Hilo bungalow rental - Welcome to the Bamboo Bungalow - private covered entry
Welcome to the Bamboo Bungalow - private covered entry
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Hilo Bungalow Rental Photos and Description
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2

The ZEN BAMBOO BUNGALOW is a 1 bed, 1 bath luxurious, Asian-style upstairs guesthome with private garden entry, spacious living area and balcony with a panorama view. The bungalow features a full kitchen, 50-inch Plasma High Definition TV and home theater sound system, Asian antiques, plush leather furnishings, and Japanese bath with deep “furo” tub. The bungalow is situated on nearly an acre of lush tropical and Japanese-inspired gardens located 2.5 miles from historic, downtown Hilo. The bungalow is more than a beautiful place to stay, it’s a lifestyle. You will experience charming “old Hawaii” where life is slow and easy. At the bungalow you can relax in style or pursue a variety of adventures at your doorstep. Amenities include a secluded outdoor garden spa equipped with jetted hot tub with UV light water purification, infrared sauna and outdoor shower. The beautifully landscaped grounds and naturalistic setting capture the tranquility and beauty of the islands where travelers can relax and experience the true Hawaii that the locals live.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Big Island of Hawaii. The ZEN BAMBOO BUNGALOW provides a private vacation retreat with all the comforts of home for visitors and travelers to the Big Island of Hawaii seeking an alternative to the 'resort' atmosphere, and where you will not feel like a tourist. Chef's kitchen is fully-equipped and coffee bar is stocked with fresh, organic coffee. Your hosts reside on the neighboring property and personally greet you and handle key exchanges when you arrive. Your hosts answer questions you may have, assist you with any special needs and help you plan your stay... sharing tips on where to visit, how to get there, where to lunch and favorite local dining spots.

The bungalow property is located in East Hawaii in a picturesque area of Hilo and surrounded by streams, waterfalls and quiet cul-de-sacs perfect for walking or jogging. Spectacular views of landscaped terraces and partial ocean views of Hilo Bay can be easily enjoyed from the private balcony. Shoji screen doors are designed throughout to create a private and serene setting or open up to views of the gardens below. The courtyard with pond, waterfall and fountains create a garden oasis for dining and relaxation. In harmony with nature and with all the comforts of home, the Zen Bamboo Bungalow will make your journey a most memorable experience. The bungalow is a perfect Hawaiian getaway for couples celebrating their special occasion, and is centrally located making it an ideal home base while exploring exotic points of interest on the island.

The bungalow is a 5 minute drive or a free bus ride to historic downtown Hilo and Hilo Bay. Hilo is known for its warm aloha spirit, relaxed lifestyle, unique shops, art galleries and restaurants with local regional cuisine. Local attractions include Lyman Museum, East Hawaii Cultural Center, historic Palace Theatre, Pacific Tsunami Museum, Imiloa Astronomy Center, UH Hilo Performing Arts Center and Hawaii Tropical Botanical Gardens. Hilo Farmer's Market is a favorite for fresh, local produce. Merrie Monarch Festival, Hilo's premier hula competition and cultural event, is held annually. Hilo's black sand beaches and freshwater pools are some of the best for snorkeling, diving, surfing, paddle boarding, kayaking, swimming with turtles and tropical fish, or watching the whales off shore. Take a helicopter volcano tour or short scenic drive to active Kilauea volcano to view a lava flow, ride horses in Waipio Valley or tour the summit and view the night skies of Mauna Kea.

Weddings, graduations, receptions or large gatherings may be allowed with owner's prior consent and only by arrangement with our event planning and management services. Contact us in advance to facilitate your special occasion set in the privacy of the bungalow grounds and lovely gardens.

The Zen Bamboo Bungalow is a Non Smoking property: Hawaii State Law dictates that all public areas are designated as smoke free. The safety and comfort of all our guests is of utmost importance to us. As such we have a non smoking policy. Smoking is not allowed in any of our buildings or on the property grounds. Please inform your visitors of our non smoking policy. Your support and cooperation to maintain a smoke free environment at the Zen Bamboo Bungalow is greatly appreciated.

Fishpond on grounds, No Pets: Children are welcome at the Zen Bamboo Bungalow, however, families with children of a certain age must be aware of safety concerns around the fishpond on the property, and the Zen Bamboo Bungalow's upper balcony, stairs to the upper level living area and the deep soaking tub in the bathroom.

Sorry, no pets are allowed.

