Manuel Antonio house rental - refreshing pool
refreshing pool
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Manuel Antonio House Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, sofa sleeper, sleeps 8

If you appreciate architecture and design you will love Casa Pura Vida! It is beautifully designed with tongue and groove ceilings , and hand crafted arched windows and doors throughout. There are huge decks upstairs and downstairs with a hammock and Adirondack chairs right outside the bedrooms and living area . Our stair rails and deck rails are artistically sculpted as wrought iron leaves.

It is important to us that our guests feel the quality of being in a home, rather than a 'house rental' or hotel. We have decorated with love and attention as if we were inviting our closest friends to come visit.

Our house backs into the rainforest. Each day Titi monkeys and white faced monkeys play in the creek right off the deck. It is in the back of a residential neighborhood so it has the feeling of home, rather than a tourist destination. The property is not so secluded that you feel desolate. You will love relaxing by our pool. We are five minutes from Quepos and Manuel Antonio.

Amenities: Pool, air conditioning in upstairs bedrooms, Phone, Cable TV, DVD, Full Kitchen, Refrigerator, Cooking Utensils provided, Linens provided, Washer & Dryer, Parking, No Smoking

Activities: Hiking, Biking, Gym, Fishing, Wildlife Viewing, Horseback Riding, Shopping, Restaurants, Sightseeing, Swimming, Snorkeling/Diving, Boating, Sailing, Surfing, Windsurfing, Parasailing, Jet Skiing, Shelling, Rafting

More Details
Hide Details

Chris and Penny Williams were from San Diego and bought this house on their honeymoon in 2002.

Dana or Penny purchased this house in 2002

Casa Pura Vida is a beautiful house with unique architecture and is located in a great neighborhood. We wanted to have this place for our children and their children to come to for nature and monkeys!

19 Reviews of Property 320754 in Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica

Monkeys Play Daily in the Backyard Creek!
average rating of 4.6842103 based on 19 reviews
business
Monkeys Play Daily in the Backyard Creek!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320754
+1 760 546 8241
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
Mason, MI
5

Costa Rica Adventure

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
My wife and I traveled to Costa Rica for Spring Break with another couple and stayed at Casa Pura Vida. The owner was able to arrange our rental car and offered to set up various tours for our group. The house was perfect with a beautiful pool area and we were able to observe monkeys, birds, and iguanas daily.

The caretaker, who lives next door, helped us with finding places to eat, drink, and visit during our stay. Oso, his friendly German Shepard, can even lead you to a nearby waterfall...Manuel Antonio National Park and its beautiful beach was a short five minute drive to the south. We rented chairs and an umbrella from one of the locals and visited frequently with the waiters that work the entire area near the beach.

We would highly recommend Casa Pura Vida to adventure seeking couples or families looking for a unique experience while visiting Costa Rica. The proximity to Quepos and the park provides a multitude of choices when it comes to dining, sight seeing, and shopping. Casa Pura Vida's location makes you feel like you are in the middle of the rainforest despite all of the nearby activity.

We will be back for sure!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Monkeys Play Daily in the Backyard Creek!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320754
+1 760 546 8241
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
Norco, CA
5

Perfect Location- Great Property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
We had a group of 7 there for our stay in late Feb. It was a perfect location for our daily adventures in Manuel Antonio. The property is like the photos. Tastefully decorated with great attention to detail. We enjoyed the swimming pool and used it everyday to cool off after our events. Casa Pura Vida is very quaint and cozy- has a very open feel with the porch off of the 2 updtairs bedrooms. The downstairs bedroom is very small with a double bed- The kitchen is small but well stocked with the essentials- we ate out anyway since the restaurants there were so good.
We really enjoyed out hike to the waterfall with Carlos the property manager next door. We found some great restaurants in the area! We loved Ronnies Place- you have to order the nanna banana desert! We walked there from the house. We loved Milagras cafe- great coffee and the breakfast and dinners were really good!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Monkeys Play Daily in the Backyard Creek!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320754
+1 760 546 8241
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
United States
5

Great Rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
We stayed at Casa Pura Vida in February 2012. Location was excellent, safe neighborhood, house was comfortable and nicely decorated, and pool was very refreshing after the beach or just for a lazy afternoon lounging. We saw monkeys almost everyday on the property and cool birds. It is about a 5 minute car ride to beach and close to lots of great restaurants I would suggest renting a car since main road is narrow for walking but there are plenty of taxis. We would definitely recommend going to the waterfall with the property manager Carlos. I would absolutely stay here again.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Monkeys Play Daily in the Backyard Creek!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320754
+1 760 546 8241
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
Westchester County, NY
5

THE ABSOLUTE BEST PLACE TO STAY IN MANUEL ANTONIO!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
This was our second trip to Manuel Antonio and Casa Pura Vida is by far the best place to stay. The price is so reasonable and the house is gorgeous, comfortable and feels like home away from home! We spent a lot of time on the porch off the bedroom, overlooking the creek and there was so much wildlife, we saw more in the backyard than we did at the National Park. One afternoon, over 200 squirrel monkeys traveled through the creek and around the house, we watched them for 2 hours. There is a sloth living in a tree right off the porch, you have to look closely, he hides very well. Bring binoculars! Another afternoon the white faced monkeys played in the creek. We almost didn't want to leave the house... It is in a perfect location, quiet, close to town. We loved the area so much, we actually looked at property for sale on the same street. The owners were so great to deal with, arranging our amazing tours & rental car. The manager lives next door and was readily available for questions/help. We have already planned our next vacation in Manuel Antonio at the end of August and are staying at Casa Pura Vida again! It was truly the best vacation we had ever! We higly recommend staying at Casa Pura Vida.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 11/11
business
Monkeys Play Daily in the Backyard Creek!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320754
+1 760 546 8241
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
Cochrane AB Canada
5

best value

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 22, 2010
  • Stayed: Apr 2010
The house is accurately described and in a great location, tucked away from the main road and yet only 5 minutes to Quepos or the Manuel Antonio park.

