Waimanalo house rental - Welcome to Paradise~~~
Welcome to Paradise~~~
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 5 nights
 

Waimanalo House Rental Photos and Description
2 BR, 2 bathrooms, sleeps 2-5

Ocean~Song Beach House is situated in a quiet, country style residential setting. It is just a two minute walk from one of the most spectacular beaches in Hawaii!

This beach house is well decorated and totally tropical, a very clean and comfortable home for your island getaway.

It features two bedrooms, two full baths, and a spacious living room which opens directly to a large kitchenette. Sliding glass doors open from the living room to a covered porch, which looks out onto a small but very lush and private tropical garden, complete with the soothing sounds of a tranquil water feature to help you while away the afternoon...

Waimanalo is a truly special place, ideal for those travelers who want to get off the beaten path and who love the beach. It's a great place for surfers and boogie boarders, beach bums and nature lovers. It's a place where you can still feel the spirit of 'Old Hawaii.'

Amenities: Two full bathrooms, one with a bathtub/shower and the other with an extra large shower. The master bedroom has a gorgeous all teak wood sleigh bed, California King Size. The mattress is firm, with a super comfortable temperpedic topper. The second bedroom has a brand new, extremely comfortable plush queen mattress.

Both bedrooms face towards the ocean and receive the wonderful, gentle tradewinds that make falling to sleep the greatest of pleasures!

Activities: Beach, Swimming, Surfing, Boogie Boarding, Body Boarding, Kayaking, Boating, Water-Skiing, Jet Skiing, Shelling, Golfing, Bird Watching, Snorkeling, Fishing, Scuba Diving, Biking, Shopping, Art Galleries, Horseback Riding, Whale Watching, Hiking

ABOUT THE NEIGHBORHOOD: WAIMANALO: Waimanalo Beach is spectacular~~~there are five miles of white sand and turquoise sea with picturesque islands floating off the coastline. Giant sea turtles swim in our waters, whales travel through on their winter migration, and thousands of birds sing their tropical melodies, filling the neighborhood with the most beautiful music. In 2001 National Geographic named it one of the most beautiful beaches in the world!

Within a five minute drive you can explore the famous underwater snorkeling park of Hanauma Bay, check out the shows at Sea Life Park, or go horseback riding along scenic mountain trails. It's a great beach to learn how to boogie board.

It's a perfect beach for romantic walks at sunrise.

This community is nestled at the foot of some of the most spectacular mountain ranges of the Islands, and during the winter rains they are teeming with cascading waterfalls that will take your breath away.

More Details
Hide Details

25 Reviews of Property 314621 in Waimanalo, Hawaii

Tropical Beachside Cottage~~~5 miles of White Sand & Turquoise Waters
average rating of 4.9166665 based on 25 reviews
business
Tropical Beachside Cottage~~~5 miles of White Sand & Turquoise Waters
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p314621
808 221-6649
Waimanalo Oahu
5

Very Nice Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
THE ACCOMMODATIONS: Skye is a perfect host with a perfect house! The furnishings in the living room and bedrooms are top-notch Hawaiian. It comfortably accommodates four adults -- comfy beds, large living room and large kitchen area. The master bath is small but with a huge shower, and the guest bathroom (with tub/shower) is quite large. Both bedrooms have large closets and plenty of drawers to unload your suitcases and then stash them in the closet to get them out of the way. Only complaint is $2.50 to wash and $2.50 to dry one load of laundry -- many vrbo's don't charge, or you get one load free.
THE NEIGHBORHOOD: It is only a short walk to the beach (literally past 3-4 houses to the short path to the beach), although we were only able to use it one day due to rain. There are dogs and cats in the neighborhood which initially concerned us, but we never heard them and none of them bothered us.
THE TOWNS: The home is only 5-6 short miles to Kailua where there are many shops and restaurants. Although the home is located in Waimanalo, a very small town, it still has a nice grocery store (Shima's), fish market, and right around the corner from the house is a great little place to eat, "Fresh Steak and Shrimp", which serves good food (breakfast, lunch and dinner) at good prices.
We chose this VRBO because we wanted a two bedroom/two bathroom place, and every rental on the beach was twice the price. For the price, and just a short walk to the beach, it is a good vacation place!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Tropical Beachside Cottage~~~5 miles of White Sand & Turquoise Waters
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p314621
808 221-6649
Waimanalo Oahu
Normal, IL
5

Thank you for a week in paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
(At the request of the owner, Skye, I am posting here what I wrote in the guestbook/journal for the house. I think this says it all. [Please excuse the length of this post. There was a lot for which I wanted to express my gratitude.])