More Details
Hide Details

My husband and I are the owners of Orchid Isle Bungalows in Hilo, Hawaii. We have have lived in Hilo for 35 years where we started our family and raised our three children. We own a construction and real estate development company on the Big Island of Hawaii and have been in business since 1979. We designed and built the bungalows and landscaped the grounds taking care to preserve and restore the Japanese gardens and ponds. We are continually beautifying the gardens and the property is lovingly cared for. We reside on the property neighboring the bungalows and greet guests personally to welcome them, handle key exchanges and respond to renters' needs. The bungalows are fully furnished and have all the amenities making this a perfect island home away from home. It is our pleasure to share this amazing property, as an alternative to the 'resort' atmosphere, with travelers and visitors to the Big Island of Hawaii seeking a private vacation retreat where you will not feel like a tourist.

Mahalo nui loa, Sherron

Sherron Skeele purchased this bungalow in 2003

The Orchid Isle Bungalows property was formerly a Japanese garden developed by a Hilo resident, educator and a founding father of bonsai in Hawaii. Dignitaries from Japan visited the gardens and tour buses regularly visited the garden showplace. The gardens and ponds were well-known on the island and several generations of residents fondly recall enjoying the gardens during their childhood. The gardens was one of the first places my husband and I would show our family and friends who came to visit the Big Island. Over the years, the property changed hands and was let go. As we lived on the neighboring property, we took the opportunity to acquire the property in 2003 and begin the 'restoration' of the gardens. We made arrangements for the the unrepairable existing structure to be burned down by the fire department in a training drill for its cadets. We then embarked on the project of custom-designing and building the bungalows and restoring the existing Japanese gardens. We love to share the gardens and our ongoing efforts to beautify and landscape the grounds is in keeping with the naturalistic setting that captures the tranquility and beauty of the islands.

43 Reviews of Property 323163 in Hilo, Hawaii

Luxury Zen Bamboo Bungalow, Japanese-Tropical Gardens, Spa, Pond and Waterfall
average rating of 4.928571 based on 43 reviews
business
Luxury Zen Bamboo Bungalow, Japanese-Tropical Gardens, Spa, Pond and Waterfall
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p323163
+1 808 9388254
Hilo Hilo District
Peoria, IL, USA
5

What a wonderful place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
My wife and I stayed here for a week, and we couldn't have been happier. The place and the grounds were beautiful, and impeccably kept. Sherron and Dave were wonderful hosts as well. You won't find a better place to stay anywhere in Hilo.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Aloha Jesse and Keri, Congratulations on your 1 year anniversary! It was a great pleasure hosting your stay at the Zen Bamboo Bungalow to celebrate your special occasion and to explore many points of interest and experience many adventures on the island...from a volcano helicopter tour to horseback riding in Waipio Valley. We are happy knowing you had a great time and hope to see you again to celebrate many more special occasions. Mahalo nui loa, Sherron
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury Zen Bamboo Bungalow, Japanese-Tropical Gardens, Spa, Pond and Waterfall
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p323163
+1 808 9388254
Hilo Hilo District
CA
5

Stay in a model home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
This is a model home & property....everything is perfect! Like new with everything you need....perfect Hilo location- far enough away from everything that it's quiet, yet 5-10 minutes away from everything- downtown Hilo, Target, Safeway, etc. Owner is great- highly recommend!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Aloha Brian and Cynthia, Thank you for your favorable review on our Zen Bamboo Bungalow and Japanese gardens. It is most gratifying to know that you enjoyed your stay at our vacation rental property. I hope to see you again should you visit the Big Island in the future. Mahalo nui loa, Sherron
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury Zen Bamboo Bungalow, Japanese-Tropical Gardens, Spa, Pond and Waterfall
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p323163
+1 808 9388254
Hilo Hilo District
Sidney, BC. Canada
5

