New Orleans apartment rental - Fountain at Entrance
Fountain at Entrance
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

New Orleans Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Two Bedrroms,One Bath, Sleeps 4

Make your lodging as unique as New Orleans itself. The Villa Veidt is located in the Faubourg Marigny, just blocks from New Orleans' famous French Quarter. Formerly the residence of entertainer Viola Veidt, this large two bedroom apartment is filled with art, antiques and memorabilia from her fascinating life. This was Miss Veidt,s original apartment .The daughter of international movie star Conrad Veidt .Miss Veidt knew many of the famous personalities of the twentieth century including Tennessee Williams, A friend of Jimmy Buffet she is mentioned in the liner notes fro CD Barometer Soup While maintaining the original warmth and eclectic style of the apartment, we have added modern amenities such as central heat and air, flat screen television , and wireless Internet connection . You will be within easy walking distance of the French Quarter, the riverfront streetcar and the Frenchmen Street entertainment district..

PLEAS NOTE due to the art and antiques in the apartment all children must be over 12 years old.

More Details
Hide Details

Moved here from Key West Love New Orleans and the Marigny

James Henry purchased this apartment in 2002

34 Reviews of Property 362082 in New Orleans, Louisiana

Large Elegant Apartment close to the French Quarter
average rating of 4.4411764 based on 34 reviews
business
Large Elegant Apartment close to the French Quarter
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362082
New Orleans Louisiana
4

Great stay

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We had a great stay on our first visit to NOLA.
James was very helpful.
Beds were good, shower was good. Appreciated the water & coffee.
Bathroom is on the small side for 4 adults but not a huge issue for us.
We did see a roach once but not a big deal for me.

We did a lot of walking and the 5 bus is a block away. 10 minute walk to the French Qtr and even closer to Frenchman Street for great music.

I had been looking forward to Mimi's a block away, but they are having some noise disputes with neighbors from what I can tell. The one time we went in the service wasn't great.

Awesome to have NOLA Cakes close. Great breakfasts!
Owner's Response: Glad you all enjoyed New Orleans. The building was built in 1957 so the bathrooms are small by todays standards thats why we really like to keep it to four guests even thought the rest of the rooms are good sized. Sorry you ran into a bug we spray every month but during the rainy spring months they will come inside.Mimi,s is a great little bar however it is surrounded by homes and will have to work with the neighbors to have a live entertainment license. We are far enough away where it was not an issue for us but caused problems for those close by.Thanks again please come back and visit us soon.
business
Large Elegant Apartment close to the French Quarter
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362082
New Orleans Louisiana
kathleen, ga
4

Couples weekend

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Recently spent a couples weekend in this apartment. It was just what we expected. Close enough to the French quarter to not having to take the car everywhere we went. Will defiantly think of staying here again in the future. Only suggestion I might have is clock radios in the bedrooms.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed yourselves. We have tried clock radios and they almost always get unpluged and put in a draw thats why we have gone to the old fashioned type. If you would like plese just let us know there are usally some tucked away and would be more than happy to put them out for you.
business
Large Elegant Apartment close to the French Quarter
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362082
New Orleans Louisiana
Mesa, AZ, United States
5

Great price for the location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
My husband and I along with another couple rented this place from James. The price for the location is excellent. We felt very safe in the neighborhood. We did have our doubts on the taxi ride from the airport because a lot of the areas look pretty shady getting there. Once we were there and walked around a little bit, our doubts disappeared. The neighbors were all friendly.

We ate a Feelings Café less than 100 feet from the place and had a wonderful meal. It is an upper scale quality restaurant, but casual dress is fine. We also ate a couple of meals at the Balcony Guest House located on the corner of Royal and St. Roch. Great food! Had a burger that was wonderful and enjoyed the daily special of Tandori Chicken. Very reasonably priced. If you want to buy beer, wine or spirits to take back to the place, this is the closest place to do so. This is also where the laundry mat is.

