Desert Hot Springs house rental
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Desert Hot Springs House Rental Photos and Description
House, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths (Sleeps 8-10)

This is the first round glass house built in 1957 by a famous mason and was pictured in the Los Angeles Times and numerous other newspapers. It Is One Of A Kind!!!!! Just an hour and a half to Los Angeles.

This landmark home has views and is directly in the center of the historical cholla gardens, plus the beautiful San Gorgonio mountains. It sits on over one acre of beautifully landscaped gardens and paths. 4 bedrooms, 2 baths, 2 queen beds, 1 double, 1 queen couch, and two single beds, sleeps 8-10 with futons, and pullouts.

Two large patios, barbecue, park like setting. 5 blocks to nearest hot springs. 5 minutes to a fitness center, 15 minutes to Palm Springs, 5 minutes to the famous Cabot Yerxes Lodge Museum, 45 minutes to Joshua Tree, 15 minutes to Bob Hope Casino, 35 minutes to the Outlets, 2 minutes to Golf course, 2 minutes to walking trails. 20 minutes to Pappy and Harriots in Pioneer Town.

Numerous Hot Springs everywhere.....nearest one is 5 blocks away

Have a Trusted Property Maintenance & Restoration Manager

Equipped with full kitchen, spices, teas, pots and pans, dishes, silverware, refrigerator with ice maker, electric range, toaster/oven, full large oven, washer/dryer in garage, towels and sheets. Circular driveway with room for 4 cars. Gardens light up at night with double switch, heating, air-conditioning, moveable Amish fireplace, cable TV, WiFi (Wireless Internet) 3 TV’s with DVD slots, DVD’s available in living room with full library and maps of nearby areas. Mexican pavers throughout the house.

Weekly gardener.

This is a perfect getaway for the bustle of city life.

It can accommodate and is absolutely perfect for yoga and meditation retreats as well as weddings and large family gatherings.

WE ACCEPT ALL MAJOR CREDIT CARDS

More Details
Hide Details

At age 18 I read the Adele Davis book 'Lets Eat Right to Keep Fit.' That was 56 years ago. That was my bible. I have been on the path to health and nutrition ever since. Too many people today encourage diseases by their poor nutrition and by overeating. Today we MUST supplement our nutrition with appropriate vitamins and minerals because our many foods are lacking those essential elements that we need to sustain a good long and healthful life. Desert life fits right in to a healthful way of life. Plus we now have a Trusted Property Maintenance & Restoration Manager

The Owner purchased this house in 2000

I fell in love with the gardens on this 1.2 acre property. The Round Glass House is a dream come true. Wild life is abundant. When I stay here I go no where else. I just sit and look at the beauty and the squirrels, chipmunks, quail, roadrunners, cottontails, and an occasional coyote. Nite sunsets with bright stars!!! Shining all over the universe! Also have a Trusted Property Maintenance & Restoration Manager

Only 6 blocks to the famous Spas of Desert Hot Springs.

Several great restaurants within one mile. 2 Markets within one mile. 15 minutes to Palm Springs.

21 Reviews of Property 338319 in Desert Hot Springs, California

Exclusive Glass House in a Lush Desert Park Setting - Just 5 blocks to the SPAS
average rating of 4.857143 based on 21 reviews
business
Exclusive Glass House in a Lush Desert Park Setting - Just 5 blocks to the SPAS
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p338319
Desert Hot Springs California Desert
San Francisco, CA
5

Beautiful house with wonderful garden

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
This place is ideal for bird watching. The patio is great place to watch the birds and wildlife any time of day and you are 10 minutes from Big Morongo Canyon and Whitewater Reserve. Jane has thought of everything so it is a very comfortable and easy place to stay. Fantastic place to relax. She is a wonderful host! We didn't want to leave and would stay there again anytime.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Exclusive Glass House in a Lush Desert Park Setting - Just 5 blocks to the SPAS
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p338319
Desert Hot Springs California Desert
4

GREAT PLACE FOR FAMILY GATHERINGS

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
I HAD THE PLEASURE AND PRIVILEGE OF STAYING IN THE ROUND HOUSE. IT WAS A VERY COMFORTABLE AND ACCOMMODATING HOME TO HAVE MY FAMILY GATHER. WE ALL HAD PLENTY OF ROOM TO BE TOGETHER AND ROOM TO DO OUR OWN THING.

