Venice Beach house rental - Front Entry
Front Entry
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Venice Beach House Rental Photos and Description
2 bedroom, 1 bath, house, sleeps 4

DESCRIPTION: 'Charlie Chaplin's Old House' is a classic, 1913 California Craftsman located in the heart of the Abbot Kinney District. Original outside, totally remodeled inside. It's a fabulous combination of comfort and ambiance in what is perhaps the best location Venice has to offer. 6 blocks from Venice Beach and steps to Abbot Kinney Boulevard (the trendiest destination on the Westside for dining, shopping and nightlife).

AMENITIES: 'Keyless' personal code entry (easy access, safe stay), hardwood floors, 55' flat screen TV, fully functional kitchen, stainless steel appliances, granite countertops, king size bed (main bedroom), 2 twin beds (second bedroom), overhead mounted TV's for 'bed friendly' viewing in both bedrooms, travertine bath with dual rain head showers and remote control skylight, washer/dryer (inside), large private patio with pond, palms and tropical foliage, outdoor dining and sitting areas, fenced yard, parking, linens, blankets, bathroom and kitchen supplies. Everythning you need, just bring your computer and cell phone.

31 Reviews of Property 351753 in Venice Beach, California

'CHARLIE CHAPLIN'S OLD HOUSE' 6 blcks to Venice Beach, steps to Abbot Kinney
average rating of 4.9333334 based on 31 reviews
business
'CHARLIE CHAPLIN'S OLD HOUSE' 6 blcks to Venice Beach, steps to Abbot Kinney
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351753
Venice Beach Los Angeles County
5

Perfect Place to Stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
We couldn't have asked for a more perfect place to stay! We arrived to an immaculate property with a designated parking spot for our rental car steps away from the front door, definitely a plus in such a bustling area. The house easily accommodated our traveling party of 3 adults and one infant (there is even a crib included, much less the wireless access and expansive cable options on the three flatscreen televisions!), and we were especially fond of the beautiful patio area and spent a lot of time outside. One of the biggest selling points for us was getting to be in the heart of the Abbot Kinney area (grab a slice of pizza, enjoy an upscale dinner, shop for eclectic fashions, stop for your morning coffee, check out a great jazz band, pick up fixings at the grocery store for a BBQ on the patio grill, explore Venice Beach, etc...all within walking distance!), while still having your own private retreat. Don was professional, courteous and prompt in our booking process, and he and his property had come highly recommended by good friends that had just recently experienced a terrific stay. We are already looking forward to being "repeat offenders" at Don's house, and highly encourage others to book, you won't be sorry!
Owner's Response: Thank you Kimberly for the most comprehensive guest comment that I can recall. Most important, I'm glad that you had a good time and "Charlie Chaplin's Old House" met you expectations. I look forward to giving you the "repeat offender" discount when you return. Don
business
'CHARLIE CHAPLIN'S OLD HOUSE' 6 blcks to Venice Beach, steps to Abbot Kinney
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351753
Venice Beach Los Angeles County
5

Charlie Chaplin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
My highest recommendation. We had a fabulous time and will definitely return.
Owner's Response: Thanks Richard. You're the greatest, not to mention you came all the way from Paris. Don
business
'CHARLIE CHAPLIN'S OLD HOUSE' 6 blcks to Venice Beach, steps to Abbot Kinney
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351753
Venice Beach Los Angeles County
5

Excellent vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
We enjoyed everything about our 2 weeks in Charlie Chaplin' House. The house was spotless when we arrived and stocked with everything we needed. We just had to add food. We loved being part of the neighborhood while having our private outside area. We liked having the reserved parking spot.
The shops and restaurants provided endless entertainment. Our favorites were the coffee at Abbot's Habit and Intelligentsia and the desserts at Lemonade. Pizza at Abbot's Pizza was also a daily favorite. The best feature was being able to walk to these locations.
Don was very thoughtful and attentive. We had no problems during our stay but we know he was available if needed.
This location would work well for families or singles. We have already recommended it to our friends and are planning our next visit.
Owner's Response: Thank you Sharon and Billy. What I liked most about your review was it included specific activities you enjoyed doing on Abbot Kinney Boulevard. I always encourage vacationers to stay in the Abbot Kinney Boulevard area because there is so much to see and do. Thanks again and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at "Charlie Chaplin's Old House." Don Tollefson
business
'CHARLIE CHAPLIN'S OLD HOUSE' 6 blcks to Venice Beach, steps to Abbot Kinney
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351753
Venice Beach Los Angeles County
Austin, Texas, USA
5

