Volcano Arenal house rental - Entrance from parking area
Entrance from parking area
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Volcano Arenal House Rental Photos and Description
Home 2 bedrooms / 2 bathrooms. Cabana 1 bedroom /1 bathroom

Following a year off for health reasons, and our sincere apologies to those unable to book, we are open again after March 1, 2014.

We are central, yet secluded, with patios, balconies and grounds looking on to the world famous Arenal Volcano. This Almendro home has a wrap-around balcony, is gated and very private.

We are near the charming town of La Fortuna, and our area is famous for its diversity of interests. These include bird watching, river rafting, jungle cruises, jungle canopy tours, butterfly farms, horseback riding, world famous spas and hot springs or relaxing and enjoying the best views of the spectacular Arenal Volcano. And because we are well located on the main road, all is within easy access

We have been a Bed and Breakfast for about 15 years, with excellent reviews in the guide books, Our housekeeper/cook Miriam is local, friendly, helpful and has developed a great reputation for her breakfasts, which you can read about in the reviews. She is the soul of the place.

Security: Although the property is on the main road, with easy access to all the local attractions, it is gated, fenced, on a partial rise, and thus very safe and private. The newly formed 'tourist police' make regular checks.

More Details
Hide Details

I'm a Canadian who came here in 1993 for a combination of adventure and investment. I built a home in La Palma overlooking Arenal Volcano, and because of the shortage of places for people to stay gradually became involved in tourism. It has been a wonderful experience meeting people from all over the world. When it comes to the wonders of nature, everyone reacts in a similar way. Awe, respect and wonder and delight.

Grant Carlson purchased this house in 1995

When I decided on Costa Rica as a place to live in and invest I knew very little, apart from its positive reputation. It was only later that I realized I needed a 'where' in Costa Rica. After driving around the country for a week or so I arrived in La Fortuna and immediately knew that this was where I wanted to be. It was something I still can't explain. I built the home, which eventually evolved into a B and B, about two years after arriving. I drove a fifth wheel down here from Vancouver and lived in that until the house was complete.

The Nicaraguan and Costa Rican people Ive become friends with over the years have enhanced my life immeasurably. As well. the climate, the greenery, fresh air, the birds and, of course, the volcano, all serve to make this area a very special place in the world.

30 Reviews of Property 333618 in Volcano Arenal, Costa Rica

A home surrounded by birds, flowers, fantastic views and hot springs. Exc. Rates
average rating of 4.92 based on 30 reviews
business
A home surrounded by birds, flowers, fantastic views and hot springs. Exc. Rates
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p333618
+1 604 325 5277
Volcano Arenal Arenal Volcano - Lake Arenal
chapel hill
4

Beautiful rental in Lake Arenal

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This was a lovely house at the base of a volcano!mbreasfast was plentiful and delicious. We would stay here again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for that, Chris and I hope we do see you again!

Go Sabers!!

Cheers,

Grant
business
A home surrounded by birds, flowers, fantastic views and hot springs. Exc. Rates
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p333618
+1 604 325 5277
Volcano Arenal Arenal Volcano - Lake Arenal
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Excellent hospitality!

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
Two friends and I recently visited Arenal and stayed at this wonderful home just outside of La Fortuna. We had a great time, mostly because of the wonderful hospitality of the owner and his staff. The home itself is beautiful with wonderful views of the volcano and rainforest. Grant went out of his way to help us plan our stay: he helped set up various excursions and provided great recommendations on things to do. Miriam cooked amazing breakfasts every morning, and we couldn't have asked for more. It made everything so easy. If I ever return to Arenal, I will certainly want to stay here again!

Recommended for:Families with young children, families with teenagers, adventure seekers, girls getaway, sightseeing, romantic getaway, pet owners, age 55+.
business
A home surrounded by birds, flowers, fantastic views and hot springs. Exc. Rates
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p333618
+1 604 325 5277
Volcano Arenal Arenal Volcano - Lake Arenal
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Our favorite\!

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
The two nights we stayed at Posada Colonial were our favorite of our entire trip! Not only are the grounds and the house and cabina beautiful, the view is wonderful and Mireya spoiled us with her delicious breakfasts. We will definitely be back - with friends & family - in the future.