Highly Recommended

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
We're vacation rental home owners ourselves, take great pride in our homes and therefore have very high expectations. Well, the Zen Bamboo Bungalow truly takes the vacation rental by owner experience 'up a notch'! The home was specifically designed for the comfort of travelers, finished with very high quality finishes, beautifully furnished and equipped with absolutely everything you could possibly need or want. I was particularly impressed with the professionalism in the handling of all the booking details, deposit, refund of security deposit, etc. Such a contrast from the other home we stayed in on the island, where they wanted all the funds 'up front' and used no contract. That didn't give us much confidence in the stay and as it turns out, first impressions are generally correct. At the Bamboo Bungalow we could have lived for months and been quite comfortable. Loved the gorgeous gardens surrounding, the garage parking, handy umbrellas, beach chairs, on and on I could go. There were extras we didn't even expect. Like the free long distance North America calling. So unexpected and truly appreciated. The owners gave us privacy, but were a phone call away and very responsive when we accidentally set off the smoke detector & didn't know how to get it to stop buzzing. It's funny what things stick in your mind, months after your stay. We actually enjoyed experiencing rain coming down in sheets! Of course, that was from the comfort of our covered balcony, with a glass of wine, a pint of beer, fresh Hawaiian fruit and Maui Chips. Thankyou for making our visit to the Hilo side of the island so pleasant. We look forward to recommending your home to friends and to a a return visit ourselves. Mahalo till next time. Susan & Don
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Aloha Susan and Don, It is great to hear from you and to receive your review highly recommending our Zen Bamboo Bungalow ...which means alot coming from fellow vacation rental homeowners such as yourselves. We enjoyed hosting your stay in Hilo and are excited that our bungalow property exceeded your expectations. We look forward to seeing you again for your next Big Island adventure and romantic getaway. Mahalo nui loa, Sherron
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury Zen Bamboo Bungalow, Japanese-Tropical Gardens, Spa, Pond and Waterfall
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p323163
+1 808 9388254
Hilo Hilo District
Adelaide South Australia
5

Excellent Hilo property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Property was accurately reflected in photos and information on the website. Only spent 3 nights there and very busy so did not really have time to take full advantage of all the faciliies in the cottage.but a lovely place to come back to after a day of exploring the east side of Big Island. Would highly recommend to any couples seeking above average accomodation at a good price. Gardens are lovely viewing, excellently maintained. Great holiday accomodation, Mahalo.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Aloha Doug and Linley, Mahalo for staying at our Zen Bamboo Bungalow on your first holiday to the Big Island and for your very favorable review. We are happy that you enjoyed the bungalow and gardens and that the accommodations met your expectations. Have a safe trip home to Australia and please come back and visit us again. Mahalo nui loa, Sherron
business
Luxury Zen Bamboo Bungalow, Japanese-Tropical Gardens, Spa, Pond and Waterfall
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p323163
+1 808 9388254
Hilo Hilo District
San Francisco
5

New Zen Luxury Bamboo Bungalow & Japanese Gardens

New Zen Luxury Bamboo Bungalow & Japanese Gardens
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
It has a Japanese Furo tub! Need I say more?

Not only have Sherron and her husband thought of everything, and provided everything you might need for you visit to the rainy side of the Big Island, but they have included things you might not even know you need.

And everything provided is absolutely top-shelf, from the complete kitchen, to the entertainment center, to the Welcome basket (Macadamia nuts of course, but not just Macadamia nuts, Maui Onion and Garlic Macadamia nuts!). All the vacation equipment you need for exploring the island, but can’t fit on the plane (cooler, beach umbrella, etc.) really comes in handy too.

Great location, minutes from downtown, minutes from Rainbow Falls. And the beautifully landscaped grounds themselves – a smaller but equally impressive version of the Hawaii Tropical Botanical Gardens.

In 2 weeks on the Big Island, we stayed at 3 different vacation rentals. But there was no comparison between Zen Bamboo Garden and the others. The others were very nice, but Zen was spectacular. If we ever return to the Big Island, it will be Zen Bamboo and we will stay nowhere else.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Aloha John and Genevieve, I greatly appreciate your spectacular review on our Zen Bamboo Bungalow and Japanese gardens. We are thrilled that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at the bungalow while exploring the island. We look forward to your return stay for your next Big Island adventure. Thank you for being wonderful guests. Mahalo nui loa, Sherron
business
Luxury Zen Bamboo Bungalow, Japanese-Tropical Gardens, Spa, Pond and Waterfall
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p323163
+1 808 9388254
Hilo Hilo District
Cheyenne, Wyoming USA
5

Bamboo Bungalow

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 15, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Felt truly like home away from home. We will definitely be back. Sherron and David were wonderful and the home was beautiful and attention to detail was great. Every night was a joy to return to this place.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Aloha Lorri and Ray, It was great having you at the Zen Bamboo Bungalow for your Big Island stay. Thank you for the awesome review and 5 star rating on our bungalow vacation rental property. I am so glad you enjoyed your time at the bungalow and felt right at home. It's too bad we were out of town and wished we could have visited more with you during your stay...next time. We look forward to your return. Mahalo nui loa, Sherron
business
Luxury Zen Bamboo Bungalow, Japanese-Tropical Gardens, Spa, Pond and Waterfall
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p323163
+1 808 9388254
Hilo Hilo District
canada
4

very zen like

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Stayed here for 3 days. There was no lava flow and it was raining for a day which made staying in a place like this more enjoyable. Within 10 min to historic downtown area, waterfalls, and a shopping center. About a 45 min drive to volcano national park. Hope you have a car though because the transit system is non-existant. FYI the owners live next door and are very meticulous about the place. Everything is in such prestine condition you are almost afraid to use everything they have to offer.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers
Owner's Response: Aloha Nick and Angie, I am glad you enjoyed your honeymoon stay at the Zen Bamboo Bungalow...even more so when it rained. If it rains the bungalow is perfect for spending quality downtime and staying cozy and warm surrounded by lush and beautiful gardens. The bungalow is a 5 to 10 minute drive to historic downtown Hilo, and I recommend that guests rent a car for convenience, however, there is free public transportation from the bungalow into downtown Hilo and other parts of the island.
Mahalo nui loa, Sherron
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury Zen Bamboo Bungalow, Japanese-Tropical Gardens, Spa, Pond and Waterfall
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p323163
+1 808 9388254
Hilo Hilo District
Bloomington, Indiana
5

Fabulous Place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Barb and I came for the Hilo Half-marathon, and enjoyed every minute of our 2-week stay. Bungalow was spotless, well-built, convenient, and Sherron and Dave were excellent hosts. Welcome basket of sparkling cider, baked goods, and macadamia nuts was a nice treat. The bungalow is even prettier than the photos (no kidding) and the location was perfect. Convenient access to Hilo’s downtown, Farmer's Market, Bay Front, beaches, Pacific Tsunami Museum, etc. A perfect base for exploring all of the Big Island. Volcano National Park is an unbelievable treasure, with miles of hiking trails and a very nice visitor's center. Waipio Valley is something to see. Beaches at Hapuna were spectacular. Visit Donna at the sewing center in Pahala. Take Saddle Road one time – you won’t be disappointed. The Zen Bamboo Bungalow is highly recommended for anyone wanting a clean, quiet getaway, and yet conveniently situated for full-island exploration. Direct flight from LAX to Hilo is very nice. Airport is 10-12 minutes from the bungalow. Call them, or write. Sherron is very responsive.
Owner's Response: Aloha Jeff and Barb, It was a pleasure having you as guests at our Zen Bamboo Bungalow. We were excited as you both successfully completed the 15th Annual Big Island International Marathon in Hilo. That was quite an accomplishment, especially Barb finishing first in her age group. Congratulations are in order! Thank you for your wonderful review of the bungalow property and hope that you will return soon. Mahalo nui loa, Sherron
business
Luxury Zen Bamboo Bungalow, Japanese-Tropical Gardens, Spa, Pond and Waterfall
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p323163
+1 808 9388254
Hilo Hilo District
Denver, CO
5

Beautiful escape......

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
We had a lovely stay. Very private, residential neighborhood. The Japanese garden in
beautiful. Included many amenities we would have never have thought of beforehand.
We would love to go back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities
Owner's Response: Aloha Rick and Janet, It is good to hear from you. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your private Zen Bamboo Bungalow retreat and beautiful gardens. We have completed our new outdoor garden spa set among lush tropical landscaping with waterfall, pond, hot tub, sauna and outdoor shower. We look forward to your next stay when you can check out our new spa. Mahalo nui loa, Sherron
business
Luxury Zen Bamboo Bungalow, Japanese-Tropical Gardens, Spa, Pond and Waterfall
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p323163
+1 808 9388254
Hilo Hilo District
5

Fantastic - best ever

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
The picture does not do this rental justice. What you see is actually one of the patios. The actual unit is a large one bedroom apartment with state of the art kitchen / large HD flat panel / wood floors / and first rate bathroom. Great location in a quiet neighborhood near enough to downtown and access to major roads. The degree of cleanliness is beyond anything I have seen in years of renting spots in Hawaii. If you are looking for a place on the Hilo side....this is it. Great owners - very helpful. Loved our stay - would come back.
Owner's Response: Aloha Derek & Rebecca, Thank you for submitting a great review on the Zen Bamboo Bungalow and for appreciating the bungalow amenities and gardens. I enjoyed visiting with you and look forward to your return. Have a happy and prosperous 2012! Mahalo nui loa, Sherron