La Jolla house rental - Private deck is ideal for outside dining.
Private deck is ideal for outside dining.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 4 nights
 

La Jolla House Rental Photos and Description
Cozy cottage with 2-bedrooms and 2-baths, comfortably sleeps 4 people.

Location sets this charming rental from many others. In the heart of La Jolla; a five minute walk to marvelous boutiques, galleries and sensational restaurants. World-renowned La Jolla Cove and WindanSea beach and surfing are within easy walking distance.

After a busy day of sightseeing or shopping, sit back and enjoy an ocean sunset from your living room. A large, private deck offers the best of Southern California outdoor living. Located in a quiet residential neighborhood, this 2nd floor guest house is secluded from busy street noise.

This pristine home has two bedrooms and two baths will sleep four in a queen and two twins or king bed option. Features include rooftop ocean view, large private deck, open beam ceiling, operable skylights, hardwood floors, carpeted bedrooms, fireplace, a private bath in the master bedroom, and a fully outfitted kitchen.

The property owner/manager lives in an adjacent house and can provide you with helpful recommendations on local attractions, restaurants and shopping.

Amenities include a living room gas fireplace, central heating and air-conditioning, phone, cable 27' TV, VCR/DVD player, fully equipped kitchen (microwave, dishwasher, cooking utensils), linens and towels, washer and dryer.

Nearby activities are within walking distance or a short drive: first-rate boutiques and galleries, incredible restaurants, topnotch museums, world-renowned attractions (San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Sea World, Scripps Aquarium), diverse sightseeing (Gas Lamp Quarter, Old Town, Tijuana, Mexico), first-class public golf (Torrey Pines Golf Course), public tennis courts and Olympic size swimming pool, fitness clubs, wildlife viewing (whales, seals, tide pools), ocean kayaking, deep-sea/surf/freshwater fishing, snorkeling-Scuba diving, surfing.

Beautiful and picturesque, La Jolla's possibilities for adventure are as limitless as your imagination. High atop the cliffs, golfers tee off on world-class courses, while sightseers explore caves, museums and other intriguing landmarks.

More Details
Hide Details

Husand and wife own and manage this vaction rental.

Lisa Maher purchased this house in 1989

Converted a long-term rental unit into a weekly vacation rental.

94 Reviews of Property 320957 in La Jolla, California

Walk to Beautiful Beaches, Upscale Shops and Restaurants.
average rating of 4.9722223 based on 94 reviews
business
Walk to Beautiful Beaches, Upscale Shops and Restaurants.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320957
+1 858 4548745
La Jolla San Diego County
Denmark
5

Great house in the heart of La Jolla!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
We will surely recommend this wonderfull place to anyone we know.
Very wellmaintained, wellequipped appartment in the heart of La Jolla. We felt very much at home and Lisa and Michael are such friendly and helpfull people.
Great restaurants and beaches in walking distance.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
business
Walk to Beautiful Beaches, Upscale Shops and Restaurants.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320957
+1 858 4548745
La Jolla San Diego County
Darnestown, MD
5

LA JOLLA HIDE-AWAY HAS HEART

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
Please "View Property Details" .. they say it all ... and the photos are all exactly as they are in reality... It is a truthful description of this beautiful LaJolla Getaway Vacation Home. The Location in the quaint LaJolla is perfect. Easy and close to walk to everything : the beach, restaurants, shops, cute town, farmers market, etc... as well as near the highway to the rest of California/ LA/ San Diego. The Home is Clean (extremely) and well maintained. I truly recommend this vacation home to any friends and family adventuring to the East Coast. Fellow Travelers -Enjoy - I am jealous of your trip - I know it will be fabulous!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Walk to Beautiful Beaches, Upscale Shops and Restaurants.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320957
+1 858 4548745
La Jolla San Diego County
Liverpool. United Kingdom
5

Comfortable, two-bedroom apartment with large outside decking area.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
Four of us spent a lovely week here in October 2010. The apartment was well appointed, comfortable and very well-equipped. The advertised pictures were accurate as was the description of the property. We felt that this was a homely property and would easily return if the opportunity ever arose.

The proprietors were extremely helpful and most friendly and made the stay very pleasant. They even provided us with the day's newspapers after they had read them, which was before breakfast!. We were welcomed with a plate of home-made cakes. They also offered for us to use their computer to print off our boarding passes for the flight home.

Las Jolla itself has a pleasant, relaxed air about it. It is in a pretty cove setting and there are plenty of shops and restaurants nearby as well as a large supermarket within 100 yards. It is also near enough to the main sights of San Diego.

Our sincere thanks to Lisa and Michael.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Walk to Beautiful Beaches, Upscale Shops and Restaurants.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320957
+1 858 4548745
La Jolla San Diego County
Brussels
5

Great place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
Recommended! This place meets the description in every aspect. Like earlier visitors we were pleasantly surprised by how clean and well maintained this place is. Also our communication with the Maher family was very pleasant, both before and during our stay.

The location of the guest house is good. A couple of blocks from the Windansea beach. It's walking distance, but with beach gear you'd prefer to take the car. Also downtown La Jolla (The Cove area) is a short drive away. La Jolla Shores is a bit further, 15-20 min. drive depending on traffic. Windansea is a nice beach to hang out and watch the surfers. The Shores is more a family type beach with less surf. Be sure to go snorkeling on the south end and look for the Leopard sharks (they're harmless). Also watch out for stingrays, the don't like to be stepped upon. Snorkeling at The Cove is fantastic, plenty of fish and it's great to swim with the Sea Lions.

There are a couple of nice restaurants and a Starbucks one block away. Be sure to check out Bernini's Bistro. The house also has a nice kitchen and an outside grill if you prefer to stay home for dinner.

