Marblehead house rental - Rock of Ages is over 150 years old! A wonderful place to make memories.
Rock of Ages is over 150 years old! A wonderful place to make memories.
 
  • Bedrooms13
  • Sleeps36
  • 13 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Marblehead House Rental Photos and Description
13 BR, 13 BA, Sleeps 36

We are so excited about sharing our 'new' but very old home and its' stories with you and other potential guests.

Rock of Ages has been sitting on the shores of Lake Erie since 1861. Built of native, local limestone it is listed on the National Historic Register. There simply is not another comparable home on Lake Erie--it is wonderfully unique, and fun to explore. It is very solid (like a 'Rock') and in great shape, but we have renovated the first floor, opening it all up to panoramic views of the lake and have added a state-of-the-art kitchen and plenty of dining space for 30+ people. We love this new area and are sure you will too!

It is located in the village of Marblehead and is within walking distance of Lakeside and the Marblehead lighthouse.

The lighthouse is a spot of natural beauty and the oldest continuously operating lighthouse on the Great Lakes.

We have traveled around the world and this is our favorite place on earth! Friendly, down home people, great entertainment (at Lakeside and the islands), wonderful local history, great boating, Cedar Point, and the waves and the winds of Lake Erie are constantly there. What a place! From our tower room and rooftop patio is one of the best views of the Lake Erie islands in the whole area. Come and see. Rock of Ages has a 120ft. spacious patio overlooking the lake with plenty of furniture for sunbathing, eating or gazing at the lake and watching the boats and ferry to Kelley's island. Of course, you can swim off the flat glacial rocks right in front of the house. Within a short drive is a large sandy beach. We still have the original limestone fossil walkways from when 'The Rock' was built. There is a brand new hot tub overlooking the lake.

As well as the new kitchen and dining room/great room on the first floor, there is a living area with a large screen TV. The first floor also has two half baths. The lower level (the former summer kitchen in the 'old days' ) is a large game room with a pool table, ping-pong table, TV, half bath, and tables and chairs which opens out to the backyard patio with a large grill. Rock of Ages has a large parking area to accommodate big groups. Although, it is wonderful in the summer with the windows open and the lake breezes, we do have air conditioning. Rock of Ages can be used year-round and the lake in all it's glory in the ice and snow is something to behold! It can work very well for business or church groups that time of year. Our rates are for the entire property, not per person as in an inn or B&B.

We are a family, sharing with you our family place, not an impersonal management company; we sincerely want your family or group to have a great time at Rock of Ages. We have finished a major renovation, but Rock of Ages will always be a work in progress and we will be constantly upgrading. Almost everyday, we get new ideas! We are glad to answer any questions via email and calls, we realize it is a big decision you may be making for a bunch of relatives and/or friends and you have lots of people to consider and possibly lots of questions.

More Details
Hide Details

44 Reviews of Property 306302 in Marblehead, Ohio

'Rock of Ages' a Huge, Historic, Lakefront Home on Lake Erie.
average rating of 5.0 based on 44 reviews
business
'Rock of Ages' a Huge, Historic, Lakefront Home on Lake Erie.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p306302
+1 7346782617
Marblehead Ohio
Springdale, Pa
5

Many Happy Returns!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 18, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
If you're looking for a wonderful place to stay in this area of Ohio, look no more, you've found it! Myself and a group of lady friends started staying here for our once a year get -a- way weekend. We were so amazed when we arrived the first time that we unanimously agreed to return the next year without reserve. The house is so large and spacious and has EVERY possible thing you might need to make your stay a pleasure. Other than food and your clothing you need NOTHING! The furnishings and especially the beds and linens are of such high quality you'll feel like you're in the finest hotel in Europe. Each room has its own special charm. The fact that it was built years ago and still holds the splendor of a grand estate not only is a testament to how well it was constructed but also the great care and upkeep the owners have done and still do to keep it that way. Since 2005 we have been returning yearly and have NEVER been disappointed. It seems like each year gets better and now feels like a visit to an old friend. I'm happy to say, we have just returned from our recent stay in May and once again have booked for 2012!! Everyone should experience this place just once in their life! You will be very happy you did!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
'Rock of Ages' a Huge, Historic, Lakefront Home on Lake Erie.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p306302
+1 7346782617
Marblehead Ohio
North Olmsted, Ohio
5

