Puako condo rental - Mauna Kea beach - amazingly fine sand and gentle surf
Mauna Kea beach - amazingly fine sand and gentle surf
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Puako Condo Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths (Sleeps 6-8)

Hawaiian Style, Newly Furnished, Beach Condo. This unit has just been remodeled, and is equipped with new appliances and amenities. We Love Puako!!! - and we have tried to make it so this condo will enable you to have a great and easy stay here. It was chosen and remodeled with Kids and Parents in mind; with a flat screen TV and DVD player (and family DVD rentals right next door), great Broadband and WiFi, and beds are firm, designed for people who have not been gentle to their backs.

The waters around Puako are great - they are very clean, and three of the islands' largest and nicest white sand beaches (Waikoloa, Hapuna & Mauna Kea) are in adjacent coves within two miles of the condo. For those times in between visits to the beach, the condo has a nice, gated pair of pools. One is small and shallow, ideal for kids under 3. The other is larger but by no means a lap pool.

Our Community: Puako is a relaxed, beachfront community, and this unit is ideally located to make your life easy and relaxed. We are next door to the quaint and funky Puako General Store - a reasonably priced and incredibly convenient place with supplies for everything from breakfast to dinner to cocktail fixings and a DVD for the kids. If you stay for a few weeks, you may want to do one stock-up trip into Kona (30 minute away with Costco, Safeway, etc...) or Waimea (western style town, home of the Parker Ranch, about 15-20 minutes away, and with a gigantic western style wooden play structure to make the trip fun) and you can spend the rest of the trip being mellow on the beach.

Fun Family Activities: We have a map of all the best locations for activities ranging from a hand-built sheltered rock tide-pool for your toddler to play in, to romantic beaches on which to watch a sunset. Toss the cooler in the car, and enjoy a different sunset beach within a 5 minute drive each night. 3 large world class beaches and one that we don't like quite as much are all really near by. Pick the beach that has the combination of sand, surf & snorkeling that suits your fancy on each day. During the winter Hapuna has great body surfing - with regular nice sized waves every day. Wailea Bay has lots of trees right next to the ocean - it is a great beach to enjoy some shade but with your toes in the sand. It is hard to go wrong! There are also lots of smaller beaches directly off of Puako road, accessible through pretty well marked signs, with walks to the beach typically being less that 50 feet.

If you want to eat out....: The nearest access is a great one - it is just a block away (and fine to walk), with a sheltered lava-rock pool for the kids, and decent entry for a nice, early morning scuba dive.

If you want to go out for meals, both modest and fancy restaurants are within a 10-15 minute drive, ranging from the resorts of Mauna Kea, Mauna Lani and the Hapuna Prince to the nearby town of Kawaihae, home of excellent shave ice and complete with an open-daily Farmer's Market - our best source for papaya, vegetables and sweet cane rice sticks. Slightly upcountry is Hawi, a lovely artist community with the best ice cream on the island. We have a list of restaurants we have personally tried, plus a list of other places that have been well recommended.

If you want to stay home, you can sit on the Lanai and enjoy the ocean breeze, and use the newly renovated kitchen (designed by me - someone who really likes to cook).

We welcome you to Hale Hanu (Turtle House) in our delightful community here in Puako.

More Details
Hide Details

25 Reviews of Property 330944 in Puako, Hawaii

Puako Beach - Across from Ocean - Luxury & Kid Friendly Condo
average rating of 4.76 based on 25 reviews
business
Puako Beach - Across from Ocean - Luxury & Kid Friendly Condo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330944
+1 206 651-5117
Puako Kohala Coast
Mount Vernon, WA
5

Puako condo "Home away from home

Puako condo "Home away from home
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
We had the best trip to Hawaii we've ever had. There were 5 adults in our party & we all had plenty of space. The condo is comfortable with many thoughtful touches. Puako is an awesome location & Beach 69 had the best snorkeling anywhere. I spent nearly every morning down at the tide pools poking around. We saw tons of turtles & found the favorite hangout of Mr. & Mrs. Octopus & snapped lots of photos. We absolutely LOVED the well-stocked kitchen. We were very grateful to have all the beach gear available to use-the chairs & coolers got a good workout. It was terrific having the beach right across the street, as well as many good restaurants in Waimea & Kawaihae. We especially loved The Blue Dragon Musiquarium.We highly recommend a stay at Kimberley & Allen's Puako condo!
business
Puako Beach - Across from Ocean - Luxury & Kid Friendly Condo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330944
+1 206 651-5117
Puako Kohala Coast
Mount Vernon, WA
5

Puako condo "Home away from home"

