Bar Harbor house rental - 24x14 Sunroom-Big Windows & Knotty Pine-Feels Like Nature is All Around You!
24x14 Sunroom-Big Windows & Knotty Pine-Feels Like Nature is All Around You!
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights
 

Bar Harbor House Rental Photos and Description
Absolutely Delightful 3 BR/2 Bath Home-Large Lot with Beautiful Trees! Sleeps 6

Maine is called 'Vacationland' - it's even printed on the license plates! Mt. Desert Island, home of Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park, is an incredibly beautiful place where people come to relax, to play and to appreciate all that nature has to offer. 'Acadia Retreat' has been created so that you and your family can stay in a wonderful and comfortable environment while you explore and experience all the beauty that surrounds you! Our charming home is beautifully maintained & lovingly appointed with great attention to detail. We have a bright, open floor plan where the living room, dining area & kitchen share one big space. The kitchen has an abundance of cabinets & counter space. The laundry area located right off the kitchen has a full-sized washer & dryer. The dining area has a handsome round oak table with matching chairs. The living room has 'comfy' sofas & a TV with VCR & DVD players! Great Vacation Spot!

The sunny bedrooms are located on opposite ends of the home for maximum privacy. The master bedroom with a queen-size bed has a private bath & walk-in closet. The second bedroom with twin beds has two closets & the main bath is located right outside the door. The 24x14 Sunroom has a queen sofa bed.

Both baths offer spotlessly clean tub/shower combinations. The heating system is very efficient & a ceiling fan and portable fans are available for extra comfort in warmer weather. The home has been freshly painted bright white & accented with attractive & colorful furnishings & collectibles.

Outside you can enjoy a beautiful yard with exquisite trees & colorful wildflowers that will make you smile. You can just relax in the hammock with a book, send the kids on a treasure hunt in the surrounding woods, cook some lobsters & have a picnic or even shoot some hoops! 'Acadia Retreat' is Truly a Great Vacation Spot for Everyone!

Activities: Hadley Point is a public area (3 miles) where you can launch a boat, have picnics, sunbathe, skip rocks, watch the seals & other wildlife. This is a favorite spot for the kayak rental companies to start & end their day trips-it's fun to watch them come & go--and you just might want to join them! There are several freshwater ponds/lakes on the Island where you can swim, go boating or fishing. You can even go horseback riding on the gorgeous carriage trails that wind through Acadia. You can hike, ride bikes on your own, go out on a whale-watching tour or a sunset cruise on Frenchman's Bay or participate in tons of activities that are offered by Acadia National Park! Definitely go and see the movie that is shown at the Visitor's Center which is less than 10 min away! Try to get to the Jordan Pond House for afternoon tea, popovers, homemade ice cream and of course, take a drive up Cadillac Mountain and around the Ocean Drive where you will see Sand Beach, Thunder Hole & Otter Cliffs!

There are fantastic restaurants, great shopping and even mini golf courses nearby. There is an awesome 'Art Deco' movie theater called The Criterion located in downtown Bar Harbor and two evenings a week there are band concerts on the Village Green. Several art shows are held during the summer and cruise ships come into the harbor weekly! Mt. Desert Island is Truly an Unforgettable Place with Something for Everyone!

More Details
Hide Details

I was born in Bar Harbor and my entire family lives or works only 5 minutes from our rental homes. My husband was born in Wisconsin and he fell in love with MDI the first time I took him there in 1996. He knew even before I did that we MUST have our own property there so that we would always have an excuse to go north whenever we could!

Mt. Desert Island is such a beautiful place - we both are so thankful that we can experience it many times a year and I must say that we are struck by the beauty and the solitude every time we go 'home.'

We hope that you truly have a wonderful time whether it is your first experience or you have been visiting for 20 years.

My Dad's motto is...'If you come to Maine once it won't be your last time.' Of course he is pretty bias on the subject - having lived in Bar Harbor all his life! I wish everyone could get one of his Island tours-they are awesome to say the least!

He started working as a chauffeur at age 15 and he can tell some stories. He and my Mom owned several restaurants and motels and even developed the largest campground on the Island, Bar Harbor Campground which my youngest brother now manages.

