Northville cabin rental - Mother nature at its best in this charming, comfortable river front cabin with loads of amenities!
Mother nature at its best in this charming, comfortable river front cabin with loads of amenities!
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Northville Cabin Rental Photos and Description
comfortable king bedroom, gas fireplace,view of river, dish tv, wifi, snow shoes

This charming, comfortable, cozy cabin is located in the southern Adirondacks in the town of Benson. It has a great location and overlooks the Sacandaga river.

Leave the stresses of life behind and enjoy the tranquil river and nature all around you. Stay right here or use as a base to see the many sights and activities the Adirondacks has to offer.

The quaint village of Northville is only 4 miles away for all your basic needs, including restaurants, groceries, gas, shopping..etc.

Lapland Lake cross country ski resort is only 6 miles away.

Oak mountain downhill is 35 minutes from the cabin. Gore mountain is 1 hour away.

Saratoga Springs and Lake George are only 45 minutes away.

The cabin is furnished with a full kitchen, a wonderfully comfortable king bed, a pretty gas fireplace, central heat, air conditioned, flat screen satellite HD TV with over 200 channels,dvd player, dvds, stereo, Internet access,land line with complimentary long distance (USA only), Verizon cell service, washer ,dryer, gas grill or charcoal grill, love swing, and an outdoor fire pit with plenty of free wood.

Enjoy the peaceful river views from the big comfortable rocking chairs on the covered porch.

Get away from the hectic lifestyle for awhile and explore the beautiful and adventuress Adirondacks!

The cabin is so cozy, comfortable and inviting. You may chose to stay in, unwind and relax as you enjoy the beauty of the river and nature right outside your window

It's truly a very special spot, and would make a wonderful gift to give to that 'special person' in your life!

If you are picky about your comfort and like all the amenities, this is the place to come to.

Call now and we'll be happy to book a reservation for you!

More Details
Hide Details

The love of nature and desire to be near water with peaceful surroundings has always been a dream of mine. After living in Ma all my life, I moved here to the beautiful Adirondacks in 2009 with my husband Doug.

Cheryl purchased this cabin in 2006

Doug and I have always had this crazy notion to find the most undesirable properties in dire need of rehabbing. We somehow have seen their potential, where most would have run away..fast!

When we first looked at this overgrown property with a very neglected, poorly laid out, run down cabin, we excitedly began brain storming on how to transform this ugly duckling into the peaceful, charming beauty it is now. The bigger the challenge the greater our motivation. With a lot of ideas, hard work and some hired carpenters, when the tasks were just too much. the dream was complete.The final result..a cozy,rustic, yet updated cabin with an exceptional view of the Sacandaga River.

We did all that while our home, and jobs were in MA. We lived in MA, but our hearts longed for the day we could make Northville (Benson) NY our home. Well...long story short, in 2009 we sold our home in MA and moved into the cabin while our home next door was being built. Ten months later we moved out of the cabin into our new home.

The cabin was just too special to not share with others so we decided to offer it as a vacation rental. Now into it's 4th successful year, our many very pleased, happy guests long to return. The numerous comments left in our guest book along with the rave reviews on the Home Away site speak for themselves.

We strive to make vacations for each of our guests special, while creating wonderful memories, which will leave our guests longing to return again! The many amenities along with it's appealing, comfortable furnishings, peaceful river views with nature surrounding the cabin make this a unique vacation destination.

We welcome you to experience this wonderful exceptionally cozy, romantic cabin as so many guests have already!

36 Reviews of Property 329835 in Northville, New York

peaceful, river front adirondack get-away! king bed, wifi, rocking porch, & more
average rating of 4.9444447 based on 36 reviews
business
peaceful, river front adirondack get-away! king bed, wifi, rocking porch, & more
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p329835
+1 518-863-4585
Northville Great Sacandaga Lake
5