Saturday, August 31, 7:30 a.m.

We just returned to Ocean Song House from the beach,
where we watched the sun nuzzle its way into the sky through clouds of a dozen textures that it painted peach and gold and pink.

As we prepare to say aloha to Skye and her house, I'm taking a little time to write here in the OceanSong journal.

We are a family of four from Normal, Illinois, and this is our first time visiting Hawaii. We've spent a week exploring--and falling in love with--Oahu, and we've seen many gorgeous and fascinating places. But nowhere else exerts the same tug on our hearts as the beach at access point 100-E, just a few steps down Hilu Street from Ocean Song House.

The house itself is lovely, perfect for a family of four. We've basked in the bouquet of Skye's garden (where yesterday we watched a six inch long snail slide across the lawn) and eaten our meals together here at the table on the deck, cooled by the trade winds. We love to drink "Arnold Palmers" (half iced tea, half lemonade) and we have found a new flavor by adding some of Skye's lemon/limes to our drinks. The cliffs above Waimanalo have enchanted us.

Everywhere we've traveled on Oahu this week, people have congratulated us on choosing Waimanalo as our temporary home. We feel lucky and blessed to have spent this week--in part a celebration of Julie's and my 24th wedding anniversary--at Ocean Song House, under Skye's care.

Like all the other guests who have written in this book, we have been marked by our time in Hawaii and will never forget its magic.

Mahalo. Aloha.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Tropical Beachside Cottage~~~5 miles of White Sand & Turquoise Waters
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p314621
808 221-6649
Waimanalo Oahu
Melbourne Australia
4

Relaxing

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Fantastic spot very close to the beach and some great nearby cafes recommended by the owner, who was lovely. Beach equipment - umbrellas, chairs, coolers, snorkel - great for exploring Oahu's beaches.
House has fairly basic amenities, though clean and well maintained. Fans in each room but no aircon so for us in mid August it was too hot to be inside the house from midday to early evening when the sea breezes arrived to cool the place down.
One minor quibble would be the owner's "check out rules" requiring us to strip beds, clean the kitchen, empty rubbish bins etc - at peak seasom the house is expensive for what it is and with a significant cleaning fee charged on top this seemed a bit unfair.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Tropical Beachside Cottage~~~5 miles of White Sand & Turquoise Waters
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p314621
808 221-6649
Waimanalo Oahu
Mountain View, WY
5

A slice of heaven with Ocean blue accents

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Where to start...
What a wonderful host and owner to share a beautiful corner of the world with. The property instantly becomes a home, even though it is only temporary. Everything that has been said in other reviews cannot be overstated.
From the sea breeze that gently passes through, to the friendly neighbors. The sound of the ocean lulling you to sleep in the bedroom or out on the covered porch...
Nicely appointed and very comfortable.
Perfect location to retreat to after a day anywhere else on the island.
About an hour to the North shore. Honolulu, Pearl Harbor, swap meet, 45 minutes away.
Minutes to snorkeling, Chiefs Luau, Sea Life Park.
Seconds, maybe 30, to the most awesome beach in Hawaii...
Great food in Waimanalo, or 15 minutes to Kailua for an assortment of nice places to dine. Everything we needed to stock the shelves for our stay were found at the local market. If they dont have it, you probably don't need it, but Kailua's full service supermarkets have it all. Local fare, liquor, and Poke.

I've already said too much... ;)

We will be back!

