Kohala Estates house rental - Relaxing on your private lanai
Relaxing on your private lanai
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 5 nights
 

Kohala Estates House Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 3 full bathrooms, 1 half bathroom, sleeps 6

We invite you to escape to this beautiful, very private traditional Ocean Front Hawaiian home, just minutes from downtown Kona and a wide variety of other attractions.

This 2850 square foot home is perfect for family gatherings with a large master bedroom, a queen-bed bedroom, a 'bonus room' with bunk beds, and two and half baths. There is an additional studio-style 'ohana' (apartment) that is attached to the main house that has a queen bed, private bath, kitchen, washer/dryer and private entrance. The home is furnished in a comfortable, casual Hawaiian theme...some of the furniture is hand-made by Hawaiian artists. There are ceiling fans throughout the house. The kitchen is well-appointed with everything necessary to cook and then some, such as a blender, rice cooker, etc.

Open the French doors that stretch across the front of the home to allow in the Trade Winds, a wonderful respite from A/C. During the day, take a trip to the volcano, go whale-watching, visit the restaurants and shops of downtown Kona, or go deep-sea fishing. There are fascinating tide pools in the lava rocks right behind the house that are home to sea turtles, crustaceans, and an abundance of small fish. This house is a short walk from the sandy beaches of Magic Sands, or a half mile drive to the protected lagoon known for snorkeling. Be prepared to see gorgeous fish and gentle sea turtles!

Make sure to be home in the early evening, around 6pm, to relax in the hammock or on the lounge furniture and catch the famous Hawaiian sunset while drinking a Mai Tai! (see recipe below). During the winter months, watch carefully for the migrating humpback whales that swim. and sometimes breach, right in front of the house.

At night, each bedroom is filled with the sounds of waves crashing onto the lava rocks. This property is gated and walled which lets you relax and think of nothing but being part of a tropical paradise.

Easter Island Mai Tai Recipe

Layer all ingredients over ice

-1 shot light rum

-1/2 shot triple sec

-1/2 shot amaretto

-3 oz orange juice

-1 oz pineapple juice

-splash of sweet and sour mix

-1/2 shot dark rum

-float of amaretto once around the glass

-dash of grenadine

Keywords: Ocean Front Home, Kona House, Alli Drive House, Ocean Front House

More Details
Hide Details

22 Reviews of Property 3011542 in Kohala Estates, Hawaii

Breathtaking Ocean Front Home! Gorgeous Views from Every Room!
average rating of 4.904762 based on 22 reviews
business
Breathtaking Ocean Front Home! Gorgeous Views from Every Room!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3011542
+1 850 582-4146
Kohala Estates Kohala Coast
Wisconsin
5

Excellent! Excellent! Excellent!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
This house was just wonderful. The pictures shown here do not do it justice. It is better and bigger in person....and RIGHT ON THE OCEAN! It is located very near the main shopping areas, only ONE house away from Pahoehoe Beach, and only a few more houses away from Magic Sands!

Moreover, once inside the gated driveway, you could escape from it all and enjoy the ocean waves and breeze while sipping drinks! Each morning we were greeted by numerous turtles and pods of dolphins swimming up the coast. Right along the shoreline in front of the house we spotted yellow tang, crabs, sea urchins among many other ocean wildlife. These were spotted from the lanai, but when the waves were tame, snorklers were exploring the area.

In addition, Kathy is easy and wonderful to work with. We spoke with her before our vacation and she answered all of our questions in a very timely manner - usually within a few hours of a sent email or phone message. We were given detailed directions on how to get there from the airport as well as instructions on key codes for the gate and house. Because our arrival was in the evening after sunset, she made sure that house lights were on so we did not have to enter an unknown, dark house. It was immaculate when we arrived. In addition, she left a binder with a ton more information on the island and island activities as well as emergency contact numbers.