Seems like our family has been in the hospitality trade forever and...with all that experience we have certainly learned how to take good care of our guests!

Lorie Wiebrecht purchased this house in 2005

We love the land which is approximately 2.6 acres. The open, grassy area is big and level but the perimeter of the property is surrounded by big beautiful evergreens! There are many other varieties as well so the land is interesting during the fall season. The location is peaceful and quiet yet the property is not very far from anywhere on the Island. The wildlife is plentiful-you might see several deer just a few feet from the windows and the wild turkeys and other birds are all around. We have had rabbits, chipmunks, squirrels, ducks and even a bear was spotted while eating a neighbor's bird seed last year!

This property is on a private road with only 7 other homes yet it is right on the Island Explorer (free) Bus Service route. You can take the bus and travel all over the Island all day long and even take your bike along.

We also own the home next door and the two lots combined are almost 7 acres. Now when you live in a city where the houses are so close that you can hear your neighbor walking across her hardwoods floors with the windows CLOSED you really know it when you have a peaceful spot where you can relax and focus on the sounds of nature!!! It is heaven for us and we hope that it will be for you, too!

28 Reviews of Property 317880 in Bar Harbor, Maine

'Acadia Retreat' Beckons to Those Who Want a Peaceful Setting!
average rating of 4.964286 based on 28 reviews
business
'Acadia Retreat' Beckons to Those Who Want a Peaceful Setting!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317880
410 268-6410
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Acadia retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Spent the week of Aug. 6th-13th, had a wonderful vacation, the house was perfect for us, we all agreed it was the nicest house we ever rented! We are fairly certain we will be back next year! There is so much to do on the island and in the park, and the house provided the perfect 'home base'. Having things like soap, dishwasher detergent, laundry detergent, paper products and basics like sugar, flour, salt and pepper was very helpful, also having sheets, towels and even beach towels made packing from home much lighter. We definitely reccomend this house. Thanks so much!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: What a great compliment! Love it-thank you!

I want everyone to feel at home immediately and filling the house full of the things that we use at home helps to create that. I tell guests that they only have to bring clothes, food/drinks, personal gadgets (ipods/computers/kindles/ipads,etc.) and their own personal toiletries. The rest is there already.

I also suggest grocery stores that are located on your way to the house so that you are stocked when you get there and don't have to scour the area looking for the best places to shop.

The shopping by the way is very good in Ellsworth which is the largest town near Bar Harbor.
There is a store called Reny's (they call it the Maine Adventure!) which is the most interesting store-full of great items to eat and nice Maine clothing/shoes all at fantastic prices!

There is also a place called Marden's and it is "salvage/closeout" store where the best deals can be had every day! Amazing assortment and incredible prices-clothes/camping gear/furniture/pet needs/baby items/souvenirs/craft items-it's endless and different all the time!!!

In the same town is the L. L. Bean Outlet Store where you can find tons of beautiful things at wonderful prices! Everything from kayaks to sunscreen! Everyone likes a great price, right?!

We also have in Ellsworth the largest Wal-Mart in the state. It is like walking the length of a football field-wear your comfortable shoes-so worth the time-they seem to have everything you would need-groceries/pharmacy/garden shop/sporting goods-the list goes on and on!

I can answer all of your questions about the area so call me today and I can help you plan your next Maine Adventure! Thank you! Lorie
business
'Acadia Retreat' Beckons to Those Who Want a Peaceful Setting!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317880
410 268-6410
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Columbus, OH
5

A Wonderful Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
This was a return visit for our family and the Acadia Retreat was every bit as great as we'd remembered it to be. The house is clean and well-cared for, and the kitchen had everything we needed to prepare meals. We loved spending time in the bright sunroom and playing outside. Lorie went out of her way to make sure our 2 young children had toys, books, movies, and even a pack-n-play for our youngest.

The location is perfect for exploring all of the different parts of Mount Desert Island. Echo Lake beach is one of our favorite spots and is easy to reach from Acadia Retreat. And fresh lobster is just around the corner in Trenton.

We'd definitely recommend the Acadia Retreat and look forward to coming back soon.
Owner's Response: Excellent-another happy family! Makes me smile!

I really understand why a vacation rental home is so much more attractive (and affordable) for families with children.

