Punta Leona condo rental - Panoramic view of Ocean with beach below,as viewed from our main balcony
Panoramic view of Ocean with beach below,as viewed from our main balcony
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights
 

Punta Leona Condo Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 3 full bathrooms, sleeps 6

Explore the Central Pacific coast of Costa Rica. Make this spacious condo, nestled in the rain-forest with spectacular Pacific views, your home base. The condo provides all the modern amenities for a comfortable visit including a kitchen with granite counters and stainless steel appliances, central air conditioning, a washer/dryer, cable TV and Internet. A large balcony runs the entire length of the condo and provides outdoor seating for dining and lounging. Listen to the calming sound of the waves as you watch Scarlet Macaws fly overhead. The 30-unit Golden Reef complex has its own infinity edge pool located directly below our balcony. A five-minute walk brings you to Playa Blanca, a beautiful, white sand beach perfect for swimming, sunbathing, kayaking and watching the sunset.

About Punta Leona: The Golden Reef condo is located within the Costa Rican resort of Punta Leona, a 75 minute drive from the International Airport in San Jose. Punta Leona is a private 750 acre reserve with abundant wildlife. Punta Leona provides excellent security, as well as many amenities including several restaurants, a convenience store, spa, several beaches, two community pools, tennis courts, mini-golf, a zip-line canopy tour, hiking trails, kayak rentals and a butterfly farm.

More Details
Hide Details

26 Reviews of Property 337171 in Punta Leona, Costa Rica

Spacious new three-bedroom condo, gorgeous Pacific views, pool, white sand beach
average rating of 4.9615383 based on 26 reviews
business
Spacious new three-bedroom condo, gorgeous Pacific views, pool, white sand beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p337171
+1 7034700590
Punta Leona Puntarenas
5

Golden Reef at Punta Leona

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Wonderful place to stay! Walking distance to the beach and the warm, relaxing pool at the end of the day ...... what more can you ask for. The service people are helpful and friendly, the condo feels like 'home' the minute you walk in. No need to ever leave Punta Leona, other than to restock the rum and vodka :-) New market in Jaco has some of the best tuna/corvina/tilapia you will find.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Spacious new three-bedroom condo, gorgeous Pacific views, pool, white sand beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p337171
+1 7034700590
Punta Leona Puntarenas
St Charles MO
5

Beautiful condo & location

Beautiful condo & location
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 29, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
We had a great experience at this beautiful condo. Guy was very helpful with timely communications and insights about the condo and the surrounding area. Everything about the condo was exactly as described although even the pictures do not do justice to this beautiful, spacious condo and huge balcony overlooking the pools directly below. Gazing a little farther out and a short 2 minute walk downhill is the beautiful white sand beach. It’s a very manageable, but vigorous, 3 - 4 minute walk back up the hill (there is also a parking lot at the bottom of the hill, right at the beach). In the mornings and evenings and during the week, it was nearly our own private beach. Even during the weekend days it never felt crowded.

We took the advice of an earlier guest poster and rented a car in San Jose. I agree that having a car is a must if you plan on sightseeing using the condo as a base. We stopped at WalMart near the airport in San Jose for “provisions” and ate most evening meals and breakfasts at the condo. It has everything you need from corkscrews to food processors (to make fresh guacamole and grinding beans for fresh coffee!). It is an occasionally bumpy 20 minute ride in a car from the entrance to the condo so you want to plan your day trips carefully, but the isolation that you get at the condo,in our judgment, was well worth the long ride. There is a full mercado / supermarket a few km south of the resort entrance in Herradura to pick up most anything else you find you need.

Traveling with our daughter (just graduated from college and fluent in Spanish) and son (29) as navigator and driver respectively, we we able to experience many nearby activities - surfing, scuba diving, horseback riding to the cloud forest and ziplining / rapelling. Young adults really appreciated posting their adventure pics on Facebook using wifi and playing their music iPod/Phone stereos. We rented a GPS with the car and it was very helpful in navigating to a couple of the out of way places (highly recommend Adventure Park zipline near Miramar) and getting back to the condo. I used the condo wifi & google maps to get directions to zipline place above, but probably would not have found it directly without the GPS. It was wonderful to return each night for “happy hour” on the balcony. We spent probably half of our time just enjoying the condo, pool and beach.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Spacious new three-bedroom condo, gorgeous Pacific views, pool, white sand beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p337171
+1 7034700590
Punta Leona Puntarenas
5

Beautiful condo & location

Beautiful condo & location
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 29, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
We had a great experience at this beautiful condo. Guy was very helpful with timely communications and insights about the condo and the surrounding area. Everything about the condo was exactly as described although even the pictures do not do justice to this beautiful, spacious condo and huge balcony overlooking the pools directly below. Gazing a little farther out and a short 2 minute walk downhill is the beautiful white sand beach. It’s a very manageable, but vigorous, 3 - 4 minute walk back up the hill (there is also a parking lot at the bottom of the hill, right at the beach). In the mornings and evenings and during the week, it was nearly our own private beach. Even during the weekend days it never felt crowded.