Wonderful Winter Weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
Our group consisted of eight couples who simply wanted a weekend away after the holidays. When we walked in and saw the fireplace already glowing, we knew we had found our retreat. The Rock is perfect. The main floor, including the kitchen, is large and spacious yet warm and cozy. The fantastic views of the frozen lake are amazing. We had a dinner party catered by Avery's, a local restaurant, and enjoyed a delightful Saturday evening. The bedrooms and baths are quaint, comfortable and clean. The men especially enjoyed the lower level pool table, ping pong table and TV. Everything is provided; guests need only bring clothes and personal items. The kitchen has at least one of anything you can think of; all you need to bring is food and drink. Before we left, the vote was unanimous-we're coming back next year. We have already booked The Rock for our 2012 winter weekend!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
'Rock of Ages' a Huge, Historic, Lakefront Home on Lake Erie.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p306302
+1 7346782617
Marblehead Ohio
belleville
5

Weekend of fun, laughter, prayer and much talk and reuniting!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
This place was amazing in so many ways. We had so many beautifully decorated bedrooms to choose from. The large tables to eat together was so nice. We played games in front of the fire place. We worshiped and sang hymns out on the tables by the water. The kitchen was amazing. My dream kitchen! The caterer you recommended was killer good! The 16 ladies from church were in love with the place and hope to return.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
'Rock of Ages' a Huge, Historic, Lakefront Home on Lake Erie.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p306302
+1 7346782617
Marblehead Ohio
westlake, ohio
5

Life at it's best !

Life at it's best !
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2009
AMAZING, AWESOME, OUTSTANDING, SPECTACULAR! The Rock was unparrelled to any place we've ever stayed. Twenty-five special education teachers enjoyed lounging in the hot tub, sitting by the lake in the adorondeck chairs, playing the grand piano, playing pool and eating fabulous meals. Everything about the Rock was first class, from the wine glasses to the bedding. The decorating of all the bedrooms was really special. I have just finished booking the Rock for a comeback. Everyone loved it so much they begged me to go back. I don't see how anyone would be disappointed.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
'Rock of Ages' a Huge, Historic, Lakefront Home on Lake Erie.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p306302
+1 7346782617
Marblehead Ohio
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
-1

Youth Group from MI

  • Submitted: May 12, 2010
  • Stayed: Feb 2010
We came to Rock of Ages to learn more about God, have fun, play games and have good times! thank you so much for sharing your beautiful home with us!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
'Rock of Ages' a Huge, Historic, Lakefront Home on Lake Erie.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p306302
+1 7346782617
Marblehead Ohio
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
-1

50th Bday celebration

  • Submitted: May 12, 2010
  • Stayed: Jan 2010
Our 3rd visit here---but our first time w/ "Adults Only." We so love your awesome home, ample kitchen and beautiful bedrooms. We celebrated fully! The view completes it all---frozen lake and full moon.
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
'Rock of Ages' a Huge, Historic, Lakefront Home on Lake Erie.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p306302
+1 7346782617
Marblehead Ohio
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
-1

Celebrate Thanksgiving and Christmas together

  • Submitted: May 12, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2009
Marla,
Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful home with us. We have such an awesome time together while we are here. The accomodations are always perfect and it begining to feel like our second home. This is our 4th year here!
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
'Rock of Ages' a Huge, Historic, Lakefront Home on Lake Erie.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p306302
+1 7346782617
Marblehead Ohio
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
-1

Ladies Retreat

  • Submitted: May 12, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2009
We came to Rock of Ages to catch up, relax, worship God together and EAT! We appreciated the beds (so comfortable!) The chairs facing the lake were a favorite---
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
'Rock of Ages' a Huge, Historic, Lakefront Home on Lake Erie.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p306302
+1 7346782617
Marblehead Ohio
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
-1

Mommies weekend

  • Submitted: May 12, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
Thank you for making our stay enjoyable and comfortable! We appreciated being all together in one room, the kitchen, plenty of bathrooms, the view and plenty of room around the kitchen to eat and gather. We are coming back.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
'Rock of Ages' a Huge, Historic, Lakefront Home on Lake Erie.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p306302
+1 7346782617
Marblehead Ohio
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
-1

50th Anniversary

  • Submitted: May 12, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
Marblehead is a great piece of history that you are sharing with everyone who stays here. You have done a great job of decorating and making everything user friendly.
Helpful votes: 2/2