Fairplay cabin rental - The Fairplay Chalet
The Fairplay Chalet
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Fairplay Cabin Rental Photos and Description
3 sleeping areas, 3 baths, one on each level, sleeps 5-6 comfortably

Location, Location, Location:

The Fairplay Chalet is located between Fairplay and Alma in the Valley of the Sun at 11,100 feet in elevation. Off the beaten path for a true peaceful mountain experience, yet close to mountain amenities. Less than two hours from Colorado Springs and Denver, it's only 23 miles to Breckenridge, and 35 miles to Buena Vista. Added bonus: the cabin location is easily accessed via Hwy 285, avoiding travel on the overcrowded I-70 mountain route.

Skiing:

Breckenridge ski resort is 25 miles away. Eight other ski resorts ranging from world class to small family friendly resorts are within a 45 minute-1.5 hour drive. (Beaver Creek, Vail, Loveland, Keystone, Copper Mountain, A-Basin, Monarch and Ski Cooper)

Hiking/Snowshoeing/Four-Wheeling/Snowmobiling/Cross Country Skiing/Biking/Fishing/Rafting/Kayaking: are just some of the other alpine activities within 5-35 miles away.

About the Owners of The Fairplay Chalet:: The Fairplay Chalet is a dream come true for two professionals who longed for a peaceful and relaxing weekend getaway close to great ski resorts, hiking and fishing yet within easy driving distance from the Denver Metro area. After searching hundreds of properties in Summit and Park Counties, the owners purchased land in South Park and set out to build their dream cabin in the mountains, which they finished themselves in 2008.

The fruits of this laborious effort - an aesthetically appealing mountain retreat that is too good not to share with others. The large deck is great for sipping morning coffee and bird watching. In the evening, relax by one of two fireplaces with a cup of hot cocoa. Read a book in the Loft Library. Play foosball, shuffleboard, darts or watch a movie. After relaxing in the cabin, step outside to enjoy numerous activities in winter and summer from snowshoeing and sledding out the back door to hiking 14ers and fishing gold medal waters just minutes away.

Colorado Towns Surrounding The Fairplay Chalet:: Fairplay:

Quaint town with several summer festivals, the Fairplay Fitness Center, South Park City Museum, bowling alley, grocery store, mountain shops and casual dining.

Alma:

Funky offbeat mountain town featuring music festivals, shops and a couple of bars/restaurants.

Buena Vista:

Art galleries, restaurants, shops, hiking, fishing, hot springs, rafting, kayaking, hot springs.

Summit County:

The towns of Breckenridge, Frisco, Dillon, Silverthorne and Keystone are all within a 30-55 minute drive offering fine dining, mountain shops, and all of the above mentioned outdoor activities.

Advantages of Staying at The Fairplay Chalet:: Avoid the congested I-70 corridor by traveling Hwy 285;

Drive a little (to ski resorts) and save a lot: unmatched value compared to Summit County properties;

Experience the Colorado mountains and serenity as it's meant to be enjoyed away from the hustle and bustle of a ski resort town;

For more photos and information, check out the owner's website at www.thefairplaychalet.com

More Details
Hide Details

21 Reviews of Property 326250 in Fairplay, Colorado

The Perfect Mountain Getaway - THE FAIRPLAY CHALET
average rating of 5.0 based on 21 reviews
business
The Perfect Mountain Getaway - THE FAIRPLAY CHALET
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p326250
+1 303 5480184
Fairplay South Central Colorado
MI
5

Chalet Charm

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
The Fairplay Chalet was exactly as it was described with lots of amenities. It was very clean and excellent customer service. I recommend it to any one who wants to experience real colorado high country.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
The Perfect Mountain Getaway - THE FAIRPLAY CHALET
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p326250
+1 303 5480184
Fairplay South Central Colorado
Wichita Falls, Texas
5

The perfect get-a-way

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
My husband and I decided to treat our adult children and their partners to a vacation away from the Texas heat. I found this place online and decided to take a chance on the Fairplay Chalet, but I was definitely worried the pictures may not be reality. We found out the pictures didn't do justice to what we found... the home is perfect. The owners have decorated it to perfection; the location is convenient to lots of activities, yet isolated enough to feel peaceful. We went to Buena Vista for whitewater rafting and then to Platte Ranch for horseback riding. Our five day vacation in Fairplay will go down as our best yet. Well worth the price of rental for the chalet!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
The Perfect Mountain Getaway - THE FAIRPLAY CHALET
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p326250
+1 303 5480184
Fairplay South Central Colorado
Quincy IL
5

Girls Get-a-way to Fairplay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
We chose this destination for an extended girls week-end get-a-way in early summer - we wanted something that was relaxing yet amenities within a short distance if needed. The cabin was perfect - the style and grace of the owners showing in every nook & cranny! They did not miss a beat of ambiance for the mountain venue!!! Very welcoming & warm, from the welcome note in the kitchen to the bathrobes in the bathrooms...

Breckenridge was a short drive away where we visited the spa, enjoyed a leisurely lunch and did a little shopping!

We also had dinner locally in Fairplay, Millonzi's (good food, moderate pricing, friendly people) and the bowling alley (Dorothy's famous tamales - very nice people - we even got our picture taken with Dorothy's husband - who made a very good margarita!!!) we attended church @ St Joseph's (where a lady stopped and invited us to come and pet the baby goats and have a glass of wine)!!!!
Friendly Fairplay!

We are planning on coming back again, and I believe that each of us will bring family members @ another time - it's a special place and I am very pleased that we took the recommendation of my daughter (who lives in Denver) to try this destination!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
The Perfect Mountain Getaway - THE FAIRPLAY CHALET
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p326250
+1 303 5480184
Fairplay South Central Colorado
Houston, TX
5

DREAM COME TRUE

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
I found the cabin through craigslist so I was a little skeptical. I've never done anything like this before but I'm very happy that I decided to go through. The pictures of the Chalet are beautiful but I think that they still don't do the place justice. I would recommend The Fairplay Chalet to anyone. As a matter of fact, I already have. If I had but only one word to describe it: PERFECT.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
The Perfect Mountain Getaway - THE FAIRPLAY CHALET
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p326250
+1 303 5480184
Fairplay South Central Colorado
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
-1

Amazing Stay

  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
Our experience at the Chalet was amazing. The cabin is beautiful inside. I couldn't dream of a better cabin, there's so much thought put into each room. Shannon and her husband are great hosts. A pipe burst when we arrive due to -35 degree whether a few nights before (not their fault, many other cabins had the same problem). Her husband and a friend drove 2+ hours out of the way to come to the cabin and fix it that day. You immediately feel at home at the cabin and they dummy proof it with labeling and easy instructions so that you can enjoy the cabin to the fullest. If you're concerned about the distance from the mountains, don't be. The reward of staying at such a peaceful and beautiful place compared to a hotel or crowded condo greatly outweighs the extra little drive. Bonus: Fairplay is a cool little town (check out The Brown Burrow Cafe) and we saw a beautiful snow rabbit hopping along the road at night.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
The Perfect Mountain Getaway - THE FAIRPLAY CHALET
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p326250
+1 303 5480184
Fairplay South Central Colorado
San Pedro, California
5

Fairplay Chalet is the Excellent play chalet.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2010
My family spent the week between Christmas and New Years at the Fairplay Chalet. We all (7) enjoyed ourselves. I loved the aspect of the cabin being in the treeline and in a quiet setting. The cabin was absolutely first rate. We enjoyed family time around the fire and played games in the basement game room. If we wanted to be around a lot of people, Breckenridge was just over the pass 35 minutes away.
I would come back again and definitely recommend it to all.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
The Perfect Mountain Getaway - THE FAIRPLAY CHALET
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p326250
+1 303 5480184
Fairplay South Central Colorado
Denver, Colorado
5

A Wonderful Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 6, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
We have stayed in this beautiful cabin several times and it's always a real treat. Restaurants are a short drive away in the quirky towns of Fairplay and Alma or drive a little further for more options to Breckenridge. But, with a full kitchen, hit the grocery store on the way up and you don't have to leave. The cabin was immaculate and the beds very comfy and cozy. Televisions with DVD and satellite are on the main floor and the game room. A fireplace keeps you cozy on the main floor and another in the master loft keeps you even more so while sleeping or taking a bubble bath in the huge soaking tub. The bedroom on the main floor has a door, but otherwise the sleeping arrangements are strategically arranged for privacy in the loft and fully-finished basement, but are open. If you like to sleep late, bring a sleep mask -- with such beautiful views, there are plenty of large windows to let in the morning sunshine. In the winter, we've gone snowshoeing and snowmobiling, and there's plenty of hiking in the summer. Breckenridge is the nearest ski resort, but head south and there are hot springs within a 45 minute drive. Shannon and Tim have put together a book of recommendations of restaurants, shopping and outdoor activities to help you plan your days and nights. Because Shannon and Tim stay here often, this cabin feels like a home and not just a vacation rental. You'll feel immediately at home too. This luxurious mountain home offers great views, peaceful days and nights and all the comforts of home. We can't wait to go back!

p.s. I don't believe there is internet access and cell phone coverage with Verizon is spotty while in the cabin, but a walk down the driveway usually solves the problem -- I think AT&T works in the cabin.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
The Perfect Mountain Getaway - THE FAIRPLAY CHALET
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p326250
+1 303 5480184
Fairplay South Central Colorado
Louisville, KY
5

Great vacation property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 4, 2010
  • Stayed: Feb 2010
We stayed at this cabin on a recent ski vacation and had a fantastic experience. The cabin was in mint condition and the available amenities were first rate. The pictures and description that are provided accurately reflect the property. We skied everyday and found it to be an easy drive back and forth to Breckenridge. We also dined in the nearby town and found the restaurants there to be very good. We particularly enjoyed the chance to view wildlife right out the door from the deck overlooking the property. I would definitely recommend this property to others and look forward to an opportunity to stay there again.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
The Perfect Mountain Getaway - THE FAIRPLAY CHALET
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p326250
+1 303 5480184
Fairplay South Central Colorado
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Top Shelf, all the way

  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
We had a fantastic time staying at the Fairplay Chalet. What a warm and inviting place to stay, done with wonderful flourish and an amazing attention to detail. We truly did not want to leave, and we cannot wait to stay there again soon. Thank you for your wonderful hospitality. A dream mountain property, to be sure.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
The Perfect Mountain Getaway - THE FAIRPLAY CHALET
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p326250
+1 303 5480184
Fairplay South Central Colorado
Littleton, CO
5

Comfort, Pampering, Privacy and Value!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
My husband and I chose the Fairplay Chalet as our weekend get-away one weekend in August. We wanted a place that was close enough to Denver to make the drive after work and close enough to some awesome 14-ers for some fun hiking. The Fairplay Chalet was a good pick! There are plenty of mountains to chose from in the area. We hiked Mt. Lincoln and we greatly appreciated the short drive. After the hike, we treated ourselves to a big meal made easy due to the fully stocked kitchen. We also watched some movies from the movie collection and spent quiet time on the deck as the day got old listening to the crickets and smelling the pines. Although there are houses in the area, we saw no one! I also took full advantage of the large soaking tub following the hike which was made even nicer with the fireplace right next to it! Towels and bedding are often overlooked at rental properties, not here! Both towels and bedding are the high quality stuff! It felt so good sinking into a fresh bed with quality linens and fluffy pillows. The Fairplay Chalet also offers quality silverware, flatware and soaps. I know this may sound small, but it's these little touches that made it feel like we were at a true retreat. Lastly, I commend the owners for some steller decorating! I love the mountain/cowboy theme. Everything from the furniture to the light fixtures to the towel racks to the faucets fit with the theme. Obviously, the owners take pride in the home and put much effort into making the Fairplay Chalet a comfortable place to get away.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4