It can be difficult anytime that you disrupt a child's schedule but I can't even imagine trying to simulate "being home" in a hotel. Little ones need room to run and explore so that they will get tired and sleep well! Parents need a good kitchen where they can make the snacks that will keep everyone happy! :-)

I figure that the more "kid friendly" I can make my rentals the more "parent friendly" they are as well.

I called to check in on a family last night and the 6 year old boy wanted his Dad to thank me for having the colorful bath toys for him! That was adorable!

I supply lots of fun play things for the kids and that way you don't have to carry so many things with you. I just got some new stuffed animals and a new game last weekend. It is fun for me and I am so glad that the kids enjoy it.

I am trying to think of those special details that set my three rental homes apart from the rest.
Taking care of the little ones is part of my plan!

Thank you Jason!!! Come back soon!

Call today and I will help you create a memorable Maine vacation! Lorie
business
'Acadia Retreat' Beckons to Those Who Want a Peaceful Setting!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317880
410 268-6410
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Millersville, MD
5

Completely Spoiled by Acadia Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We have now stayed at Acadia Retreat for two years in a row, and I can't imagine staying anywhere else when visiting Mt. Desert Island and Acadia National Park. We are spoiled by all that this home offers, from its cleanliness to its ideal location. It is so nice not to have to pack beach towels, shampoo, and laundry detergent, as these are all provided by the owners of this well-stocked home. Our family of four again enjoyed the beautiful wildflower garden and the hammock when we were not out hiking, biking, or kayaking. When we first arrived, both of my teenage children commented on how clean the house was. My son loved having his own "suite" in the sunroom and really liked the setup of the kitchen. We also used the wireless Internet, and that worked great. The location couldn't be better, as we enjoyed numerous activities on both sides of the island. The nearby kayaking on Long Pond was enjoyed by all of us, as well as the black bear sighting on our way to the Schoodic Peninsula, in addition to the dozen humpback whales seen on an evening whale watching trip from Bar Harbor. We will definitely be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: I can't possibly communicate it any better than this. Thank you so much!

This is a really special house and I get the best feedback because...it is so easy to settle into Acadia Retreat! It does have a perfect location when you want to travel all around the Island-it does have everything that you need in the kitchen-it is a great place to relax when you need some "down time" and...because the house is so well-stocked it makes your packing list much shorter.

And I have to say that when the teens comment on the cleanliness-that is amazing! I love it!
I am already looking forward to the 2012 season and seeing what new improvements I can add!

Please call me and we can talk about your next vacation in Maine. You won't be disappointed and you will want to come back! Thank you. Lorie
business
'Acadia Retreat' Beckons to Those Who Want a Peaceful Setting!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317880
410 268-6410
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Outstanding Vacation Home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Our family of five had a wonderful week at Acadia Retreat! The home is comfortably furnished and the owners have thoughtfully provided so many wonderful extras in the kitchen and throughout. We appreciated being able to do laundry, with all of the necessary supplies being provided. We enjoyed the wildlife in the backyard and the peace of the hammock. The property was exceptionally clean and well-maintained and the owners provided excellent customer service, first with a call to check that we had arrived and that all was well. Later, when we had a minor repair need, we called the owners and the problem was quickly and completely taken care of. We had plenty of space indoors to spread out when we were at home, but we spent most of our time enjoying Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor. The boys are already making a list of things to do when we return and when we do, we definitely want to stay here! We would highly recommend this property.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'Acadia Retreat' Beckons to Those Who Want a Peaceful Setting!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317880
410 268-6410
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

We have enjoyed our stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
We stayed at Acadia Retreat for four nights in June. We had really enjoyed our stay. The house was very clean and exactly as described. The location is great, within 15 minutes drive to the park. The house was surrounded by grass and trees and the sun room has a great view of the gorgeous backyard. A deer visited us on one morning.

Lorie prepared everything we can think of. We cooked a couple of meals and easily found everything we needed. My 16-months-old found some cute toys to play with, even for his bath time!!! Lorie was also very available on the phone to help out when needed. We really liked the place and would love to visit again in the future.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Again I am thrilled that this group enjoyed their experience at Acadia Retreat! It is a very bright, open space with lots of kitchen cabinet space. That makes it easy for me to stock it so well.