When we return to the island, this will always be our home - nothing else compares!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Breathtaking Ocean Front Home! Gorgeous Views from Every Room!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3011542
+1 850 582-4146
Kohala Estates Kohala Coast
West Bend, WI
5

Oceanfront breezes and sunsets - priceless

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
This is our first time to the Islands, and we could not have chosen a better place. It is an easy drive to Kona, with is shopping, restaurants, farmers market and sights. It is also fairly close to the airport, in case you leave your phone on the place and need to go back!

We looked at several properties in the area before choosing this one. I agree that the photos on the website do not fully do it justice. It is very well maintained and only a few properties away from Magic Sands Beach, which is a great boogie board location.

The house itself has 2 parts; the main house and a self contained apartment situated right next door (which we did not use at all) with a separate entrance. The living room and kitchen have french doors that fully open out to the outdoor area and allows the fantastic breeze to run through the house. The outdoor area has has two tables with umbrellas, 3 lounges chairs and a hammock (my wife's new favorite spot in the whole world). They provide beach towels, beach chairs and boogie boards to use if you venture out. The kitchen is large with all appliances provided, a table in a dining nook and a breakfast bar area.

The other side of the sea wall has lava rock that you can walk out on and search for small wild life, like crabs and fish, that are caught in the pools when the tide goes out. We even have several visits from large green sea turtles (honu). The rocks and surf are a little dangerous for small children, so do not let them go alone, especially if the tide is coming in.

When we left the big island, we went to Waikiki, which could not be more different. We enjoyed the history of Oahu, and the Polynesian Culteral Center, but overall, would have preferred to just stay in "our" Kona home the whole time.

The ONLY issue we had was that there was no pizza cutter, and Kathy said she would take care of that.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Breathtaking Ocean Front Home! Gorgeous Views from Every Room!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3011542
+1 850 582-4146
Kohala Estates Kohala Coast
California
5

Great Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Great location next to White Sands. Clean property with all the amenities. Great for couples or Families with layout facing ocean. Dolphins Sea turtles and sunsets in your backyard.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Breathtaking Ocean Front Home! Gorgeous Views from Every Room!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3011542
+1 850 582-4146
Kohala Estates Kohala Coast
Gold Coast, Australia
5

Great house in a perfect location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
I reviewed numerous properties in the area before choosing this one. We were really happy with our choice and thought it excellent value for money. I don't think the photos on the website do it justice- it is fabulously located right on the water and in a great location.. a few houses away from magic sands beach. It is about a 5 minute drive south to the Sheraton property where the snorkelling trips depart from, and a 10 min drive north to Kona where there are many shops and a market. I do feel that you need a car however to enjoy this area properly. We travelled as two families with 2 children each and the house was the perfect size and configuration (one lucky couple got the apartment!)

The house itself has 2 parts; the main house which has 3 bedrooms (the 3rd a small room with a set of bunk beds), and a self contained apartment situated right next door (but on the same property). There are separate entrances for complete privacy. The living room and kitchen have french doors that open out to the outdoor area which has two tables with umbrellas, 3 sun lounges and a hammock. Great sunsets from this area! The corridor has a cupboard that opens to reveal a washing machine and dryer (and the apartment has the same but smaller). There are beach towels, beach chairs and boogie boards all provided. There was a big lovely kitchen with all appliances provided. This house is lovingly cared for.

There were very minor issues that the owner, Kathy, attended to immediately via her cleaner/caretaker. Kathy was very easy to deal with and I even called her from Australia when I booked to clarify things. We would love to go back one day!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Breathtaking Ocean Front Home! Gorgeous Views from Every Room!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3011542
+1 850 582-4146
Kohala Estates Kohala Coast
Anaheim Hills CA
5

Family Vacation 2012!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Our Kona Family Vacation at this property was a dream come true for my husband and myself. We took our two adult daughters and their husbands. There was more than enough room for all of us. My husband and I slept in the attached in laws suite, with its own kitchenette and laundry, while our daughters and their spouses slept in the main house. The bonus room with the bunk beds came in very handy to store our luggage. Tons of room inside the main house for all of us with a roomy fully equipped kitchen.
All the rooms had welcomed ceiling fans, along with the large double doors in the living room, kept the house breezy. If that wasn't enough it opened onto a large patio with plenty of seating and a view to die for where we spent the majority of our time when we were home. Though there was a large dining table we never ate inside!
The security of the gated driveway really put the outside world behind you when you wanted to indulge in peace and quiet, with the ocean hitting the rocks and the voices of a happy family was all you wanted to hear.
The location of the property is awesome. A very short drive to downtown Kona ($12.00 cab ride if you don't want to drive) or a short walk to a beautiful beach in the other direction and great snorkeling just a short distance further.
But the best times were lounging around the lanai. Early morning breakfast, planning our day, saying "good morning" to the two sea turtles (we named Fred and Ethel) that we saw daily, or evening dinners reminiscing our days events around the island, always trying to get home in time for the most spectacular sunsets you could ask for, and to try to catch the elusive green flash! think we saw one or it may have been the Mai Tai's!
I referred to this property as 'home' a time or two because that is what it felt like.
And the owner, Kathy, could not have been more helpful, answering all my inquiries promptly via email and phone call prior to our stay.
While writing this review I'm a little bit the shade of a green flash, thinking of the next lucky family that decides to make this their home away from home. Aloha!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Breathtaking Ocean Front Home! Gorgeous Views from Every Room!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3011542
+1 850 582-4146
Kohala Estates Kohala Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Kona beach house

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
I wanted to thank you for the fantastic accommodations during our recent stay in Kona. They exceeded our expectations, and we did not miss a single sunset…and the sea turtles even showed up a few times!

I will definitely be in touch if my travels take me to the Big Island again!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Breathtaking Ocean Front Home! Gorgeous Views from Every Room!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3011542
+1 850 582-4146
Kohala Estates Kohala Coast
Seattle, WA
5

We had our wedding here!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
We had our wedding at this house and it was amazing! We had 37 guests and it was a great space for this size of wedding. It was also an excellent location and made for beautiful wedding photos with our family and friends. There was also a small park just past the house next door where we were able to get really cool pictures on the lava rock extending into the ocean.

The house was well equipped with boogie boards, beach towels, a full kitchen, bbq, W/D, etc. Really, everything you could need. We were a 5 minute drive from a great beach for snorkeling, and about 10 minutes outside of downtown Kona. This vacation was one of the most important ones for us (b/c we were getting married!), and the location and set-up of this house made it perfect!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Breathtaking Ocean Front Home! Gorgeous Views from Every Room!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3011542
+1 850 582-4146
Kohala Estates Kohala Coast
CARLSBAD
5

Location, Location, Location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
We can't say enough good things about this property. We spent a week there with our adult children and grandson after Christmas and LOVED it. The June review is right on the money. The pictures of the property don't do it justice. The home is spacious and well appointed, but our favorite aspect of the property was the amazing outdoor living space. We walked to Magic Sands beach almost daily where we snorkled and swam with turtles. The property was also a great home base for exploring the rest of the island, though it is called the "Big" Island for a reason. Both the owner and local contact were so helpful and responsive to our needs as first time visitors. We can't wait to return!

Our tips for future travelers: Rent your car well in advance of your trip. We couldn't get one for several days... though I can't think of another place in the world where I would rather be housebound!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Breathtaking Ocean Front Home! Gorgeous Views from Every Room!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3011542
+1 850 582-4146
Kohala Estates Kohala Coast
Helena
5

Best home we've ever rented.

Best home we've ever rented.
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
It goes without saying that the location and views are wonderful but the house was prepared, clean and ready for our visit. Many extras were provided that have been lacking in other homes we've rented. We felt right at home at once and enjoyed every minute of our stay.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Breathtaking Ocean Front Home! Gorgeous Views from Every Room!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3011542
+1 850 582-4146
Kohala Estates Kohala Coast
Hilo
5

Beautiful Home!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 18, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
Beautiful home. Exactly as described. Home owner had good communication and was very accommadating. Very clean and well maintained. Watching dolphins and turtles every morning with gorgeous sunsets made it very hard to leave. HIghly recommended.
Helpful votes: 1/1