We took the advice of an earlier guest poster and rented a car in San Jose. I agree that having a car is a must if you plan on sightseeing using the condo as a base. We stopped at WalMart near the airport in San Jose for “provisions” and ate most evening meals and breakfasts at the condo. It has everything you need from corkscrews to food processors (to make fresh guacamole and grinding beans for fresh coffee!). It is an occasionally bumpy 20 minute ride in a car from the entrance to the condo so you want to plan your day trips carefully, but the isolation that you get at the condo,in our judgment, was well worth the long ride. There is a full mercado / supermarket a few km south of the resort entrance in Herradura to pick up most anything else you find you need.

Traveling with our daughter (just graduated from college and fluent in Spanish) and son (29) as navigator and driver respectively, we we able to experience many nearby activities - surfing, scuba diving, horseback riding to the cloud forest and ziplining / rapelling. Young adults really appreciated posting their adventure pics on Facebook using wifi and playing their music iPod/Phone stereos. We rented a GPS with the car and it was very helpful in navigating to a couple of the out of way places (highly recommend Adventure Park zipline near Miramar) and getting back to the condo. I used the condo wifi & google maps to get directions to zipline place above, but probably would not have found it directly without the GPS. It was wonderful to return each night for “happy hour” on the balcony. We spent probably half of our time just enjoying the condo, pool and beach.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Spacious new three-bedroom condo, gorgeous Pacific views, pool, white sand beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p337171
+1 7034700590
Punta Leona Puntarenas
5

Een heerlijke vakantie....!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
met drie vriendinnen hebben we een week in dit prachtige zeer ruime en luxe appartement doorgebracht.
Het is gelegen in een leukn enn gezellig vakantie oord waar alles aanwezig is.
Van een prachtig zwembad tot een restaurant voor ontbijt , lunch en diner.
Het is echt een plek voor een goede vakantie. je hoeft er niks te doen en komt goed uitgerust weer thuis.
Het appartement is erg mooi ingerecht en van alle gemakken voorzien.
Voor als je zelf wilt koken is er een volledig ingericht keuken met alle apparatuur van magnetron tot oven tot vuchtenpers tot mixer.
In de waskeuken stat een grote wasmachine en droogtrommel.
De bedden zijn van goede kwaliteit en de badkamers zer luxueus.
Kortom, zeer de moeite waardn om er de vakantie doorn te brengen.
Elisabeth Lens van der kroft
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Spacious new three-bedroom condo, gorgeous Pacific views, pool, white sand beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p337171
+1 7034700590
Punta Leona Puntarenas
5

beautiful, fully equipped condo in paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
The condo is absolutely lovely, fully equipped, contemporary, clean and so comfortable and condusive to relaxation with beautiful large balcony and gorgeous views. The owner, Guy, has thought of everything ....fully equipped kitchen, music, movies, CDs, games, beach equipment. His advice was absolutely on the mark too. There is lots to do from the condo, close by or more of a travel...but great location. The only downside is that when you "arrive" at Punta Leona...you still have a 15 min bumpy ride up to the condo...but it is well worth it...the Golden Reef condo complex clearly the newest and provides the most luxury in Punta Leona. We spotted many different kinds of animals, the macaws and falcons were amazing. My kids are 10 and 14 and they loved the condo and the whole vacation in Costa Rica. Playa Blanca by far the best beach in the area.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Spacious new three-bedroom condo, gorgeous Pacific views, pool, white sand beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p337171
+1 7034700590
Punta Leona Puntarenas
5