We're looking forward to coming back to La Jolla and staying in this house again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Walk to Beautiful Beaches, Upscale Shops and Restaurants.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320957
+1 858 4548745
La Jolla San Diego County
Lewisburg, PA
5

Perfection in La Jolla

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2010
  • Stayed: Feb 2010
We (four adults) stayed in the Village Guest House at the end of February, 2010 and loved every minute! Lisa and Michael were friendly and helpful, the accommodations were exactly as described, and La Jolla has become our dream for our retirement years. The Mahers were easy to contact and deal with regarding our stay, and take obvious pride in their rental property which is right behind their own home. When we arrived, there was a bottle of wine, fresh fruit and flowers to welcome us. The living room seating and beds were very comfortable, the kitchen had everything we needed, the Wifi was complimentary and there was a collection of movies for entertainment. They also allow guests to use their laundry facilities which was an added bonus. The free parking was appreciated and you'll find you don't need your car when you stay at the Village Guest House - just about everything is within walking distance.
La Jolla is a beautiful area with a wonderful downtown, pretty beaches and parks and wonderful restaurants. We enjoyed Piatti (in La Jolla Shores) and Whisknladle - and if you drive into downtown San Diego, don't miss De Medici, Kemo Sabe and Rama. We highly recommend this vacation rental and wouldn't have changed a thing about it. One couldn't ask for a better place to call home in La Jolla!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Walk to Beautiful Beaches, Upscale Shops and Restaurants.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320957
+1 858 4548745
La Jolla San Diego County
Lewisburg, PA
5

Absolutely Ideal!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2010
  • Stayed: Feb 2010
Four of us stayed in this homey vacation rental in February. Everything was just as described or even better. The property is on a pretty side street within easy walking distance of the beach, shopping, restaurants and groceries. The Mahers went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed, even setting us up with a wonderful realtor they knew, since we are interested in purchasing property in the area. Communication and the rental process were both quick and trouble-free. The unit was immaculate and comfortable with a full kitchen and outside patio grill, nice-sized bedrooms and a large living room with TV, DVD/VCR player and plenty of movies for entertainment. Wireless internet was complimentary and worked perfectly. A nice bottle of wine, fresh fruit and flowers were there to welcome us when we arrived, and Lisa and Michael were friendly and warm every time we crossed paths (they live on-site). The washing machine and dryer downstairs was an added bonus.
La Jolla is a little slice of heaven, with beautiful views of the ocean, pretty parks and a nice downtown area. Our favorite restaurant was an Italian place in La Jolla Shores called Piatti, but we also loved Whisknladle. If you want to drive into downtown San Diego, we highly recommend De Medici, Rama and Kemo Sabe.
I know we will be back to stay in the Village Guest House and are sure you will be just as happy with your visit as we were!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Walk to Beautiful Beaches, Upscale Shops and Restaurants.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320957
+1 858 4548745
La Jolla San Diego County
Newton, Ma
5

Perfect retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2010
  • Stayed: Feb 2009
We were here in February, 2010 for a respite from the snowy Northeast!
Lisa and Mike's place is perfect in every regard: wonderful location with every amenity you can think of, charming hosts, super comfy beds (!), and La Jolla is a beach lover's delight! We will go back!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Walk to Beautiful Beaches, Upscale Shops and Restaurants.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320957
+1 858 4548745
La Jolla San Diego County
Riverside
5

Clean, Convenient, Comfortable, Quiet

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2010
  • Stayed: Feb 2010
The owners are wonderful people living on the property and will accomodate most requests and are very gracious people. The view of the ocean is a little distant but we saw wonderful sunsets. We were within walking distance to nice restaurants and shops. We enjoyed the fireplace in the cool evenings. We will certainly try to return again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
business
Walk to Beautiful Beaches, Upscale Shops and Restaurants.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320957
+1 858 4548745
La Jolla San Diego County
Riverside,Ca, USA
5

Treat Yourself to a great get away!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2010
  • Stayed: Feb 2010
We recently stayed here and what a delightful surprise, enjoyed every minute and look forward to frequent returns. The place is airy and bright, simple and charming and everything you could want is provided. There was Peet's coffee sitting on the counter as well as a lovely bowl of mandarins which we noticed when we first entered. The beds were so comfy with the down comforters (Feb. stay) and the bathrooms with plush towels and fragrant soaps . Want to eat in, no problem, fully furnished kitchen and a grill on the deck. We loved the deck especially in the mornings with the newspaper and coffee. (They provide 3 papers, 1 is NY Times) Nice little fireplace in the living room was great at night. It is within walking distance of beach, great little shops, and a coffee house, Pannikin that we frequented. On Sunday we enjoyed an open air market near Pannikins with yummy foods and unique gifts for self or others.
Truly everything was provided that we could want and we really felt as if we were guests in a friends home. We had the extra pleasure of purchasing some of Lisa's fun pottery, much of it whimsical, all of it unique, as well as the delight of visiting with Lisa. We rented a number of VRBOs in various cities but this really topped it in the sense of feeling like guests. Couldn't have asked for more. Simply lovely. Great for a family of 4 or two couples.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Walk to Beautiful Beaches, Upscale Shops and Restaurants.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320957
+1 858 4548745
La Jolla San Diego County
Michigan
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2010
  • Stayed: Feb 2010
We have stayed with Lisa and Michael a number of times and their welcome feels like coming home. The guest house is the best appointed of any we've visited and we have rented from VRBO around the world. The beds are great and the kitchen fully equipped. Add beautiful La Jolla and you have the perfect vacation.