Carmel cottage rental - Front entry and courtyard to private, gated property.
Front entry and courtyard to private, gated property.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Carmel Cottage Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms, Sleeping Nook, 2 Bathrooms. Sleeps 5. In heart of Carmel-By-The-Sea

Nestled in a canopy of Monterey oaks and pines, Dove Cottage provides a tranquil environment ideally located in the heart of Carmel-By-The-Sea. The craftsman cottage was built in 1931 as Carmel was becoming a popular destination for artists and writers from San Francisco, who spent their summers here. Upon entering you will be welcomed with a sophisticated but relaxed European ambiance. This is my second home, which is reflected in the fine furniture, French antiques and quality design throughout. Located within the desirable 'golden rectangle', it's only a short walk to shops, restaurants, art galleries and Carmel's silky white, sandy beaches.

Book now to get the standard rental rate for these upcoming events:

AT&T Pro Am at Pebble Beach

Carmel Bach Festival

Concours d' Elegance

As a designer I renovated Dove Cottage to offer all the modern amenities, while retaining the integrity of this historic artist's cottage which was built in 1931. At that time Carmel-By-The-Sea was frequented by writers and painters from San Francisco who spent their summers here. Dove Cottage is my second home and it retains a wonderful 'spirit of place'. I welcome you to my home and hope that your stay in Carmel is memorable.

More Details
Hide Details

52 Reviews of Property 329395 in Carmel, California

Dove Cottage in Heart of Carmel. Stroll to village and beach. Peaceful retreat.
average rating of 4.96875 based on 52 reviews
business
Dove Cottage in Heart of Carmel. Stroll to village and beach. Peaceful retreat.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p329395
(818) 980-2119 (California, USA)
Carmel Central Coast California
5

Very Cozy!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
We loved staying at Dove Cottage! Its a very cute, clean, and cozy home that fits four very comfortably. We had a lovely time and would definitely recommend this home to anyone coming to Carmel.
business
Dove Cottage in Heart of Carmel. Stroll to village and beach. Peaceful retreat.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p329395
(818) 980-2119 (California, USA)
Carmel Central Coast California
Portland, OR
5

Darling Dove Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Dove Cottage is cozy, beautiful and very comfortable. The beds and linens are high quality. All of the furniture is the type that you can sink into to read a great novel. This is the perfect little gem in Carmel. Enjoy your visit, we did.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Dove Cottage in Heart of Carmel. Stroll to village and beach. Peaceful retreat.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p329395
(818) 980-2119 (California, USA)
Carmel Central Coast California
Clarksville, Maryland
5

A Long Needed and Excellent Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
My wife and I stayed at Dove Cottage between February 29 and March 10, 2012. Overall, our stay was excellent. The cottage was exceptionally clean and well appointed. It was cozy enough for the chilly nights, and yet open enough to bring in the day time beauty. We found it quiet and abosolutely what we were looking for. Highly recommend it. Amy delivered as promised and represented. Hopefuly, we will be back again next year.

Bart and Mary
Clarksville, Maryland
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your lovely review. I hope you will come again.

Amy
business
Dove Cottage in Heart of Carmel. Stroll to village and beach. Peaceful retreat.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p329395
(818) 980-2119 (California, USA)
Carmel Central Coast California
5

Dove Cottage Weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
If you want an impossibly charming, quiet, and cozy stay in Carmel, this is the place for you. Dove Cottage was particularly good for us because we had our grown daughter with us so the 2nd bedroom was perfect. It might not work as well if you are two couples and likely to fight over the master bedroom as there is a size discrepancy.
Every morning we would get up and one of us would exclaim, "I love this place!" My absolute favorite spot for reading was the day bed in the living room.
Amy was very helpful. We wanted for nothing as the house was fully equipped.
We can hardly wait to return.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Dove Cottage in Heart of Carmel. Stroll to village and beach. Peaceful retreat.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p329395
(818) 980-2119 (California, USA)
Carmel Central Coast California
San Diego, CA
5

January week in the sun

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
Dove Cottage was lovely and relaxing. Amy was very responsive when we had a question. As always, Carmel's beaches and forests were stunning. Though the cottage is on a busy street, the front courtyard hides that beautifully.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Dove Cottage in Heart of Carmel. Stroll to village and beach. Peaceful retreat.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p329395
(818) 980-2119 (California, USA)
Carmel Central Coast California
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Loved Dove Cottage

  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
We fell in love with Dove Cottage, Carmel & The Big Sur and hope to return.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Dove Cottage in Heart of Carmel. Stroll to village and beach. Peaceful retreat.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p329395
(818) 980-2119 (California, USA)
Carmel Central Coast California
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Adorable Dove Cottage

  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
We had a wonderful time in Carmel and especially because we could come home to adorable Dove Cottage. We found everything we needed and were truly comfortable here. Thank you so much.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Dove Cottage in Heart of Carmel. Stroll to village and beach. Peaceful retreat.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p329395
(818) 980-2119 (California, USA)
Carmel Central Coast California
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Wonderful Vacation

  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
We had such a wonderful vacation in Carmel, thanks in part to the endearing home you have shared with us. We fell in love with Dove Cottage upon opening the front door! You have made Dove Cottage such an inviting sanctuary. The ambiance, the amenities, the location, the decor and the creature comforts are truly the best! Thank you so much. We will remember our time here with a smile on our faces and happiness in our hearts.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Dove Cottage in Heart of Carmel. Stroll to village and beach. Peaceful retreat.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p329395
(818) 980-2119 (California, USA)
Carmel Central Coast California
Maine
5

Wonderful Place to Stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
We stayed at Dove Cottage for a week in October and were so very pleased with our choice of accommodations. The location was wonderful! Easy drive to all the local sites: Carmel Mission, Mission Ranch, Point Lobos, Monterey (including wonderful Aquarium!), wine tasting. We walked to town several times (10 minutes or so). The walk home includes climbing some hills, but that is the beauty of Carmel and the walk erased all the guilt of having eaten heartily at local restaurants. We were two couples. The space was fine, though I would agree with another review that I saw that said it is not a 50/50 split. One bedroom is substantially smaller than the other, though still comfy. The kitchen was well equipped. The breakfast nook was so cozy for eating or just working on our computers. We dined on the deck several times and felt like we might be in a movie. The furniture throughout is very nice - beautiful interior decor. We had two cars between us and used the carport and on-street parking - never a problem. A wonderful place to stay - I would thoroughly recommend Dove Cottage!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Dove Cottage in Heart of Carmel. Stroll to village and beach. Peaceful retreat.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p329395
(818) 980-2119 (California, USA)
Carmel Central Coast California
Seattle
4

Great Place

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Spent the Concours d'Elegance week at Dove Cottage.
Highs: Excellent decor, fully stocked kitchen which included many selections of booze. Amy communicated well. Master suite delightful. High Speed internet was actually high speed. Very comfortable place for the week. Decorated like a magazine cover.
Lows: Not an easy walk to village (steep hills), second bedroom/bath a little tight, on a busy street. If sharing with another couple hard to justify splitting costs since the master is three times the size of the second bedroom.

Overall a very cute and well cared for home. We had a great time.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3