Thank you for making our stay in La Fortuna memorable & lovely. Muchas Gracias Por Todos!! Pura Vida!


Los Angeles, California
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
A home surrounded by birds, flowers, fantastic views and hot springs. Exc. Rates
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p333618
+1 604 325 5277
Volcano Arenal Arenal Volcano - Lake Arenal
5

Wonderful Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
I guess I'll start with the beginning of our journey because there is so much to say about this place. First off before even arriving in Costa Rica Grant was so helpful with everything. He always quickly responded and came up with solutions for all of our needs, even setting up a private driver to pick us up last minute. The pictures of this house that you see on this site can't even begin to describe how beautiful this house really is in person. The landscapes alone made the whole trip worth it, and everything after that just went beyond my expectation. Maureen and Grant are great hosts and the kindest people. They offered to take us to the grocery store and gave us rides whenever needed (though we also took taxis). Miriam's morning visits were just as amazing. Waking up early to her breakfast was enough to put you in a great mood for the day. I know the best part of my trip was sitting in the hammock on the balcony and reading a book taking in all the landscape. The tours are a lot of fun and many of the places pick you up from the house. I know my family and I definitely plan on telling all of our family members about this house and even returning for another visit. A week was definitely not long enough.

Thank you Grant and Maureen for the best trip I've ever been on.

Justin
Owner's Response: Justin , that was so very, very kind of you and please pass on our fondest regards to your wonderful family. All the very best in all your endeavors,

Grant, Maureen and Miriam.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
A home surrounded by birds, flowers, fantastic views and hot springs. Exc. Rates
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p333618
+1 604 325 5277
Volcano Arenal Arenal Volcano - Lake Arenal
5

Fantastic Place to Stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
This home is an absolute jewel! I just returned from a trip with my husband, mother, brother, sister-in-law. It was our fourth trip to Costa Rica and the Arenal area. I wanted to stay away from the hotels this time. A search around the internet found Colonial Posada. Following a short email to the owner, Grant, I was booking the home.
The pictures do not do it justice. It is a beautiful home and the grounds are immaculatly landscaped and maintained. We spent all our time on the first floor patio around this wonderful large table with a breath-taking view of the Arenal Volcano. The property borders on the national park so there is nothing between you and the volcano. The back of the property drops down to a creek you can reach easily by a cleared path. The sound of running water can be heard at all times. What a lullaby at bedtime. There were many birds coming to pearch in the plants by the house. We just sat at the table watching them up close. And further out in two large trees we watched toucans and parrots.
The location is right off the main road between LaFortuna and Tabacon Resort. You are surrounded with things to see and do from this site. There were some nice places to eat within walking distance if you do not have your own transportation.
Grant's wife, Maureen, and housekeeper, Miriam, were there to greet us as we arrived and saw to all our needs. It was a delight to be able to visit with them. Miriam cooks up a delicious batch of pancakes and eggs any way you like them for breakfast.
We took advantage of the Baldi Hot Springs this visit and enjoyed the springs and spa. It is located near the home. We went out on the ATV's, floated the river viewing wildlife, fished on Lake Arenal, and ziplined on SkyTrek. The drivers with the tours we took were familiar with the home and picked us up at the driveway.
We only needed the main house for our group. However we did see the other 1 bedroon and bath unit over the carport and it was adorable! We had an absolutely wonderful experience at Colonial Posada and recommend it to anyone looking for a place to stay.
Cheeri
Elk City, OK
Owner's Response: Thanks so very much for that, Cheeri, and it seems things went along smoothly despite my absence!

I read your letter to Miriam, in my hesitant Spanish, and she was smiles all the way through and commented on what good people you were and how pleased she was that you enjoyed yourselves.

As you know these reviews mean a great deal to us, not just because we hope that more tourists will visit but that we are also being the good hosts we strive to be.

