grandsons, 8 and 5, had a blast and didn't want to leave. We absolutely will be returning again soon; maybe this time to take advantage of the cold weather and snow.

You can't go wrong staying at Bella Vista.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
business
'Bella Vista' Overlooking Beautiful Flathead Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p368330
+1 4068572461
Somers Flathead Lake
Tampa, FL
5

A versatile property...and you only unpack once!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Better than advertised. Photos are helpful but view is much more colorful. Immaculate property where everything we needed was present, clean, and ready. Convenient to airport and a major grocery store is about 10 miles away. Patti and Robin were readily available, but the info they sent before arrival prepped us so well, we never called them. They thought of everything...don't know how they arranged for the doe and 2 fawns to show up every morning as if on cue, or how they arranged for the birds to build their nest off the front porch where we could see the baby birds, but they were there too.
The kitchen had the right mix of equipment. The view was so great we cooked and dined at the property every night, allowing us to enjoy our wine, save money, and have real family dinners at the dining table that seated all 8 of us. Additionally it was easy to make sandwiches for lunch on hikes or drives the next day. We used the gas grill almost every day esp for fish and vegetables (grabbed a grill basket at last minute from home, but bet there will be one in the house shortly after Patti reads this).
We spent several days hiking in Glacier NP, a 45-minute drive. The hot tub was a welcome sight after an 11 mile hike or after a long day driving or flying.
A day trip to Couer d'Alene, 3.5 hours away, was pretty with ever-changing landscape. That day others in our party were happy to explore Somers, chill at the house, and be repeat customers at Tamarack Brewing for lunch.
One day some family members hired a guide through Lakestream Fly Fishing Shop in Whitefish for a trip on the Flathead River with much success and others drove the shores of Flathead Lake to explore artsy Bigfork and the cherry orchards on the other side; fresh cherries were superb.
I did leave sleep deprived because I did not want to miss the Montana night sky and would not lower the blinds in the master bedroom. The Eastern star hanging so bright and low over the mountains should not be missed. Found myself sitting on the deck at 4 a.m. one clear night. Was treated to 3 falling stars in a short time.
Thanks Patti and Robin for sharing your beautiful property. What a fun week!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
'Bella Vista' Overlooking Beautiful Flathead Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p368330
+1 4068572461
Somers Flathead Lake
Georgia
5

AWESOME!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
There are no words to describe the detail of the beauty of this home!
The pictures DO NOT do it justice! We really appreciate
Robin and Patty sharing this "Heaven On Earth" and being such wonderful
and caring owners! We hope to visit again and again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
'Bella Vista' Overlooking Beautiful Flathead Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p368330
+1 4068572461
Somers Flathead Lake
Austin, TX formally Kalispell
5

Outstanding Property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This was the third time my family has rented a property on Flathead land and this was by far the best property. The view and amenities more than made up for not being on the water, Our group was 4 families that included 4 children under 7 years of age. There was plenty of space for everyone. The layout of the home is ideal for any group of our size. The quality of workmanship in the home was outstanding and the landscaping and grounds were very well done.

The view from the deck and three of the bedrooms is one of the most amazing of anywhere I have been in the world. The photos on the website do not do justice to the home or view. Access to most of the Flathead valley was outstanding. The price was a good value for the all this property had to offer. The property was very clean and easy to keep clean. The visit from the owner a short time after we arrived was a nice touch.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'Bella Vista' Overlooking Beautiful Flathead Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p368330
+1 4068572461
Somers Flathead Lake
5

Honeymoon trip

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
'Bella Vista' is an accurate description. The view from the house is lovely. My wife and I had a wonderful time relaxing in the hot tub while enjoying the mountains and lake. Also, we enjoyed watching the osprey that frequents a perch near the house. The house itself is very comfortable and functional, has a very nice kitchen, large windows, and enough space for a very large family.
Owner's Response: Hi Scott,

Thank you so much for your nice review, it is very much appreciated. I only wish the weather had been better for you but I'm afraid we can't control that. None the less we are so happy to hear you had a wonderful time. If you have any suggestions how we can make Bella Vista even better we would be very happy to hear. We are always looking for ways to improve our vacational rental.

Thank you,
Patti Graham
Helpful votes: 0/1