Boothbay Harbor house rental - The Bold Colorful 1800s Waterfront Cape
The Bold Colorful 1800s Waterfront Cape
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps10
  • 4 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Boothbay Harbor House Rental Photos and Description
House, 5 Bedrooms, 4 Baths (Sleeps 9)

Come away from it all....catch your breath.

Six miles from the bustle of Boothbay Harbor is a peaceful retreat, set among rolling fields, meandering stone walls and richly colored perennial gardens........imagine a place that evokes your fondest memories....and brings your vacation dreams to bold colorful life....

Wake to birdsong in the apple trees and early morning fog on the Back River....then make yourself delicious coffee and a hearty, healthy breakfast in the fully-equipped kitchen in the fully renovated 1800s Cape.

Wander 15 acres of gardens and woodland trails....borrow a tandem, inflatable kayak to paddle with local seals....enjoy games, ride bikes, meet our friendly bald eagles and other critters.....watch the Maine painted turtles or listen to frogs on the freshwater pond......wander the park-like grounds.....take a cool dip in the river....

Refreshed, venture out into the Boothbay region to see whales, go lobstering, shop, view our many galleries, try some local restaurants and generally have a memorable visit. The Coastal Maine Botanical Garden is only 4 miles away! Or try hiking at any of the 13 preserves within 10 miles of this home.

At the end of the day, imagine coming ‘home’ to a snack and drink on the wrap-around porch....a good book in the hammock.....a sunset through the windows....and a long, delicious sleep in one of your five lovely bedrooms with private bath, luxurious bedding, paddle fans, cable TV, WiFi.

Or come home to a peaceful evening in one of your five elegant bedrooms with private bath, luxurious bedding, paddle fans, cable TV, WiFi....in the Farmhouse across the courtyard. When the buildings are not rented to VRBO guests, they function as an inn. See more information about both buildings by googling the Bold Colorful Life Inn.

Renewed again, live your bold and colorful life! Both buildings available year-round.

Keywords: House, estate

More Details
Hide Details

I’ve been saving for my ‘dream house’ for 40 years....and I fell in love with kayaking about 8 years ago. After a five year search through waterfront properties in CT, the Adirondacks, MA, NH and finally ME, this was the property that offered the combination of things I'd been seeking.

The setting is idyllic with fields, woods, old stone walls, apple trees, lilac trees and many perennial gardens. There are 15 acres of land, facing west for sunsets, on the protected waterfront of Maine and with a big freshwater pond. The whole estate sits atop Maine ledge, which is sculpted to fall gently towards the water.

It's in an area where I am able to offer weekend and week-long retreats that combine personal growth, spirituality and 'back to nature' events, including hiking, paddling and exploring the nearby Botanical Gardens. And I want to share this beauty with as many people who love Nature and the wild, wonderful aspects of Maine as possible...so vacation rentals are the perfect answer.

Melissa Thornton, Owner purchased this house in 2006

The Boothbay peninsula offers the perfect getaway. The area is naturally breath-taking, with forests and fields, farms and gardens, brash rocky coastline and gentle coves and lakes. Boothbay Harbor is a charming town with lots of engaging activities and it’s just down the road. It's the place to go shopping, visit galleries and craft fairs, sample local fare at great restaurants, enjoy deep water activities like whale watching and lobster-boating.

And there are natural bonuses: 13 nature preserves for hiking within 10 miles---5 within 5 miles---one within 1/2 mile; a major Botanical Garden within 5 miles; kayaking possibilities in rivers and lakes and the Atlantic.

The Rockland/Camden area and Freeport shopping are within an hour's drive in either direction; and my favorite Maine park, Acadia National Park is two plus hours away. Nova Scotia and Prince Edward island, both favorite parts of Canada, are nearby too……..