All the very best to you and your family, and with much appreciation, Grant, Maureen and Miriam.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
A home surrounded by birds, flowers, fantastic views and hot springs. Exc. Rates
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p333618
+1 604 325 5277
Volcano Arenal Arenal Volcano - Lake Arenal
5

A Wonderful Choice!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
We had a wonderful stay at the Posada Colonial. It was the perfect place for two couples, or maybe a few more, to stay and explore the area. The facilities themselves were top notch, particularly the huge veranda and balcony with views of Arenal and constant sightings of local birdlife. It was fun and interesting to meet the owners, and we especially appreciated the breakfasts prepared by Miriam. Would highly recommend this place, and would certainly stay there again!
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for that, Allen, and it is especially appreciated because it was unsolicited. A very kind and thoughtful gesture.

And of course I will pass on your review to Miriam.

Kind regards,

Grant
business
A home surrounded by birds, flowers, fantastic views and hot springs. Exc. Rates
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p333618
+1 604 325 5277
Volcano Arenal Arenal Volcano - Lake Arenal
5

Lovely Beyond Words

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
I loved being at this gorgeous spot. It is idyllic and the view of Arenal is heavenly. Each morning I awakened with sunshine and birds singing. Grant could not have been nicer or more gracious. His cook, Miriam, is a jewel!
Owner's Response: Thank you so very much for that! How very thoughtful and kind of you to take the time to send in those wonderful words. You've made us proud indeed!

Our deep and sincere appreciation!

Grant and Miriam
business
A home surrounded by birds, flowers, fantastic views and hot springs. Exc. Rates
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p333618
+1 604 325 5277
Volcano Arenal Arenal Volcano - Lake Arenal
Washington DC
5

Excellent hospitality!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Two friends and I recently visited Arenal and stayed at this wonderful home just outside of La Fortuna. We had a great time, mostly because of the wonderful hospitality of the owner and his staff. The home itself is beautiful with wonderful views of the volcano and rainforest. Grant went out of his way to help us plan our stay: he helped set up various excursions and provided great recommendations on things to do. Miriam cooked amazing breakfasts every morning, and we couldn't have asked for more. It made everything so easy. If I ever return to Arenal, I will certainly want to stay here again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
A home surrounded by birds, flowers, fantastic views and hot springs. Exc. Rates
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p333618
+1 604 325 5277
Volcano Arenal Arenal Volcano - Lake Arenal
Redding, CT
5

Ct travelers

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Perfect location for the many activities nearby. Owner of the property lives adjacent to the VRBO and is extremely helpful with directions and advice for exploring the area. House itself works well, quite spacious with the upper and lower main rooms. The wrap around porch makes for peaceful sitting, directly under Mt. Arenal.
Mariam prepares a nice breakfast, and we think will prepare other meals as well.

Hope you enjoy it as much as we did
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you so very much for that, and the pleasure of sharing your company! These recommendations mean a great deal, as you know, and we intend to keep improving in order to maintain a consistently satisfactory and affordable place to stay. Cheers to all! Grant
business
A home surrounded by birds, flowers, fantastic views and hot springs. Exc. Rates
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p333618
+1 604 325 5277
Volcano Arenal Arenal Volcano - Lake Arenal
Pembroke, Ontario
5

Home away from Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
What a treat it was to stay in the main house at Posada Colonial. Four of us stayed there for three splendid weeks. We bonded with our dear host Grant and felt very well taken care of. He is helpful, considerate, courteous and a happy person. The spacious house is beautifully designed, with a wrap around veranda on both levels. The two bathrooms are roomy and beautifully tiled. There is a full kitchen with two large dining tables, one inside, one outside, where we easily seated 8 people for dinner parties. Mount Arenal is in full view, flowers are blooming everywhere in the well kept gardens, birds visit and sometimes monkeys swing by, and a path through the jungle leads to an enchanting creek. Laundry and cleaning services are available, and there is also a charming apartment for rent above the open garage if extra space is needed. A gate is closed at night, there is a yard light but we felt safe at all times. A lovely and very good restaurant is within walking distance at the Volcano Lodge, and a bit further is a wood fired pizza restaurant with excellent pizza. Baldi Hot Springs is a few miles down the road and Tabacon Spa a few miles the other way. A vehicle would be advantageous to have as town is a bit of a distance but taxis are easy to call and certain tours provide shuttle pickup. I highly recommend this wonderful home, and would go back in a heartbeat. Thank you Grant for sharing this treasure.