A couple of weeks ago one of my guests asked me if we had a griddle. I was disappointed to say that I did not have one at the house. But...we were arriving in town the Friday night before this particular group checked out so...before they left they had a griddle for their last breakfast at the house.

Since the blueberries are coming in now it is the perfect time to fire up the new griddle and enjoy the best blueberry pancakes ever!

We actually have some high bush blueberries along the driveway at Acadia Retreat! And there are lots of places to pick them and plenty of roadside stands where you can get fresh picked berries to eat on your vacation or to take back home with you!

We would love to have you come and enjoy our beautiful home and...our beautiful Acadia National Park. Call today and make a plan then you can take some wonderful memories home with you, too!

Thank you Lisha for your lovely informative review! Lorie
business
'Acadia Retreat' Beckons to Those Who Want a Peaceful Setting!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317880
410 268-6410
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Columbia, SC
5

Great Place Just Outside of Bar harbor

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
This was the second time we rented Arcadia Retreat and this experience was as good as the first. Carl and Lorie have provided everything you will need at the house. They even provide a flock of wild turkeys (16) and four deer, which visit you in the back yard each evening (I wonder how they do that). The only thing they could do to make it better is to arrange for the delivery of lobsters to the door (ha-ha). All the lobsters you can eat are just minutes away waiting for you to pick them up.

The house is ideally located just outside Bar Harbor which provides a quiet setting. The house is very comfortable, clean, well maintained and well decorated.

We appreciated the call from Lorie the evening we arrived to assure we had everything we needed.

We would recommend the house to everyone.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Happy Guests Equal Happy Lorie!! Another smile on my face!

Yes, how do you like all those turkeys and deer that I have on the payroll?!! It is such a treat to have nature all around!

I do enjoy checking in with folks just to make sure that they have what they want, that they have located everything that I said was there and that the place is as cute as I said it was! :-)

As I have said before...the best compliments that I can recieve are the return visits from my Happy Guests!

As another successful season draws to a close I look forward to hearing from my past Guests and the many new Guests that will make their 2011 plans to visit one of the most beautiful places in the world!

Call me anytime with questions and early bookings!
It is the best way to reserve the weeks that work best for you and your family! Thank you ALL! Lorie
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
'Acadia Retreat' Beckons to Those Who Want a Peaceful Setting!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317880
410 268-6410
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Virginia
5

Great place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
This is a beautiful house/cottage. It is wonderfully decorated and well furnished. It is quiet and remote but only 10 minutes from Southwest Harbor. I highly recommend it.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Again...I am so happy to hear when families are happy with their choice to stay with us!

"Acadia Retreat" does have a great location...not only is it tucked off the road on 2.5 acres so that you enjoy the privacy, space and nature...you are actually very close to a road that will take you in all directions on Mt.Desert Island!

Because of this location you have easy access to the free shuttle bus that runs all day to varied island destinations.

Some folks don't know that there are many little towns and villages on MDI. They are all a bit different...some are working fishing villages and others are surrounded by huge summer "cottages" that most of us would call mansions!

The history of the Island is very interesting! It once was the vacation destination for many wealthy families from all over New England...those folks are the ones that built the amazing summer cottages and lived in an era of decadence that still remains to some degree but...in 1947 a fire broke out and raged for days and destroyed much of that era and it was lost forever.

Much of the history of the Island can be learned at the Visitor's Center at Acadia National Park-it is about 7 miles from the house! I strongly suggest that you go there and watch "the movie" that runs all day and look at the books that are filled with wondrous accounts of "the way it was" and "the way it is now!"

Whether history is your thing or nature is your passion you will have plenty to learn and experience while visiting this absolutely gorgeous place called Mount Desert Island!

Please call today so that I can help you plan your truly memorable vacation!

