West Jefferson cabin rental - Front view of Log Cabin with side entry porch
Front view of Log Cabin with side entry porch
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
Minimum Stay nights
 

West Jefferson Cabin Rental Photos and Description
Cabin, 3 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

New River Ridge is located on the New River near West Jefferson, North Carolina.

This new mountain retreat features cathedral ceilings with exposed beams, is well appointed with all the comforts of home. The linens and towels are supplied. If you want towels for swimming you may want to bring them. The kitchen is completely set up with ice maker, coffee maker toaster and all pots/pans. We also have a washer and dryer. There is a gas grill on the back porch. You will need to bring all food and drink. One roll of paper towels and toilet paper is supplied at all locations. The cabin sleeps 6 people. There is a king bed in the master bedroom, an upstairs bedroom with a queen bed and an upstairs bedroom with two singles.

The cabin has a phone with local service. You will have to bring a calling card to use long distance. You can get a rechargeable long distance card about anywhere and they are cheap. The house is equipped with a WiFi system. There are two TV’s a flat screen with HD in the great room and a regular TV in the upstairs bedroom. Both TVs have DVD players.

There is river access at many areas around the cabin. Directly below the cabin and about 300 feet down stream there is a ramp that you can take canoes and kayaks and this is a good fishing spot. The river has small mouth bass (red eyes) and trout.

There are art galleries, golf courses, restaurants, farmers market, and many more things to do in West Jefferson. In the Boone and Blowing Rock Area which is 30 min. away there are all types of things to do. There are state parks and there are scenic drives.

There is a convenience store about three miles away. The grocery store (Ingles) is about seven miles with a Walgreens, Super Walmart and all other stores about the same distance.

Things to do in the area:

Tubing rafting and canoeing on the New River.

Rock climbing rappelling and caving located in Banner Elk.

Waterfalls:

Mitchell Falls 40 feet, at Mt. Mitchell State Park.

Crabtree Falls- 60 feet, at a Visitor Center at MP 340 on the Blue Ridge Parkway

Linville Falls -A series of two falls, upper at 12 feet and lower at 90 feet, plunge into the 2,000 foot deep Linville Gorge.

Boone Fork Trail Falls - 25 feet, on Boone Fork Trail leading from the picnic area at Julian Price Park.

Glen Burney Falls - 75 feet, in John's River Gorge off the Globe Road below Blowing Rock.

The Cascades -Series of three cascading falls, 30 to 40 feet in height, at Jefferson Park.

Fly Fishing:

New River

Grandfather Trout Farm

State Parks:

Moses Cone Memorial Park

Julian Price Memorial Park

Doughton Park

Linville Falls & Linville Gorge Wilderness Area

Mount Mitchell State Park

Mount Jefferson State Park

Museum of North Carolina Minerals

New River State Park

Museum of North Carolina Minerals

Roan Mountain

Stone Mountain State Park

Hiking Trails:

Moses Cone Memorial Park

Julian Price Park

Linville Falls/Linville Gorge

The Cascades on the Parkway

The Beacon Heights Trail and Flat Rock Nature Trail

Crabbtree Falls

Roan Mountain

Mount Jefferson State Park

Summit Trail

Keywords: Log Cabin

More Details
Hide Details

22 Reviews of Property 323320 in West Jefferson, North Carolina

New Log Home on New River Special $200 Off with Week Stay
average rating of 4.9 based on 22 reviews
business
New Log Home on New River Special $200 Off with Week Stay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p323320vb
(904) 993-4620 (Florida, USA)
West Jefferson High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
Mooresville, NC
4

Relaxing week with family

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Our family spent a week in this. delightful cabin. The kitchen is well equipped and the grill on the deck got a lot of use. The rooms are larger than pictured and everything is very clean. The fireplace chimney climbing up to the open beams in the ceiling is stunning. The owner Jeff is very easy to work with and is very prompt in responding to any questions. Getting down to the river is a little tricky, as it is quite steep and the gravel is slippery; but for a younger person it shouldn't be a problem.There is a dirt road down there that follows the river and is perfect for a nice walk. Our weather was ideal and we spent some time hiking the trails at the New River State Park, about 25 minutes away. Also, the cabin is very close to the Blue Ridge Parkway with its trails and waterfalls.
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
New Log Home on New River Special $200 Off with Week Stay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p323320vb
(904) 993-4620 (Florida, USA)
West Jefferson High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
Goldsboro Nc. 27530
5

What an incredible getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
My family was very blessed to find this rare gem through countless hours of searching for the perfect place! The owner went out of his way to make our stay enjoyable, comfortable, and peaceful. We would definitely recommend this log cabin to anyone looking a relaxing get-a-way in North Carolina's beautiful mountains.
Make sure you enjoy sitting on the back porch as much as we did!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
New Log Home on New River Special $200 Off with Week Stay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p323320vb
(904) 993-4620 (Florida, USA)
West Jefferson High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
5

A Little Piece of Heaven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Wow! That was pretty much our reaction when we arrived at this cabin. Just a gorgeous place to stay both inside and out. This was the second time we had rented a cabin for a vacation and of course we were a bit wary about what the premises would actually look like once we arrived but this cabin exceeded our expectations. Just as lovely as all the pictures and very clean inside. Sitting on the back porch overlooking the river while sipping our morning coffees was so relaxing. A great location both private but not remote. A nice change from the suburbs! The kitchen was well stocked and a joy to cook in. Was great to have a grocery store a few minutes down the road to run to when we needed to restock. And yes, the beds are very comfortable!! This place is better then a five star hotel. Jeff was always very prompt about returning our emails and telephone calls. Thanks Jeff!!
My daughter and husband fished every day and my son and I biked on the gravel roads around the cabin, enjoying the serenity and getting one heck of a workout.
We drove into Charlotte to the South Park Mall to shop, went to the U.S Whitewater National Training Center to go whitewater rafting, kayaking, zip lining and paddle boarding. Grandfather Mountain was only an hours drive away and hiking up it was the highlight of our trip.
We were all sad to leave and hope to make it back again someday. The most heartwarming moment of the trip was when my fourteen year old son announced that he would one day love to bring his own family here.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
New Log Home on New River Special $200 Off with Week Stay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p323320vb
(904) 993-4620 (Florida, USA)
West Jefferson High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
Melbourne, FL
5

Serenity, Privacy and Hard to Leave

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Our family enjoyed a wonderful stay at this thoughtfully laid out log home that was full of nice surprises like the warm fireplace, the super comfortable beds, the padded rocking chairs on the porch and the soothing sounds of the New River flowing by the back yard. West Jefferson is a wonderful location for those seeking to be aware from all the touristy congestion but close enough to enjoy the arts district just a few miles away, kayaking, hiking and my favorite treat--a beautiful trip on the Blue Ridge Parkway only 4 miles from this incredible log home. Thanks for creating a wonderful experience for us!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
New Log Home on New River Special $200 Off with Week Stay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p323320vb
(904) 993-4620 (Florida, USA)
West Jefferson High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
Littleton, N.C.
5

A great weekend with friends at a perfect location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
We had a great three nights at this lovely cabin on the New River. The cabin was beautiful and well stocked. We will definitely stay here again when we come to this area. There were three couples and we spent a few hours of the porch overlooking the river and enjoying a glass of wine or two. J&J, N.C.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
New Log Home on New River Special $200 Off with Week Stay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p323320vb
(904) 993-4620 (Florida, USA)
West Jefferson High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
Piedmont area, North Carolina
5

Best vacation ever

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
We had a perfect week of weather, and even though the river was a bit low, it was great for a good workout rowing the kayak upstream, then floating back downstream to our sandy beach. DH caught lots of little fish, and the dogs really enjoyed their river swims almost every day.

The cabin's back porch is a perfect spot to overlook the river, and watch other kayak-ers, canoe-ers, and tube-ers pass by. As I sat and knit hummingbird battles waged overhead part of the mornings before a winner was declared.

We spent lots of time on the porch, or in the river, but I must say the inside of the cabin is as beautiful as outside, with lots of exposed beams and natural wood. The kitchen is well stocked with all we needed to prepare meals. All the rooms are nicely decorated with comfortable furniture.

I agree with the other reviewers- we would go back to this beautiful spot, and there is not a thing we would change!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
New Log Home on New River Special $200 Off with Week Stay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p323320vb
(904) 993-4620 (Florida, USA)
West Jefferson High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
Sherrills Ford, NC
5

Relaxing getaway !

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We loved this cabin and the area ! It is very private and serene yet very convenient to shopping and restaurants. We spent most of our time on the porch watching the river and deer. The cabin was just beautiful and had everything we needed. The owners have done a fantastic job of making you feel at home. There is a path down to the river to a cleared area with rock steps going into the river for easy access to play, fish or put a canoe in. We enjoyed the quainteness of downtown West Jefferson and wish we had brought home more cheese from the Cheese Factory! Don't miss the view from Mount Jefferson State Park it's just a short drive away. The owners were very helpful and friendly. We enjoyed working with them. This was one of our favorite vacations and we will definitely come back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
New Log Home on New River Special $200 Off with Week Stay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p323320vb
(904) 993-4620 (Florida, USA)
West Jefferson High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
Rutherfordton, NC
5

Week with the hummingbirds!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Living on the porch was aptly the theme of the week. Family reunion with 7 of us enjoyed the quiet and beauty of the back porch. Deer, both young and adult, passed casually below us in the woods. Hummingbirds continually visited the feeder. Rocking chairs soothed away the hard edges of the world we left behind. During our week the temperature never rose above 85 in this peaceful river gorge with nighttime temperatures cool enough to welcome a wrap. We tubed, kayaked and fished in the river. Fishing was active, small mouth bass and trout. We kept coming back for more. We played disc golf at Ashe Co. Park on a very well planned and maintained course. On our educational day we went into the towns of Jefferson and West Jefferson, saw cheese being made and enjoyed some of the local color. The Blue Ridge Parkway is within a few miles. We bicycled twice, enjoying the beautiful vistas from the many overlooks. Getting from the cabin to the river is a little difficult out the back, but a walk along the gentle sloping road makes the trip easy for those with mobility difficulties. In most places the river is shallow enough to wade in and although the water moves swiftly it was safe enough for a 4 yr. old to play in. There is limited storage for food in the kitchen so if you plan to cook for yourself, be prepared. Ingles and Wal-mart, I am sorry to say, are only a 5 mile drive away. The kitchen is equipped with all needed appliances and tools. The interior of the cabin is comfortably appointed. There is plenty of room in the living area. The master bedroom suite is very nice, with two additional bedrooms upstairs. Although we did not use it, there is a gas log fireplace for cooler days and nights, making the cabin ideal for fall and winter use. We have tried to think of improvements or changes that might make a stay more enjoyable and can think of nothing. This is a beautiful cabin, situated in a beautiful location in the forest by the river, with every comfort needed to make a stay here peaceful and serene.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
New Log Home on New River Special $200 Off with Week Stay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p323320vb
(904) 993-4620 (Florida, USA)
West Jefferson High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
florida
5

Wounderful place to spend time with freinds and family of all ages

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
The cabin is beautiful and everythig in it was perfect. We all just love the time we spent at your cabin. Coming from Florida where the weather is so hot and being able to enjoy a beautiful cabin, nice weather, and great location, The young people canoed down new river and fished, while us senior visited the shops in town and had lunch. Thank you for letting us spend some time in Gods country, West Jefferson, NC.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
New Log Home on New River Special $200 Off with Week Stay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p323320vb
(904) 993-4620 (Florida, USA)
West Jefferson High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
Naples, Florida
5

Absolutely Wonderful Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
Every year for the past 5 years we have been coming to West Jefferson for the Christmas Holidays. Due to our regular rental cabin not being available, we looked around and finally decided on this cabin and we were totally happy we made this decision. The setting along the woods and river was very peaceful and the snow that covered the ground made it even more beautiful during our stay. The cabin offered all the amenities we needed especially the wifi-when you have teens you need this and we have always loved the log cabin look. Everything was warm, nice and cozy for our family. The owner was very accomodating and very helpful from beginning to end and to us customer service is very, very important more so than the place itself. Downtown was close enough to get to in just a few minutes. We had a very enjoyable, relaxing stay and already thinking of our next visit and would definitely recommend your cabin to others.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1