Woodstock house rental - Panoramic of the entire house from the backyard.
Panoramic of the entire house from the backyard.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 4 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Woodstock House Rental Photos and Description
Private, modern, 3 bedrooms, 4 baths, (Sleeps 6), screened dining Gazebo.

Come enjoy our beautiful, modern house built around a geodesic dome on 2 private acres located within walking distance from downtown Woodstock.

The house is sunny, quiet and lofty, warm and inviting with nature views from every window. This architectural gem is loaded with every modern amenity and luxury you need for a relaxing stay or working vacation: Fully-loaded kitchen with Viking & Bosch appliances, 2-person Jacuzzi tub, steam shower in the master bath, wood stove, central AC & heat, entertainment center, iPod dock, 6’ Projection TV with Bose sound, cable and a 2-station office loft with high speed Wi Fi and unlimited domestic telephone.

Outdoors, there's a patio, BBQ, a large yard, hammocks & fully screened dining gazebo overlooking acres of open fields with frequent wildlife visits. The property is so beautiful and serene you may never want to leave.

The Dome + The House:

This truly unique modern house was recently built around an original 30' geodesic dome nestled in rock outcroppings and overlooking acres of lovely open fields.

The Dome houses the kitchen, dining, woodstove and a living room/entertainment center with a 6' projection TV with cable, DvdR and Bose sound system plus more within. The house wing has a Great Room with a fireplace overlooking the fields and 3 bedrooms laid out on 2 levels, accessible by a beautiful stair case. The master bedroom has soaring ceilings and windows, a fireplace, a steam shower and a large walk in closet.

For those who can’t leave work behind, there is an office loft with 2 workstations, Wi Fi, and a land-line with unlimited domestic long-distance.

We provide all you need for a comfortable stay: linens, teas, oils, spices, paper products and wood for the woodstove.

The property is so well-appointed and inspiring you may never want to leave!

Woodstock + Catskills:

If you ever decide to leave DomeHouse, you're an easy walk to the heart of Woodstock village, filled with the energy of artists, musicians, craftspeople, and visitors celebrating an appreciation for fine food, art, books, music, and nature.

Explore all that Woodstock has to offer: historic Byrdcliffe Arts Colony, RiverRock Health Spa, Zen Mountain Monastery, Tinker Street Cinema, Woodstock Golf Club, yoga, meditation, the Emerson Spa, Levon Helms Midnight Ramble, Woodstock Film Festival, Maverick Concerts, and all Woodstock town restaurants, shopping, galleries and services.

The Catskills offer many activities: Amazing cycling on country roads, fishing, apple picking, farmstands, antiquing, tubing down the Esopus, hiking in the Forever Wild Catskill Mountains, and great skiing at Hunter & Belleayre Mountains, as well as a great local sledding hill.

Our favorite swimming hole is minutes away.

Location Location Location:

Give your car a break! This is the perfect location for strolling into Woodstock Village, its a 3 minute walk.

For New Yorkers who don't drive, take Trailways bus service from Port Authority to the Woodstock bus stop, just 3 minutes walk to the DomeHouse.

Keywords: House, Dome, private, modern, walking, Woodstock

More Details
Hide Details

19 Reviews of Property 327517 in Woodstock, New York

'I found myself in a strange and wondrous place......'
average rating of 4.923077 based on 19 reviews
business
'I found myself in a strange and wondrous place......'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p327517vb
++1 8457502688
Woodstock Catskills
5

Amazing and beautiful home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
This house is even more beautiful than the pictures and is even bigger than I thought. Everything is represented accurately in the listing for sure. It was perfectly prepared and Jana was very helpful and responsive with questions.

The flaws were very minimal (the bed in the master bedroom is harder than I prefer, there are no blinds in the master bedroom, it is hard to see the tv in the sunlight if you want to watch tv) and should really be ignored given how absolutely amazing this house is.
Owner's Response: Thanks for the great feedback Amanda! It was a pleasure having you.
My apologies for the master mattress comfort. We actually have a feathertop that is heavenly, but the renter before you had a feather allergy so we had removed it for them and then overlooked getting it back in place.
As noted in the houseguide, the master windows are simply too large to cover so we provide complimentary sleep masks for late sleepers and the Domes 6' projection TV is best viewed later on a sunny day. As an alternative, the master bedroom has a 30" standard screen there.
business
'I found myself in a strange and wondrous place......'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p327517vb
++1 8457502688
Woodstock Catskills
Rye Brook, New York
5

Perfect Escape

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
My husband and I take weekend trips to the Catskills a lot. We keep coming back to Woodstock and have rented the Dome House several times. It is our favorite and whenever we come, we wish we never had to leave.

It is always clean, comfortable and beautifully maintained. The giant yard is always filled with deer and the gazebo is perfect for hanging out with friends. The whirlpool tub and shower are great and the beds are very comfy. We have brought our friends and our dog and never had anything but a great experience.

We got "snowed in" there last Halloween, and with all the fireplaces, projector TV, full kitchen and relaxing setting, we were glad we had to cancel our plans and stay in entertaining.

I really can not say enough good things about the Dome House. For short stays or long stays, it is really hard to beat.

-Robyn Pring
business
'I found myself in a strange and wondrous place......'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p327517vb
++1 8457502688
Woodstock Catskills
5

Best house we've rented, hands down.