BEING FROM OREGON, WITH 60 TO 100 INCHES OF RAIN PER YEAR, THE DESERT WEATHER WAS FABULOUS AND APPRECIATED. EVEN THE WILD WARE DESERT WINDS WERE EXHILARATING.

THE HOUSE WAS EQUIPPED WITH MOST EVERYTHING YOU NEED. JUST BRING FOOD AND PERSONALS AND YOU ARE SET FOR A WONDERFUL STAY.

THE PATIOS WERE RELAXING AND INSPIRING. OVERLOOKING THE CACTUS GARDEN. WATCHING THE QUAILS, DOVES, RABBITS, ROAD RUNNERS, SQUIRRELS AND MY FAVORITE, THE HUMMING BIRDS, WERE ONE OF THE HIGH LIGHTS OF THE STAY.

WATCHING THE SUN RISES, SUN SET AND THE FULL MOON WERE ALL SPECTACULAR SITTING ON THE COMFORTABLE CHAIRS ON THE PATIOS.

THE HOUSE HAD A GREAT VIEW OF THE SURRONDING MOUNTAINS. EVEN WHEN YOU ARE ON THE INSIDE YOU HAVE A FEELING OF BEING OUTSIDE WITH THE HUGE FLOOR TO CEILING WINDOWS.

I AM LOOKING FORWARD TO ANOTHER WINTER GET A WAY IN THE ROUND HOUSE. THANK YOU JANE
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Exclusive Glass House in a Lush Desert Park Setting - Just 5 blocks to the SPAS
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p338319
Desert Hot Springs California Desert
Yuma, AZ
5

Marianna

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
Place was great!! Felt like an oasis. Everything very clean and the beds were super!! Plenty of dishes and cooking ware. Would highly recommend it. We had tons of room! Really didn't feel like leaving.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review. Come again. You are great people. Jane Davis
business
Exclusive Glass House in a Lush Desert Park Setting - Just 5 blocks to the SPAS
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p338319
Desert Hot Springs California Desert
Westport, CT
5

What a Setting!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
While the bedroom situation was strange (to access a bathroom the those in the 3'rd bedroom had to go through bedroom #2 to get to it) I can't fault the place. WELL equipped (dishes might not match but ALL the equipment was there AND condiments, spices, paper towels, cleaning products, shampoos) were plentiful and in well-labeled areas. All we had to do was pick up a few groceries and we were in business. The BEST part was the rounded living area (including kitchen) that had a spectacular view of a very special desert garden. The patio area seated all of us comfortably with great sunset views. As many as 16 of us (half the party stayed in another location) gathered on the patio every evening and enjoyed rabbits and quail and a serene setting. Couldn't have asked for more.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: This is a lovely review, and thank you Kristin Harvey. Jane Davis I approve this review.
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Exclusive Glass House in a Lush Desert Park Setting - Just 5 blocks to the SPAS
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p338319
Desert Hot Springs California Desert
Northeastern Ohio
5

Unique and wonderful house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
Well equipped, beautifully set, visiting rabbits and coveys of quail wandering through the cactus gardens. Quiet neigborhood on the edge of town, convenient to everything, beautiful views of mountains. Owner helpful and accomodating. Lovely patios for reading during the day and star gazing at night. Recommend La Palapa restaurant, good Thai and Italian restaurants all on Palm Drive, Desert Hot Springs spa, Coachella Valley preserve. A nice day trip to Joshua Tree National Park. A great winter get-away for us from the frozen north!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Thank you for this wonderful review. I appreciate this very much. This review can now be posted on my site. thank you again. Jane Davis
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Exclusive Glass House in a Lush Desert Park Setting - Just 5 blocks to the SPAS
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p338319
Desert Hot Springs California Desert
Los Angeles
5

Unique house, great location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
I rented the glass round house for my boyfriend's 30th birthday weekend. I was planning to cook 2 large meals, and was concerned about whether or not the kitchen would be suitable for my needs. Jane was very accommodating, allowing me to sneak in between visitors to check out the space--a gesture that made the actual trip so much less stressful to plan for!