After walking back and forth to the French Quarter (1 mile) and Frenchman Street (0.5 mile) a few times a day for a week, we decided to try the public transportation. You can purchase a Jazzy Day Pass for $3 and use it for the Street Car and Bus system all day until 4am. There is a bus stop very close to the house. The bus will take you all the way to Decatur and Canal St. If you go to this website: http://www.norta.com/Maps_Schedules/SystemMap/IndividualMap/index.html?ID=5 and select Real Time Map and Estimated Arrival Information, put Going to Canal at St. Peters for the direction, and select the Royal at Franklin stop and submit, the bus number and estimated time of arrival for that stop will be displayed. The map shows the location of the bus and updates every 30 seconds. We also would walk down to Elysian Fields Ave toward the river and hop on the Riverfront Street Car (probably ¼ mile).

I highly recommend going to the New Orleans School of Cooking for a very informative, fun, and tasty experience. You can go to their website and download a coupon for $3 off.

We had a great time and James’ place was perfect for us. We will rent from him again after we lose some of the weight gained on this last trip and return to New Orleans.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Large Elegant Apartment close to the French Quarter
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362082
New Orleans Louisiana
Madison, wi
5

Great for Frenchman good for the Quarter

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Just a short walk from Frenchman or the French market. We found the place to be very comfortable for 2 couples, plenty of space. The beds in were average, comparable to any older hotel. The place is nothing fancy but has everything you need. The coffee shop/bakery around the corner was great for breakfast. The owner was very helpful when we left an item and left some tips for the neighborhood in the apartment.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Large Elegant Apartment close to the French Quarter
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362082
New Orleans Louisiana
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
4

Convenient and Reasonable

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
On the positive side, this is a reasonably-priced apt. in a quiet eclectic residential neighbourhood with easy (and free) street parking, good wifi access and spacious rooms. Owner is very helpful and responsive - we particularly appreciated the hair dryer, bottled water, flavoured coffee and supplies provided. Great (and varied) restaurants, a laundromat and grocery store nearby. Jackson Square is about a 15 minute walk, which was never an issue for us, however, might be perceived as a safety concern at night.
On the negative side, we found the beds too soft (we prefer firm), the bathroom tight, the central heater noisy, and MBR sometimes noisy at night (snoring from adjacent apt. MBR). The kitchen floor could have been cleaner, perhaps because of the short turnaround by cleaning staff between rentals ?
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Sorry about the kitchen floor that was my fault not the cleaning staff I had stripped the wax the day before which Im afraid made it a little sticky.
We use Serta Bedding but we do order medium I have found if I go in either direction there are more unhappy clients then if we go right down the middle.
The air handler for the furnace is in the attic so you can hear the motor,on the positive side it does really put out some heat and air I wished my unit worked as well.Hope you enjoyed your stay and I think I have learned to stay out of the cleaning staffs way.
Thanks again for your business.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Large Elegant Apartment close to the French Quarter
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362082
New Orleans Louisiana
Chicago, IL
4

Great Location!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
This is a spacious apartment that is in an excellent location. I was on a vacation with my dog - and this was a great dog-friendly location; the neighbors were all very friendly - many of them stopped to say hello as I was walking my dog, and there is a fenced in LARGE dog park about a half mile away - which was a great way to tire the lil guy out before I would step out of the day. The bed was very comfortable - there were thoughtful places to put my bag, and hang my clothes. In addition this was a great location in terms of being close to the French Quarter...my parents were also visiting but staying in a different location - and they would drive to this apartment, park (there was always plentiful street parking) and we would walk over. My parents are no spring chickens (65 & 70) and they found the walk pleasant enough to do it 3 days in a row. There was also a young man who lived on the corner who would play his saxophone and sing around 5pm every night - it was a treat! I would highly recommend this apartment to anyone.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
business
Large Elegant Apartment close to the French Quarter
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362082
New Orleans Louisiana
el paso
4

