Honolulu house rental - View of Diamond Head from front yard!
View of Diamond Head from front yard!
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps16
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay nights
 

Honolulu House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 10-16)

This Hawaiiana designed home sits at the end of Koko Head and looks directly across Maunalua Bay at Diamond Head and Kahala. This neighborhood is known for its beautiful private homes, open ocean views (great for whale watching in the winter months),ocean access through city and county maintained regional grounds, as well as, great fishing off the rocky cliffs and reefs. This large, 3000-square-foot home is located on a half acre and tropically landscaped. The house is fully furnished as the owner lives there part of the year. All amenities are included.

Perfect for Weddings, with the wide open layout and plenty of room in the yard, both the pool side lanai between the hot tub and lanai and the Diamond Head yard with great views from the grass.

We are in Hawaii Kai just a little over a mile from Koko Marina and Hanauma Bay. We are 20 minutes from Waikiki and about 30 minutes from the airport. The Koko Marina Shopping Center has an Eight-Plex Movie Theatre with Stadium Seating, Blockbuster Movie Rental, Foodland Grocery Store, Starbucks, Subway, 24 Hour Fitness, as well as, a number of other restaurants and shops. Just a mile across the bay there are several other familiar stores; Costco, Safeway, City Mill Hardware, McDonalds, Longs and Ross, just to mention a few.

Water is everywhere...hot tub and pool in the back yard or just step across the street onto the ocean cliffs. One block down the street, sit on a private sandy beach.

The master bedroom is just inside the entrance and has a king size bed,a large double wardrobe and private bathroom. Both of the other bedrooms have queen beds and they share one full and one half bathrooms at the rear of the house. We also have a king size 'Pune'e', a full size convertible futon, a twin roll away, three folding futons and an inflatable mattress. We have individual room air conditioners in the bedrooms for personal preferences.

The kitchen is in the middle of the house and has ocean view from the sink. The GRAND VIEW is from the living area which is a large hexagon with vaulted ceiling, large fan and three sets of twelve foot sliding glass windows facing the ocean.

We have four televisions and several VCRs plus two DVD players. There are games for the whole family: cribbage, dominos, Yatzee, Pictionary, Trivial Pursuit and others. We have lots of room for a fun game of croquet in the large grass front yard.

Keywords: Home, House, Rental, Compound

More Details
Hide Details

Aloha! Lynn and I purchased Hale Hawaii Kai in June of 2005. I had rented the house since March of 2000. I started the gardening immediately and once I purchased the house put the lanscaping in HIGH GEAR. We also added a pool. I have photos of Lynn on the excavator digging the pool...she is good! We renovated the entire property inside and out: paint, cabinets, eaves, bathrooms and wardrobes. This property is the LOVE OF MY LIFE, next to Lynn! We enjoy our guests' holidays almost as much as they do. We enjoy taking them surfing, kayaking and hiking.

The Owner purchased this house in 2005

I have a very flexible schedule which allows me to manage the vacation rental, I have traveled extensively and enjoying meeting people from around the world. When guests have an interest I take them sight seeing or shopping around the island.

Besides being a beautiful place to have a wedding or reception, this property is ideally located, close to Waikiki but not in the busy downtown area. We have incredible views, warm water, restaurants and activities close at hand. Famous Hanauma Bay is just 2 minutes away. There are beautiful cliffs to climb and great surf just 1 minute from the front door! Walking in the neighborhood you will see some of the most beautiful homes on the island.

18 Reviews of Property 68144 in Honolulu, Hawaii

Open Ocean Views & Mountains, Just Relax or Have a Wedding!
average rating of 4.888889 based on 18 reviews
business
Open Ocean Views & Mountains, Just Relax or Have a Wedding!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p68144vb
(808) 372-8599 (Hawaii, USA)
Honolulu Oahu
-
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2009
  • Stayed: Apr 2009
My family of 12 spent 7 days at this location and it was a wonderful and relaxing experience for all of us, ages 9 to 63. The hosts were awsome and the house is a home away from home. I would recommend this location to anyone and I would return in a heart beat. Thank you so very much
Owner's Response: Yvonn, Mahalo for your 'kokua' and you and your family are welcome with open arms anytime you come to Oahu. God Bless, Edgar and Lynn
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Open Ocean Views & Mountains, Just Relax or Have a Wedding!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p68144vb
(808) 372-8599 (Hawaii, USA)
Honolulu Oahu
Fairfield, MT
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2009
  • Stayed: Apr 2009
Words cannot describe the fantastic time had by all 12 of us during our stay at your house. We had various ages and 3 generations and each and everyone of us had a wonderful time. The house was more than perfect for all of us. We ate our morning and evening meals there and checked out the local attractions during the day, enjoyed luaus, Pearl Harbor, parasailing,snorkelling, boogie boarding,swimming, relaxing, etc. Thank you Edgar and Lynn for your gracious visits and answering all our questions and most of all allowing us to stay at your house - it was magnificent and we are recommending it to everyone we visit with about our trip. Maholo - Ward & Vonnie
Owner's Response: Aloha! Thank you for your kind words, it was all our pleasure, believe me. I enjoyed your vacation as much as you did. Next time you will have to make time for me to take the kids Kayaking, I guarantee they will LOVE it! See you in Montana! Edgar and Lynn
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Open Ocean Views & Mountains, Just Relax or Have a Wedding!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p68144vb
(808) 372-8599 (Hawaii, USA)
Honolulu Oahu
Connecticut
4

