San Antonio house rental - Pool with a Hill Country View
Pool with a Hill Country View
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps12
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

San Antonio House Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedrooms + Den, 2 Baths (Sleeps 12)

Casa Wheeler is a quaint stone house built in 1938. It has undergone extensive remodeling, offering modern amenities while preserving its original charm. It is an excellent escape and great for multiple families. Nestled in the hills, enjoy the tranquility and privacy of the Hill Country, with all the benefits of city life nearby. Just minutes from La Cantera Resort which offers great shopping, restaurants, and world-class golf.

Hiking around the ranch, you may meet the two resident longhorn steers, Riff and Raff, grazing in the pasture.

Beautiful views, relaxing breezes, and peaceful surroundings make this property truly unique. We invite you to come and enjoy its pleasures.

29 Reviews of Property 366072 in San Antonio, Texas

Beautiful Hillside Ranch House on Acres Minutes to San Antonio
average rating of 5.0 based on 29 reviews
business
Beautiful Hillside Ranch House on Acres Minutes to San Antonio
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366072
+1 210 859-0971
San Antonio Texas
Naperville, IL
5

Perfect Family Vacation Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We came to San Antonio to celebrate my 50th Birthday with family and friends....this home was the perfect setting. From the moment we pulled up to the home until the moment we pulled away it was great. The home has so much charm and personality, it feels like your right at home. The yard & pool are exceptional & the fire pit at night was fun to sit by and relax. Everything about this Beautiful Hillside Ranch House was PERFECT! We will be back.....thank you for sharing your home with us!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Hillside Ranch House on Acres Minutes to San Antonio
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366072
+1 210 859-0971
San Antonio Texas
Houston
5

Weekend Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We stayed at Casa Wheeler a third time, for a long weekend. We had a wonderful time, and spent almost all of the weekend relaxing at the house and by the pool. The home is very secluded and quiet. It is quick becoming our favorite place to stay. Well worth the visit.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful Hillside Ranch House on Acres Minutes to San Antonio
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366072
+1 210 859-0971
San Antonio Texas
Dallas, Texas
5

Wonderful Spring Break

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
If you are considering renting this property, do not hesitate or you will miss out on a wonderful experience. We decided at the last minute to take our family of eight on a short trip for spring break and Pat was gracious enough to cancel his family's stay and let us use his home. Although we were only there for three nights, we will have fond memories of this trip for a long time. The home has been impeccably maintained and renovated, but it still has the charm and character that you cannot find in modern homes. It is truly a treasure from a bygone era. We had activities planned for each day, including Sea World and the Natural Bridge Wildlife Reserve, however, if I had to do it all over again, we would have spent all of our time at Casa Wheeler. There was so much to do - from exploring the property during the day, to playing ping pong on the patio after dinner to staying up late to roast s'mores and tell ghost stories around the firepit. Our three year old was the only one brave enough to use the swimming pool as the water was still very cold, but we still enjoyed relaxing around it in the afternoons. The inside of this home is so quaint and had more than enough room and modern amenities, but frankly, the outside of this property is so incredible, we spent most of our time outdoors. I could go on about Casa Wheeler forever, but my words would never do it justice. We have been renting upscale homes through VRBO for years and consider ourselves to be pretty discriminating. Trust me, if you rent Casa Wheeler, you will not be disappointed.

Pat, my apolgies for taking so long to write this review!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful Hillside Ranch House on Acres Minutes to San Antonio
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366072
+1 210 859-0971
San Antonio Texas
Naperville, IL
5

Yee Haw!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Family of 4 (two young girls 7 and 9) and grandparents had a blast! Our host was gracious and helpful in many ways.

A really good location for experiencing San Antonio.

An ambitious week with the grandparents turned out to be relaxing and eventful. We saw museums, missions, went horseback riding, hiking, ate at some wonderful resturarants, meandered down the river walk, swam in the pool (a-lot) and just relaxed at this beautiful ranch. Slow pace but very enjoyable.

We found all of the owners advice to be useful and spot-on. Restuarant recommendations were thoughtful as well as local grocers.

The only great restaurant we missed was that awesome place in Pearl Market (couldn’t get a reservation…boo hoo) … although we did walk around the Market there which was nice.

Prickly Pear Cactus margaritas are to die for at one of the very fine restuarants on the walk!

The kids favorites besides swimming every minute were the Missions (surprisingly), horses and zoo's Austraila exhibit. Can I hear a Yeee Haaww!!!!
Adults would agree the museums, missions, zoo, gardens and restuarants were great.