wonderful stay!!!!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
What a beautiful home in a wonderful neighborhood! To be completely honest I have not been to NO in the last 10 years. On my prior visits I would never venture far from the touristy areas because I was nervous about NO always being on the most dangerous cities list. I did not know what to expect this time and this was my first vacation home rental. Mr.Henry is wonderful and provided a list of activities that my young children would enjoy (and they did). The home is very cozy and spacious. I felt so comfortable in the neighborhood that I walked to Frenchman Street in the evening and back after listening to the live music. My husband and I went to the local bars and grocery stores. I googled the street view of the house before arriving and I have to admit that the google street view does this neighborhood no justice. I looks nothing like the street view. My family had a wonderful time in NO. Thank you!!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Large Elegant Apartment close to the French Quarter
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362082
New Orleans Louisiana
Houston tx usa
5

Great deal within walking distance

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
The house was perfect! It is close enough to walk to Bourbon. Also, there are cafe's and an art gallery within the block. The neighbors were nice and all around quiet! The owner takes great pride in the cleanliness and also the water was always hot when needed! Definitely I would stay again!!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed yourself! Great area have lived in The Marigny since the 90,s. Isnt Flora,s coffee shop great and right across the street. Please come back and stay with us again!
business
Large Elegant Apartment close to the French Quarter
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362082
New Orleans Louisiana
Tallahassee, Florida
5

An easy time in the Big Easy

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This duplex was a wonderful place to stay. The location was great. Within easy walking of the French Quarter, the place was in a quiet residential neighborhood. There were several places just around the corner that served breakfast and lunch where the locals go. Fantastic. The owner of the property was accomodating to every request and even left five bottles of water in the refrigerator for us. It was clean and well maintained. Within the first few minutes we felt like it was home. Additionally, the idea that Tennessee Williams walked on the same floors that we did was an exciting possibility.

There is no dishwasher or washer and dryer in the apartment but that was not a hindrance at all. There is a laundrymat right down the road and there are so many wonderful places to eat in New Orleans, we did not use many dishes anyway. The only suggestion I would make is to have some checkout instructions. I was not sure of whether I should strip the beds and empty the trash (I did) and where to put the used towels so I winged it. James said I did just fine but I would have felt more confortable if I would have known exactly what was expected. I always strive to be a good guest at VRBO and leave the place as clean and easy to turn over as possible. Check out instructions would make this easier.

I would HIGHLY recommend staying here. Not only is the price reasonable, the place was exactly as advertised and more. It is also a piece of New Orleans history that should not be missed. If I had to really rate my stay,in this Marigny-Bywater locale, I would say "perfect."
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Large Elegant Apartment close to the French Quarter
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p362082
New Orleans Louisiana
Chicago, IL
5

Charming Flat, Even More Charming Neighborhood

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This is a very sweet little home and we really fell in love with the neighborhood. My husband and I keep musing about moving to New Orleans since our trip, and I'm sure staying in this cute flat contributed to that sentiment. I'm so glad we stayed here and not in the French Quarter. However, it was a convenient location to get to the French Quarter, but we're a quiet couple so it was great to be near, but not stuck in the more crowded and touristy areas of town. Walked to Cafe du Monde in about 10 minutes from here. The neighborhood is very quiet with lots of colorful people who love to chat. And every house seems to have a cat who hangs out on the front porch! Very fun place for animal lovers. The owner, James, was great about letting our dog stay with us and was very accommodating in receiving a package for us the day before our arrival, which was ready and waiting in the flat for us when we arrived. He was very responsive to our call or two with questions but left us alone other than that, which is exactly why we prefer vacation rentals to hotels or B&Bs, we like the privacy, which James respected. My only complaint is that the couch isn't very comfy, and as I mentioned my husband and I are more quiet and don't stay out late, but that won't stop us from booking here again when we come back to New Orleans-- hopefully soon!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway