Bisbee house rental - View of fully fenced courtyard.
View of fully fenced courtyard.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Bisbee House Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms + convertible bed(s), 1 bath, Sleeps (4-6)

Dog- and kid-friendly!

The Toland Adobe is a charming, historic miner’s home in a quiet neighborhood just a short, 4-minute walk from Main Street. Its tree-shaded and fenced courtyard and close proximity to downtown make it a wonderful vacation destination.

The home was once owned by one of Teddy Roosevelt’s Roughriders, Jesse Toland! The original adobe structure has been modified and upgraded through the years and a well-equipped kitchen, vaulted beadboard ceilings, flat-screen TV, cable, wi-fi, and comfortable beds and lounge areas await your visit.

There are 2 cozy adjoining bedrooms (queen beds) furnished for comfort, and a bath with a claw foot tub/shower. The living room contains a futon sleeper for additional sleeping accommodations. A laundry room with full-sized washer/dryer is provided.

The Toland Adobe is reached via just a few wide/deep steps (no stairway) into a secluded garden courtyard, from which there is a partial view of the mountains. The yard is private (not shared) and is completely fenced -- perfect for those who like to spend time outside in a romantic setting and also handy for those with children and dogs. The owners are dog lovers who want to ensure dogs are comfortable and safe off-leash. That can be hard to find in Bisbee, but with its garden courtyard outside, and hardwood and tile floors inside, The Toland Adobe is both kid- and dog-friendly.

The Toland Adobe has on-street parking with even more parking in the free city lot nearby.

The house is typical for Bisbee: it's 832 square feet. The living and dining areas are combined.

The house went through lots of updating (painting, refurnishing, a brand new fence, plus a partial kitchen remodel) in May 2012, with more new furnishings, linens, and landscaping added in September 2012. The exterior of the house was painted, and new front screen doors, and a separate window a/c unit for the master bedroom were added in June 2013. The living room hardwood floor was completely removed and redone in November 2013.

Discover Bisbee! It’s a delightful town to wander.

Keywords: Pet and child friendly, pet friendly, fenced yard, Vacation Rental, Old Bisbee rental, Historic Bisbee, short term rental, Guest House, near downtown, Furnished house for rent, Holiday House, Home away from Home, Fully Furnished Rental, Fully equipped rental, Home for rent, Home for vacation, Family rental, Short term rental, Monthly rental, winter rental

More Details
Hide Details

We are a middle-aged kid-and-dog loving couple. All of the kids are grown. We have 7 grandchildren (so far) and 2 dogs.

Becky McIntyre purchased this house in 2012

We made our first visit to Bisbee in February 2012 and immediately fell in love with the town. Daily, we wandered from our lodging to the coffee shop to the library (the oldest in Arizona) to the meandering roads on both sides of Main Street. The town has something going on year round. Within a week, we had started looking at a home to purchase.

We chose this house because it had all of the features we wanted: it was only a few minutes from downtown, it has a fenced yard, and it doesn’t have a lot of stairs. It's amazingly private for a home that's minutes from downtown. No long hike back up the hills after dinner out. We plan to spend as much time as possible at our Bisbee house, enjoying the lovely weather and walking the town.

27 Reviews of Property 3006396 in Bisbee, Arizona

4 Min Walk to Historic Downtown, Fully Fenced and Gated Courtyard - Dogs/Kids
average rating of 4.95 based on 27 reviews
business
4 Min Walk to Historic Downtown, Fully Fenced and Gated Courtyard - Dogs/Kids
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3006396
+1 5303064405
Bisbee Arizona
Phoenix, Az
5

Weekend in Bisbee

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 16, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Clean well done renovation af a typical funky old Bisbee house. Small but very comfortable and close in to the action in "downtown Bisbee" could walk to all. If you have a dog with you you can walk to several dog friendly outside restaurants (patios). You should list these in the house somewhere. The Savory Spot was exceptionally nice little grotto patio.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review, Michael. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. We love walking around downtown with our 2 dogs. Our favorite dog-friendly eatery is Poco's. We also hang out outdoors at the Bisbee Coffee Co.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
4 Min Walk to Historic Downtown, Fully Fenced and Gated Courtyard - Dogs/Kids
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3006396
+1 5303064405
Bisbee Arizona
Scottsdale, AZ
5

Loved our stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 9, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We are so glad we found this rental for our recent weekend in Bisbee. The location is ideal: less than a 5 min. walk from all the restaurants and shops, but tucked back on a quiet residential street. We really enjoyed the private backyard to bbq, play cards and relax after exploring the town. Kitchen was well equipped and the entire place was clean and comfortable.

It was a great arrangement for us (two couples) and would recommend to families and others looking for bonding time if individual privacy is not a major must-have (bedrooms are connected by a door and bathroom is shared). Excellent for kids and dogs!

The property owner was very friendly and thoughtfully checked up to make sure we were enjoying our stay and answer any questions. We are really glad we chose this rental (vs. a hotel) and will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Bisbee.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks for your lovely comments, Amy. I'm glad you and the other couple enjoyed staying in our circa 1888 home.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
4 Min Walk to Historic Downtown, Fully Fenced and Gated Courtyard - Dogs/Kids
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3006396
+1 5303064405
Bisbee Arizona
Peoria, IL
5

AWESOME LOCATION IN BISBEE

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Awesome location in Bisbee - walking distance to everything in Bisbee. My husband and I stayed for a whole week, and the house was very comfortable. Very clean also.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
4 Min Walk to Historic Downtown, Fully Fenced and Gated Courtyard - Dogs/Kids
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3006396
+1 5303064405
Bisbee Arizona
Tacoma, WA
5

Lovely Bisbee cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We LOVED our stay here. The cottage is well furnished, very private and a fenced in yard that our dog loved also. The kitchen is well stocked with most any utensil you might want and the fact that it is walking distance to all the shops and restaurants is a real plus. The owners are very easy to deal with and I would definitely rent this again when I stay in Bisbee. We got lots of exercise bicycling on the hills in the area!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Thanks for the nice comments, Jodie! I'm glad you enjoyed our little hideaway.
business
4 Min Walk to Historic Downtown, Fully Fenced and Gated Courtyard - Dogs/Kids
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3006396
+1 5303064405
Bisbee Arizona
5

Great Getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Weather this year was a bit unpredictable so had 5"of snow while there but also 85 degree temps! Becky was responsive and attentive to an issue with heat during the cold spell. Got it fixed in no time flat. The place has a wonderful living area and I can't say enough about the courtyard which is secluded and private. You would never believe their lovely home is only a couple of minutes walk from the main street running through town. I had guests visiting during the month I was there. We enjoyed the mine, the terrific museum in Bisbee which is associated with the Smithsonian Institute. Hiking in Chiricahua was great. Birding at the San Pedro Riparian Area was a delight and Kartchner Caverns are truly amazing. Art galleries and restaurants are a delight and cater to a whole variety of tastes and diets (including vegan). Thanks, Becky, for sharing your lovely home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the wonderful review, Molly. I'm glad you and your family and guests enjoyed your month in Bisbee. I was glad we were able to quickly resolve the heat issue (washing the filter on the brand new unit was all it was). Thanks again. Becky
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
4 Min Walk to Historic Downtown, Fully Fenced and Gated Courtyard - Dogs/Kids
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3006396
+1 5303064405
Bisbee Arizona
La Mesa,CA
5

Just another 5 star review

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
I have to say that all of these reviews so far are dead-on. Becky's house was the perfect home away from home for our trip to Bisbee. We have stayed several times at different hotels in the city which were nice but this year we decided on a house with a yard for our new dog. We found a small handful of homes which are dog and kid friendly and decided on this one. We were lucky to find it. If you bring a dog or two the house sits slightly hidden from the street and has a tall fence and gate so if you do decide to go to dinner or god forbid go for a walk without him, he's perfectly safe in the yard by himself. My 6 year old son also loved the house and made friends with the neighbor's child. This trip to Bisbee actually made us feel like locals. Thank you Becky!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your wonderful review, Alan. I'm glad you and your family (and the pooch) enjoyed staying at our little home in Bisbee. We love it, too.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
4 Min Walk to Historic Downtown, Fully Fenced and Gated Courtyard - Dogs/Kids
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3006396
+1 5303064405
Bisbee Arizona
Phoenix, AZ
5

Great Ghost Town rental home in Bisbee, AZ

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
My husband and I and our two dogs (Roxy and Optimus) had a wonderful time in Bisbee. This rental home was absolutely perfect. It was a convenient walk (about 4 minutes) to downtown shops and restaurants, the fully enclosed backyard was perfect for the dogs to relax in, and the home was very comfortable, clean, and fully stocked with amenities. The patio was perfect for enjoying coffee in the morning and a nice glass of wine in the evening. The locals were fantastic and willing to share their ghost stories and the history of Bisbee. We can't wait to return to Bisbee and have a great place to stay!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your feedback, Jenn. I'm glad you, your husband, and dogs enjoyed our house. We love it, too! Thanks for leaving it in such great shape.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
4 Min Walk to Historic Downtown, Fully Fenced and Gated Courtyard - Dogs/Kids
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3006396
+1 5303064405
Bisbee Arizona
Gilbert
5

Great getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We had a wonderful stay at this great house in Bisbee. Close to EVERYTHING....we walked to town, enjoyed the courtyard, loved all the movie selections. The house was clean and had everthing we needed. We will definitely stay here again! Thank you for all your great suggestions to local restaurants.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the great review, Cindy. I'm glad you, your husband, and boys had such a great time at our vacation home.
business
4 Min Walk to Historic Downtown, Fully Fenced and Gated Courtyard - Dogs/Kids
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3006396
+1 5303064405
Bisbee Arizona
Tucson
5

Wonderful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
From the moment that we walked through the gate we felt so comfortable and at home! The patio area with the front porch was lovely. We spent a lot of time outside using the grill, having coffee or just letting the kids play. They especially loved collecting the abundance of pine cones!
Everything that we could have wanted or needed was available. The house is updated yet still has tons of character. The beds were comfortable and the full kitchen was perfect for cooking meals. My sister had her baby with her so it was fantastic to have access to the pack and play and the high chair. The location is just perfect. Quick walking distance to downtown yet very quiet. We cannot wait to return to Bisbee and this wonderful home!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your nice comments, Amy! I'm glad you, your sister, and the kids had a wonderful time in Bisbee. I'm glad to hear the baby gear came in handy. See you next time, Becky
business
4 Min Walk to Historic Downtown, Fully Fenced and Gated Courtyard - Dogs/Kids
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3006396
+1 5303064405
Bisbee Arizona
Oro Valley, Arizona
5

Quaint Historic Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We just had a fantastic weekend in Bisbee and staying in this home really made it special too!! This historic property has so much character! Upon entering the home our first impression was how clean it was and how nice updated it was without losing any of its charm. The house had everything we needed to make our stay a comfortable one. The kitchen is nicely equipped if you choose to have meals in. The courtyard is shaded and makes a perfect spot for relaxing. The location of the home is perfect for walking to the shops and restaurants. Ours was a last minute reservation and the owner, Becky was so easy to work with. Thanks Becky for sharing your home with us.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your kind comments, Denise. I am happy you enjoyed your weekend in Bisbee. We love being in the historic district with its short walk to downtown.