Lancaster apartment rental - Welcome to Pilgrim's Progress Retreat! Thanks for visiting us atop of the hill.
Welcome to Pilgrim's Progress Retreat! Thanks for visiting us atop of the hill.
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay nights
 

Lancaster Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Apartment, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

This former upstairs apartment, now newly renovated upstairs home, is the perfect stay for taking a break from life's worries as well as providing easy access to all the local hospitality that Lancaster County has to offer.

When you enter the Spring room, large bay windows surround the North and East sides allowing you to see the Amish buggy teams clopping-by. At night, the open windows allow you to hear the relaxing sounds of the stream that runs just behind it.

Next is a well lit, yellow-pine, log den-library. Here you can can relax in the setting of Native American memorabilia, Westward artwork, and well crafted natural beauty displays while enjoying lighthearted reading.

There is a quaint bathroom providing a shower tub, pedestal sink, toilet, and recessed shelves...very new, very nice.

Past the den-library is the dining room featuring a Pennsylvania German log chinked pattern with Americana motif. Wide beam wood flooring with forged nails. Enjoy eating on an 1800's beautiful dark oak trestle table. The simple lighting is especially calming at night and gives you a sense of early pioneering appreciation, spiritualness, and forging ahead towards good times.

Adjacent to the dining room lies a pleasant country kitchen which has a large counter-top kitchen sink, new stove, new fridge, and champagne glass lighting. There is plenty of cabinet space and a delightful hutch for all your basic kitchen needs.

Lastly, there is a spacious back bedroom with a soft decor and queen sized bed, windows that face to one of the last indigenous Conestoga tribe settlements ('Indian Hill'), and a view of the valley where Amish are often seen working in the fields and Amish children can be seen splashing in the stream.

While it is true at Pilgrim's Progress Retreat, we do not boast having lots of entertainments such as cable television, DVD movies, game systems, table games, a whirlpool, etc., there is a modest sound system for enjoying music.

That being said when you're tired of the quiet life, historic Lancaster City beckons you participate in its various attractions such as movie cinemas, live theatres, neighboring amusement parks (Hershey Park, Dutch Wonderland), day trips to Gettysburg and Philadelphia, an amazing very new in-the-country YMCA gym, golf courses galore, art galleries, fantastic museums, and a smorgasbord of restaurants to choose from.

More Details
Hide Details

My Julia and I have been married for 17 years. We are Mennonites with her family being descended from the Herrs of the early 1700's. I work as a physician assistant and my wife is a homemaker. We are into outdoor activities, farmette living, church functions, and enjoying our 3 children.

Owner/Manager purchased this apartment in 2005

It came with the property and thought it would be a fun fixer-upper to invest in.

Cost-effective, quiet, pleasant get-away with amazing centralization to branch out for fun.

17 Reviews of Property 3165919 in Lancaster, Pennsylvania

Pilgrim's Progress Retreat in Lancaster, Pennsylvania
average rating of 5.0 based on 17 reviews
business
Pilgrim's Progress Retreat in Lancaster, Pennsylvania
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3165919
+1 717-247-6190
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
New York
5

Heavenly Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Thank you so much for your gracious hospitality. Our stay here has been pure Heaven! The apartment is immaculate, tasteful, gorgeous, and very homey. The view from every window is beautiful. Right now, I'm enjoying the sounds of the creek, the windchimes, and the birds singing. This has been a perfect escape from the city - just what we needed. We have thoroughly enjoyed our holiday here. You have provided the perfect balance of attention by answering our questions and leaving us to ourselves. Thank you so much - an absolute pleasure.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are glad to get such responses as yours from various guests around the U.S. We would be delighted to have you visit again in the future. Blessings to you both as you continue to glean the good in life. Sincerely, Nate and Julie Whitfield
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Pilgrim's Progress Retreat in Lancaster, Pennsylvania
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3165919
+1 717-247-6190
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Port Murray, New Jersey
5

Overnight Trip to Lancaster

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
When my dear friend suggested an overnight trip to Lancaster, I immediately changed my previously made plans. Spending time in a quiet and peaceful setting was just too good an opportunity to pass up!
The serenity we both found at Pilgrim's Progress Retreat just solidified our need "to get away". From the moment we pulled up, I knew we had chosen the perfect place to relax. The soothing color palette of the rooms and the natural beauty of the surrounding countryside allowed us both to "breathe easy". We look forward to the day when we can return and enjoy your beautiful part of Lancaster! God bless.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway
Owner's Response: I know when I can take a trip with friends for a "girls'-get-away", it is a great time to reconnect with best friends from childhood and college days. I was glad that our vacation rental was able to bless you in the same way. You are welcome back anytime. Best Wishes, Pilgrim's Progress Retreat
business
Pilgrim's Progress Retreat in Lancaster, Pennsylvania
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3165919
+1 717-247-6190
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Rochester N.H>
5

Our Amish, Gettysburg, Hersey experiences

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
The rental was great. They went out of there way to make us comfortable. Bought an air conditioner for us. It is true you can see and hear the brook. The horses would come down in the morning for water and shade. In seeing that my wife was watching the horses all the time they put a bench there for her. It was not far from all the attractions but out of lifes fast lane. You can also hear the cows at the amish farm next door. I am recomending this rental to all my friends when they go there. The display of all the attractions was nicely done. Again thank you for a rewarding vacation and your hospitality. It was just fun to take a country road and end up in nowhere what a sight. Many amish farms . We scoured the country side beautiful.