Beautiful condo!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
This condo is even more beautiful in person than in the pictures!! This was our 3rd stop in Costa Rica and by far the niceset (and cheapest)!!! There was not a thing about the condo itself that I could change...the view was outstanding. There was tonnes of stuff inside to use(ie. backpacks, umbrellas, beach bags, great dishes, towels, and kitchen utensils,games) to use. The condo is very clean and the beds are comfortable. Each room has its own patio door with patio so you can hear the jungle right from your room! As well you each have your own huge closet and big bathroom. The condo is just steps from the pool which we had to ourselves the entire week! The kids loved the pool and waterslides so much we did not even use any of the resort pools at all. We had monkeys come right in front of the condo one day and the macaws flew over daily!! The beach was absolutely beautiful...best of the many beaches we saw in Costa Rica! It was a very short walk (3 minutes). Tonnes of tide pool for the kids (and adults) to explore and see what "fishies" the tide left behind. Beautiful swimming area with great sand and great snorkelling right off the beach. We snorkeled daily and saw tonnes of fish in just a few feet of water! The free walks offered through the resort were great, saw tonnes of birds! The tours we did that the resort reccommended were WAY better than the 4 previous tours we did near Manuel Antonio. The resort itself was very secure and felt VERY safe! Guy was very helpful and accomodating and responded very quickly to all of our questions! This was an absolutey beautiful place to be!! If i had to change anything I would DEFINATELY reccommend renting a car. As the resort is so far off the main road it is very expensive to get a cab in and out of town, $40 per way. The shuttle is great but only runs from 8-5 so for your early tours and to go out for dinner you need to do a bit of a walk (15 minutes) in the dark up a windy road. There is transportation that will pick you up but it was $5 per person each way just to to the restaurant/front desk. Also the restaurants on the resort were good and the grocery store was very expensive and had very little, mostly snacks, alcohol (no meat/produce). So do all your grocery shopping in Herradura or rent a car so you can go into Herradura if you need something or want to go ot for dinner. With a car this would have been a 100% successful vacation rental!!!! Thanks Guy, would definnately go back!!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Spacious new three-bedroom condo, gorgeous Pacific views, pool, white sand beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p337171
+1 7034700590
Punta Leona Puntarenas
5

Fantastic Place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
We had a wonderful stay at the Golden Reef. The view is second to none, and the balcony is so spacious and comfortable you never want to leave it. The owners haven't overlooked any details in the apartment--it is clear they were careful choosing everything to make guests feel at home. We have been coming to Punta Leona for over 15 years and this is the nicest place we have stayed in. The beach is, of course, spectacular and this apartment is the perfect complement. You will find everything you need, from the most obscure kitchen utensil to binoculars for seeing wildlife, chairs for the beach, and even a great selection of movies and music. I highly recommend it for any age group.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Spacious new three-bedroom condo, gorgeous Pacific views, pool, white sand beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p337171
+1 7034700590
Punta Leona Puntarenas
Toronto, Canada
5

The Best

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
My wife and I just returned from an outstanding and thoroughly relaxing

week at this condo in the Golden Reef complex. Accompanying us was

our Tico friend, who along with us, agreed that the view of the beach and

wildlife from the spacious balcony( specifically Scarlet Macaws), was

magnificent, and the condo itself had all the amenities that one could

ask for. We have visited Punta Leona many times, and feel that the week

spent in this condo has been our most enjoyable, and we plan to return

again in the future
Recommended for:  Age 55+
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Spacious new three-bedroom condo, gorgeous Pacific views, pool, white sand beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p337171
+1 7034700590
Punta Leona Puntarenas
4

Great time in Costa Rica!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We just got back from our trip to Punta Leona and we thoroughly enjoyed our experience. The accommodations are very attractive and comfortable and for first timers in Costa Rica we felt relaxed and at home. The early mornings and evenings on the terrace, with the sounds of the ocean and jungle were unforgettable. We thought we would take more advantage of our access to the resort, but with the pool just steps away, and beautiful Playa Blanca a few minutes walk we hardly visited at all. The owner was so accommodating and attentive to our questions both before and during our trip it really put us at ease. Many thanks.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Spacious new three-bedroom condo, gorgeous Pacific views, pool, white sand beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p337171
+1 7034700590
Punta Leona Puntarenas
Danvers, Massachusetts, USA
5

Great Place to Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 4, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
Just a quick note to let you know what a wonderful vacation we had thanks to your condo at Golden Reef. We were very comfortable there and of course we truly enjoyed the beach, pool and all the wildlife right on the grounds. After hiking at the Carara National Reserve and taking a canopy tour, we found that we saw more animals and birds right at Punta Leona. We will remember this forever. We hope to vacation there again in the future.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5