Here was our itinerary:
Saturday - arrived and swimming, groceries
Sunday – McNay, swimming
Monday – Zoo, swimming
Tuesday – Alamo , River Walk, swimming
Wednesday – Flying L Ranch, Missions, swimming
Thursday – Botanical Gardens, River Walk, swimming
Friday – Rancho Cortez, SA Museum of Art, swimming
Saturday – swimming, Pearl market

Little room for improvement:
1. WiFi in the home is weak - 3G was fine - difficult problem to improve WiFi in that location currently.
2. Dining room chairs were falling apart (ready for the dumpster dude)!
3. Windows and outdoor furniture were a bit dirty and could use cleaning.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Hillside Ranch House on Acres Minutes to San Antonio
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366072
+1 210 859-0971
San Antonio Texas
Wenatchee, Washington
5

True Texas Hill Experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Six teacher friends stayed here for our spring break from Washington State. This property was exactly what we were looking for. Casa Wheeler is an old world Texas Hill Country escape. Pat and his family have thought of everything to make this special place a real retreat. It was full of charm, character and yet had modern appliances, etc. It was truly a peaceful and beautiful spot, away from the hustle and bustle of the real world. We loved our stay here and know we stubled onto a real find. Thank you to Pat for being such a hospitable host. Our only complaint was the wi-fi, which we never got to work. But really, that was okay too. Helped us enjoy the moment. We never watched the news, just the birds and the peaceful scenery. All the wildflowers were out in their glory too. It was a spectacular time to visit Texas.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Hillside Ranch House on Acres Minutes to San Antonio
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366072
+1 210 859-0971
San Antonio Texas
Edinburg, TX
5

New Years @ Casa Wheeler

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
My wife and I had our 5 children, two friends and my mother all sleep very comfortably @ this beautiful and historic part of San Antonio's rich heritage. We were close to EVERYTHING!!! Yet far enough to live like rock stars in seclusion. Thank you Pat Wheeler and family for letting us stay @ your gorgeous family estate.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Sam, it was a pleasure having you and your family and great to hear you had such a good time. We look forward to seeing you guys again sometime.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Hillside Ranch House on Acres Minutes to San Antonio
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366072
+1 210 859-0971
San Antonio Texas
Sharon, ON, Canada
5

Canadians Invade Texas

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
We recently stayed at "The Ranch"! we were attending a convention downtown San Antonio, a 25 minute drive away. What a wonderful get away after a long day in the city. This property is simply a beautiful peaceful getaway and the owner is a pleasure to deal with, 1st class. We relaxed around the poll entertained at the Bar-B-Q and toasted the weather around the fire pit.

I will definitely try and pass through this spot again and have recommended it to many friends since I returned. Thanks for a wonderful week Pat, hope to see you again.

PS Riff, Raff and Willie Nelson was awesome!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Jim, thanks very much for your kind comments and review. It was a pleasure having ya'll and sharing a little Texas hospitality! We certainly hope to see you again sometime in the future. Have a great Holiday season. Best Regards,
Pat
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Hillside Ranch House on Acres Minutes to San Antonio
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366072
+1 210 859-0971
San Antonio Texas
Fairfield County, CT
5

Perfect Labor Day Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
We flew into San Antonio and met our friends from Dallas to stay at this wonderful home for Labor Day Weekend. Our expectations were definitely exceeded. The grounds are quintessentially Texas. We saw so much wildlife...from armadillos and deer to the resident Longhorn cattle. We spent a lot of time in the pool and sitting out on the gorgeous patio. The kitchen is fully equipped for all of your needs...we had breakfast, snacks and drinks every day and went out for dinner to multiple great restaurants in the area...all within a convenient drive.

The pictures do not do the house justice. It is more gorgeous and spacious than depicted. It was the perfect location to catch up with dear friends, relax and enjoy beautiful, warm weather. We hope to be back next summer. ABSOLUTELY ONE OF OUR FAVORITE TRIPS.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Hillside Ranch House on Acres Minutes to San Antonio
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366072
+1 210 859-0971
San Antonio Texas
Houston
5

Casa Wheeler

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
An amazing getaway in a The hill county minutes from city/Riverwalk.
Beautiful house with plenty of room. We had 10 women and it was a perfect getaway/reunion house. Owner is a pleasure to work with and was always available for questions. Can't wait to go back!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Hillside Ranch House on Acres Minutes to San Antonio
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366072
+1 210 859-0971
San Antonio Texas
Houston
5

Family Weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Our second visit to Casa Wheeler allowed us an opportunity to bring family. The home is spacious and confortable. A weekend relaxing by the pool was exactly what we were looking for. We can't wait to visit again next year.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1