Puako condo "Home away from home"
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
We had the best trip to Hawaii we've ever had. Our party totaled 5 adults & we had plenty of space. Puako was an awesome location & Beach 69 had the very best snorkeling. I spent nearly every morning down at the tide pools poking around. We saw tons of turtles & found the favorite hangout of Mr. & Mrs. Octopus & snapped lots of photos. We absolutely LOVED the well-stocked kitchen. We were so grateful to have all the beach gear available to use--the chairs & coolers got a good workout. It was a terrific experience to have the beach right across the street & good restaurants in Waimea & Kawaihae as well. We especially loved the Blue Dragon Musiquarium.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Puako Beach - Across from Ocean - Luxury & Kid Friendly Condo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330944
+1 206 651-5117
Puako Kohala Coast
Canada
5

Family getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
WE love the area, nice and quiet, but not too far away from the activities. Renting a car is a must. The condo itself and the building are a little older, but very clean and our condo had recently undergone a kitchen reno. The manager and everyone else at the condo were lovely and made us feel very welcome. The girls had a blast and the condo is VERY kid friendly!!! We love that we can walk across the road to the beach and be greeted by sea turtles every morning and then drive 10 minutes down the road to a variety of wonderful beaches for everyone. All the beach toys and chairs supplied at the condo were wonderful. We felt like we were at home with the toys!!! We had a fabulous time and we will be back.
The weather there- always warm!!

One thing though, we wished that the pool was a bit warmer!!!
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
business
Puako Beach - Across from Ocean - Luxury & Kid Friendly Condo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330944
+1 206 651-5117
Puako Kohala Coast
Burnaby, BC
4

Everything we hoped for!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
We just returned from our vacation on the Big Island in this condo. We were very pleased with the accomodations. The unit is basic, not fancy. But if you are looking for a clean, quiet, well-maintained condo, this one fits that bill. The building managers were very friendly and maintain the property with TLC. We loved the true neighbourhood feel to this sleepy little area of the Big Island. We will definitely be back again--already looking at my calendar!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Puako Beach - Across from Ocean - Luxury & Kid Friendly Condo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330944
+1 206 651-5117
Puako Kohala Coast
Langley. Wa USA
5

Happy place away from the turists

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
Hello Kimberley,
I haven' t taken the time yet to Thank you but we sooo enjoyed our
stay at your place!!
At first it was a little crowded with our big family, but we got used
to it quickly. All those baby stuff was very helpful for our granson
and we have 2 chefs in our family, so the kitchen was perfekt and we
cooked a lot.
The location, away from all those turists, the beaches, the closness
to farmers markets, hiking, the sun. It actually was not easy coming
home... to the snow of all things.
I am hoping we will go back and I will absolutly recommend you to my Friends.
Laying there in the big bed,with all the windows open and listening to
the soft wind....YES.

Thank you again. Lena with Family
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: This was a local Washington family and we were so glad they were able to escape Seattle gray for a little time in paradise. Lena points out the "local" nature of Puako - away from the bustle of Kona and near resorts but not of them - we're so happy they had a great time!
business
Puako Beach - Across from Ocean - Luxury & Kid Friendly Condo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330944
+1 206 651-5117
Puako Kohala Coast
Los Angeles
5

Enjoy real Hawaii

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
I've been to Kauai, Maui, Oahu and the Big Island and this is one of my favorite spots. The beach is steps away and many other great beaches are nearby, as are some charming beach towns. Across the street, the snorkeling is outstanding. I couldn't get enough of the Sea Turtles - and there were lots of them! The owners supply everything you need for snorkeling. White sand, black and white sand and golden beaches are all nearby. Great swiming holes abound, as do hiking trails. The island has a lot of diversity - On a day excursion, I particularly enjoyed the volcano and the lava pools in Hilo. For sunbathing, swimming, and relaxing, I enjoyed nearby Baby Beach. Waimea is perhaps the most beautiful beach I have seen in Hawaii. I have stayed in 5 star resorts, B@Bs and condos in Hawaii. This condo is one of my best experiences. A local grocery store is next door, fruit grows abundantly in the garden, and the kitchen and grill allowed me to prepare and eat whatever I wanted. The manager is friendly and helpful. I had a great time all day, every day.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Puako Beach - Across from Ocean - Luxury & Kid Friendly Condo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330944
+1 206 651-5117
Puako Kohala Coast
mendocino, ca
5

Nor Cal family on vacation with three small children.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 14, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
This condo in Puako was like home away from home. The kitchen had everything for cooking meals. Plenty of kid friendly utensils. Each closet was stocked with beach items and kid toys. It was quiet and peaceful during nap time and night time for my children. The General Store is right next door and so convenient! Perfect place for a quite, relaxing, and low-key vacation. Not to mention so much to do right out the door! Great tide pools and sooo many turtles. My husband surfed 69's when is was hitting. It was perfect for us. Thank you for all the memories Kimberley and Alan!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Puako Beach - Across from Ocean - Luxury & Kid Friendly Condo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330944
+1 206 651-5117
Puako Kohala Coast
Hyampom, California, USA
5