Mahalo
business
Tropical Beachside Cottage~~~5 miles of White Sand & Turquoise Waters
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p314621
808 221-6649
Waimanalo Oahu
5

This is It!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 29, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
From the moment we walked through the door there was a feeling that said "This is It!" If you ever wondered what it would be like to live in Hawaii, you should strongly consider staying here.
The Cottage has a large eat in kitchen, spacious living room, two bedrooms with baths, and a porch that is private and catches the ocean breeze. The property is decorated beautifully, with many thoughtful reminders that say Aloha to Hawaii. The gardens are peaceful and provide great privacy for your stay. The Palms and porch seem to beg you to slow down and relax while you savor your time here. If this wasn't enough, one of the best beaches is literally a half a block away and was sparsely populated... even on a holiday weekend!
Thank you for the great Aloha Skye - we will return and stay here again!
Mahalo ~
business
Tropical Beachside Cottage~~~5 miles of White Sand & Turquoise Waters
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p314621
808 221-6649
Waimanalo Oahu
5

Comforts of Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
04/21/13 -04/27/13

Skye,

Wow, what an amazing adventure! 37 years ago, my friend Pam and I went to Hawaii, we were 15 years old and stayed for three weeks! Pam had an aunt and uncle who lived just a few miles from your cottage.

Over the years we talked about how much fun we had, and always said we would like to take our husbands to Hawaii someday.

We finally got the chance in April. Neither one of our husbands had ever been to Hawaii so I wanted it to be a great experience for both of them.

I spent what seemed like hours, searching for a place to stay that would be quiet, away from the crowds, and by the beach so we could all relax.

When I found Ocean~Song on the internet, I took a chance it would be what we wanted. I was very pleased when we got there and could see it with my own eyes. The cottage was well kept and nicely decorated, and the beds were great!

The beach was amazing and just a few steps away. We all enjoyed the beauty of Hawaii with the comforts of home.

It was the perfect little place for us. We hope to visit it again…Soon!

Thank you for your help, your time, and your comfortable little cottage :).

Take care!

Handyman Dave & Lori, Idaho

--------

Today is our 28th anniversary.

What a wonderful stay!

Thank you for sharing your little bit of paradise.

Jeb & Pam, Idaho
business
Tropical Beachside Cottage~~~5 miles of White Sand & Turquoise Waters
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p314621
808 221-6649
Waimanalo Oahu
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Loved the garden!

  • Submitted: May 5, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We had a wonderful time in your lovely home.
We very much enjoyed your garden with beautiful flowers and greenery!
business
Tropical Beachside Cottage~~~5 miles of White Sand & Turquoise Waters
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p314621
808 221-6649
Waimanalo Oahu
5

The ocean sang for us

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
The song of the ocean echoed throughout our stay at your wonderful beach house.

Skye, thank you so very much for giving us a treat that will always be remembered and cherished.
Karen and I will keep the memories of our stay here in our hearts forever.

Mahalo!
--Brian

moonlight dancing across the water, stars shimmering above: the beach at night is so serenely beautiful. your beach and cottage have given us very lovely memories. thanks for sharing, skye!
--karen
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Tropical Beachside Cottage~~~5 miles of White Sand & Turquoise Waters
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p314621
808 221-6649
Waimanalo Oahu
5

Precious Memories

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
January 27-Feb. 2

Best Vacation Ever!

Skye,

Thank you so much for the great hospitality and wonderful home, where we had the best vacation of our lives!
Waimanalo Beach is so gorgeous it took our breath away.
A cup of coffee on the beach while watching the most beautiful sunrise ever created some welcome romance, even with the kids around!
They loved boogie boarding, turtle watching and snorkeling.
Could hardly get them off the beach until the sun went down.

And we just loved the house. We appreciated the cleanliness and attention to detail. The beds were really comfortable and I woke every morning feeling rejuvenated.
We loved the open air feeling and the sound of the waves while we drifted off to sleep…
The house has a real tropical island feel to it, which was so delightful for us. It just has a great vibe!

We especially appreciated all the extras, the boogie boards, snorkel gear, sun umbrella, beach chairs and coolers.
These kind of details really made the home complete for us, and saved us some money and the hassle of trying to rent things or buy cheap.
So "mahalo" for this!

We all can't wait to come back.
We've already started planning our next trip, so look forward to seeing us again soon!

Jon & Cece
Alaska
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Tropical Beachside Cottage~~~5 miles of White Sand & Turquoise Waters
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p314621
808 221-6649
Waimanalo Oahu
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Paradise~~~

  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
What a wonderful time we have had here on Oahu (our first visit). Thank you Skye for sharing your little bit of paradise and making the beach cottage so welcoming and homey!!
Helpful votes: 3/3