Thank you! Lorie
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'Acadia Retreat' Beckons to Those Who Want a Peaceful Setting!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317880
410 268-6410
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Millersville, MD
5

Great home, perfect location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
This extremely clean and lovely home was located in a peaceful setting, yet the location was convenient to everything in Acadia National Park and Mt. Desert Island, including Bar Harbor. The owners provided every convenience from laundry detergent and shampoo to beach towels, bug spray, books, games, and movies! We loved the bright and cheery sunroom, where we could look out the windows and watch deer grazing amid the wildflowers while we ate breakfast. We also liked that the location was equally convenient to both sides of the island. If you enjoy hiking, biking, kayaking, the outdoors, and beautiful scenery, you will love Acadia National Park and Mt. Desert Island. Staying at Acadia Retreat will guarantee the perfect vacation, and the friendly owners are willing to help in any way that they can.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for that wonderful review Karen!

You readers might think that I pay these Guests to "ham it up" but I don't! The pleasure is really there for them and then the pleasure is mine...when I read all about it!!

I love this (ad)venture-I make so many new friends and they are happy when they see Acadia Retreat and often times they are sad to leave!

It is definitely a "home away from home" where you can get comfortable right away and that really makes a big difference when you want to spend your time finding out what there is to do in the area instead of being bogged down with a place where you can't quite relax!

All your time is precious when you go on vacation so I really try to prepare and provide those things that will free you up to have more fun!!

Please feel free to call me so that I may help you with your special vacation plans! Thank you! Lorie
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'Acadia Retreat' Beckons to Those Who Want a Peaceful Setting!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317880
410 268-6410
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Bermuda
5

Wonderful vacation at Acadia Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
As first time visitors to Acadia/Bar Harbor, we were looking for a "home away from home", something comfortable and cost efficient that we could use as a base from which to explore the island.
Acadia Retreat exceeded my expectations in every way imaginable. From the booking process onwards, Lorie could not have been more helpful and she even provided directions for us so it was easy to find the house.
The house is set in a picturesque rural location, but within easy driving distance of Bar Harbor and the entrance to Acadia National Park.
But the house itself is the selling point for me. It is so clean and comfortable, when we arrived I thought it had had a fresh lick of paint everywhere, it is that spotless. Lorie thoughtfully provides anything you can ever need so that it truly is a home away from home, including plenty of fresh linens, towels, laundry detergent, beach towels, crockery, cutlery, spices, salt, pepper, soap, sewing kit, games etc. We had a fabulous night playing Monopoly in the comfortable living room. Best of all, we cooked our own lobster outside in the lobster pot provided and had the best meal in Acadia right at home in our "back yard". Try the Lobster Pound at Trenton, a few miles away. We also had BBQ breakfast and lazed in the lovely hammock in the spacious garden. The sun room is delightful and so relaxing, every time I sat in there to read, I fell asleep, bliss.
The beds are comfy and it is really evident that Lorie cares very much about the house and your enjoyment of it. We all left feeling very refreshed.
I would not hesitate to recommend the house to anyone vacationing on Mount Desert Island - it is an absolute delight and we will have fond memories of our time there in the years to come.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Wow! I am so touched by this review! I know that it takes valuable time to respond to my "review request" and this guest really did an outstanding job reporting on her experience at Acadia Retreat. At the end of the day this is what I strive for and I am very pleased that these guests were so happy!

These reviews are very important as they clearly convey to the next guest that they can feel confident when choosing Acadia Retreat as their vacation home.

Please call me to discuss your vacation plans and I will do everything that I can to make your stay as satisfying and memorable as possible!

Thank you and Happy Vacationing! Lorie
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'Acadia Retreat' Beckons to Those Who Want a Peaceful Setting!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317880
410 268-6410
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Owego, NY
5

Peace and Quiet at Acadia Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
We are from rural Pennsylvania and are accustomed to peace, quiet and darkness at night. Thank goodness Acadia Retreat filled the bill and made us feel right at home.

My mother uses a walker and her "friend" has a cane. They were able to negotiate this home, as it is all on one floor. My Mom is a voracious reader and was amazed at the selection of books at the home. The house is very "user-friendly" and is completely stocked with all the necessities. My Mom didn't want to leave.

The house is close to Bar Harbor and all the things you can do in that town and the surrounding area. Cadillac Mountain is a "must see" at Acadia State Park. I wish we had more time as there is so much to do and see in the immediate area.

This was our first trip to Maine and returning each day to Acadia Retreat vacation home made our trip both relaxing and memorable.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway