Old Center apartment rental
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps3
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Old Center Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Apartment, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 3)

streetlevel apartment in beautiful part of the city centre.

PRINSENGRACHT728

Charming street level apartment (35 sq M.) in an old canalhouse built in 1725 on one of the 4 main canals. Located in the old city center in the 'Grachtengordel' formed by the major canals. Close to tourist attractions, museums, and public transportation.The address of the apartment is PRINSENGRACHT 728; between Vijzelstraat and Reguliersgracht. A safe upper-class neighbourhood in the very heart of the Golden Age Amsterdam. All the things you like to visit are on walking distance. The prinsengracht-canal is part of the Seventeenth-century canal ring of Amsterdam that has been put on the World Heritage List since 2010.

You have a private entrance so 100% privacy guaranteed.The garden gives you an extra place to relax. We as a family live in the upper part of the house. I work as a Montessori teacher and my husband works as a pediatric surgeon, the three children go to University.

Private entrance/keys and a beautiful garden, 100 % privacy.The apartment makes you feel one of the locals. Easy to reach from Central-Station by tramline 4 (6th stop is Prinsengracht) Only 2 minutes walk to number 728.

This location is a peaceful part of the centre. Close to schools, lots of families live in this area.

close to: Rembrandtplein, flowermarket, Nieuwmarkt, Amstelveld, Leidseplein, musea,shoppingcentre, restaurants, daily market and famous area 'de Pijp' and 'Jordaan', fitness centre , red- light district and lots of theaters and cinema's.

The Jordaan with 'the 9 shopping streets' is also close enough to walk. 2 Supermarkets on 2 minutes walking distance.One of them is an Organic Health food store.

The apartment has a living/kitchen, a shower/toilet and a bedroom overlooking the garden.The garden is a very romantic place to relax after a bussy day,the big table and barbeque are there for the guests.The convertable couch sleeps 2 extra people.

The kitchen is well equiped with microwave, oven and washingmachine.with a special code you have free acces to wireless internet.

One of the guests wrote:

'What a wonderful place and fine location. ' I love to cook, and with the local markets nearby and the great kitchen you have it all perfect.

CHECK-IN PROCEDURE

All guests are greeted upon arrival to exchange keys and payments, regardless of arrival time. Please let us know what time you plan on arriving to the apartment at least one week before your check-in date.

To make a booking definitive I ask for a deposit.The most easy way to make a deposit transfer is PAY PAL.The balance must be paid upon arrival. Sorry for no credit card fascilities.

Deposit returned if cancellation is made 6 weeks prior to stay

Cancellation made less than 6 weeks prior, deposit returned if dates are booked.

Keywords: 'lot of Privacy,private entrance, quiet, comfortable'

More Details
Hide Details

We as a family live in the upper part of the house and we use our own front door.

My husband is working in a hospital as a pediatric surgeon and I love to be a Montessori teacher.

Our 3 children are bussy with their study in Amsterdam.

We lived in new York while my husband was working as a childrens oncologist.We like to share our house with people from other countries.We use VRBO often our selves and think that it is very nice to live like locals in different places in the world.

The Owner purchased this apartment in 1964

In august we have the gay parade in front of our house, on Queens day (april 30) the free market is all around us, In winter time you can skate on the canal in front.

The garden is an extra area to sit, drink, smoke and eat in summer time.

The bread specialist is around the corner, ABERCROMBIE & FITCH just started around the corner, the flee-market and daily market are on walking distance........and so on, please see by yourself.

Most guests love to live like a 'local'

This part of the city is one of the most friendly and beautiful ones.

boats passing by, cafee's with people sitting outside enjoying the sun.

The houses on this canal make you feel like walking around in a museum.

30 Reviews of Property 30677 in Old Center, Netherlands

Canalview Apt.City Center, Quiet, Comfortable, Well equiped kitchen.
average rating of 5.0 based on 30 reviews
business
Canalview Apt.City Center, Quiet, Comfortable, Well equiped kitchen.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p30677vbi
+31 204203314
Old Center Amsterdam
mystic, CT USA
5

Returning to Amsterdam

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
We arrived in Amsterdam and were met by Lisbeth. The apartment was well maintained and looked like the pictures. Lisbeth was very helpful and even provided us with a museum pass saving us lots of euros. The location was great and we were able to get around easily. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this rental.. You have to take the canal bus. Also plan to take a tour the North the country side is charming. Looking forward to our next visit
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Canalview Apt.City Center, Quiet, Comfortable, Well equiped kitchen.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p30677vbi
+31 204203314
Old Center Amsterdam
Los Angeles, CA, USA
5

Great Time In Amsterdam

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2010
We had a nice stay here. Everything was as expected. Thanks for a great experience.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Canalview Apt.City Center, Quiet, Comfortable, Well equiped kitchen.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p30677vbi
+31 204203314
Old Center Amsterdam
Fredericksburg, VA USA
5