The owner went above and beyond in planning our trip. She organized our excursions and car rental. She also recommended we stay at another location first (which she booked for us) in view of our arrival time. All this was very helpful when you don't know the lay of the land.

My four kids (ages 22, 21, 17 and 7) enjoyed our stay at the house immensely.

There was no rental contract or damage deposit. I found the owner to be trustworth in this regard.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 11/11
business
Monkeys Play Daily in the Backyard Creek!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320754
+1 760 546 8241
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
Cochrane AB Canada
5

best value

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 22, 2010
  • Stayed: Apr 2010
My four kids (ages 22, 21, 17 and 7) and I enjoyed our stay at the house immensely. The property is accurately described and the location is perfect. About 5 minutes to Quepos or the Manuel Antonio park and yet it is tucked away from the traffic.

The owner organized our excursions and car rental, which I highly recommend. Being a wedding planner, she knows who to contact and how to make everything fit. In view of our arrival time, she also recommended we stay at another location (and booked it for us) first and then drive to her house, which was very helpful when you don't know the lay of the land.

There was no rental contract and no damage deposit. I found the owner to be trustworthy in this regard.

Overall, the owner went above and beyond and the house was what I expected it to be.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Monkeys Play Daily in the Backyard Creek!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320754
+1 760 546 8241
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
lakeland,fl
5

PERFECT HOUSE, PERFECT LOCATION

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2010
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
This house is exactly as described and as portrayed in the pictures. Picked this house for the pool for the boys but after a hot day, it was wonderfully cool and refreshing for all us. Loved the two upstairs bedrooms - up the quaint spiral staircase. Spent a lot of time on the upstairs balcony and the pool deck.

Lush tropical vegetation around the pool and front of the house. Jungle in back.
Hummingbirds galore. Bird choruses every morning. Iguanas. A few monkeys. And not a single bug or mosquito.

Jackie the manager was extremely helpful. Really appreciated all the towels provided including beach towels. Great to have washer + dryer. Kitchen was a little sparse but then so were the grocery stores. Of course there are plenty of restaurants near by. Tried and recommended El AVion and Ronny's Place. The latter is just down the road and boasts great sunsets. This is no idle boast!

Penny was extremely helpful with arranging various details of our stay.During our stay we went on the Iguana white water rafting tour which was absolutely outstanding.

The road to the house is definitely typical Costa Rican rocky and bumpy.
Would definitely recommend a SUV for that. But it just adds to the ambiance.

We would definitely stay here again. We were very satisfied with every aspect of our stay. Highly recommend.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Monkeys Play Daily in the Backyard Creek!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320754
+1 760 546 8241
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
5

House overlooking rain forest

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2010
  • Stayed: Dec 2009
Our stay at Casa Pura Vida was lots of fun. The house was located right at the edge of the jungle providing some amazing views of the vegetation. The location was good, because it was near the beach as well as close to the town where one could purchase groceries and all other necessary items. It is important though to note that, a car is necessary as the distance to the beach is about 4 miles along a very busy street. The house itself is very nice inside. It has a comfortable living room, very nice comfortable bedrooms upstairs and a small, but convenient kitchen with all the necessary utensils and pots for cooking. The dining room table as indicated on the listing is a bit small (seats only 4 people), but can be expanded using one of the other tables in the house. The upstairs patio is very nice and provides a stunning view over the rain forest, very peaceful and relaxing. The downstairs porch is not in good condition and we did not use it very much. What our kids loved the most was the swimming pool. The pool is very well maintained and there is a seating area near it that allows one to swim and relax. It is lots of fun for the kids and provides entertainment for the entire family. I very much recommend this property for adventure seekers, young people, and families with young children. I do not recommend the property for individuals with walking difficulties as the entrance is steep and my mother who is 63 had difficulties maintaining her balance. We did not see any monkey during our stay, but a few stray dogs. So families with small kids, need to be careful because there are lots of stray dogs in Manuel Antonio and they could come to the property. I hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Monkeys Play Daily in the Backyard Creek!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320754
+1 760 546 8241
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
Philadelphia, PA
5

Casa Pura Vida

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2008
  • Stayed: Aug 2008
We just came back from Costa Rica. My entire family had a great time. The house was beautiful. It was exactly like the pictures. The first thing my oldest daughter said is she has the same taste as you because our home is decorated very similar. It was so peaceful. The terrace was great especially sitting out on it listening to the rain. We loved this house. Kathleen was so helpful and very nice. Penny will give you a wealth of info before you leave for CR and has lots of info at the house. We had a magnificent time. Very easy home to rent.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 11/12