Sea Ranch house rental - Fox Ridge Retreat
Fox Ridge Retreat
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay nights
 

Sea Ranch House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Fox Ridge is a secluded, 40 acre property for experiencing a retreat from the world with giant redwoods and no houses in view. Seldom a car passes by. As you travel the 4 mile, well maintained dirt road to get to the house, you pass by two small, beautiful vineyards and fantastic houses tucked away in the trees. This is an area where people cherish their privacy… a rare commodity these days. This is what Fox Ridge is all about. We are close to 1,000 ft. elevation which means the temperature is usually 10 - 15 degrees warmer than the 55 degrees when the fog is in at the coast. And when it is hot in the valley to east, we are 10 degrees cooler because of the sea breezes giving us beautiful weather most of the time.

Our two story, 2000 sq. ft. house, sitting on top of Brushy Ridge, among other 40 acre properties, has two master bedrooms with king beds and large picture windows. One bedroom has a balcony. There is a third smaller bedroom with a trundle bed (2 singles). There is a large bath with shower with a half bath downstairs. The downstairs has a large open living/dining and kitchen area with sliding glass doors opening to a 600 sq. ft. deck overlooking the rolling hills and valley of redwoods, pines, fir and oaks. We also have a backup generator which comes on automatically in case of power outage.

You can hike around on the trails of our land at your leisure and experience the serenity of nature undisturbed. There is excellent mushroom hunting and you may catch a glimpse of deer and fox. Or play Petanque (like Bocce Ball) out on the meadow. Or simply sit on the spacious deck or lie in the hammock and read to you heart’s content. Better yet, take a leisurely nap under the redwoods, listening to nothing but the birds singing and the wind blowing through the trees. This is also the perfect place for those of you who love to write or practice yoga. There is plenty of space indoors or on the deck. We also have a massage table. As you can tell this is truly a place of retreat, relaxation and rejuvenation.

And yet only 20 minutes away are fabulous beaches. Park at one of the many access lots and within a short walking distance you will be at the magnificent Pacific Ocean where you can hike one of the many trails available to the public. To get to the ocean you will have gone through Sea Ranch. It has a golf course which is open to the public. You can also go kayaking on the Gualala River which is just another 10 minutes away. If you need groceries, organic if you prefer, the town of Gualala is only 35 minutes away from Fox Ridge. There are art galleries or enjoy one of the many wonderful restaurants such as St. Orres. Gualala also has a local airport that accepts private plane.

In the evening enjoy one of your favorite beverages out on the deck as you watch another spectacular sunset and don’t be surprised the next morning when you wake up if the valley below is filled with the mysterious fog that quite often sneaks in during the night. Be sure to look at our Photo Gallery – the pictures say it all!

Keywords: Country House, lots of privacy, 4 acre fenced area to let your children play or your dogs run, 20 minutes from the ocean

More Details
Hide Details

Cynthia & Brad, Owners of Fox Ridge Retreat

We found Fox Ridge in 1997. We were looking for a spacious piece of land with lots of privacy. Our home is in Oakland and, like many of us, we have very busy lives. The first time we saw Fox Ridge it reminded us of a beautiful park where you could stroll around, not only that, it had rugged trails where you could hike. It was a dream come true. We have spent these past years clearing the land, opening up the views to the beauty of the breathtaking sunsets and the fog coming in through the valley. The serenity of the land, with the majesty of the redwoods, always gives us the opportunity to disconnect from our hectic pace and simply rest and enjoy this special place with what is naturally here. We hope if you find yourselves at Fox Ridge you will have a wonderful experience of this magnificent land.

The Owner purchased this house in 1997

23 Reviews of Property 330138 in Sea Ranch, California

Fox Ridge Retreat in the Redwoods
average rating of 4.9565215 based on 23 reviews
business
Fox Ridge Retreat in the Redwoods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330138vbi
(510) 482-8548 (California, USA)
Sea Ranch North Coast California
United States
5

Serene and Beautiful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
Fox Ridge is wonderful. It is a great place to unplug and unwind.
We had our dogs off leash the entire time and it was so nice having the property fenced in.
It is the perfect escape from the hectic pace of life. If your looking to get away and relax, Fox Ridge is the place to go. We will definately be back!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Fox Ridge Retreat in the Redwoods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330138vbi
(510) 482-8548 (California, USA)
Sea Ranch North Coast California
Guerneville, CA
5

We fell in love with your home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
"We fell in love with your home. The location, expansive views, decks, and design all resonate deeply with our own longing for a "soul home." The silence is so nurturing and reminds us why we love so much to backpack in the wilderness. The sacred energy and quality of the environment inside and outside opened our hearts and relaxed our bodies. We feel so grateful and blessed by the time and experience we shared. Thank you SO much!"
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Romantic Getaway
business
Fox Ridge Retreat in the Redwoods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330138vbi
(510) 482-8548 (California, USA)
Sea Ranch North Coast California
Southern Illinois
5

Family Christmas 2011

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
My family (grown kids and 3yo grandson) spent Christmas Eve and Christmas Day at Fox Ridge...it was amazing. We brought our groceries and made a Christmas dinner, hiked and used the fire pit on the deck. The house is beautiful and anything you could possible need is there! We were given great directions to the house and really enjoyed the drive up to the place. The view from the back deck is so beautiful. We will return in the future!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Fox Ridge Retreat in the Redwoods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330138vbi
(510) 482-8548 (California, USA)
Sea Ranch North Coast California
San Leandro, CA
5

Wonderful peaceful retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
We had a superb relaxing and calm get away at Fox Ridge. We found the home to be absolutely homey and comfortable - very much like coming home but with total quiet and the peace and tranquility of the forest surroundings. Looking up at the stars everynight through the bedroom windows was glorious. Make sure you find your way to the bench across the ravine. Sit and listen to the sounds of the forest. So very restorative. We wish we would have stayed longer and we definitely will next time.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Fox Ridge Retreat in the Redwoods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330138vbi
(510) 482-8548 (California, USA)
Sea Ranch North Coast California
Colleyville TX
4

If you crave solitude...this is the place!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
We really enjoyed our stay at Fox Ridge. The setting and views from the deck are absolutely spectacular! If you crave solitude, this is the place for you. Kitchen is great - it had everything we needed to cook our meals, and the family room is very comfortable for sitting back, reading, and enjoying the views over the hills. Expect a bit of a drive from the main road to the home, but it's worth it.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Fox Ridge Retreat in the Redwoods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330138vbi
(510) 482-8548 (California, USA)
Sea Ranch North Coast California
Turlock, CA, USA
5

Secluded perfection

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
My son, daughter (adults) and I had the most wonderful, memorable week at Fox Ridge. It took all our combined energy to get in the car and depart on the last day of our stay. The weather was glorious, every room and outdoor space of the Fox Ridge home was comfortable and inviting, the trees and flowers on the land all so beautiful--it truly was perfection. The home is spacious with lots of big windows which I loved. We spent much time in the well-equiped kitchen preparing our meals and eating inside and also outside on the gorgeous deck with a spectacular view. We hiked for hours every morning and walked the grounds in the evenings because it just pleased the soul to be in such a special place. While we ventured away from Fox Ridge to visit the Annapolis Winery, the ocean, and Gualala--which we enjoyed immensely--we couldn't wait to return to Fox Ridge and decided not to spend any more time away from our wonderful retreat.

Cynthia is a genuine, caring person who does all she can to ensure her guests are comfortable. There is really nothing she can do to make one's stay any more pleasurable. If you treasure peacefulness, solitude, quiet--a place to re-energize your body and mind and have an absolutely wonderful time alone or with family or friends--Fox Ridge should definitely be considered. I will certainly be there again next year.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Fox Ridge Retreat in the Redwoods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330138vbi
(510) 482-8548 (California, USA)
Sea Ranch North Coast California
Santa Ynez
5

Searched for tranquility and found it at Fox Ridge.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
I really can't think of anything to improve your place in Annapolis. For me
it was perfect....quiet, peaceful, abundant with natural beauty and a view to
blow your mind away!

We took books and played petanque and walked our dog......a week of bliss --- for human and canine alike!

Your kitchen was well stocked with utensils....and oh, so clean.

The beds were the most comfortable I've ever experienced away from home. Truly sweet dreams were had by all.

Thank you again for having such a wonderful getaway
on VRBO. And yes, my family, dog and I hope to get there again someday!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Fox Ridge Retreat in the Redwoods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330138vbi
(510) 482-8548 (California, USA)
Sea Ranch North Coast California
Lodi, CA
5

Fox Ridge

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We couldn't have been happier with our stay at Fox Ridge! If you are looking for a getaway where you can truly relax, this is the place for you. The home is very comfortable and the kitchen is well equipped for meal preparation. The view from the deck is amazing! Cynthia did an exceptional job of communicating with us and answered all questions in a timely manner.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Fox Ridge Retreat in the Redwoods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330138vbi
(510) 482-8548 (California, USA)
Sea Ranch North Coast California
San Francisco, CA
5

Can't wait to come back

Can't wait to come back
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
I've been to dozens of rentals up and down the California coast over the years with similar amenities and price and this is by far the winner. It's hard to find this level of seclusion and quiet.

Fox Ridge is even more spectacular in person than it appears in the photos. I really can't say enough good things about it. The silence is almost deafening from the big back porch overlooking a gorgeous valley. The house has an open kitchen, dining room and living room which makes for a very comfortable and social atmosphere. The beds are excellent and there are great views from every room.

On top of this, Cynthia is extremely nice and went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. The whole booking experience was effortless and pleasant.

We hiked for quite a bit down the trail towards the water but didn't get far enough to see it. It really didn't matter though since the hike itself was so much fun. It reminds me of the woods from Calvin and Hobbes.

Be sure to stock up at the grocery store before you drive in though, it's about 20 min. or more each way to any store, and you won't want to waste an hour not being at Fox Ridge just to grab a toothbrush or ketchup. I'd also recommend going to Gualala Point Regional Park for the day - it's my new favorite beach.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Fox Ridge Retreat in the Redwoods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330138vbi
(510) 482-8548 (California, USA)
Sea Ranch North Coast California
San Francisco, CA
5

Beautiful and Relaxing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 1, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
For my yearly personal retreat, I spent an amazing week at Fox Ridge. It had all the beauty, serenity, solitude, and privacy that I had searched for. Enjoying the gorgeous view from the deck was relaxing and calming. I loved all the birds, but especially watching the hawks and turkey vultures soaring through the trees. The quiet was a soothing respite from the city noise. It was so quiet that I could hear the crows wings beating as they flew by. Whether I was walking around the property, out on the deck, or inside the house, I loved the peaceful feeling of being surrounded by all the trees and nature. During my stay, the varied weather and dense morning fog added to the ambiance.
The house is very comfortable, clean, and with the numerous large windows you can experience and enjoy all the natural surroundings from inside. The kitchen was very well-stocked.
Cynthia is great. She answered all my questions and booking was easy.
I wished I could have stayed longer and I'm looking forward to returning.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: April, Thank you so much for your beautiful review. We feel just the same about Fox Ridge... once we get there we don't want to leave. You left our home in such perfect condition I thought the cleaning people had already been there! Thank you for the extra care you gave and we look forward to having you back with us again.
Best to you,
Cynthia
Helpful votes: 1/1