Harlem townhome rental - Living Room
Living Room
 
  • BedroomsStudio
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Harlem Townhome Rental Photos and Description
Approx 710sf/65m2, newly renovated, large studio, 1 full bathroom, sleeps 4

Newly renovated suite in turn-of-the-century landmark brownstone on a tree-lined historic block. Modern amenities include central air conditioning, new stainless steel appliances (including microwave, dishwasher and icemaker), flat screen TV, cable, DVD, iPod dock stereo, wireless Internet access and modernist furniture against a backdrop of traditional architecture including original plaster moldings, original decorative fireplace and hard wood floors. The brownstone is located in fabled Striver's Row in Harlem, an area of Manhattan with unparalleled history that is alive with revitalization. The Abyssinian Baptist Church, City College, the Lenox Lounge, St. Nick's Jazz Pub and the Apollo Theater are a few nearby highlights. The neighborhood also includes all conveniences, including Starbucks, a supermarket, restaurants, banks and the subway. The subway station is approx 500m away. Columbus Circle is about 15 min away and downtown is about 25 min away using the express subway.

15 Reviews of Property 327520 in Harlem, New York

Boutique suite in landmarked brownstone on Striver's Row in Manhattan
average rating of 4.2 based on 15 reviews
business
Boutique suite in landmarked brownstone on Striver's Row in Manhattan
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p327520
+1 917 209-9534
Harlem Manhattan
4

Convenient Place to stay

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
Great place to stay because it includes all necessary living amenities and conveniently located near groceries, deli, subway, coffee, laundry, etc. Make sure to bring plenty of warm clothes during cold nights!
Helpful votes: 10/11
business
Boutique suite in landmarked brownstone on Striver's Row in Manhattan
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p327520
+1 917 209-9534
Harlem Manhattan
4

A very good deal in Harlem!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
Perfect for two people (a couple) this appartment is very clean and tidy. It is located close to the 135th subway stations in a modest but very calm neibourhood. It took around 30 minutes to go downtown and around 5-10 minutes to reach the closest station.
We recommend this accommodation for young couples willing to stay few days in NYC without spending too much money in hotels.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 16/16
business
Boutique suite in landmarked brownstone on Striver's Row in Manhattan
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p327520
+1 917 209-9534
Harlem Manhattan
London
3

Clean, tidy and did the job

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: May 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
We stayed here for 4 nights. This was our first time in the US and this is the first place that we stayed at. We arrived late in the evening and I think clearer instructions should be given as to how to get into the building. As it was, we spent 10 minutes on the door step working out what to do with the doorbells. We tried the ground floor and the one with the owners name on but to no avail. It was by chance we pressed the remaining doorbell with the hope that a neighbour would let us in. This turned out to be the owners place and he duly let us in.

Once in, the place looked clean and tidy and spacious enough for the needs of two people. The kitchen, living space and bedroom are all in the same room like a bed sit arrangement with a shower and toilet in a separate room through a short corridor through the kitchen in one long oblong shape.

The street itself is reasonably quiet and the nearest subway station is a 5/10 minute walk away. To get into the centre of New York it takes about 20 minutes once you’ve switched trains to an express train from the 135th subway station. There is a large supermarket which is about a 10 minute walk in the opposite direction to the subway and all you need for your stay can be purchased here. There are also fast food outlets like McDonalds nearby.

The kitchen is a reasonable size but could do with a few more utensils in there. For example a kettle would be useful particularly if English people are staying and would enjoy a cup of tea. We made do with boiling a pan of water. Also a tin opener would be handy. We bought a few tins of things but had no way of opening them.

The room also has a TV, DVD player and free Wi-Fi which we found extremely useful. Staying in an area like this allows you to see a bit more of the outlying areas of the main city centre. Central Park can also be reached on foot from here if you fancy some exercise. Again, this option gives you the chance to see more of Harlem as you head towards New York City.

This is a cheaper option than most hotels and not for everyone and bear in mind you will be using the subway a lot. There isn’t a great deal of night life in the area either.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car
Owner's Response: Unfortunately, our guests arrived over one hour later than the time provided by them and hence the confusion. The kitchen had a can opener that may have been misplaced by a prior guest. There is now a new can opener and a kettle. Had the guests requested these items during their stay they would have been supplied promptly. The studio is as advertised in terms of space, furniture and services.
Helpful votes: 49/51
business
Boutique suite in landmarked brownstone on Striver's Row in Manhattan
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p327520
+1 917 209-9534
Harlem Manhattan
5

Perfetto per una coppia di giovani studenti

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
L'appartamento é molto carino, rispecchia esattamente le foto. Il quartiere è molto tranquillo, e la metropolitana si raggiunge facilmente. Il proprietario è molto simpatico e disponibile, risponde immediatamente al minimo problema e cerca sempre di venire in contro alle esigenze della clientela. Consigliatissimo.
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Boutique suite in landmarked brownstone on Striver's Row in Manhattan
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p327520
+1 917 209-9534
Harlem Manhattan
4

Strategic location and safe area

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
My boyfriend and me stayed in the Abe's apt for about ten days and we were very good. The house is easily reachable from the airport, even moving by public transport. Upon our arrival, the owner was waiting for us, he was very kind and gave us very detailed information on the house and the area. The house is clean, big enough and well organized, has all the accessories to make your stay enjoyable. The kitchen is big and well stocked, the bathroom is large and very comfortable. There is the possibility of using the washing machine and dryer in the basement. The landlord was always available for every need.
The metro is very close, five minutes walk away, and allows you to reach every part and return at night in a very safe way . Very close to the apartment there is an always open bakery that makes wonderful pies and a very good restaurant with south specialties dishes. Furthermore, with a half-hour walk you may get Central Park. Very recomended!
Helpful votes: 7/8