David from New Hampshire
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It was a mighty hot Summer indeed! Too easy though, we were more than happy to furnish the rental with a cooling unit before you came. We were glad that you enjoyed PPR itself as well as have it serve as a home for you to branch out to the Gettysburg Anniversary, Hershey attractions, and Dutch culture of Lancaster. It was a pleasure having you visit for 10 days and thanks in advance for any referrals you make.

Nate and Julie Whitfield
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Pilgrim's Progress Retreat in Lancaster, Pennsylvania
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3165919
+1 717-247-6190
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Harrisonburg, Virginia
5

Easter Weekend Surprise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
My husband and I came up to Lancaster to visit my grandparents. We decided to go with a rental to relieve the burden of a housefull of family. Little did we know what an amazing treat we were in for when we chose 'Pilgrim's Progress'. It was such a relaxing atmosphere, and we felt very taken care of. Nate and Julie were wonderful hosts, and we were so blessed to be able to enjoy this wonderful place. Both nights here, we stayed up late to enjoy a good book in the den. Sunday morning, I woke up early to enjoy a quiet Easter morning with the sun streaming in the window. My husband is still talking about when we can come back again! Thank you so much for allowing us to stay here. God's blessing on your family.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We know how busy (and family packed) Easter can be here in Lancaster County! That being said, we are delighted you chose to stay at Pilgrim's Progress Retreat for both your grandparent's ease of mind and yours. It blesses us immensely when we see happy newlyweds vacationing with us. Thank you also for your kind personal compliments about us and your stay. We wish you all the best as you continue down this good path that lies before you.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Pilgrim's Progress Retreat in Lancaster, Pennsylvania
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3165919
+1 717-247-6190
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Western PA
5

Contented traveler

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Wow! The advertisements do not do this spacious retreat justice. It is a perfect weekend getaway place for a couple, sporting simple, elegant decor that reflects the owners' eclectic interests and tastes. A great deal of love and care must have gone into preparing this pleasant suite. I deeply appreciated the lack of a television set and access to uplifting reading material and stereo. This is truly a cabin-like place for rest and refreshment. Yes, you can hear the trickling creek through an open bedroom window.

The apartment was impeccably clean and neat when we arrived, with access to a complete kitchen. The owners are friendly, welcoming folks, who see this as an opportunity to minister to their guests. We left Pilgrim's Progress Retreat feeling refreshed and restored. Thank you, Mr. and Mrs. Whitfield, for a wonderful stay!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Julie and I are so blessed to know that your stay here was a memorable one. We envisioned that what people, especially couples, need more of is quiet solace together, so we created this vacation rental with that in mind. The fact that you got to experience our dream and by that, help make it a reality is more than we could have prayed for! You are welcome to visit again anytime. Pilgrim's Progress Retreat
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Pilgrim's Progress Retreat in Lancaster, Pennsylvania
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3165919
+1 717-247-6190
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Conestoga, PA
5

refreshed one

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
What a refreshing time I had at Pilgrim's Progress Retreat! The time away from my ordinary routine and regular duties was made sweet by the beautiful simplicity of this place. The space was bright and welcoming. The decor was lovely and the accommodations were wonderfully comfortable. The surroundings were peaceful and quiet with just the sound of a stream rippling nearby. Even the drive as I approached the turn into the retreat was winding and peaceful, as if already foretelling the relaxing and restful stay I was sure to experience. Pilgrim's Progress Retreat is truly a delightful getaway that I will return to and recommend to my friends and family.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are delighted that you found your time here relaxing and refreshing. We'd hoped that Pilgrim's Progress Retreat would be a place for folks to renew their spirits so as to return home as a blessing to others. Your testimony assures us that this is becoming a reality. You are welcome back anytime and thanks, in advance, for any referrals you make.
With kind regards,
Pilgrim's Progress Retreat
business
Pilgrim's Progress Retreat in Lancaster, Pennsylvania
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3165919
+1 717-247-6190
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
southeastern PA
5

Sweet overnight stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
This past weekend my mother-in-law offered to take the children overnight and we jumped at the chance to stay at Pilgrim's Progress Retreat. It is even sweeter than you can tell from the photos, lovely as they are.

We only had a day - no time to take in the area's attractions, although the owners have an ample supply of informative brochures available. We spent the evening reading from the excellent selection of books provided, and talking in the cozy lamplit log-paneled den. The decor everywhere is exquisite - although we didn't use the wood-chinked dining room, we thoroughly admired its authentic historical feel, down to an oil lamp on the table. The bedroom was comfortable and romantic - we awoke late to the sound of horses galloping along the stream just outside our window! The light-filled spring room was just right for quiet morning coffee and more reading, looking out over the stream, trees, and watching Amish families heading to the neighboring farm for Sunday service. This place in autumn will be fantastic - it is positively surrounded by trees and the windows just let them in!

A lovely stay, one we hope to repeat, and would highly recommend!

p.s. being winter, we couldn't sleep with the windows open, but I love the sound of running water, so I had to check, and you CAN hear the stream from the bedroom and the spring room! :o)
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Julia and I are so glad that you chose our rental for your "freedom-from-parenting" night. Additionally, we are very thankful that your stay was a positive experience. I don't think my wife and I could have asked for better first guests to enjoy our venture. Thanks for recommending to folks and friends.

Best Regards and Blessings,

Pilgrim's Progress Retreat
Helpful votes: 5/5