19 Reviews of Property 325241 in Boothbay Harbor, Maine

REDUCED PRICES! Bold Colorful 5BR Waterfront Cape on 15 acre estate
average rating of 4.9473686 based on 19 reviews
business
REDUCED PRICES! Bold Colorful 5BR Waterfront Cape on 15 acre estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325241
+1 203 331-7242
Boothbay Harbor Boothbay Harbor Area
5

A beautiful spot for a wedding!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
My fiancee (now husband!) and I, along with our families, rented both the farmhouse and cape house on this property for a week in early September. At the end of the week, we had a small wedding in the back yard, overlooking the beautiful Back River. We simply could not have asked for a better setting for our wedding!! The property is absolutely lovely, and the view of the Back River from the farmhouse is breathtaking. The houses are bold, colorful, and beautiful, as is the proprietor, Melissa! With 9 bedrooms between the two houses (5 in the farmhouse and 4 in the cape), each with a private bathroom, this place would be perfect for any large group! Finally, the location of this property is perfect- close enough to Boothbay Harbor to easily pop into town for shopping or dinner, but far enough out of town to get away from the hubbub and enjoy some peace and quiet!

Melissa is warm and welcoming, and makes you feel like family from the moment you arrive. What a beautiful place for a vacation, and a wonderful way to start our married life! Thanks Melissa!
business
REDUCED PRICES! Bold Colorful 5BR Waterfront Cape on 15 acre estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325241
+1 203 331-7242
Boothbay Harbor Boothbay Harbor Area
connecticut
5

Great Maine Getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 16, 2010
  • Stayed: Apr 2010
The house is lovely, clean and well equipped, and was the perfect venue for our Girls Weekend. We cooked, walked, shopped, dined out and generally had a ball! Melissa made certain we had everything we needed for a great stay. Highly recommended.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: This was the most wonderful group of women--all celebrating a turning point birthday and full of life, love, enthusiasm and adventure. Inspiring!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
REDUCED PRICES! Bold Colorful 5BR Waterfront Cape on 15 acre estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325241
+1 203 331-7242
Boothbay Harbor Boothbay Harbor Area
NH
5

Destination wedding

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
We recently rented the entire farmhouse for our wedding location, what a FANTASTIC place. Melissa is so much more than just a wonderful hostess. Every communication with Melissa left me with a big smile on my face. She's truly a special person who enjoys sharing her stunning property and incredibly gracious nature with others. I had hired a bagpiper to play as a surprise for my new husband & our guests. Melissa was as delighted as I was figuring out exactly where to hide him for his grand entrance, working out the perfect location & timing to the last detail. :) She made our stay a truly lovely one. Thank you, Melissa..xx
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Sometimes a family comes along with whom you feel a complete alliance. This is such a family. From the Bride's courageous and admirable mother to the most distant cousin, this group was full of love, appreciation and connection to one another. It was an honor to be part of this 'destination wedding'--to be included in the planning, the strategic problem-solving, the joy of creating surprise gifts from one spouse to the other, the location decisions and finally, the photography. And these two newlyweds...what a pair. Absolutely delightful from the moment they discovered the Bold Colorful Life Inn and Retreat Center, to the moment they drove off to a fabulous life together....beautiful, loving, gracious, charismatic, committed to each other and to their extended families. Absolutely inspiring. The place is better for their having been here. I hope they return again and again!! With much love and appreciation to Lori and Donovan R, Melissa
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
REDUCED PRICES! Bold Colorful 5BR Waterfront Cape on 15 acre estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325241
+1 203 331-7242
Boothbay Harbor Boothbay Harbor Area
NH
5

Destination Wedding!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
We recently rented the entire farmhouse for our wedding location, what a FANTASTIC place. Melissa is so much more than just a wonderful hostess. Every communication with Melissa left me with a big smile on my face. She's truly a special person who enjoys sharing her stunning property and incredibly gracious nature with others. I had hired a bagpiper to play as a surprise for my new husband & our guests. Melissa was as delighted as I was figuring out exactly where to hide him for his grand entrance, working out the perfect location & timing to the last detail. :) She made our stay a truly lovely one. Thank you, Melissa..xx
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Sometimes a family comes along with whom you feel a complete alliance. This is such a family. From the Bride's courageous and admirable mother to the most distant cousin, this group was full of love, appreciation and connection to one another. It was an honor to be part of this 'destination wedding'--to be included in the planning, the strategic problem-solving, the joy of creating surprise gifts from one spouse to the other, the location decisions and finally, the photography. And these two newlyweds...what a pair. Absolutely delightful from the moment they discovered the Bold Colorful Life Inn and Retreat Center, to the moment they drove off to a fabulous life together....beautiful, loving, gracious, charismatic, committed to each other and to their extended families. Absolutely inspiring. The place is better for their having been here. I hope they return again and again!! With much love and appreciation to Lori and Donovan R, Melissa
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
REDUCED PRICES! Bold Colorful 5BR Waterfront Cape on 15 acre estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325241
+1 203 331-7242
Boothbay Harbor Boothbay Harbor Area
Shelton, CT
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 25, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
Bold...Colorful...Life, the mental and emotional memories, which are so wonderful - will be with me until I visit.......again..beautiful..beautiful..beautiful!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
REDUCED PRICES! Bold Colorful 5BR Waterfront Cape on 15 acre estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325241
+1 203 331-7242
Boothbay Harbor Boothbay Harbor Area
Boston, MA
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2010
  • Stayed: Jan 2010
I stayed in the Cape on my second visit to Bold
Colorful Life and I felt INSTANTLY at home. This
house is the epitome of cozy. It made me want to
cook food, drink cocoa and write my memoirs! The
land, the house, the town, and Melissa--all
inspiring and fantastic. I didn't want to leave and I
find myself constantly scheming to get back up
there!!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
REDUCED PRICES! Bold Colorful 5BR Waterfront Cape on 15 acre estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325241
+1 203 331-7242
Boothbay Harbor Boothbay Harbor Area
Maine
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2010
  • Stayed: Jan 2010
If you are looking for an incredible Bed and Breakfast and/or retreat center, look no further. Not only is the Bold Colorful Life Inn set on the most amazing property, but Melissa is a wonderful host. You certainly will not be disappointed.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
REDUCED PRICES! Bold Colorful 5BR Waterfront Cape on 15 acre estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325241
+1 203 331-7242
Boothbay Harbor Boothbay Harbor Area
San Francisco
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2009
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
I recently stayed in the Bold Colorful
Life Cape house with 8 of my friends for
another friends wedding in Boothbay.
While a bunch of people were staying at
a hotel in town, we were all very glad
we made the decision to rent this house
as opposed to the hotel. The house was
so quaint, cute and comfortable. It had
everything we needed...from towels to
dish soap to pots and pans and olive
oil. It was amazing that everyone pretty
much had their own bathroom attached to
their room. Melissa was even kind enough
to get us an iron and ironing board so
we could all look presentable on the big
day, having traveled from San Francisco.
While the house was compact, it did not
feel small and we each had plenty of
space. The setting is amazing. We had a
great time before the wedding taking the
inflatable rafts for a paddle around the
bay, which you can walk right down to
from the house. Some people even swam to
the island, that is about 500 yards off
the waterfront. The setting is
absolutely serene and peaceful. It felt
so good to get away! We've all been
saying that we wish we were still living
the Bold Colorful Life, since we've
gotten back to California. I would
definately recommend this house to
anyone who wants to visit the area. I
hope to be able to return some day.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
REDUCED PRICES! Bold Colorful 5BR Waterfront Cape on 15 acre estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325241
+1 203 331-7242
Boothbay Harbor Boothbay Harbor Area
Monroe, Maine
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 11, 2009
  • Stayed: Feb 2009
We love the experience of renting this Cape. The site is absolutely beautiful--15 acres of lawns and gardens; views of the fresh water pond AND the Back River...lots of wildlife. The estate is near the end of a long, residential road and it's quiet and peaceful. It was a serene getaway, every time.
The house itself is a perfect combination of historical and new. It dates back past the Civil War and has an historic brick chimney, wide pine floor boards and a wonderful porch that wraps all the way around the house. It is also completely renovated and it has every convenience that we need--full kitchen, gas grill, TVs in every bedroom and the living room, wireless Internet for those email moments, good cell reception. We were sequestered away from the world, at the same time that we were able to be in touch if we wanted to.
We have returned to this site for three monthly rentals and will keep coming back. We give it a 5 star rating!
Chris Harrington
Helpful votes: 1/1