Vacation Rental 32985

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
My original review was returned as "containing information of a personal nature" so I'll try be more concise. Our one-week stay was just perfect. Everything was exactly as described in the ad posted on HomeAway. The location, layout, amenities and cordiality of the hosts was even better than we had anticipated.
Everything was spotlessly clean, delightfully decorated, and supplied with everything a person would need, with the exception of food, a few clothes, and your toothbrush. We would recommend this location to any of our friends and family without hesitation.
Outdoor activities included hiking, boating, sightseeing, and soaking up the peace and quiet of the location in the rocking chairs provided on the front porch, which also overlooks the Sacandaga River; a wonderful place for rest and relaxation as well as outdoor activites.
The small town of Northville, just a few miles away, provided access to dining, shopping and sight-seeing. The local people in town were friendly and helpful - a genuine small-town atmosphere. It was a perfect vacation in every respect, and we hope to return again.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
peaceful, river front adirondack get-away! king bed, wifi, rocking porch, & more
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p329835
+1 518-863-4585
Northville Great Sacandaga Lake
5

Our Adirondack getaway...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
We have busy schedules at work, so when the opportunity arose to get away for a few days, we took it! We have visited most areas of the Adirondack Park, but had never stayed in the Northville area. Doug and Cheryl's cabin was just as advertised...quiet and comfortable. We spent our days hiking, fishing and finding local waterfalls. The best part of each day, however, was settling in at the cabin in the evening with a good book or tv show. We found some nice old-fashioned shops in the area and some good restaurants. Doug and Cheryl made us feel very welcome and provided everything we needed for our short stay. We'll be back!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
peaceful, river front adirondack get-away! king bed, wifi, rocking porch, & more
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p329835
+1 518-863-4585
Northville Great Sacandaga Lake
5

Perfect for 2

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
My husband and I (and our dog) have rented quite a few cabins in the Adirondaks, so we have pretty high expectations, and this one did not disappoint. It's the perfect size for a couple and has all the accommodations you could want when away from home. There's lots of hiking in the area; we did the Pine Orchard trail and would have done some of the falls too if the weather was a little better. It's nice and quiet, and couldn't have been more comfortable. We had the perfect long weekend here. Thinking about returning in the future with another couple and letting them rent the studio next door. It'd be a great way to get away together but still have our own space. FYI, it's only about a 4 hour drive from Long Island. Oh yeah, this was a last minute decision and Cheryl made booking a breeze. In the past I've always had to mail a check, wait for a contract to come via snail mail, then wait some more while it was mailed back. This time I sent an e-mail inquiry late one night and it was all booked and paid for the next morning. Couldn't have been easier!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
peaceful, river front adirondack get-away! king bed, wifi, rocking porch, & more
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p329835
+1 518-863-4585
Northville Great Sacandaga Lake
Worcester MA
5

Great cabin and great Adirondack jumping off spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
Great cabin, great location. Even heat throughout. Well stocked kitchen, made all our meals right there. Deer in front yard, snowshoeing right up the road, XC skiing nearby at Lapland Lake. Owners Doug & Cheryl made sure everything was perfect. Thanks!
Owner's Response: Thank you for the nice review. We do strive to make each guests stay a memorable one and that the cabin has everything one could want. We do appreciate all the compliments, whether it's how nicely decorated or the extremely comfortable bed or how truly peaceful and beautiful the cabin and its surroundings are! That makes all our efforts worthwhile! There's so much to see and do here. It's a treat to stay at the "Cabin on the River" whether it's used as a base for seeking out the numerous activities or staying right at the cabin and getting some well needed peace and relaxation. Every season is beautiful and brings different things to do so we do hope you'll be back again. Thanks again.
Warmest Wishes,
Doug and Cheryl
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
peaceful, river front adirondack get-away! king bed, wifi, rocking porch, & more
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p329835
+1 518-863-4585
Northville Great Sacandaga Lake
4

Great place

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
If you want peace and quiet this is the cabin to rent. The place is adorable and has everything one needs. I highly recommend this cozy cabin for those seeking to get away from it all. You'll enjoy the birds at your window and the deer at your front steps. Doug and Cheryl were more than accommodating.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
peaceful, river front adirondack get-away! king bed, wifi, rocking porch, & more
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p329835
+1 518-863-4585
Northville Great Sacandaga Lake
astoria, ny
5