Perfect place for visiting the Big Island!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
We stayed here with our 3 young children (ages 2-7) and had a wonderful time! The condo was very clean and well maintianed, and completely stocked with everything one would need for exploring the beaches: snorkel gear, boogie boards, plenty of beach towels, coolers & tons of sand toys. And all the best beaches (Hapuna, 69, Mauna Kea, A Bay) are 5-15 minutes drive away! We did get a chance to explore much of the Big Island during our 2 week stay, but were always glad to return to Puako to relax on the Lani at the end of the day. The condo is also well equipped with pots/pans/dishes/BBQ & condiment staples which was great for cooking lots of meals in. We also had 2 other family member join us for a few days and the condo was totally roomy enough for 3 adults and 4 kids. I would highly recommend this condo to friends and relatives traveling to the Big Island! Plus Puako has by far the best weather on all the Island! Thanks Kimberley and Alan for sharing your great place!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Puako Beach - Across from Ocean - Luxury & Kid Friendly Condo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330944
+1 206 651-5117
Puako Kohala Coast
Pullman, WA
5

Great Place for a Family with Small Children

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
Our stay was perfect! We visited with our 5 kids ages 3-13 years. The crib was very handy with our little one. Kimberley was kind to answer all our questions. We called asking about a recommendation for breakfast the first morning, as our flight was arriving very late and we would not have time to pick up groceries. Kimberley left food in the fridge for us: bacon, eggs, and pancake mix! The kitchen was set up for anyone who plans to cook: a rice cooker, lots of different pots/pans, basic spices, knife, cutting board. The fridge also has basic supplies stocked like syrup, soy sauce, butter, cooking oil, etc. The unit was clean and everything functioned well. It was nice having an assigned parking spot. There was detergent for the washer/dryer, sunblock, lotion, blow dryer, shampoo & conditioner. Everything I needed to walk in and live was there. The best kid friendly/safe beaches we found were at the Hilton (you can also see the dolphins) and The Fairmont, both about 15 minutes away. The grocery store next door was handy. There is also a larger grocery next to the Fairmont that had a great Deli. I believe there were 5 sets of snorkel gear, which worked out great for our large group. Thanks Kimberly and Alan!!
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Puako Beach - Across from Ocean - Luxury & Kid Friendly Condo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330944
+1 206 651-5117
Puako Kohala Coast
Modesto, California USA
5

Wonderful Wonderful W\onderful......

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 28, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
What a wonderful experience! The Hale Hono (Turtle House) was everything we had wished for and more. The listing is very complete and so right on that we felt like we had been there before. I was impressed with the upkeep of the facility and since the unit had been remodeled recently, it is in excellent shape. My wife loves to cook and the kitchen and it's supplies were great!

The property manager was so sweet and helpful. The neighbors were a delight to meet. The store next door was great for those last minute items. Especially helpful since the main grocery stores are some distance away.

Our family of four: two adults and two adult sons...19 and 24 along with another couple spent 10 days enjoying the area. We are all nature lovers so enjoyed the flowers and fruits on the condo grounds. The tidepools and the sea turtles directly across the road were fantastic.

We loved going to Beach 69 and Hapuna Beach. Hapuna was simply the beach of our dreams. The supply of beach towels, snorkel gear and sea toys were invaluable since you have luggage charges now with the airlines. If you have small children, across the road or beach 69 would be especially nice. And the condo would be a childs dream with all the kiddie toys.

We found wonderful snorkeling at all three places. Being in the water with the giant turtles was a chance of a lifetime.

We loved the quiet neighborhood. It is NOT in the middle of an action spot and was just what we wanted. Near the best beaches, no crowds, quiet, in fact... it made us feel like we lived there.

It was easy to take day trips to a macadamia nut processing plant, a wonderful vanilla farm, easy to get to the Hilo side and places like Akaka Falls. Kona and the airport was an easy half hour drive with only a couple of traffic lights the whole way. We did the Mauna Kea Star tour one night also.... we'll never forget that. The beauty of the stars in that clear Pacific air was unbelievable.

The owners were great and so helpful. Especially since it was our first time in their unit. You'll feel like you have known them for years after your first contact.

Simply put... Don't be scared to book it if the description sounds good to you!

I'd recommend this property to almost anyone except someone looking for nightlife and lots of walking distance stores and restaurants. We can't wait to go back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1