What a great place to stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
My wife and I recently spent 8 nights in Charlie Chaplin's Old House and enjoyed it in every way. The accommodations are first-rate, the access to Abbot Kinney is perfect, the private parking space relieves the parking angst for someone unfamiliar with the area and, if you don't want to drive, you can always grab the handy Big Blue Bus to downtown Santa Monica. After sampling Venice's beach weirdness, having a glass of wine in the garden will quickly restore your sanity. If that doesn't do it, retreat into the living room and watch a live Laker's or Clipper's game on the great high definition TV.
Owner's Response: Thanks Terry for a great review and for mentioning the "easy access" to Abbot Kinney Boulevard. Much effort went into making "Charlie Chapllin's Old House" comfortable and convenient, but its' best feature seems to be that "easy access."
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'CHARLIE CHAPLIN'S OLD HOUSE' 6 blcks to Venice Beach, steps to Abbot Kinney
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351753
Venice Beach Los Angeles County
ann arbor, mi
5

Great cottage. Great neighborhood. Great owner. Great deal.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
I just got back from 11 days at the "Charlie Chaplin" house. I'd highly recommend this place to anyone looking to stay in Venice for a holiday. The house was spotlessly clean when we arrived; the beds were comfortable; the kitchen fully functional; and the outdoor area provided a nice "buffer" from the all the activity in the neighborhood. The house is extremely well situated in the heart of Venice. I woke up every morning and ambled less than a block to the Intelligensia coffee shop for my morning latte. Lots of good restaurants and bars in the area as well. The owner, Don, was straightforward to deal with and very responsive. I've rented quite a few places over the years, and given the quality of the rental and the price point, this ranks as one of the best.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Elizabeth for an extremely well written and well thought out review. I'm particulary pleased that you noted that things were "spotlessly clean" upon your arrival. To properly clean and prepare a vacation rental in time for the next vacationer is a challenge. I also appreciate that you mentioned the Intelligensia coffee shop. Their concept is delightful and it's a short walk, right across the parking lot, to their back door entrance.
business
'CHARLIE CHAPLIN'S OLD HOUSE' 6 blcks to Venice Beach, steps to Abbot Kinney
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351753
Venice Beach Los Angeles County
4

Charlie Chaplin House

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
We stayed eight nights at this little house and loved Venice Beach. The outdoor area is private and lovely and expands the living space nicely. The house is ideal for one family as it is only one bathroom. The kitchen is well designed with new appliances and efficient. Quiet washer and dryer a big plus. Parking was never a problem. There are two great coffee shops half a block away. We loved the combination lock system so no one had to remember keys. Someone recommended this to us and I would recommend it also. The only caution is street noise as this is at the intersection of three streets, a bus stop and backing up to commercial businesses on Abbot Kinney ie. trash removal and deliveries. I am an early riser so that did not bother me. The place is clean comfortable and well maintained. The walks we really enjoyed were the canal streets and the oceanfront, all very convenient to this location.
Owner's Response: Thank you Dana. You mentioned several positive points and a single negative one, some street noise. Street noise is a trade off for being right near the heart of the Abbot Kinney District. It's a trade off. Seconds from the action or total peace and quiet? For those wanting total peace and quiet, I also have "Nanette Dolinger's Estate." It has 2 bathrooms instead on 1, 4 onsite parking spots instead of 1, 12,000 square feet of tropical landscaping instead of 3000 square feet of tropical landscaping. It's totally silent and fabulous in every respect, except that it's a five or ten minute walk from the heart of the action. "Charlie Chaplin's Old House" runs slightly above 90% occupancy. "Nanette Dolinger's Estate" runs just under 80%. You can have peace and quiet or be right in the heart of the action. But, not both! Come back again soon. Don
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
'CHARLIE CHAPLIN'S OLD HOUSE' 6 blcks to Venice Beach, steps to Abbot Kinney
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351753
Venice Beach Los Angeles County
5

Love Charlie Chaplin's Old House

Love Charlie Chaplin's Old House
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
I enjoyed my stay at Charlie Chaplins' Old House. I love the fact that Abbot Kinney is right outside the door and Venice Beach is right down the street. I was able to walk down the street and grab something to eat. Grabbed my morning pastry across the street. I shopped until I could not longer carry any more bags. If you enjoy jazz music, it right around the corner.
The rental home and property was well maintained. I enjoyed sitting by the pond and enjoyed looking at the beautiful landscape. It was great that all the amenities were are already in the rental home. The owner was wonderful and was always available when I had questions or requested for his assistance.
I highly recommend this vacation rental home. I really loved my stay here and will be back again. Charlie Chaplin's Old House is home away from home.