Our New Years Getaway...again!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
Our second year at Cheryl and Dougs lovely cabin on the Sacandaga river. We are going to make this a year end, new year tradition...a wonderful place to unwind, get away from the city and enjoy the beautiful nature of the Adirondack Mountains. We spent a few days relaxing, taking walks, reading, and some nice drives around the area. We hiked to Augers Falls, which although a very short hike, was challenging with ice and snow on the graond..but very rewarding.
We love the cabin and the pellet stove, looking out the large picture windows onto the river, seeing the birds at the feeders...so cozy. We look forward to another visit. Thanks Cheryl and Doug for your hospitality...have a great year!
Owner's Response: Thanks Allen and Gisi,

We enjoyed having you both up again and we're so glad you're going to make it a New Year's tradition It's beautiful every season so you're welcome any time!

Warmest wishes for the new year,
Doug and Cheryl
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
peaceful, river front adirondack get-away! king bed, wifi, rocking porch, & more
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p329835
+1 518-863-4585
Northville Great Sacandaga Lake
Bay Shore, New York
5

What more can you ask for?

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
Our original plan was to spend the week cross-country skiing at Lapland and doing some snow-shoeing in the area. We decided this cabin was a much more affordable option then staying at Lapland. This turned out to be good decision for more reasons then price. First there was no snow! But that turned out to not be a problem since we love to hike and you can't do better then hiking in the Adirondacks this time of year, especially if you like solitude (just be sure to bring snow cleats or yaktraks). Second and most important, Cheryl and Doug are gracious hosts and they have outfitted this charming cabin with everything you could possibly need. The view from the cabin of the river is gorgeous and you can go on some wonderful hikes right out the backdoor. We will be back!
Owner's Response: Dear Peter and Lenora,

Thanks for the great review. After you told us about needing snow cleats, we decided to purchase some and have them at the cabin for our renters to use. Thanks for giving us the idea. It was a pleasure to meet you and we're happy you enjoyed your time here (in spite of the lack of snow). Hope you'll return again in the future. Warmest wishes, Doug and Cheryl
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
peaceful, river front adirondack get-away! king bed, wifi, rocking porch, & more
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p329835
+1 518-863-4585
Northville Great Sacandaga Lake
4

Great stay

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
My wife and I spent 2 days at this Northville cabin between Christmas and New Year's. We loved the cabin which features outstanding decorating and gives the cabin a rustic and very comfortable feel. Great access to TV, and DVD - two flat screen TV's and dish TV. We have never slept in such a fantastic bed! Both my wife and I are prone to muscular back pain and we found this bed unbelievably supple. Our only complaint, and it's a minor one, was that the heat was adequate, but uneven, in places where the heat vents had been installed up high rather than down low.
We enjoyed the well marked hiking trails up behind the cabin. The area was quiet and access to the town was quick and simple. We ate at the Timeless Tavern twice and enjoyed the food and service on both occasions. There was a bar/restaurant right on the water which we discovered just as we were leaving but it looked really nice. We definitely recommend this cabin for it's comfort and great rustic vibe !
Owner's Response: Dear David,

Thanks for the nice review. We really appreciate getting feed back because it helps us to know what our guests likes and dislikes are. With two sources of heat offered (pellet stove and gas forced hot air) we were surprised to hear that it was an issue. We're glad that you had an enjoyable "get-away" and hope to see you again sometime. Best regards, Doug and Cheryl
business
peaceful, river front adirondack get-away! king bed, wifi, rocking porch, & more
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p329835
+1 518-863-4585
Northville Great Sacandaga Lake
5

Adorable!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
My boyfriend and I stayed at the cabin over Christmas. The place is adorable! We rented the cabin to escape Manhattan and the silence was a breath of fresh air. Our dog loved it! The place has such a warm feeling, it's very well kept, very clean and tidy and at the same time feels like home when you walk through the door. The decor is lovely and the bed is SO comfortable - would definitely recommend this place to others and hope to return in the summer.
business
peaceful, river front adirondack get-away! king bed, wifi, rocking porch, & more
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p329835
+1 518-863-4585
Northville Great Sacandaga Lake
5

Picturesque Perfection

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
Our stay could not have been better. The cabin is simply wonderful, with all the conveniences of home, in a georgous setting. The owners (who live right next door) were totally accomodating but also respected our privacy. Can't wait to visit again.