The property itself is very unique, and Jane allows up to 10 people to stay in the main house, with an additional 4 in the guest house. There isn't a lot of privacy for more than 4-6 guests on account of the layout, but the price reflects that, and none of my guests minded at all--after all, it's the round layout that makes the house so different and cool. If I'm honest I have to admit that there are a few areas that could use some modernizing. That said, you'll never stay in another place quite like this one, and the quirks are inconsequential when compared to the GORGEOUS wall of windows, cohesion of design, price, and location with its views of the desert.

Most of my guests arrived for the weekend on Friday night, and on Saturday we split up to check out the area. The outdoorsy people in our party enjoyed hiking in Joshua Tree, which was about a 45 minute drive away. Guests who preferred to check out the spas and hot springs were psyched to find several within a few minutes drive. You can't beat a sunset in the desert, and there's a clear view of the mountains from the front patio where we enjoyed the balmy mid-winter weather Saturday evening.

I would definitely recommend this house to others, and will surely find myself renting this space again in the future. 5 stars!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Exclusive Glass House in a Lush Desert Park Setting - Just 5 blocks to the SPAS
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p338319
Desert Hot Springs California Desert
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 14, 2010
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
Wow, what a wonderful experience. This unique propert is truely worth the rental in so many ways. My parents rented the front house, they came from Oregon & my wife & I had the back studio. The front round house courtyard is really awesome with plenty of seating with handcarved seating & the views are WOW & great fresh air. The stars at night are wonderful also. The living room in the front house has floor to ceiling windows that have a feel like your outdoors & with a wonderful views too. Both the front home & the studio was very clean & had all the items you need to stay for quite a while. The studio where we stayed was a really fun. Tis studio is still used as a music studio & the feel goes along with that theme. The bedding is wonderful, we have never slept on a Tempurpedic form mattresss & now were sold on that. All the beds are that way & my parents & brother liked there beds also. There is also a nice massage in the studio that did the trick too. A thumbs up on this property & you can actually have a very big gathering with a LOT of people there & still feel like you have plenty of room to roam. Go & enjoy this unique property like we did & you will be very pleased.
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Exclusive Glass House in a Lush Desert Park Setting - Just 5 blocks to the SPAS
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p338319
Desert Hot Springs California Desert
Randsburg,ca
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 3, 2010
  • Stayed: Feb 2010
My best friends & I enjoyed the beautiful home,the view to watch the sunrise & set. It is a place we will return to to relax.
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Exclusive Glass House in a Lush Desert Park Setting - Just 5 blocks to the SPAS
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p338319
Desert Hot Springs California Desert
Seattle, WA
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2010
  • Stayed: Jan 2010
After over a year of staying in motels for my work I was lavished with all the amenities at Jane Davis' "House in the Round" vacation home.
Jane has stocked her comfortable vacation spot with all one could possible fathom while staying away from home.
My tired achy body was ecstatic sleeping upon a memory foam mattress. And the extra large refrigerator and on premise large capacity washer dryer helped me to achieve the perfect month vacation.
One reason for coming to Desert Hot Springs was to languish in the plethora of health spas found only minutes away from the house.
Thank you Jane for offering such an Oasis in the desert. The experience truly dazzled my body, mind and spirit.
Tara A. Rae, Author/lecturer
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Exclusive Glass House in a Lush Desert Park Setting - Just 5 blocks to the SPAS
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p338319
Desert Hot Springs California Desert
Los Altos, California
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 22, 2009
  • Stayed: Dec 2009
Incredible! This house is one of a kind. I have traveled the world and yet found my spiritual hoime here in Desert Hot Springs, and most particulary in this enchanting house. The vistas are unparalled, and nature manifests inself fr om morning to nite, with such frequent visitors as quail, cottontail, squirrels, chipmunks and roadrunners. The cacti, desert blooms and infinite variety never seem to lose their green spendor. Have stayed here 4 times.