Best house we've rented, hands down.
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
We've rented many properties upstate over the past couple years, and, despite dozens of photos and detailed inquiries, we're almost always disappointed by some aspect of the house that renders it just slightly uncomfortable - whether that's a tiny kitchen, lack of a comfy couch, noisy neighbors, or dingy bathrooms. The Domehouse was truly a *dream* vacation house - every little detail made it so fantastically comfortable, enjoyable, and accommodating to our lifestyle. Here are the biggest points:

1. The large "dome" contains the living area, dining area, kitchen, and a dedicated bathroom - meaning that, if one person's cooking while the other is reading or watching TV, you can still enjoy each other's company. Very key to a happy vacation!

2. The master bedroom is very private and separate from the other two bedrooms, so when we spontaneously had guests stay over one night, it didn't feel like they were invading "our space".

3. While walking distance to town, the house feels entirely private and secluded. Little to no noise, except for the occasional scampering of deer through the field in the backyard.

4. Four bathrooms. FOUR. BATHROOMS! And the master bath is positively enormous, and brand sparkling new.

5. The kitchen is fantastic. We cook a LOT when we're on vacation, so this is a critical feature for us. Rarely do we find a house that has such high end appliances, let alone all the culinary tools one could possibly want. Chefs' knives? Check. Gas range? Check. Food processor? Check. Proper wine glasses? Check!

The *one* tiny tiny detail worth pointing out is that the master bedroom has massive, floor to ceiling, east facing windows, without any shades. We happen to be early risers, so we were happy to wake up to the blazing 6:30am sunshine - but probably not ideal for those who prefer to sleep in...

But again, I can't recommend this house enough. We have stayed all over the Hudson and Catskills, and this is the one house that I literally cannot wait to come back to.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Always happy to hear that the property is so appreciated and thoroughly enjoyed.
For late sleepers, we now offer complimentary sleep masks!
business
'I found myself in a strange and wondrous place......'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p327517vb
++1 8457502688
Woodstock Catskills
5

dome house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
We spent a wonderful month in the Dome house this summer. It’s a delightful, light-filled home in the style of Frank Lloyd Wright. The location was perfect for us: we felt a country privacy with a back yard ending in a field and bordered by trees and yet we were just a short walk into Woodstock. A few times we walked to the center of town, and caught a Trailways into the city.
The house is thoughtfully maintained by Jana who was so kind to us when we thought the generator was some natural disaster(we were thrilled to have it when Irene took the power out) and was kept sparkling under Christa’s care.
It’s a beautiful and homey house; the books, the records, the art made us feel such a nice bond with the owners.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'I found myself in a strange and wondrous place......'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p327517vb
++1 8457502688
Woodstock Catskills
NY, NY
5

Great Unique House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 21, 2010
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
My friends and I had a wonderful stay at this spacious, uniquely designed Woodstock home. The dome annex was our favorite part because of the great entertainment system, projector screen and island kitchen. The house is situated minutes away from the town and has a sprawling backyard.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'I found myself in a strange and wondrous place......'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p327517vb
++1 8457502688
Woodstock Catskills
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Beyond....

  • Submitted: Dec 18, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
We loved this house! The attention to detail was above and beyond our expectations. Warm & immaculate. We will be back!
business
'I found myself in a strange and wondrous place......'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p327517vb
++1 8457502688
Woodstock Catskills
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Domehouse!

  • Submitted: Dec 18, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
We hope to own this house someday! We had a wonderful weekend in this very special geodesic dome.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'I found myself in a strange and wondrous place......'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p327517vb
++1 8457502688
Woodstock Catskills
NYC
5

great vacation spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
We had a great vacation at the house. it was perfect! close to town but feels like you are in the country. All the rooms were nicely furnished and pristine. The shower steam room was very luxurious. The dome room is cozy and a great place to relax and to cook. We loved it and look forward to returning.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'I found myself in a strange and wondrous place......'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p327517vb
++1 8457502688
Woodstock Catskills
Brooklyn, NY
4

Lovely stay

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
Our stay at the Domehouse was very pleasant. The house was large, clean, and very nicely maintained. We didn't hear neighbors once -- the area is very quiet.

The kitchen and primary living area were located in the geodesic dome itself, which was large and open. The kitchen was well-stocked with equipment and quite clean. Some kitchen items could have been newer, but this is a minor quibble.

The dome's projection screen worked well, though as stated in the home's manual it would be hard to view in bright daylight.

The bedrooms were tidy and linens were spotless. I would have preferred down pillows at this price range, but it is a minor quibble. The master bedroom suite was enormous and has a glass-enclosed shower room that was very special.

The grounds were likewise well-maintained, the grass neatly cut. The screened-in porch was a bit dusty (it is outside, but might have been better cleaned before we came), but still the hammock was very enjoyable and one could hold a small dinner out there, though we didn't.

Location is terrific -- we walked to town, but still felt "away" enough, esp. since the windows throughout the house face the rear grounds, and you have complete privacy (no other houses visible).

WiFi was very useful, worked throughout house. Neat range of stocked books / games, though tending to older material on both fronts.

Cons: No window treatments, which meant early rising. Fine for us with a small child, but probably not for everyone. (Also, we had to improvise a sleeping space for our daughter, who loves the dark.) Decor was somewhat dated (perhaps late 80s/90s), though not in any kind of "cheesy" way. Didn't care for driveway bell since it could wake up a sleeping child as cars arrive/leave. No pool for those hotter days, but we had cool weather so we didn't miss it.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We installed window coverings on 2 of the bedrooms and the driveway bell has been turned into a soft tone so renters will still feel comfortable knowing when someone arrives on the property but it shouldnt wake a sleeping baby. The books, records and decor we like to think of as 'retro' for those that can appreciate.
Helpful votes: 7/7