A Gem in the City

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 28, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
My husband and I stayed at the apartment over Easter week and we found it to be extremely clean, well appointed and very well located.  After a day of sight seeing in the crowded sections of the city, it was a treat to come back to this residential area to relax and have dinner with the locals at one of the many nearby restaurants.  People were very friendly and we enjoyed the many conversations we had with them.If you like to save money and do some cooking at home, there is a good grocery store close by the apartment and there are ample pots and pans and other items needed to make a meal.Since my husband and I are seniors, we took advantage of the tram and train systems.  The tram stops are close by the apartment and it took less than ten minutes to reach the train station.  From there we could easily get to other areas of the Netherlands.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Canalview Apt.City Center, Quiet, Comfortable, Well equiped kitchen.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p30677vbi
+31 204203314
Old Center Amsterdam
Memphis TN USA
5

A gem in Amsterdam

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
We stayed here for 4 nights. This apartment couldn't have been any better. Very clean, EXTREMELY comfortable bed, well equiped kitchen. This apartment is located on the longest canal in Amsterdam and it is close to many wonderful places. It was so quiet. We had great meals within a block of the apartment, and the tram is only 1 block away. We only wish we could have stayed longer.
Liesbeth is very helpful and she is a gracious host. Don't miss this gem in Amsterdam. The rates are SO reasonable. I think it would be crowded with 4 people, but it was PERFECT for 2.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Canalview Apt.City Center, Quiet, Comfortable, Well equiped kitchen.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p30677vbi
+31 204203314
Old Center Amsterdam
San Diego
5

Fantastic place to stay with a kid!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
Great location. Easy to get on the tram, close to cafes and parks. The apartment had just right for two adults and a kid. The back patio was a nice mellow hangout space after our son had gone to bed!
We were in AMS during the heat wave this summer, and the canal house was cool all day!
Highly recommend it!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Canalview Apt.City Center, Quiet, Comfortable, Well equiped kitchen.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p30677vbi
+31 204203314
Old Center Amsterdam
Toronto, Canada
5

Jordan Canal House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
My 80 year old mother, twin sister and myself stayed at Liesbeth's canal house in the Jordan. What a perfect location. Had access to a hop on and off small bus that we only had to wave down and took us all over the Jordan and into Central Station for only one euro. Saved a lot of money in transportation and it was easy th get to the tourist attractions The canal house was spotless and very well equipped. The backyard was marvellous and we sighted a rooster and a hen who resided next door.Liesbeth was full of information and very accommdating .A must is to shop at the Saturday market just behind Anne Frank's house.There is two of them. The organic market I found was pricey. There is a mush cheaper and larger market close by.I would advise to shop at that one. Best place for fresh products to take back to cook and enjoy at the canal house Thanks ever so much Liesbeth, Stevina and family,Toronto,Canada
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Canalview Apt.City Center, Quiet, Comfortable, Well equiped kitchen.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p30677vbi
+31 204203314
Old Center Amsterdam
Manchester, MA
5

Best Location in Amsterdam

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
We loved the apartment. It was quiet, comfortable, well equipped, good wireless internet and a private entrance. Liesbeth was very accommodating and the location couldn't be better. We would definitely stay there again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Canalview Apt.City Center, Quiet, Comfortable, Well equiped kitchen.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p30677vbi
+31 204203314
Old Center Amsterdam
Sacramento, CA USA
5

Great location, nice garden, cozy and well-equipped

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2010
  • Stayed: Apr 2010
Our family of two adults and two teens stayed here in early April 2010 and really enjoyed it. The apartment was very clean and attractively furnished. The view out the front windows is to the Prinsengracht, which is a lovely canal. The bedroom is very light, with huge windows out to the very quiet garden area. The kitchen has a small fridge and nice stove and microwave. Our kids slept in the living room, one on the futon couch and one on a mattress on the floor. For four, it was a bit of a squeeze, but the great location made it worthwhile. Liesbeth, the owner was very gracious and helpful. The WiFi was a nice amenity as well. It is an easy walk to the Van Gogh and Rikjsmuseums, Vondelpark, the Liedseplein area, and the Nine Streets shopping area. We would gladly stay there again.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Canalview Apt.City Center, Quiet, Comfortable, Well equiped kitchen.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p30677vbi
+31 204203314
Old Center Amsterdam
New York, NY USA
5

A delightful place - definitely worth a repeat visit!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2010
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
My husband, young daughter and I shared this apartment in late March/early April. It is private yet, also perfectly situated in a great neighborhood in the centrum of Amsterdam, which allows for easy access to all of the trams, major tourist destinations, restaurants and scenic spots. We could walk out the door and find groceries, great espresso, sandwiches and a delicious dinner at the cafe on the corner.

The kitchen is fully equipped and the living room is spacious, cozy, comfortable and welcoming, which was exactly what we were looking for. The apartment is quiet as well with a great view of the canal in front. The garden in the back is very pretty too - a second nice view! I will absolutely recommend this apartment to any friends/co-workers interested in visiting Amsterdam.

We were very happy and satisfied. I hope we'll have a change to visit again very soon!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Canalview Apt.City Center, Quiet, Comfortable, Well equiped kitchen.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p30677vbi
+31 204203314
Old Center Amsterdam
Sun City West, AZ U.S.A.
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 27, 2009
  • Stayed: Dec 2009
We have stayed in this flat every summer for six years, and are now coming back for our 7th summer. I think that probably says it all! We love the flat, the location, the amenities, the owners. There is nothing NOT to like! This is the best location in Amsterdam, and is close to everything except the noise. We would recommend this to anyone.
Helpful votes: 4/4