Mahalo for making my stay so comfortable, I didn't want to leave.

Aloha!
Elle
Owner's Response: Thanks for a thorogh and well thought out guest comment. "Charlie Chaplin's Old House" is a vacation rental where things just seem to work out from the time you arrive until the time you depart. Your guest comment embodies that concept and is greatly appreciated. Don
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'CHARLIE CHAPLIN'S OLD HOUSE' 6 blcks to Venice Beach, steps to Abbot Kinney
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351753
Venice Beach Los Angeles County
Nutley, New Jersey
5

A home away from home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
What a wonderful stay at this well maintained, modern, beautiful little cottage. The location is dead in the middle of the strip of shops that extend in each direction on Abbot Kinney Boulevard, and about a 10 minute walk to center of Venice Beach. The fences gave a sense of home and privacy even though the traffic and people were only a few feet away. With wireless internet, high def large screen TVs everywhere, and even a DVR, there was everything I needed (and I am a techie). The cookware was better than at my own at home. The owner is obviously caring and was high communicative and helpful. There even was a frequent shopper card for discounts left by the owner to be used at the nearby Ralph's supermarket. The only minor negatives were the street noise and needing to do a parallel park in the spot on the street reserved for the tenant. I would stay again at the Charlie Chaplain house any time and I highly recommend it to anyone who would like to stay in this wonderful location.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'CHARLIE CHAPLIN'S OLD HOUSE' 6 blcks to Venice Beach, steps to Abbot Kinney
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351753
Venice Beach Los Angeles County
4

Charlie's - Venice Beach

Charlie's - Venice Beach
  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Couldn't fault the house - perfect condition and location and well maintained. Don was always available if needed and from the beginning of planning our holiday to our departure was efficient and organised.

Charlie's was well placed being in the centre of Abbot Kinney Blvd with access to shops and restaurants etc and was a great base for exploring the wider reaches of LA. Noise from early morning garbage trucks was annoying but we soon got accustomed to this and it didn't affect the tranquility of sitting in the green oasis in the garden and yard on an evening.

Anyone from the UK looking for a pleasant base in Venice would do well to find anything better together with a well organised landlord. Ideal for teenage children upwards or couples. The house was an ideal size for our family of four without feeling as though we were impacting on each other's space.

Thanks again Don.

Philip, Helen, Heidi and Liam - Nottingham UK
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Thank you Philip for noting my efficiency throughout the booking process. I have a good system and I'm an owner-manager so I try to make everything as painless as possible. Don
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'CHARLIE CHAPLIN'S OLD HOUSE' 6 blcks to Venice Beach, steps to Abbot Kinney
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351753
Venice Beach Los Angeles County
5

Wonderful Owner

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
I have an odd review and one that you don't usually see. I wanted to review Don, the owner of the Charlie Chaplin home.

My family and I had been planning our summer 2011 vacation since the winter and reserved the Charlie Chaplin home for eight days as well as an ocean front home in Malibu that Don also owns. The homes were both reserved since January for a stay in July. Don answered every possible question that I had and made the reservation process very easy. We were all excited about our vacation but unfortunately sometimes no matter how well you plan things something out of your control happens to spoil your best laid out plans. About a month prior to our anticipated vacation our vehicle was stolen with personal belongings that led the thieves to our home I tried to remain positive that this was going to be resolved but after a few days I knew that it was getting too close to our vacation date and there were too many issues that had to be resolved at home due to the theft therefore we were forced to cancel our dream vacation.
With only weeks remaining to the reserved days, I contacted Don and explained our situation and asked about his cancellation policy. Don was very courteous and extremely considerate. He only held the initial deposit of $286 and even said that this could be applied for future use.

Don, Thank you so much for making a terrible situation a little more beareable by being so considerate. I can't thank you enough and hope that some time in the near future we are able to take our vacation.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 3/3