Plenty of Room & Very Helpful Caretaker/Owner

Plenty of Room & Very Helpful Caretaker/Owner
  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2008
  • Stayed: Oct 2008
We rented this house for 12 days and wish we were still there! The house is clean & wonderful with 2 large indoor eating areas plus several outdoor eating areas and sitting areas. With 6 adults and 2 children, there was plenty of room for kids to play and grown-ups to talk. Kids could easily go to bed with adults still up and talking about. We loved waking up and sitting outside the living room overlooking the gardens and Diamond Head. There is a private lookout which offers a quiet space to read and spectacular view.

Edgar (the caretaker/owner) has become a true friend. He was wonderful; very helpful in planning the time we were there and offered suggestions on what to do, where to eat and how to make the most of our short time in Hawaii.

The house has a very open floor plan with lots of glass doors and windows. The pool/hot tub/back patio area is lined with plantings.

The location was perfect for us - minutes from the grocery store, restaurants and beaches and only about 20-30 minutes to the downtown area.

I would recommend this house to just about anyone!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 9/10
business
Open Ocean Views & Mountains, Just Relax or Have a Wedding!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p68144vb
(808) 372-8599 (Hawaii, USA)
Honolulu Oahu
-
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2008
  • Stayed: Apr 2008
Edgar, thank you so much for a wonderful visit. Recently (March /08)we joined our daughter, son-in-law and two teenage grandaughters for 9 wonderful days at your lovely home. Had a great time - you are a superb host - very knowledgable and helpful. Wish you all the best!
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Open Ocean Views & Mountains, Just Relax or Have a Wedding!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p68144vb
(808) 372-8599 (Hawaii, USA)
Honolulu Oahu
Chicago, Il
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2008
  • Stayed: Apr 2008
Spending 8 days in beautiful Hawaii Kai at this perfect location was a truly wonderful experience for my entire group. We had a family wedding on the island and Edgar's home became the favorite spot for all the visitors as we had lovely views, comfortable surroundings and great amenities. Edgar and Lynn were superb hosts. The spacious home and the incredible gardens and scenery make one believe this is paradise! I would recommend this spacious home to anyone with a big group who wants to be comfortable and feel at home in a neighborhood, away from the hustle of Waikiki.
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Open Ocean Views & Mountains, Just Relax or Have a Wedding!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p68144vb
(808) 372-8599 (Hawaii, USA)
Honolulu Oahu
-
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2008
  • Stayed: Feb 2008
What a blast Edgar & Lynn. As you know, this was
my second stay at your home but this time I could
enjoy it with my entire family. Thank you for all
you did to make the stay a very special and
memorable one for all of us. The home is fantastic,
the area unbelievable and the activities are
unbeatable, but your personality and generous
spirit is the magic that makes it all work. Mahalo!
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Open Ocean Views & Mountains, Just Relax or Have a Wedding!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p68144vb
(808) 372-8599 (Hawaii, USA)
Honolulu Oahu
-
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2007
  • Stayed: Jul 2007
We loved our 9 nights at your wonderful house. We have 7 kids so we needed plenty of space to spread out and plenty of things for them to do while hanging out. We found both at your wonderful home. The kids loved the pool and did lots of exploring up the hills around the house. Edgar, you were a wealth of knowledge and we appreciated everything you did for us. We'd come back in a heartbeat.

Mahalo from North Carolina from the Seymore gang
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Open Ocean Views & Mountains, Just Relax or Have a Wedding!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p68144vb
(808) 372-8599 (Hawaii, USA)
Honolulu Oahu
-
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2007
  • Stayed: Jul 2007
"We entirely enjoyed our stay. It was perfect for us in everyway and we took
advantage of early morning coffee watching the sun rise over Diamond Head
and Maunalau Bay, to afternoon swims in the pool and spa, to grilling steaks
on the "Barbie" and in the evenings crashing in front of the TV with a movie
from blockbuster. The home is roomy and comfortable, with the tropical
breezes blowing through from the pool to the lanai. Edgar is a gracious host
and made sure we took advantage of all the amenities, in the home, in the
neighborhood and in the area. We snorkeled in Hanauma Bay, scuba dived in
Maunalua Bay, kayaked off the "wall", surfed along Waikiki beach, watched
the sunset along Waialua Bay over dinner and just hung around the many local
beaches along the windward coast, including the beach from the movie "From
Here to Eternity". Edgar is a wealth of knowledge on local places, people,
customs and heritage. If you want to vacation with tourist frenzied crowds,
get a hotel in Honolulu. But if you want to really experience Oahu and the
Hawaiian lifestyle, stay here. This is truly paradise.
Owner's Response: Tom, We thoroughly enjoyed your staying with us and look forward to seeing you again, soon! Edgar and Lynn
Helpful votes: 2/3